Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Cahalane is not an intercounty half back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Cutbertt will surely have to walk after this shambles 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Fair play to Cork today, i wish you guys well in the qualifiers.

I think our system doesn't suit Cork as if they play a team 15 on 15 they'd give anyone a game.

As always JBM gave a gracious interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Orizio wrote: »
    Talent isn't there, even if people don't want to admit it.

Talent hasn't been there for years, the All Ireland final Cork got to is being shown up for what it is, a fluke.

Underage is the only way to rebuild - and we have to question what exactly is happening to improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

How Damien Cahalane plays club hurling let alone intercounty hurling is a greater mystery than what happens after we die. Bloody hell, he's sh*t.

danganabu wrote: »

Don't know whether this is a wind up or not - Cuthbert is the football manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

How Damien Cahalane plays club hurling let alone intercounty hurling is a greater mystery than what happens after we die. Bloody hell, he's sh*t.

He was excellent for the Barrs a couple of weeks back. These lads are the best we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

O Riain wrote: »
    Can I just say, well done to cork for the makings of a very good game. I do hope ye come back and that we meet again.

Second of all to thinkstoolittle can I just say you got your come upance today. I hope that "JBM was keeping his cards close to his chest" smirk is well and truly wiped off your face.

Sincerely, Good luck to cork in the rest of the championship and I do hope we meet again for another cracker.
    You got my name wrong but thanks all the same
    No you are wrong but I respect your opinion as I was actually right and spot on cork would get better performance but as I said many times harnedy despite being named wouldn't start and cork would loose by a few points
    Should been blown away but never gave up and Nash was brilliant

It's clear to see as sham said cork attuide much better league final however we had lorcan and harnedy then and both were out today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Talent hasn't been there for years, the All Ireland final Cork got to is being shown up for what it is, a fluke.

Underage is the only way to rebuild - and we have to question what exactly is happening to improve.

Fierce fierce disappointing - once Waterford settled we couldnt live with them
    It looks like we are only a verge

Pa Cronin onky effective forward

Time for a big clear out - go with what McGrath has done and give new lads a chance - can't be any worse than what we have

What amazes me is the beliefof these Waterford young lads - on the back of minor and Harty wins - the confidence they have is unreal they are the coming team

We are badly down the ranks

As I predicted all week long
    Waterford congratulations and won but I don't them see as unbeatable as they struggled to finish cork off and this was a severe weakened cork team with out two starting half backs and course centre forward and defo allowing for Joyce lorcan and harnedy was almighty loss to cork defence thread bear defence so poor that jbm brings on o shea a midfielder or half forward over all defending subs before others it showed cork lack of depth

Jbm played system well ist half short possession game and cork link play but he made awful subs and lack them
    Murphy was doing well and should stayed
    Walsh was awful yet stayed on
    Then luke done nothing and deserve to be send off yet sullivan came on too late

Jbm deserves critsom in he said he would act fast on the line when he didn't and Waterford leading actually made the ist sub
    Mccarthy great club player but like I said not anywhere near inter county level yet Spillane can't make the panel and coughlan didn't get a game

He deserves critsom and cork hunger want better today than weeks ago and to be fair never gave up so attuide was very good
    Cork will improve of harnedy and course lorcan are fit as huge huge additional to cork but full back huge huge problem and again like I said over and over again Mcdonnell not a full back and got cleaned for three goals in can't hold the line

Nash excellent
    Murphy done well as he could but shouldn't started
    Mcdonnell awful game as he's not full back but I exempt him from blame as management totally blame as cahalane should been three
    O Neill good game but huge pressure from our the field
    Cahalane fine game but should been inside and he's not as bad some think he is

Ellis outstanding what a hurler coveted every blade of grass and can't be faulted
    Murphy played very well and should not been subbed
    Kearney good game never gave up and awful he was subbed before Walsh
    Walsh was very poor
    Lehane worked hard and never gave up but no ball
    Copper great game won lot of ball and got stuck in
    I said before cronin was far from finished despite huge critsom and he was outstanding today
    Farell was poor should be taken off at half time
    Horgan same horgan brilliant from frees super penalty but bar one great point and worked hard ist twenty minutes he absolutely went missing again
    Has to be dropped
    Cadogan brilliant game when he got ball and a real threat

Cork will improve with lorcan and harnedy and today if fit would won as Waterford struggled put cork away but kk would decimate cork as we have no full back and too many lads living off reputation

Cork needs john cronin, coughlan Anthony Spillane, the nagle and aidan Ryan be getting games to really strengthen the team

Cork won't win an all Ireland but cork do good in the qualifiers depending on the draw
    Waterford be fair have a system that works and showed attacking potential today but cork back line is poor overall and I still think kk or tipp would beat them
    They should if there cute play lot fringe lads in munster final as winning munster is no benefit but just adds to the hype for them
    There was immense pressure on them today huge and be fair they didn't bottle it but handled it well

Cork intermediate were excellent but waterford are poor and I was wrong in i felt they would be cork new team
    Cork are in a munster final but I would fear tipperary who are very strong who may beat limerick
    O Tuama was excellent and , Buckley made four brilliant saves. Collins was excellent and o dounoughe centre back with Tony Murphy doing very well and noel mcnamra also

I expected a performance and cork gave us that but jbm made some poor tactics decisions
    Harnedy was a huge huge loss as cork cried out for leadership and we had none and he's worth at least on he's record a minimum two points per game and huge ball winning and work rate is irreplaceable for cork.

