England fans in Temple Bar Tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭redandwhite

Darpa wrote: »
    I'd love to see the Guards batton the living shyte out any English troublemakers again. That was very entertaining. I watched one Ban Gardaí repeatedly kick an English skinhead they were trying to get into the back of a Gardaí car in the ribs with her the heel of her shoe, as two other guards held him. I actually heard his ribs cracking. He was squealing and crying like a pig. I watched them throw seats at women and kids in the stands and injure them badly, so they deserved every bit of it. For once I felt proud to be Irish that day. For once, just once, the Irish people and authorities didn't take the usual thuggary lying down.

And you know this skinhead was guilty of throwing seats etc because he was a skinhead I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

And you know this skinhead was guilty of throwing seats etc because he was skinhead I guess.

Reminds me of a FB meme.

That England fan you just skullsmashed, he's battling chemo.

THINK BEFORE YOU BATON CHARGE SOMEONE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I can't wait to jeer and hate England, while I wear my stupid Man U jersey. I'm a big stupid lemming, with a beer belly and a bald head. I slug pints in my local and watch "us" play in the premier league. I'd die for my beloved team, so much that I've never even been to England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Dey terk er soul destroying jerbs!

I won't go along with that. I wear a suit and tie to work and have a large team answering to me and I find my job far more soul destroying than any bar work I ever did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Saw a couple of English fans screaming "fcuk the IRA" in the face of a girl having a smoke outside the bar she was working in in temple bar last night

No, you missheard them. They said 'FCUK THE I.T.M.A.C!!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Darpa

And you know this skinhead was guilty of throwing seats etc because he was skinhead I guess.

Yeah they were all innocent that day, the Gardai just arrested them for the craic. They love doing the paperwork do the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭redandwhite

Yeah they were all innocent that day, the Gardai just arrested them for the craic. They love doing the paperwork do the Gardai.

Of course.

I forgot the Gardaí never arrest the wrong person.

And obviously would never ever physically assault anybody not guilty of terrible crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I won't go along with that. I wear a suit and tie to work and have a large team answering to me and I find my job far more soul destroying than any bar work I ever did.

I just meant the getting screamed at by yobs, but sorry for your trouble.

Of course.

I forgot the Gardaí never arrest the wrong person.

And obviously would never ever physically assault anybody not guilty of terrible crimes.

Your right all the English thugs that day were totally innocent, every one, it was a travesty of justice what the Gardai done that day. They should have made them some Bovril and helped them rip up the stands and attack the Irish families at the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ugly scenes on that Temple Bar web cam. Some bloke in shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Most pathetic thread ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Looking at that live cam from the other side of the World makes me homesick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭h2005

Up until the Gaurds were allowed to take the kid gloves off. I'll never forget the total look of surprise, fear and panic on the skinheads faces when the guards stated literally splitting skulls with the battons. After hurting Irish women and kids at the game, the got everything they deserved.
    If they'd done their job properly Irish women and children wouldnt have been in the situation they were in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Most pathetic thread ever.

It's not a total loss. Bognor Regis looks nice, might go there on my holidays;

http://www.earthcam.com/world/uk/bognorregis/?cam=bognorregis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

h2005 wrote: »
    If they'd done their job properly Irish women and children wouldnt have been in the situation they were in.

Actually, if the UK police had 'done their job properly' re travel bans, it arguably could have made a difference. The guards dealt appropriately with the situation, evacuating the stadium, containing the trouble, baton charging the bollix out of them, and funnelling them back to Dun Laoighaire.

With the exception of the few fights that broke out the night before, it was handled well. Those should also have had the bollix baton charged out of them, and been fcuked out of the country by the first available means. 'Here's your dinghy. Holyhead's that way. Get rowing. Best of luck. Keep her between the ditches'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

A fight in temple bar?

What is the world coming to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

A fight in temple bar?

What is the world coming to?

No, just some fella in shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    I just meant the getting screamed at by yobs, but sorry for your trouble.

Thanks pet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If the sun stays out we could have a Fat Lads With No Shirts alert on our hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

chupacabra wrote: »
    When the English fans descended on Tallinn for their Euro qualifer a few months ago it was chaos. They covered the Old town square with their club flags and did the same to the inside of many of the bars. Of course the Estonians were too polite to stop them. I went to the game and a large group of the ones without tickets managed to force their way into the stadium and the game had to be delayed as a result.
    Afterwards I went into town expecting it to be a jungle. I was right. A bunch of Russian's had made the trip from Narva to Tallinn for the specific purpose of fighting with the English fans and the bar I was got wrecked as the result of a huge fight between 2 groups of Russians and English. Blood, glass and chairs everywhere. Just as I was leaving said bar there was another colossal brawl outside the main big tourist bar/nightclub and entire streets had to be cordoned off. Honestly I didnt know what to expect when the draw was made and it showed England coming to Estonia. I certainly didnt expect for that many stereotypes to ring true. The vast majority were sound as always. But the more drink that was thrown into them the smaller that majority became.

Was that the first time you'd been to a football match? You seem surprised that away fans take flags with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Alexis Sanchez

wyndham wrote: »
    It's not a total loss. Bognor Regis looks nice, might go there on my holidays;

http://www.earthcam.com/world/uk/bognorregis/?cam=bognorregis

I went to Butlins there in the mid-'90s. The stoney beach is annoying but the south of England can resemble the Mediterranean on a sunny day.

I'd recommend Camber Sands instead. The beach is much nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

anto9 wrote: »
    Looking at that live cam from the other side of the World makes me homesick.

Are the pools of vomit making you nostalgic?

VinLieger wrote: »
    I do find it curious how English rugby fans manage to travel to dublin without incident at least once every two years

It's because they come from a very narrow subset of the wider population, i.e. the upper middle class.

But typically English football fans abroad are a collection of all the small town English clubs' scummy fans joining forces to try to compensate for their individual shortcomings as men by wrapping themselves in the flag and engaging in displays of macho posturing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

They didn't appreciate this in the other thread.

Jack in attendance:

I love that man, a real manager, a real honest down to earth human being who gets on with the job at hand and make the absolute most of what he's handed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I love that man, a real manager, a real honest down to earth human being who gets on with the job at hand and make the absolute most of what he's handed.

I've an awful lot of time for Jack Charlton & it was great to see him acknowledged by both sets of fans in such a warm manner, but their are those who'd argue Ireland were less than the sum of their parts under his tenure, given the quality of player at his disposal.

The success of that team In '88 & '90 in particular tends to stymie that line of argument, but it's not without merit.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I've an awful lot of time for Jack Charlton & it was great to see him acknowledged by both sets of fans in such a warm manner, but their are those who'd argue Ireland were less than the sum of their parts under his tenure, given the quality of player at his disposal.

The success of that team In '88 & '90 in particular tends to stymie that line of argument, but it's not without merit.

Yep that explains why they done so well before and after Jack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Birneybau wrote: »
    Are the pools of vomit making you nostalgic?

I am a Dub ,but Funny enough its just the fact of people walking about without sweating like a pig.Where i am it was 38 c today,but as it is a Sunday ,i could stay in with the A/C on full blast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Actually it's almost entirely without merit.

People forget we had weak areas in our team too. They can reel off the star players, but we had quite a few journeymen in that Ireland team too!

The success Jack had and also how he personally conducted himself as a human being... makes him untouchable in my eyes.

People that disliked his style of play usually tend to let that cloud their judgement too much - instead of giving him the huge credit he deserves.

Remember we came very close to actually winning Euro 88'. Considering the quality of teams in that tournament and the fact it was our first major tournament... that's just incredible! :)