Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

O Riain wrote: »
    Can I just say, well done to cork for the makings of a very good game. I do hope ye come back and that we meet again.

Second of all to thinkstoolittle can I just say you got your come upance today. I hope that "JBM was keeping his cards close to his chest" smirk is well and truly wiped off your face.

Sincerely, Good luck to cork in the rest of the championship and I do hope we meet again for another cracker.

No need to speak about one of Corks greatest most informed and most passionate supporters like that.Show a little class and humility.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

There's a lesson in this, opinions are fine and we're all wrong at least some of the time. When you state something as opinion, criticism should be limited. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and there are many ways to justify it.

Adamant statements of fact, however, and particularly derision of opposing teams (which there was towards Waterford) is not likely to go down well and so if you engage in that you should expect a backlash. I'll say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

First of all congrats to Waterford. They were full value for their win and cut through the cork defence at ease. The marking and tracking of runners by Cork was embarassing. "Heartless" i heard being used as i was leaving the game. The game itself was of no benefit to Waterford with us missing so many key players and i'd say Waterford wont have learnt much but was good for their younger players to feel and win in championship while using some of their bench.

TTM has been calling for Hoggy to be dropped for a while now and i have to agree with him. He didnt seem at all interested in chasing fellas or hooking or blocking. He went up for a high ball with a one handed hurley in the middle of a group of waterford players. One on one he would've brought it down for himself but in a group u have to be going up with conviction and grab that ball. I saw Luke's "altercation" and the waterford man went down very easy. A one handed push to the chest, as the two of them were holding onto each other. But if you put yourself in that position in front of the umpires you deserve to be sent off for stupidity alone.

Referee was terrible in general. Some awfully soft frees. Fair play to Patrick Cronin though. Showed great fight and heart all through. Much maligned over the past few years, his shooting was excellent yesterday. Likewise Alan Cadogan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Connorzee wrote: »
    First of all congrats to Waterford. They were full value for their win and cut through the cork defence at ease. The marking and tracking of runners by Cork was embarassing. "Heartless" i heard being used as i was leaving the game. The game itself was of no benefit to Waterford with us missing so many key players and i'd say Waterford wont have learnt much but was good for their younger players to feel and win in championship while using some of their bench.

TTM has been calling for Hoggy to be dropped for a while now and i have to agree with him. He didnt seem at all interested in chasing fellas or hooking or blocking. He went up for a high ball with a one handed hurley in the middle of a group of waterford players. One on one he would've brought it down for himself but in a group u have to be going up with conviction and grab that ball. I saw Luke's "altercation" and the waterford man went down very easy. A one handed push to the chest, as the two of them were holding onto each other. But if you put yourself in that position in front of the umpires you deserve to be sent off for stupidity alone.

Referee was terrible in general. Some awfully soft frees. Fair play to Patrick Cronin though. Showed great fight and heart all through. Much maligned over the past few years, his shooting was excellent yesterday. Likewise Alan Cadogan.

One handed push with the Hurley or his hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

O Riain wrote: »
    One handed push with the Hurley or his hand?

He put the hurley in his left hand just before he pushed him with the right. Two of them were around the square as the ball was being set up for the sideline cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

There's a lesson in this, opinions are fine and we're all wrong at least some of the time. When you state something as opinion, criticism should be limited. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and there are many ways to justify it.

Adamant statements of fact, however, and particularly derision of opposing teams (which there was towards Waterford) is not likely to go down well and so if you engage in that you should expect a backlash. I'll say no more.
    Congratulations on your win
    A person perception of fact in relation to a team etc can usually be derived from the logic he or she trys to use to prove he's or point
    I hsve or never have a problem debating points through and through the only problem is and to be fair it's wasn't you but one poster trying to say I was wrong cork lost on post a month ago when I said all week cork would loose
    I geuinely wasn't doing mind games but most with knowledge cork knew harnedy was never going to start and the talk is he's still a doubt for the qualifiers

Going back to the match it's give waterford breathing space as they can loose without the pressure the next day and while mcgrath fair enough and credit due wants to win every game imo winning munster will do them no great favours as momentum will be broken

Waterford have momentum now and imo should change the system for the munster final in we all know they can play a defence sweeper well but they have a golden chance to go orthodox and try few fringe lads with few changes and if they loose won't affect things hugely as there trying something new

