Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

sean mac wrote: »
    Ttm, neither us good enough but they hurl with right club. Terrible team no understanding of what a defender needs to do,imo every defender eccept shields picked in the wrong position. Paddy kelly not started again what a waste. Keepers kickouts not addressed again,subs bench all over the place,ephie will be bulling over clare injuries far superior coach to cuthbert and his crew would have fancied clare if tubridy and collins available,this squad is going to get hosed in killarney

Did you hear anything about how or what the root and branch review entailed please sean

Just to add Brian o driscoll fully deserved be there and imo outstanding all star but should be picked at ten play dooher role

Brian outstanding with guile cohesion elegance everything you want in player
    And gene driscoll who huge fan of should be coach or selector here
    Nothing against the driscoll lads just as many said kevin and lesser degree colm proved numerous times not upto it

Barry never played half back club so should be full forward if anywhere
    Just thought I add this in case someone says anything against driscoll and as usual try portray false myth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

What are the chances it's a dummy team? So many players not playing in their natural position.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Figsy32 wrote: »
    What are the chances it's a dummy team? So many players not playing in their natural position.

Doubt it. I think Cuthbert believes he knows best, but actually he is simply proving he hasn't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Not a chance, Cuthbert is a fan of the odriscolls, and actually thinks barry can play wing back. Dorman is seen as a utility player while paddy Kelly has never been respected by this management team. This team will start, problems in goals, defence, midfield and half forward - terrible team and the players know it.
    The 'root and branch' review involved the bringing in of Kelleher, Cronin and Kieran histon who didn't make the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Last year against Tipp he picked John O Rourke and Pa Kelly in the half backline it nearly cost us the game ....now poor old Barry O Driscoll has been picked there its almost like a bad dream.

But here's the problem
    Three half backs can't play corner bar cronin so you take dorman and loughrey out you still have a half play corner
    Midfield won't change bar collins maybe but that is no benefit as he's not midfielder or kevin half forward break blanket defence
    If barry swaps collins barry isn't half forward tracker either
    There's no understanding of how defence works, they belive middle eight that mobile yes but must have defence and structure

This is like playing a rugby team with an outhalf like sexton who brilliant but he has centre pairing of Darren cave and James Downey with Williams as scrum half with earls full back and playing second rows in the back row with no natural seven so in essence your team is doomed despite having odd individual brilliant

This is basic basic concepts football they don't get right and if anyone think I'm harsh please please look up old teams and it's same constant traits team selection
    Sean is bang on ephie is gutted he's no full team and not in ennis as they could actually honestly beaten cork

Sweet heavyly jesus this team is devoid confidence and he should picked strong team that would play kerry and get game together
    If this team goes to killarney they will be destroyed and awful awful management will make good players look bad, players be blamed and Cork no football etc usual garbage spoken

Well have nonsense cork no right expect beat kerry
    He's building he's a young team
    This team i feel for as there made look piss poor under this set up

In Davis interview recently I heard him and Davis great great player as player always be my hero
    But twas pitiful lesson to
    The league was good, learned lot had lot injuries, defence working well
    Who are they trying to fool
    There with greatest respect to them not fooling anyone bar themselves

I don't do other forum but I just had quick look few other ones and to see is it just here but no the other two the reaction this team is just disbelief and disappointment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Anyone know what the U21 side will be like?
    Are Histon and Kelleher playing?

Certainly Kelleher was back with them when dual players came back after football - not sure about Histon

N20 wrote: »
    Certainly Kelleher was back with them when dual players came back after football - not sure about Histon

I'm not sure either but hope senior footballer where not needed deprives them under age game that they would be huge benefits to

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/you-have-to-be-smarter-against-the-blanket-defence/
    What a legend an absolutely legend such football intelligence and he is actually more clued in how beat blanket that any of the five wise men cork football

He says you can't run through defences or they turn you over
    Will some one please please please send cork management tape cavan v monaghan and ist half cavan turned over monaghan at will as monaghan ran at them
    Going behind was perfect for monaghan as brilliant o rourke forced change he hand and clerkin and mcmsmus went long distance scoring second half and monaghan didn't run through them