As for the point about the under age it's spot on and despite interview from coaching officer who makes good points and it has improved no end development squads need more money and the coaches at under age teams cork all grades still at times can be poor however the minor offer hope
    I said this before unlikely cork win all Ireland before win minor or under twenty one all Ireland

Jbm will be questioned and rightly so but problem is no real options to replace him and as bad as it is it can get worse if previous under twenty one or minor management get the team imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

No complaints today. Waterford by far the better team. It pretty much panned out as I'd expected. No leaders and just not enough talent. It's depressing but I wouldn't be holding out a lot of hope for the qualifiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

You got my name wrong but thanks all the same
    No you are wrong but I respect your opinion as I was actually right and spot on cork would get better performance but as I said many times harnedy despite being named wouldn't start and cork would loose by a few points
    Should been blown away but never gave up and Nash was brilliant

It's clear to see as sham said cork attuide much better league final however we had lorcan and harnedy then and both were out today

I got your name perfectly right and my issue with you is that you are a sore loser. Even when all around you were spotting major problems with JBM you were simply saying that we are just being shown up to be much better than we actually are. I'm not saying we'll win the AI or even Munster, I'll take every game as it comes but you simply couldn't just say "well done Waterford" that's my issue with you and its people like you that I love to beat. If those cork players on the field thought like you they'd lose every game they played so thank God they don't.

Horse84 wrote: »
    No complaints today. Waterford by far the better team. It pretty much panned out as I'd expected. No leaders and just not enough talent. It's depressing but I wouldn't be holding out a lot of hope for the qualifiers.

Harnedy proved absence makes the heart grow fonder and he's the heartbeat this team in every way possible
    I'd agree lot depends on the draw and home or away

O Riain wrote: »
    I got your name perfectly right and my issue with you is that you are a sore loser. Even when all around you were spotting major problems with JBM you were simply saying that we are just being shown up to be much better than we actually are. I'm not saying we'll win the AI or even Munster, I'll take every game as it comes but you simply couldn't just say "well done Waterford" that's my issue with you and its people like you that I love to beat. If those cork players on the field thought like you they'd lose every game they played so thank God they don't.
    Wrong again that sorry to say I did congratulations to waterford like I said I would
    I respect your right to your opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

danganabu wrote:

T J too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Very very disingenuous to claim Cork would have won today if those players had been fit. Cronin was yer best and wouldn't even have started if Harnedy was fit.

Fairplay to the rest and best of luck in the qualifiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Cork will improve with lorcan and harnedy and today if fit would won

Have to say pleasantly surprised by Waterford's win, despite not playing our best, only for Anthony Nash, who was truly outstanding, we would have won by much more.

Now TTM, as to your above remark, all I can say is if my Aunt had balls....

Pa Cronin was your best player, delighted for him personally, for a lad who took so much criticism, he was the only Cork forward to show leadership and 5 points from centre forward is some total. I don't think Harnedy would have contributed more. So that negates that argument.

I still think Cork will re group and have a huge say in this championship.

We'll taking beating you twice but I hope to hell we don't have to see ye a third time. That would be just asking too much of us.

The best of luck for the rest of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Avoided posting in this place for a bit because of the pettiness that seemed to be going on but I think we saw what many Cork people suspected. A Cork team that had plenty of heart and fight, but the tactics and players at our disposal were just not good enough.

Congrats to Waterford. There's the makings of a super team there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Tactically blown away. Shocking stuff altogether. A friend just texted that the qualifiers could do use the world of good. I see the same point being muted by the Sunday game panel. I just can't see it. Horribly disappointing. Alright people are saying harnedy was a huge loss. He was. But 1 man or 15 men won't win anything. Its a panel that wins trophies. We needed lads to step up today and some of those lads have been knocking around a long time. Didn't happen. Serious looks in the mirror needed too.

Congrats to Waterford all the same. They are hungry this year, playing great hurling and it'd be nice to see them around in sept (only if we aren't ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

Orizio wrote: »
    Talent isn't there, even if people don't want to admit it.
    Clean it out its been stale for years. No More jobs or places on teams for the well connected. Bring in the kids, Great progress in the Harty with Roco and the Ag we have the kids coming through, let them come through. Fresh view needed perhaps a coach outside the county required to get the talent through the many roadblocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Wrong again that sorry to say I did congratulations to waterford like I said I would
    I respect your right to your opinion

Will ya go away it was the most condescending and disingenuous congratulations ever. Some dose for you.