They will need another game plan to win the all Ireland so not saying go to loose munster but it's clear their fitness is outstanding and imo very hard to peak in that regard all year so I'd taper things down for the munster final and use this golden opportunity to try more things

Yes winning a munster is seen as great but imo cork are limerick proof means nothing in all Ireland terms and if they play limerick I expect huge hunger and Waterford to win

There's an argument for tipperary winning munster in they actually need to avoid kk at all costs so imo tipp waterford final be better

Waterford have done well as the all Ireland series now starts
    I think there's no way they could win league munster and all Ireland in same year
    A loss in munster final while competitive showing up the faults the system still has imo be no bad thing for them at all at all

Waterford will need a plan b like any team that wants to play KK
    The munster final is a huge opportunity to allow them try that with the comfort zone of a back door

What was impressed me yesterday was waterford when they were down never panicked and that's a good sign

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/two-jobs-will-shape-corks-hurling-future/
    A good read two years ago before the all Ireland final
    It shows to be correct
    The minor they rectified but the under twenty one they made a mess of it as proven by the same minor management that was questions on results getting the under twenty one job

Louganne made a daming assement cork in Saturday paper ruthless cut throat stuff and he was spot on to be fair
    He questions the management within reason and unlike tom Ryan who always has pop at jbm and will probably do so again and Ryan was no messiah himself with louganne you would respect he's view and he questions the cork board and clubs etc etc
    But look it's like Xmas becoming an annual event but you can look forward to Xmas same realistic stuff is spoken year on year what needs to be done but nothing changes in cork hurling or football for that matter as the same mistakes are repeated by appointment managers with no proven records

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Orizio wrote: »
    He was excellent for the Barrs a couple of weeks back. These lads are the best we have.

there is def better than Cahalane there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭TyrionPower

Probably applies more to supporters but No team is as good as they think they are when they win and no team is as bad as they think they are win the lose - no one will fancy facing Cork they will have a say yet.

I have to say that in the first 20 minutes I couldn't help thinking to myself that today was going to be the day we (Waterford) were going to get our comeuppance after the league final..

Cork should they have the strike runners to hurt a team set up defensively early on - if they change their set up to protect the goal more they will have a day yet.
    Yesterday was a suicidal set up for cork and they got punished for it

slingerz wrote: »

Possibly outside the panel but there's not many on it in sullivan will kearney certainly aren't better than him
    Cahalane Is no half back and should be full back

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/dublin-away-would-be-a-tough-draw/

Dublin in parnell park in a Saturday evening would be a nightmare and croke park be fine but it wouldn't be there imo it be parnell park or wexford away be tough also
    Don't be surprised with fate in how cunningham never got the cork job he knocked cork out of the championship

Dublin were destroyed Saturday but cunningham and coughlan only in job few months and trying incorporating the possession games away from the physical game daly had

Cunningham knows he needs to build a team and like callaghan Tracey dwyer are past it and were average at best and nothing great and dwyer be fair imo wouldn't have near a team in he's liable be sent off on any given day
    Dublin under twenty one defeat was a huge blow to them but still few those got to minor all Ireland finals and likes of cronin kerry o connell and bolsnd offer them hope
    Cunningham is trying to build something knew and himself and coughlan have proven experience so I wouldn't say Dublin are in dire trouble yet and I certainly wouldn't like play them in parnell back

If cork play there hurlers won't win the game in you need warriors and that rules out horgan

One key moments to highlight all that's wrong with him and to prove it's solely he's attuide is wrong
    Ist ten minutes he broke through on goal and made an awful miss when cork had a free man
    However I thought he was redeem himself as got great point and then he lost a ball but actually worked tirelessly to get it back and won a ball he'd no right to win and cork won a free
    Cork were flying then and horgan to be fair offered hope of a changed attuide

But that's horgan for you like I said he's the cork Ronaldo all fine things going well
    Soon as Waterford got a vice grip he didn't want to know
    Lehane at least won a penalty and tried to change things
    Horgan has this soccer type imo problems like some over hyped soccer players that walk around the ptich thinking their the bees knees when they don't performance the need is greatest
    You see I said this before but horgan is not just to blame
    He's faults with attuide are being nourished imo by management fail to drop him and the media with he's interview where all he does is the usual talk is imo not doing him favours
    I don't blame the media as they have a job to do
    I don't blame horgan as course he loves the opportunity
    I blame jbm as he should say sorry now Patrick you have one and only focus this year on the field performance from play