Tyrone ran at donegal and were turnover after turnover
    This is not rocket science
    Just anyone watching the game knows to beat blanket you need half forward line that can run kick long crate and score and vary the angle of attack and like all black rugby or Glasgow who use full width ptich you can't stop them once you vary angle attack but cork picking team runners

This team is actually if you examine it and don't belive some lazy pundit in cork a resemblance couinhan attacking wise in they pass pass pass and run run run but this team hasn't the brute power couinhan had and least in non blanket way he's team could defend to an extent and very good at times

Its pure panic with team selection
    Start year picked a fifth county championship team for waterford crystal and kerry durrant
    When that went wrong to Waterford's he picked bulk team v mayo last year
    He's essential picking fifth team with Bishopstown connection in if sullivan was eligible he'd start and two driscoll play hurling with he's club and in fact cuthbert won intermediate county hurling title nine years ago playing with colm driscoll

He pulls in like last year with white and Mac Eoin and now Histon and Kelleher lads played well under twenty-one year yet like kiely last year as fast they called up they could be dropped again

He called up ex players like o shea and o connor
    It's pure pure going through the motions and imo absolutely panic with zero structure or line of direction or progression and I asked the question again what has this management improved since it joined or one just one player they improved?
    Imo none on both counts is the answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I can't understand how any player with aspirations of achieving success can put up with this jokeshop.Do the players want to win All Irelands or is just wearing the jersey the limit of their ambitions?We probably will win but i think a hammering from Kerry in Killarney would be no bad thing if it helps to get Cuthbert out when the championship is over.It is pretty obvious now that the Cork football team under this manager is a sinking ship and we have appointed a fine variety of dud managers in Cork over the years between all grades and codes but Cuthbert has probably been the worst appointment out of the whole lot of them.Then again at the end of the day Brian Cuthbert is just another pawn.Cuthbert is just another useful idiot for Frank.We are not clued in at all on any level with regards to how to prepare for success and we are not clued in with the demands of top level senior intercounty hurling and football in Cork but sure we'll build the monument and everything will be grand.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

I cany understand this either straightalker,why are fellas like oconnor and oshea coming back to this?why did kelky and goulding come back?they must know in their hearts they are going no where?recent challenges did not go well,hosed by galway and beat armagh with two late goals after mcgeeney rotated his team for last 20mins after armagh had controlled the game

They drew with mayo a second team mayo to degree had

Galway destroyed them yet Walsh dominated cork yet cork never changed markers
    Midfield was dominated
    This blanket degree is appalling utterly appalling and what actually makes it stands out like sore thumb is talk were doing blanket when we're conceded way too much

Mcgeeney is solid and good to a degree but Imo won't ever win all Ireland greatly over hyped to no end however he's better than our set up

Maguire hasn't played for barrs and has serious back injury
    Why is he in panel for Sunday
    They done the same thing with cussen in the McGrath cup
    Sean I can't understand either why some players don't call this as it is
    Cork to win but this could be a struggle
    With so many out if clare get nine points shows how bad defence is
    This management had awful defence minor cork and two years senior so I can't see why we expect better now

i also think that most of those guys that are out probably wont feature for the rest of the year so whatever team lines out against cork will most likely be the same come the qualifiers , shane mcgrath, tubridy, podge would be worth almost 10 points alone , and with cathal mac and martin o'leary out as well means we have no direct free taker , the two midfielders will take over that duty but neither are as assured as above mentioned .

god only knows what will happen if we pick up any more injuries come sunday most of our reserve forward line will start it must be sole destroying on the rest of the panel

it now leaves cork in the position where they have to win big put up a big score and keep us under 0-10 points , cork are very strong up front it would'nt even be a good idea to bring a blanket they have lads that can score from any where , could be a long day
    Clare poster
    Like myself shrewd enough to set bar for Cork in so many top forward out cork defence should not be conceded too much

In fact so many out ten is too generous
    Six points or at seven imo should be the target for the defence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Fairly grim reading seeing the team. I've my accomodation for killarney booked since last month so barring an upset from Tipp i think i'm fairly safe...