Seriously, to say C Murphy had a good game? Completely at fault for a goal, Brian was much better. Shanahan destroyed McDonnell.

20 mins in and Cork were in trouble - JBM had 50 minutes in which to change the full back line, putting a sweeper back there to help or get the message on to play short ball, draw Waterford on and move again. One player doesn't make a team and the Cork lads playing have more experience than the Waterford lads, so it was utterly disappointing to see no leadership in this team. The likes of O Neill flaking the ball up into a packed Waterford defense - can the management not see it? It was commented more than once during that game today that JBM looked fired up - and when you are wasting energy on "being fired up" on the sideline, you don't see changes that need to be made. O Mahony should have been a huge loss for Waterford - but a full strength Waterford would have still beaten a full strength Cork side. It wasn't a performance by Cork, maybe for the first 20 minutes, but at no point during the second half could you say Cork dominated it, for a few minutes.

Hiding behind a severely weakened team is absolute rubbish - Cork simply don't have the players to compete at the moment. To replace three starters shouldn't be a huge issue if the panel is there. Waterford took their foot off the pedal in the last few minutes - and only for Nash making some super saves, it would most certainly have been a hammering. 14 wides Waterford had as well, so 22 scores, and 40 odd scoring chances.

Apparently Paudie came on, don't think he got a touch??

We don't have lads who can put their hand up and win aeriel ball, so bombing ball into the likes of Lehane, Cadogen and O Farrell just ain't going to work - where was the message at half time to stay playing the same as the first 20 minutes. It was also noted on the commentary early in the second half when Cork were a few points down that it looked like they were panicking, and thinking they needed goals. All they needed to do was go and pick off their points. The shooting and option taking at times for Cork was appalling, a complete lack of a gameplan or no trust in the gameplan JBM has, if there is one. For saying that Waterford weren't clinical, they took their goal chances when they came when they were on top - I'm struggling to think about one clear cut goal chance Cork got. When Cork were on top in the first 20 minutes, they needed a goal or two to put Waterford away, but where could you see it coming from?? All the forward line, bar Cronin went missing for long stretches of the game.

I fear for Cork in the qualifiers, really do.

Very very disingenuous to claim Cork would have won today if those players had been fit. Cronin was yer best and wouldn't even have started if Harnedy was fit.

Fairplay to the rest and best of luck in the qualifiers.

Not a hope Cork would have won, even if those lads were fit. 2 player don't make a team - Waterford took their foot off the pedal for the last five minutes, yet when needed to open the gap, got another goal.

Only for Nash, it would have been a trouncing - and McGrath will be working on those point shooting, 14 wides today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

seventh7 wrote:
    Fresh view needed perhaps a coach outside the county required to get the talent through the many roadblocks.

And the dictatorship that has us in our current mess are going to do something like that?

Not a hope Cork would have won, even if those lads were fit. 2 player don't make a team - Waterford took their foot off the pedal for the last five minutes, yet when needed to open the gap, got another goal.

Only for Nash, it would have been a trouncing - and McGrath will be working on those point shooting, 14 wides today!

Absolutely but you take two central players out of that team will centre back and a centre forward who all games cork won under jbm have performed excellent wise course they make a huge huge difference
    You are right and I said this many times like your self cork don't have a panel for all Ireland and now I'f you admit cork hsve no panel surely you appreciate with out two players certain to start not withstanding Joyce where that's he'll lot to replace and kk only team Ireland can can survive with that scenario and there miles miles ahead cork

Clare are a case in point huge strenght in depth yet missing key regulars ran limerick close but we're always going to loose

Murphy I agree was loose at times but he powered in to he's debut championship game and steeped up one vital interception

Cronin got five points and I'm delighted for him as I defending this player numerous times this thread

He has the balls to take captain off himself and unlike horgan the golden boy cork hurling that no one wants questions where he's attuide from play was utterly appalling again for man he's talents he had no ego to say I need improve my game and can't be captain and what a performance today

In relation to cronin no he didn't negate harnedy performance as some say in simple fact is cronin could very well started anyhow but cork couldn't start him initially as wanted him in only direct ball winner harnedy when you have a bench greatest respect of so called ball winner like lawton and Mccarthy who no where near inter county but is inter county sub keeper

Harnedy simply irreplaceable today as against tipp league last this year got two goals and this year five points and when limerick looked like beating us last year I'm munster he's goal saved us

