Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭rosb

More bus TA. Girl opposite me on bus has just pulled out a burger and is munching away. The smell of onions and ketchup is yeuk.
    I like to eat burgers, but i dont like the smell on the bus. Don't know why! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

I hate the way people play music way too loud during nice weather. It doesn't matter whether you're sitting in your garden enjoying the sun or if you have the windows open to let some fresh air in, there's always at least one fcuker blasting some Godawful crap music. A few minutes ago it was something like Enigma meets classical, whatever it was it was horrible.

It's so annoying! The neighbours that live behind us blast music all weekend and on certain evenings when the weather is nice. The most terrible thing about it is most of our neighbours are very old and it's like a feckin concert out the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I hate the way people play music way too loud during nice weather. It doesn't matter whether you're sitting in your garden enjoying the sun or if you have the windows open to let some fresh air in, there's always at least one fcuker blasting some Godawful crap music. A few minutes ago it was something like Enigma meets classical, whatever it was it was horrible.

Or hammering! Alway some mindless fcuker hammering. And every time you think he has stopped, he just starts again two mins later!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

When you're takin a pi$$ in a field on a calm day with no wind, then BOOM... out of nowhere comes hurricane fheck!n katrina! lol

Still, I'm a dude... it could always be worse! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Or hammering! Alway some mindless fcuker hammering. And every time you think he has stopped, he just starts again two mins later!!

Or power tools. The past couple have weeks have seen an increase in the number of male neighbours investing in petrol mowers and strimmers for very small patches of garden. Seriously, I'm begining to suspect their women must be very unsatisfied in the bedroom department. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Being selected for a paye revenue audit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

When you're takin a pi$$ in a field on a calm day with no wind, then BOOM... out of nowhere comes hurricane fheck!n katrina! lol

Still, I'm a dude... it could always be worse! :P

I lol'd :D well played!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

That Vodafone ad with that fella singing, piss off already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I was on the train at the weekend, and a gaggle of teens got on, all excited to be off on their weekend to wherever they were going, but my God the noise of them.

I am by no means a coffin dodger myself and I'm not a killjoy either, but these twits were fake laughing all the way down to the West of Ireland; sipping their Budweisers and generally being pains in the bumholes.

One of them whipped out a burger he'd bought from Heuston Station..he whipped it out at ATHLONE..the stink of onions and ketchup made me want to throw up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

My mother getting me a piercing voucher as a gift a while back and now complaining that I have used it. Like what? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

The smell of slurry in our room :( worst thing about living in the countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

KatW4 wrote: »
    The smell of slurry in our room :( worst thing about living in the countryside.

One of the best things about living in the countryside! Tis a grand fresh smell, as long as it's cow slurry.

Chicken slurry would just make you cry. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭lizzyman

You should tell him he's being paid to paint, not drink tea. I remember when we were staying with my father in law for a few months in England, there were some guys upgrading the central heating and we had to go out while they took the asbestos out. When we came back later that day I opened the fridge to put some stuff in and they'd put their lunches and soft drinks in:eek: I was fricking appalled at the cheek of it.

I don't really see a problem with this, they should have asked but if their lunch was easily spoiled by heat then I think it's fine.

One other thing is that asbestos is extremely hazardous material to remove and particles can land on food etc. Putting their lunches in the fridge may have been just to keep them out of harms way.

Anyone doing a risky job like ridding your house of asbestos and you know, maybe preventing you from getting cancers like mesothelioma should be entitled to put their lunch anywhere they damn well please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Rather with lizzyman on that.

Yet another bus and food one - people who open up a bag of cheese and onion crisps (specifically!) on a hot inter-city bus. The stink of them will cover a bus in a couple of minutes, and it's unbearable in the heat, when you're stuck with it for two hours or more. I get travel-sick pretty easily and (for medication reasons), can't take anti-travel sick tablets. I've had to get off the Cork-Waterford bus in Dungarven for an hour before now due to it. Sure, that's a me-problem, but I wish people with nasty smelly food would have some consideration for the poor fcekers trapped with them in a hot moving tin can.