However, the hosing we'll get from Kerry with that kind of team being named is making me regret wanting to go down there at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Anyone know what the U21 side will be like?
    Are Histon and Kelleher playing?

P. Collins

K. Histon A. Dennehy S. O'Donoghue

K. O'Connor C. Twomey N. Cashman

S. Murphy R. Cahalane

C. Cormack K. O'Neill M. O'Connor

A. Spillane D. Lee L. Meade

Posted by tureen on Blood and Bandage but I'd have my doubts
    Question marks over Histon and kelleher involvement
    Twomey - captain, hamstring
    Cormack - similar injury to John McGrath and not available
    Murphy - surgery on finger and not back yet

Looking at Waterford team if they click, Cork in trouble

See a posters team from Waterford thread

Billy Nolan
    Shane Mcnulty, Kieran Bennett, Darragh Lyons
    Aussie, Tadhg, Harney
    Colin Dunford, Mark O'Brien
    DJ Foran, Tom Devine, Shane Bennett
    Paddy Curran, Stephen Bennett, Mikey Kearney

That team is impressive but when you look at the bench it's even more impressive.. Seanie Barry, Conor Gleeson, Jack Mullaney, Colm Roche, Kieran Power, Jason Roche, Cormac Curran, Cathal Curran, Barry O'Sullivan, Brendan Phelan (some man to catch a ball) Ryan Donnelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

P. Collins

S. Murphy R. Cahalane

Billy Nolan
    Aussie, Tadhg, Harney

That team is impressive but when you look at the bench it's even more impressive.. Seanie Barry, Conor Gleeson, Jack Mullaney, Colm Roche, Kieran Power, Jason Roche, Cormac Curran, Cathal Curran, Barry O'Sullivan, Brendan Phelan (some man to catch a ball) Ryan Donnelly

I'd actually fear for that cork team facing that. That's a seriously talented Waterford side. You're right the bench alone is fiersome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭liogairmhordain

He from play wouldn't tie the shoe laces of either and both those two got goals in an all Ireland final the great great really really great players do

iirc ring scored one goal from play in all his all-ireland finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

That was just me guessing what the best U-21 team could be N20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Histon missed the cork intermediate match last week due to injury and isnt on the bench for the senior or starting for the juniors tomorrow so you would assume he's a doubt for the 21 hurlers.. (or being kept for them)

P. Collins

S. Murphy R. Cahalane

Billy Nolan
    Aussie, Tadhg, Harney

On paper Waterford deserve be favourite and want revenge from last year but Cork should be better coached than last year and should be competitive
    And maybe home advantage will help
    Callaghan Murphy and cahalane are big losses to this team from minor but Cork should still have good hurlers there

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Good win for the glen tonight v Carrigtohill. Came back from 0-08 v 0-10 down to score an inj time winner, 0-13 v 0-12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Good win for the glen tonight v Carrigtohill. Came back from 0-08 v 0-10 down to score an inj time winner, 0-13 v 0-12

Shocking game. 17 points from frees. Hoggy got 9 points all frees. Just goes to show what most people say cork hurling is too soft

Castlemartyr GAA ‏@CastlemartyrGAA 7h7 hours ago
    Intermediate Hurling Championship R2
    Full time Castlemartyr:2-17(23) Aghabullogue:0-7(7). Castlemartyr progress to R4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

I'm iff in holidays Wednesday won't make it to under 21s. If people get a chance could the post the score here. Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Pos087 wrote:
    I'm iff in holidays Wednesday won't make it to under 21s. If people get a chance could the post the score here. Thanks in advance.

If you get on twitter and follow a few of the GAA accounts and tweeters you'll have every score almost in real time.

Pos087 wrote: »

Twitter lad.

Anyone know if the TG4 site will be showing the game?