The only way horgan will change is you drop him and when back doesn't take frees
    And you tell him he's off interview and done enough he's time but like cronin taking captaincy off himself horgan needs one focus
    This is not a dictator ship managing style all it is is doing the best for the team and horgan needs total focus on he's game
    I read the media match report cork again Horgan was said to not step up to the mark but that was that

They stop short when surely on field play it's reasonable to say he's performance last year have been poor and should be dropped
    Nobody calls a spade a spade in cork and those that do are seen as agenda driven yet baffling irony is these people then lament year after year cork still are off the pack in hurling yet pundits aren't ruthless enough to call spade a spade

There's a poor culture in cork gaa overall and it's all correlation to attuide cork accept mediocrity and anyone speaks out is accused the famous famous line it's personal it's agenda driven dint be too harsh, who are we to criticise when all were doing is judging performance on the field of play the same way kk and kerry do

I don't think people realise the bleak future if jbm goes ahead
    There's is a worry some appalling candidates on record alone will get it yet well hear the nonsense he's the best man for it, record speaks for itself
    O grady doesn't want management now and won't get it if he did
    Pat mulchay hasn't a hope as there's still the contempt cork possession game is fault cork problems as anonymous person was quick to tell the paper two years ago so being a Newtown man he won't get it as newton are blamed for cork demise with the short game

There's a valid concerns pat kennelly could get it
    As the board spin would be he captained cork, coached intermediate and minor and under twenty one teams
    The pr spin and the board do well would be he's cork minors team pushed waterford extra time they won the all Ireland and that waterford team had five players yesterday so it be like kennelly came close, when the shambles to clare last year at under twenty one won't be mentioned at all at all

And if that did happen the pundits that are fast to lament the problem we have today and the club members when push comes to shove and if he or another unproven candidates got it would say nothing at all and not questions it just like what happened in the football so same old story happens again

The reason I mentioned cork football here is to show how we went from top four in football to now top eight can actually happen the hurling as it takes just one bad appointment

A radical overhaul is needed at board level bar a few good people there and a director hurling is needed but it won't happen
    Cork are actually the Liverpool of hurling once great but now a minnows
    Cork problems are actually easy to fix but it takes times and needs to start from the bottom up as no quick fix soultion but it won't happen

The gaa talk about the game there promoting etc
    For the last ten years they turned a blind eye to cork problems and while yes it's up to cork to sort them surely it's clear as day the problems in cork won't be fixed with the same board there and Murphy was meant to be gone but got an extended contract
    There should been a review of how cork are so bad

Cusack said all what was wrong with cork last August and fair enough he's no god and a self publist in some people eyes no can deny what he said was right
    Landers said cusack had valid points but the timing was wrong
    Again what do you do, you wait upon wait upon wait to call a spade a spade
    There's never a right time to call a spade a spade
    There's no sense balance in cork

Pro strikes fans tell you sean og halpin cusack and the rock should be the next senior set up
    I'm huge fans of all but absolutely no way as they have no records and this is just repeating habits of old

The anti strike fans don't want anyone involved cork teams from that era
    The strikes shouldn't have any relevance to things
    All that matters is who is the best available candidates at a given time for cork
    Some are still on both sides trying to score points imo from old scores relating to the strikes
    Cork needs do read the book invictus and follow south Africa rugby twenty years ago where they united as one and they came together as a unit

There is Still huge divisions in cork hurling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Sorry but you should be hoping to get us in the qualifiers.

We are in turmoil.

All because of one man Ger Cunningham. Im not sure what sort of reputation he had in Cork but he is so out of his depth as manager of Dublin that it's gone beyond a farce.

Way too many things to mention that i wont even get started.

Ye dont know how lucjy ye are that he didnt get your managers job when he wanted it

TheNap wrote: »
    Sorry but you should be hoping to get us in the qualifiers.

We are in turmoil.