Also people that insist on regaling the whole bus of their relationship/life problems, opinions, gossip, etc. at the top of their lungs for over an hour in the strange misapprehension that the person next to them is half a mile away and thus cannot hear them unless they use their outdoor voice. Their outdoor-across-a-field voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭califano

People being reported missing in the media after being away for mere hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Tube surprisingly not that crowded, yet some grumpy middle aged wan feels the need to stand right up on my shoulder, almost like she wants to read exactly what's on my phone. Feck off.

lizzyman wrote: »
    I don't really see a problem with this, they should have asked but if their lunch was easily spoiled by heat then I think it's fine.

One other thing is that asbestos is extremely hazardous material to remove and particles can land on food etc. Putting their lunches in the fridge may have been just to keep them out of harms way.

Anyone doing a risky job like ridding your house of asbestos and you know, maybe preventing you from getting cancers like mesothelioma should be entitled to put their lunch anywhere they damn well please.

The problem was not being asked. The job is their living, they know that they want to put the food in your fridge, I think the point of not asking is that they knew we'd no choice but to be out of the house for the day and rather than ask and risk being told no, they just took liberties and put the stuff in the fridge. It was rude and intrusive and out of order. It's poor form to take those kind of liberties in a strangers home. My husband's step dad used to strip asbestos and it's not something he'd ever do, even he was appalled at it.

Tube surprisingly not that crowded, yet some grumpy middle aged wan feels the need to stand right up on my shoulder, almost like she wants to read exactly what's on my phone. Feck off.

I always hated getting the Tube, not that we had to use it often. I always felt like the life was being sucked out of me down there, especially if there's a delay somewhere on the line and your down there in a heatwave.

xLisaBx wrote: »
    My mother getting me a piercing voucher as a gift a while back and now complaining that I have used it. Like what? :pac:

On a piercing theme, people who pierce infants/toddlers ears. I've seen a 3 year old boy with a hoop earring to match his dads one. No shop would have done that so they've done a home piercing job with a needle on their kids ear lobe. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

On a piercing theme, people who pierce infants/toddlers ears. I've seen a 3 year old boy with a hoop earring to match his dads one. No shop would have done that so they've done a home piercing job with a needle on their kids ear lobe. :mad:

+1, it's so tacky. A child is not a fashion accessory! If they want it themselves when they get older, fair enough, but it's just horrible on babies and small children.

tradhead wrote:
    One of the best things about living in the countryside! Tis a grand fresh smell, as long as it's cow slurry.

Pig slurry :( it's worse. Haven't experienced chicken slurry! Apart from the smell, I love living in the countryside. It's almost been a year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Lads who wear suits to work, then switch the shoes to runners when heading home. You look stupid lads, please stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

KatW4 wrote: »
    Pig slurry :( it's worse. Haven't experienced chicken slurry! Apart from the smell, I love living in the countryside. It's almost been a year :D

you can buy buckets of chicken sh1t pellets in Woodies- stinks

I think I'll pass on that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Lads who wear suits to work, then switch the shoes to runners when heading home. You look stupid lads, please stop

Think they are Melanie Griffith in 'Working Girl' :rolleyes: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Back in 1990 I had my ear pierced. I was three months old. Not my decision you understand.

Could never get consensus on if it was "the gay ear".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

Some places will now pierce once the baby has had their first vaccines. In the UK that's 6 weeks! It's ridiculous, but probably done in order to prevent parents chancing it with needles at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

The problem was not being asked. The job is their living, they know that they want to put the food in your fridge, I think the point of not asking is that they knew we'd no choice but to be out of the house for the day and rather than ask and risk being told no, they just took liberties and put the stuff in the fridge. It was rude and intrusive and out of order. It's poor form to take those kind of liberties in a strangers home. My husband's step dad used to strip asbestos and it's not something he'd ever do, even he was appalled at it.

That seems highly sensitive. They didn't leave it in your drawers. Would you let them use your bathroom?

Pac1Man wrote: »
    That seems highly sensitive. They didn't leave it in your drawers. Would you let them use your bathroom?

Now you're just being silly. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

I do this : / well I'm a girl and wear suit dresses and runners.