Have you met your hero, did they disappoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Damon Albarn: 5 of us had a lock in after a Gorillaz gig. Pain in the hole tbh. Very messy drunk and was just shy of being a complete pr1ck.

Greame McDowell: Had a few pints with him in Killarney a few years back, just after he won his Major. Great craic and thanks to the locals thinking I was a mate of his, I got free drink for most of the night. The more I told them I didn't know him, the more I was met with "ara we know, wink wink, you must be sick of talking about him"

Bill Clinton: Had dinner with him (and about 550 other people :) ) He gave a talk for nearly an hour and you could hear a pin drop. Got to say hello to him briefly afterwards. He had an amazing presence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

anncoates wrote: »
    Does it count if you read their gigantic, much-anticipated autobiography and realized - with a sense of mild devastation - that it was a turgid, pretentious and vindictive train wreck?

Needless to say I had the last laugh

Was thinking about this last night and I've met a few of the people that I would conditions my heroes -

Max Brooks, author of World War Z and Mel Brooks' son.
    Terry Pratchett - though when I say meet, I mean I sat in a room and listened to him talk at the Science Gallery in Dublin - I'm sure other boardsies were there too. It was a fantastic experience.
    Scroobius Pip - lovely guy. Very decent chap.
    Bret the Hitman Hart - met completely randomly in a pub in Galway. Really nice guy.

I'm sure there's others that I can't think of. I tend to get around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,299 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Met Tom Cruise once, really nice guy, even invited me to church the following Sunday unfortunately I was busy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Met Noam Chomsky at an event in New York 10 years ago, before I had much appreciation for his brilliance. Seemed a very humble affable guy...

Also met iron Mike Tyson couple of years ago. He was certainly not a humble man. But also seemed more intelligent and articulate than he comes across on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Met John Lydon & had a pint with him, sound bloke, just as narky & witty as I expected :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Met the Limerick FC manager in a pub after a game a couple of months ago.

So humble for such a great man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭NakedMonkey

Stephen Seagal -his niceness threw me.

I was queuing up for a photo with him after a gig in London and he was just miserable looking and never answered a question he was asked.

There were 7 people left in the queue for a photo and he just got up and left without a word leaving the fans standing there.

No respect for the man after that night. Especially since these people had paid to see gig with a photo op after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

osarusan wrote: »
    Met the Limerick FC manager in a pub after a game a couple of months ago.

So humble for such a great man.

Martin Russell? Smiling to hide the disappointment I'd say haha I'm from Limerick so I'm only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

Met Beyonce in Dublin Airport, was working at check-in and had to look after her, she was sound and even told her MAHOOSIVE security guard (predictably named Tiny) to stand back while I asked her the security questions.

She's not necessarily a hero but Steve Coogan is and myself and the bro-in-law hung around after seeing him live in Melbourne in 2010 and had great banter with him, all the while both of us (thankfully) resisted the urge to do ANY Alan Partridge impressions

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

yermandan wrote: »
    Met Beyonce in Dublin Airport, was working at check-in and had to look after her, she was sound and even told her MAHOOSIVE security guard (predictably named Tiny) to stand back while I asked her the security questions.

She's not necessarily a hero but Steve Coogan is and myself and the bro-in-law hung around after seeing him live in Melbourne in 2010 and had great banter with him, all the while both of us (thankfully) resisted the urge to do ANY Alan Partridge impressions

That should be in the Guinness Book of World Records under "Superhuman feats of endurance".
    I could not have resisted an "Ah-haaa!" or "Back of the net!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Was thinking about this last night and I've met a few of the people that I would conditions my heroes -

Max Brooks, author of World War Z and Mel Brooks' son.
    Terry Pratchett - though when I say meet, I mean I sat in a room and listened to him talk at the Science Gallery in Dublin - I'm sure other boardsies were there too. It was a fantastic experience.
    Scroobius Pip - lovely guy. Very decent chap.
    Bret the Hitman Hart - met completely randomly in a pub in Galway. Really nice guy.

I'm sure there's others that I can't think of. I tend to get around.

As a pro wrestling fan this interests me, how long ago was it? Assuming not many people recognised him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Met Jack Charlton in pub few years ago. As someone who was a nine year old football nut during Italia 90 he was my hero. Didn't want to bother him but he started conversation. Lovely man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

That's really cool man.It's a unique experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

met the prodigy at stanstead about 18 years ago ( sh!t im old )
    great bunch of lads, had a large poster of the group on me at the time and they signed it for me, stayed chatting for ages.

Just thought of a couple more. Not exactly heroes but one or two stood out.

Have met fair few of Irish football team over the years travelling to away games. Clinton Morrison was sadly a good laugh. Had always questioned his desire to play for us and thought he was holding out for an England callup so kind of wanted him to be an arsehole. Liked him after that.

Another one I liked was Mani from Stone Roses and Primal Scream but more because of the occasion than the man himself. He was good craic and a friendly bloke but liked meeting him all the more because it was in the bar of the Olympia at a Stone Roses tribute act gig. Bizarre

, all the while both of us (thankfully) resisted the urge to do ANY Alan Partridge impressions

You're a better man than me. I salute you, sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Collie D wrote: »
    Another one I liked was Mani from Stone Roses and Primal Scream but more because of the occasion than the man himself. He was good craic and a friendly bloke but liked meeting him all the more because it was in the bar of the Olympia at a Stone Roses tribute act gig. Bizarre

Met him in the crowd in Vicar Street years ago...during a Stone Roses tribute act gig. He does a DJ set before them sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I've met the top gear crew a few times and the only decent one is James May.

smash wrote: »
    I've met the top gear crew a few times and the only decent one is James May.

Why do you say that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Why do you say that?
    Because Clarkeson is a self obsessed obnoxious twat and Hammond was drunk and starting on people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've met quite a few celebs over the years alright, most are sound, the odd prick here and there. Bit like everybody else really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

When I worked in bewleys in Blackrock the odd 'celeb' would pop in. One that left a lasting impression on me was Ardal O Hanlon. He was sound but very eccentric and actually a bit loopy. Dave Fanning was always a rude twat

John Giles was in the pub I work in after the match on Sunday. I have met him loads of times now and he is always an absolute gent. His table left a NICE tip too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I tend to avoid celebrities if I meet them at social events, there's just an unnatural dynamic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I met Kevin Shields from My bloody valentine last week at the patti smith gig, i turned into an incomprehensible twat but i'd say he understood me enough to know that i was appreciative of all his work and he seemed to be a sound f**ker!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭The Dark Side

Morrissey (Steven Patrick , as opposed to Marty).

Charming, polite and enigmatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Met John Lydon & had a pint with him, sound bloke, just as narky & witty as I expected :D

i'm jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Bret the Hitman Hart

Cool

great pic