All because of one man Ger Cunningham. Im not sure what sort of reputation he had in Cork but he is so out of his depth as manager of Dublin that it's gone beyond a farce.

Way too many things to mention that i wont even get started.

Ye dont know how lucjy ye are that he didnt get your managers job when he wanted it
    Ah surely tell us what they are so we can say we agree or not
    There's no real basis there what you say
    That Dublin team was always going to be transition as I said last year that they outgrew daly so it's takes time to rebuild in Dublin are lot players past their peak
    Cunningham has an outstanding record with coughlan so I tend to give lads with such benefit of the doubt
    I'd gladly take cunningham in the morning
    To say there's so many things wrong but you won't even start makes no sense
    Surely it's easy to say what's wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Connorzee wrote: »
    He put the hurley in his left hand just before he pushed him with the right. Two of them were around the square as the ball was being set up for the sideline cut.

He got sent off for that? If so I have to agree with the lads saying Kelly was inconsistent as he let O Farrell away with the one handed strike into Coughlans face just after it. Actually almost identical to Mullane on Murphy in 2004.

A definite red. I'm probably one of only a handful who saw the entire thing.

Ah surely tell us what they are so we can say we agree or not
    There's no real basis there what you say
    That Dublin team was always going to be transition as I said last year that they outgrew daly so it's takes time to rebuild in Dublin are lot players past their peak
    Cunningham has an outstanding record with coughlan so I tend to give lads with such benefit of the doubt
    I'd gladly take cunningham in the morning

Excluding the fact that he has no hurling brain and refuses to ever do anything remotely tactically here are a few other issues

* Drops an All Star goalkeeper
    * Plays an injured corner back
    * Said corner back concedes 3 goals in the 1st 10 minutes
    * Instead of taking him off he moves him wing back
    * Puts a wing back corner back who has never played there
    * Plays our best wing back at full back. He has never played there. Plays his club hurling midfield
    * Plays an All Star centre back wing forward
    * Plays a 33 year old short of pace in the most demanding position on the pitch at wing back
    * Brings Paul Ryan on at half time . He does well , then takes him off again
    * Brings on our 3rd choice goalkeeper for Paul Ryan
    * Said goalkeeper has never even played a game outfield for his club
    * Brings in a man from Kerry to the panel 2 weeks ago. He starts midfield 2 weeks later

They arent even the main issues but wont get into them on a public forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Possibly outside the panel but there's not many on it in sullivan will kearney certainly aren't better than him
    Cahalane Is no half back and should be full back

TTM

What do you base Cahalane being your answer for n03 is it the 2011 u21 munster final v limerick when he beat Downes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Cornerstoner

Congratulations on your win
    A person perception of fact in relation to a team etc can usually be derived from the logic he or she trys to use to prove he's or point
    I hsve or never have a problem debating points through and through the only problem is and to be fair it's wasn't you but one poster trying to say I was wrong cork lost on post a month ago when I said all week cork would loose
    I geuinely wasn't doing mind games but most with knowledge cork knew harnedy was never going to start and the talk is he's still a doubt for the qualifiers

Going back to the match it's give waterford breathing space as they can loose without the pressure the next day and while mcgrath fair enough and credit due wants to win every game imo winning munster will do them no great favours as momentum will be broken

Waterford have momentum now and imo should change the system for the munster final in we all know they can play a defence sweeper well but they have a golden chance to go orthodox and try few fringe lads with few changes and if they loose won't affect things hugely as there trying something new

They will need another game plan to win the all Ireland so not saying go to loose munster but it's clear their fitness is outstanding and imo very hard to peak in that regard all year so I'd taper things down for the munster final and use this golden opportunity to try more things

Yes winning a munster is seen as great but imo cork are limerick proof means nothing in all Ireland terms and if they play limerick I expect huge hunger and Waterford to win

There's an argument for tipperary winning munster in they actually need to avoid kk at all costs so imo tipp waterford final be better

Waterford have done well as the all Ireland series now starts
    I think there's no way they could win league munster and all Ireland in same year
    A loss in munster final while competitive showing up the faults the system still has imo be no bad thing for them at all at all

Waterford will need a plan b like any team that wants to play KK
    The munster final is a huge opportunity to allow them try that with the comfort zone of a back door

What was impressed me yesterday was waterford when they were down never panicked and that's a good sign

This current crop of Waterford players have a new mindset now: go out and win every game you play. None of that nonsense, winning is a habit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

slingerz wrote: »

Go ahead then, who.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

I honestly believe Cork have the players. I've great respect for JBM but realy don't understand his tactics.

