Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you met your hero, did they disappoint?

• 08-06-2015 9:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭

I've never met a hero of mine.
    I know that my brother played darts against John Lowe who is his favourite player and the person who's play style he tries to play like. Needless to say my brother lost but he was disappointed at how unfriendly the man was before and after the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It turns out MacGyver isn't a real person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I met BBC TV host Henry Sellars.

Very disappointing.

I'd agree that you should never meet your heroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I met BBC TV host Henry Sellars.

Very disappointing.

I'd agree that you should never meet your heroes.

The b@stard. Firing him from the BBC! He made the BBC!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Nope, and I'd actively avoid doing so because it would be underwhelming. You're building up ordinary people into something they're not on the basis of their professional work. Meeting some ordinary punter is not as exciting or interesting for them as it is for the punter.

"For you, the day Bison graced your village was the most important day of your life. But for me, it was Tuesday."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I queued for hours to get Ronnie Whelans autograph when I was a kid.

That was fine but I didn't know that he would turn out to be such a bitter man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Charlie19 wrote: »
    I queued for hours to get Ronnie Whelans autograph when I was a kid.

That was fine but I didn't know that he would turn out to be such a bitter man.

It breaks my heart to see something like that happen to a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

Birneybau wrote: »
    The b@stard. Firing him from the BBC! He made the BBC!!!

Really - did we need another Ted quote ??

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

s8n wrote: »
    Really - did we need another Ted quote ??

Careful now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

Careful now!

Predictable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I don't have any heros beyond my parents.

Most people seeking attention do it to fill a void. They are broken people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Met Terry Pratchett at a disc world convention at Ennistymon. He stood there for hours, drinking pints and was just talking to everyone.
    He was an absolute legend and the nicest man you could possibly meet, plus an absolute fountain of knowledge on just about any subject.
    You could not tell he was ill in any way. Great guy, will remember that for the rest of my life. I'm truly gushing here, but what can I say? The man was great. Still have my signed copy of The Color of Magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Michael D is one of my heroes. He apologised to me for something and gave me a big hug. I was just awestruck for ages.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Stannis Baratheon

Then I went to one of his barbeques :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Stephen Seagal -his niceness threw me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Bumped into Henry Cooper at Stansted.

Really pleasant guy.

Stunk of Brut though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Heroes are just like everybody else, some are sound, some are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Steve_Carella

Yes. No.

Waiting for the people who have met Ronan O'Gara to turn up XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Met a few. Most were sound.

David Soul, Billy Idol the soundest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

s8n wrote: »
    Predictable

Fupp off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Met Matt Willis, twice, after he performed in Wicked. He was so nice. He signed everyone's programme, took pictures with everyone and chatted away.

The second time he was with a friend and about to walk away until he saw me and he walked over to talk to me! I nearly passed out haha! He kissed me on the cheek that time.

Great guy! I'm sure not everyone would be as kind as him though.

Fupp off.

Yeah, what a grasshole. :P

You sure that wasn't an Ippon Seoinage? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Does it count if you read their gigantic, much-anticipated autobiography and realized - with a sense of mild devastation - that it was a turgid, pretentious and vindictive train wreck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

anncoates wrote: »
    Does it count if you read their gigantic, much-anticipated autobiography and realized - with a sense of mild devastation - that it was a turgid, pretentious and vindictive train wreck?

My childhood is streets upon streets upon streets upon streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

As a kid I met Mick Galwey outside an A international. He was very gracious.

I've watched a couple of people I know turn into minor hero figures for others and it's bizarre how they're treated. If I find it strange I can't imagine how they find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Kurt Cobain came in to the place where I work in 1992. Was a nice guy, obviously quite shy and/or not comfortable with being recognised/talked to so I just told him I thought his music was great and left it at that :)

(although I did photocopy and keep the Visa receipt he signed for the stuff he bought, this was in days when you had to put your card in one of those swipe things with a carbon copy leaflet, none of your fancy automatic dialling things then, oh no!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Met Jean-Claude van Damme once, he gave me a judo chop to the trachea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I met Till Lindemann and Paul Landers from Rammstein outside the hotel they were staying in when they played the O2 in 2012. 2 incredibly nice guys.

Till has been an idol of mine for a very many years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭KTR1C

Met Jimmy Savile, now I need a psychologist to "fix it for me" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Damon Albarn: 5 of us had a lock in after a Gorillaz gig. Pain in the hole tbh. Very messy drunk and was just shy of being a complete pr1ck.