He got vital point all Ireland final bring cork back in to it winning a ball he no right to win score a point
    I said cork today were similar scenario two years ago v clare in injures etc but they won and cronin was absent that day but harnedy on debut dine superbly with man match three points display and harnedy has pace athletic ability mobility and sheer hunger drive to make him unmarked and while cronin is brilliant today harnedy can win ball run at defences as he has unlike cronin the raw pace to do so

Cork with lorcan out had a slim chance with harnedy they has no chance
    I agree tactics were wrong subs wise

There's a clear out needed with moylan Mccarthy if not sub keeper lawton will kearney Brian sullivan needed and Walsh should stay but needs to improve

Horgan has to be dropped as went missing for large parts of the game
    Colm Barry nagle john cronin Michael sullivan colm Spillane Anthony Spillane are players with abrasive and steel cork need plus we need a possession type game all the time mostly

Today cork done it well I felt

As for full back Mcdonnell again confidence must be shattered after today and he's all star corner back
    O Neill or Murphy not full back
    Injury be fair this year limited jbm options but jack sheehan next year needs looked at with deenhy as whether there up it or not is irrelevant imo in can't be any worse than corner back currently playing full

It baffled me again people some said Mcdonnell for full back
    Throw Ellis in there if all else fails as you won't go though him
    Mcdonnell doesn't stand tall and defend the goal as he's instinct is play the ball not protect he's full back aera

Cork were right to go for goals as every time cork scored waterford replied
    Goals win games and cork had to go for them the problem was no ruthless execution there to go for them
    Cork have to become goal machines like kk and while league offered hope we had changed from soft score in taking points it came back to haunt cork again and jbm is still favour points over goals which is all wrong

And the dictatorship that has us in our current mess are going to do something like that?

I'd agree with you

No need for outside coach and it's insult like ger cunningham o grady pat mulchay that we bring them in when they wouldn't get a sniff

Thankfully for once the white elephant and central mediocrity as cusack called it has one saving grace not a hope will money be spent on outside manager
    Every cloud after all does have a silver lining thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Tactically Cork going man to man suited our game hugely. How or why a sweeper wasn't put back in front of the full back line Il never know. The space we created between both your defensive lines created so many opportunities for our pacey forwards to capitalise on. Ye had spare men around the middle third but they didn't seem to contribute to the defensive side of things for ye. Cronin can hold his head high going back to his teaching duties in Lismore but again Horgan with 1pt from play against us failed in leading the attack. Both of yer midfielders substituted tells its own story and while Walsh is a serious athlete his hurling is limited. We have our own things to sort aswell for the final but id be hoping we'll grow in more confidence as the year unfolds.

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Have to say pleasantly surprised by Waterford's win, despite not playing our best, only for Anthony Nash, who was truly outstanding, we would have won by much more.

Now TTM, as to your above remark, all I can say is if my Aunt had balls....

Pa Cronin was your best player, delighted for him personally, for a lad who took so much criticism, he was the only Cork forward to show leadership and 5 points from centre forward is some total. I don't think Harnedy would have contributed more. So that negates that argument.

I still think Cork will re group and have a huge say in this championship.

We'll taking beating you twice but I hope to hell we don't have to see ye a third time. That would be just asking too much of us.

The best of luck for the rest of the championship.

Congratulations on the win and like wise to mountain lad
    The only way we will meet again is the all Ireland final probably and I can't see either these two teams in it

archieknox wrote: »
    Tactically Cork going man to man suited our game hugely. How or why a sweeper wasn't put back in front of the full back line Il never know. The space we created between both your defensive lines created so many opportunities for our pacey forwards to capitalise on. Ye had spare men around the middle third but they didn't seem to contribute to the defensive side of things for ye. Cronin can hold his head high going back to his teaching duties in Lismore but again Horgan with 1pt from play against us failed in leading the attack. Both of yer midfielders substituted tells its own story and while Walsh is a serious athlete his hurling is limited. We have our own things to sort aswell for the final but id be hoping we'll grow in more confidence as the year unfolds.

But you see in cork horgan has this golden boy reputation he can't be critsed yet young lehane gets huge dose as did cronin last year despite carrying an injury and being several sick the year before

Cahalane is not the stylish hurler but at least he tried and showed a want a desire a hunger to work
    Horgan attuide field play was a disgrace and last year all championship from play it was the same and three games from play for the glen he was poor and even against ballymartle few weeks he's team cries out for leadership in the last ten minutes he was no where to be seen

Automatically set to start the next day and shows all what wrong this set up cork hurling lack ruthless conviction cody and cody would dropped horgan a long time ago
    Cooper is no where near as gifted but at least he tried and worked
    I'd take him off frees and drop him the next game and I said this even before today's game

Congratulations
    Dunford glesson Walsh showed leadership when it mattered the most

I'm delighted for shanahan to have a great game for all he's been through bar it being against cork of course
    Dillion never convinced me but he was good also and definitely has got better

When is the qualifiers draw?