To be fair to the likes of Cadogan, Farrell and Lehane how much quality ball was sent their way? Walsh wasted several chances when the smart option would be to play it in front of Cadogan.

I thought we beat ye on the line via tactics. Cork dominated the first 20 mins and a better manager would have protected the full back line when saw Waterford were threatening more.

Looking back on the video again i though Cronin was terrific. Not only 5 points from play but set up other scores with intelligent ball.

Thought Murphy done well after 2 years out. Cahalane did give away a good few frees, but tbf I thought alot of the refs frees were soft.

Best of luck in the back door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

HillFarmer wrote: »
    I honestly believe Cork have the players..

A lot of people in Cork believe this but I'm dumbfounded by it.

I keep reading that Cork "went man to man", "pushed up on Waterford" yesterday. Where exactly did the spare Cork player play yesterday? It was impossible to tell on TV.

As an aside, the 3 subs introduced yesterday are way short athletically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭sasol

Cahalane needs to be given time to settle into full back.

This guy has the potential to be something special.

Full back is a specialist position where persistence from management is required.

Cahalane is the answer.

lim4ev wrote: »
    TTM

What do you base Cahalane being your answer for n03 is it the 2011 u21 munster final v limerick when he beat Downes?

Partly yes but the fact he's performance was good last year v Waterford and with the club
    The main reason is imo though out of Mcdonnell o Neill Murphy he's simply the best option we have
    Spillane imo would be the answer but he's injured most times
    Go through sarafields winning team or midelton before of county there not full backs for cork
    Barry last year under twenty one full back is a half back
    Intermediate full back deenhy Charleville needs to be looked at but I think he may be a centre back
    Joyce obviously when fit well be full back

Excluding the fact that he has no hurling brain and refuses to ever do anything remotely tactically here are a few other issues

* Drops an All Star goalkeeper
    * Plays an injured corner back
    * Said corner back concedes 3 goals in the 1st 10 minutes
    * Instead of taking him off he moves him wing back
    * Puts a wing back corner back who has never played there
    * Plays our best wing back at full back. He has never played there. Plays his club hurling midfield
    * Plays an All Star centre back wing forward
    * Plays a 33 year old short of pace in the most demanding position on the pitch at wing back
    * Brings Paul Ryan on at half time . He does well , then takes him off again
    * Brings on our 3rd choice goalkeeper for Paul Ryan
    * Said goalkeeper has never even played a game outfield for his club
    * Brings in a man from Kerry to the panel 2 weeks ago. He starts midfield 2 weeks later

They arent even the main issues but wont get into them on a public forum
    in imo o connell is a fine hurler like brick and christy Walsh good former kerry hurlers

Dublin team couldn't stay as is the last four years when ye never moved on so he's got to try a new system and players are being adjusted
    Next year I expect a massive cull from the current panel and likes dwyer Tracey wont be there
    Rush has played in the forwards well before
    I'd agree about playing wing back corner back that's all wrong and Paul Ryan scenario I agree was wrong

The fact that said cunningham no hurling brain I'd differ on that point in he's been involved as coach all Ireland winning cork team with o grady and was huge influence with jbm cork got limited team to all Ireland final and if anything he's loss last two years huge to cork
    He's hugely rayed in cork and had a good record with ucc and ballygunner
    To say he doesn't do tactical game plans is wrong when cork played a poession game undrr him and orthodox under him under jbm term
    He brought in the well respected well proven ed coughlan from mayo and while boland was forced hand to an extent to keep the locals happy he brings in good people with him
    He will build he's own team and when daly left it's fair to say he stayed a year too long and they need reinvented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

Looking at SG last night I got the impression no decision is made without going thru Dr Con.

in imo o connell is a fine hurler like brick and christy Walsh good former kerry hurlers

Dublin team couldn't stay as is the last four years when ye never moved on so he's got to try a new system and players are being adjusted
    Next year I expect a massive cull from the current panel and likes dwyer Tracey wont be there
    Rush has played in the forwards well before
    I'd agree about playing wing back corner back that's all wrong and Paul Ryan scenario I agree was wrong

The problem is he is not playing a system. Literally not tactics at all . I agree Dwyer will be gone. Once ye get us outside of Parnell Park ye will win.