Greame McDowell: Had a few pints with him in Killarney a few years back, just after he won his Major. Great craic and thanks to the locals thinking I was a mate of his, I got free drink for most of the night. The more I told them I didn't know him, the more I was met with "ara we know, wink wink, you must be sick of talking about him"

Bill Clinton: Had dinner with him (and about 550 other people :) ) He gave a talk for nearly an hour and you could hear a pin drop. Got to say hello to him briefly afterwards. He had an amazing presence.

anncoates wrote: »

Needless to say I had the last laugh

Was thinking about this last night and I've met a few of the people that I would conditions my heroes -

Max Brooks, author of World War Z and Mel Brooks' son.
    Terry Pratchett - though when I say meet, I mean I sat in a room and listened to him talk at the Science Gallery in Dublin - I'm sure other boardsies were there too. It was a fantastic experience.
    Scroobius Pip - lovely guy. Very decent chap.
    Bret the Hitman Hart - met completely randomly in a pub in Galway. Really nice guy.

I'm sure there's others that I can't think of. I tend to get around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,532 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Met Tom Cruise once, really nice guy, even invited me to church the following Sunday unfortunately I was busy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Met Noam Chomsky at an event in New York 10 years ago, before I had much appreciation for his brilliance. Seemed a very humble affable guy...

Also met iron Mike Tyson couple of years ago. He was certainly not a humble man. But also seemed more intelligent and articulate than he comes across on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Met John Lydon & had a pint with him, sound bloke, just as narky & witty as I expected :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Met the Limerick FC manager in a pub after a game a couple of months ago.

So humble for such a great man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭NakedMonkey

I was queuing up for a photo with him after a gig in London and he was just miserable looking and never answered a question he was asked.

There were 7 people left in the queue for a photo and he just got up and left without a word leaving the fans standing there.

No respect for the man after that night. Especially since these people had paid to see gig with a photo op after it.

osarusan wrote: »
    Met the Limerick FC manager in a pub after a game a couple of months ago.

So humble for such a great man.

Martin Russell? Smiling to hide the disappointment I'd say haha I'm from Limerick so I'm only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Met Beyonce in Dublin Airport, was working at check-in and had to look after her, she was sound and even told her MAHOOSIVE security guard (predictably named Tiny) to stand back while I asked her the security questions.

She's not necessarily a hero but Steve Coogan is and myself and the bro-in-law hung around after seeing him live in Melbourne in 2010 and had great banter with him, all the while both of us (thankfully) resisted the urge to do ANY Alan Partridge impressions

yermandan wrote: »
    Met Beyonce in Dublin Airport, was working at check-in and had to look after her, she was sound and even told her MAHOOSIVE security guard (predictably named Tiny) to stand back while I asked her the security questions.

She's not necessarily a hero but Steve Coogan is and myself and the bro-in-law hung around after seeing him live in Melbourne in 2010 and had great banter with him, all the while both of us (thankfully) resisted the urge to do ANY Alan Partridge impressions

That should be in the Guinness Book of World Records under "Superhuman feats of endurance".
    I could not have resisted an "Ah-haaa!" or "Back of the net!"

Was thinking about this last night and I've met a few of the people that I would conditions my heroes -

Max Brooks, author of World War Z and Mel Brooks' son.
    Terry Pratchett - though when I say meet, I mean I sat in a room and listened to him talk at the Science Gallery in Dublin - I'm sure other boardsies were there too. It was a fantastic experience.
    Scroobius Pip - lovely guy. Very decent chap.
    Bret the Hitman Hart - met completely randomly in a pub in Galway. Really nice guy.

I'm sure there's others that I can't think of. I tend to get around.

As a pro wrestling fan this interests me, how long ago was it? Assuming not many people recognised him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Met Jack Charlton in pub few years ago. As someone who was a nine year old football nut during Italia 90 he was my hero. Didn't want to bother him but he started conversation. Lovely man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

That's really cool man.It's a unique experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

met the prodigy at stanstead about 18 years ago ( sh!t im old )
    great bunch of lads, had a large poster of the group on me at the time and they signed it for me, stayed chatting for ages.

Just thought of a couple more. Not exactly heroes but one or two stood out.

Have met fair few of Irish football team over the years travelling to away games. Clinton Morrison was sadly a good laugh. Had always questioned his desire to play for us and thought he was holding out for an England callup so kind of wanted him to be an arsehole. Liked him after that.

Another one I liked was Mani from Stone Roses and Primal Scream but more because of the occasion than the man himself. He was good craic and a friendly bloke but liked meeting him all the more because it was in the bar of the Olympia at a Stone Roses tribute act gig. Bizarre

yermandan wrote: »
    , all the while both of us (thankfully) resisted the urge to do ANY Alan Partridge impressions

You're a better man than me. I salute you, sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Collie D wrote: »
    Another one I liked was Mani from Stone Roses and Primal Scream but more because of the occasion than the man himself. He was good craic and a friendly bloke but liked meeting him all the more because it was in the bar of the Olympia at a Stone Roses tribute act gig. Bizarre

Met him in the crowd in Vicar Street years ago...during a Stone Roses tribute act gig. He does a DJ set before them sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I've met the top gear crew a few times and the only decent one is James May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

smash wrote: »
    I've met the top gear crew a few times and the only decent one is James May.

Why do you say that?