Croke park yes but parnell park in a fight war of attrition I doubt it
    Every team know to deprive cork of space and their beaten
    A lot depends on lorcan and harnedy
    Harnedy still a doubt for that game

Dot's and Tracey and dwyer and few more need to go
    I'd keep at most nine that team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

Maccie was at fault for 1st goal with his shocking clearance, Calahane was caught out 2 on 1. IMO Nash could have been braver for 3rd goal. Iwas talking to a players father earlier this year and he told me Landers was brought in to up the tackle rate. In last years Munster final our highest tackle rate last year was 63. In AI final Tipp & Kk was over 100 each and in replay Kk was over 110. Looking at yesterday waterford FF line must have been twice if not 3 times our FF line

youngbob wrote: »
    Looking at SG last night I got the impression no decision is made without going thru Dr Con.

That's just as normal as when hear the dallas music the old theme is asked again and again despite the answer know who shot Jr
    Cork have problems but con great servant cork football medical wise and one of the best around has nothing do with the picking or selection team
    Usual misplaced myths arise
    Wait for it next some one will questions matthews training

Simple fact is it stops with jbm he's the man that's accountable
    He doesn't like big physical players so he has matthews doing speed work mainly so not matthews fault in jbm lays down the type player he wants he trains on that basis
    Like wise Dr con has no involvement with team selection

Problems with cork I said this long before yesterday is were carrying lads like Mccarthy lawton sullivan moylan etc who are not up to it and will kearney also and last year cian Mccarthy was carried and would be still there but for walking himself and cadogan and mow Murphy with out league games jumping in from the cold does moral no good and you have likes conor sullivan leaving and Egan never going come back as it's well known that he was unhappy he's commitment was questions last year and dropped then recall

How can you questions commitment and facilities dual players and cadogan no league games on subs v tipp stinks of irony be fair

Full back has been an issue for the last four years
    Lads like lawton Stephen white Haughley moylan get loads of chances yet Michael sullivan and cronin get little like aidan Ryan or Anthony Spillane or colm Barry or even two years ago mick Walsh
    Jbm is stuck on a certain type of players and it's not he's not ruthless he can be when he wants he just ruthless wrong players
    How on earth lawton and kearney is on this panel above others is beyond belief imo
    Lawton been around for a few years and failed to make an impact

Jbm said interview before game Mccarthy was playing well and likely be ist sub as training well
    With greatest respect cork a b games are hardly great in such lack of depth a player could do well yet no where near inter county but does well in training as the guy marking him is just normal standard

Landers was rushed in and while he's potential he imo I fear could run before he walked
    Pat mulchay was the man but you see there's a huge conflict interested in he favours the short game while jbm wants free style keep it moving
    Gone are the days of great bertie troy hurling when motto was keen the ball moving at pace

With a sweeper it's about patience and composure and slow long build ups when needed
    Hurling has essienally become a game of chess
    Jbm wants to kill all the pawns so to speak as looks lovely with them all stacked by he's board and looks good but that no good when a grand master like cody has the game over in two moves by not going flash style but he's ruthless in he's execution

Game at any level is about tactics and you see it at harty cup and minor and even dean Ryan level commonly now
    O grady said a month ago time for traditional hurling in cork is long long gone

youngbob wrote: »
    Maccie was at fault for 1st goal with his shocking clearance, Calahane was caught out 2 on 1. IMO Nash could have been braver for 3rd goal. Iwas talking to a players father earlier this year and he told me Landers was brought in to up the tackle rate. In last years Munster final our highest tackle rate last year was 63. In AI final Tipp & Kk was over 100 each and in replay Kk was over 110. Looking at yesterday waterford FF line must have been twice if not 3 times our FF line
    I don't blame maccie any more
    He's confidence is a shadow of himself when he's at full back
    The essence of ignorance to full back play imo is doing same thing over and over again and expect a different outcomes
    Surely management realise he's not a full back but an outstanding half or corner or even midfielder