England fans in Temple Bar Tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I suppose we won't hear from Anncoates after tonight for a while.
    "He'll be banged up proper after 'aving it large with the top boys from the English firms."

Merely quoting this in all its embarrassment is actually a sufficient rebuttal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

anncoates wrote: »
    Merely quoting this in all its embarrassment is actually a sufficient rebuttal.

You mean what you meant to say is:

"U wot m8"

You mean what you meant to say is:

"U wot m8"

Shouldn't you be in Temple bar with your hurl driving away the Hun invaders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

anncoates wrote: »
    Shouldn't you be in Temple bar with your hurl driving away the Hun invaders.

I'm only a "scarfer" I'm not part of any "mobs" sure

I think everyone had a cringe moment when you posted those words here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I suppose we won't hear from Anncoates after tonight for a while.
    "He'll be banged up proper after 'aving it large with the top boys from the English firms."

I don't often cringe when I read a post...

I think everyone had a cringe moment when you posted those words here...

I'd consider your opinion on cringe posting to be an expert take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

This thread just got less pointless :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

J Mysterio wrote: »
    I actually find that shocking. Hopefully the flag was taken down. Surprised the owner tolerated it.

You have to be kidding. Sure the Union Jack has been put up outside a few pubs today to welcome the fans. Don't see anything wrong with that.

Was passing through town earlier and see the Gardai on horseback. Looking very professional.

Lots of dark clouds about though, gonna lash I'd say.

Does the Aviva have a glass roof they can roll over? Or didn't we get enough of a bribe from Fifa to cover that option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Popped into Temple Bar square after CL final last night, everything was grand, big Gardai presence alright. Only stayed for 1, was there any trouble later or did everyone just enjoy themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Darpa

I'd love to see the Guards batton the living shyte out any English troublemakers again. That was very entertaining. I watched one Ban Gardaí repeatedly kick an English skinhead they were trying to get into the back of a Gardaí car in the ribs with her the heel of her shoe, as two other guards held him. I actually heard his ribs cracking. He was squealing and crying like a pig. I watched them throw seats at women and kids in the stands and injure them badly, so they deserved every bit of it. For once I felt proud to be Irish that day. For once, just once, the Irish people and authorities didn't take the usual thuggary lying down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭h2005

Darpa wrote: »
    I'd love to see the Guards batton the living shyte out any English troublemakers again. That was very entertaining. I watched one Ban Gardaí repeatedly kick an English skinhead they were trying to get into the back of a Gardaí car in the ribs with her the heel of her shoe, as two other guards held him. I actually heard his ribs cracking. He was squealing and crying like a pig. I watched them throw seats at women and kids in the stands and injure them badly, so they deserved every bit of it. For once I felt proud to be Irish that day. For once, just once, the Irish people and authorities didn't take the usual thuggary lying down.

That day was a total policing disaster. It couldn't have been more irish.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Video feed seems comprised of a few guards and lots of groups of men who appear to be looking for an open pub. Ha! It's holy Ireland so ye can wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Hopefully the day goes well and there is no trouble, although i see there will be quite a few very disappointed posters if there isn't at least one fight.

h2005 wrote: »

Up until the Gaurds were allowed to take the kid gloves off. I'll never forget the total look of surprise, fear and panic on the skinheads faces when the guards stated literally splitting skulls with the battons. After hurting Irish women and kids at the game, the got everything they deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Up until the Gaurds were allowed to take the kid gloves off. I'll never forget the total look of surprise, fear and panic on the skinheads faces when the guards stated literally splitting skulls with the battons. After hurting Irish women and kids at the game, the got everything they deserved.

You need to get laid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Offside

There was a brawl involving about 40 English lads on harcourt street last night, riot police had to sort it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Offside wrote: »
    There was a brawl involving about 40 English lads on harcourt street last night, riot police had to sort it out

Fighting to get out of Coppers???

You need to get laid.

your ma has worms

kfallon wrote: »
    Fighting to get out of Coppers???

I love boards and After Hours :D

Offside wrote: »

That was probably the off duty guards in coppers getting it out of their systems early rather than wait until long after the match had ended like in 1995. :pac:

I can't decide who's side I want to act as Devil's advocate for, the Gardaí or English football fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Saw a couple of English fans screaming "fcuk the IRA" in the face of a girl having a smoke outside the bar she was working in in temple bar last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Saw a couple of English fans screaming "fcuk the IRA" in the face of a girl having a smoke outside the bar she was working in in temple bar last night

That's terrible. Sure the eastern Europeans have nothing to do with the IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    That's terrible. Sure the eastern Europeans have nothing to do with the IRA.
    You jest but she was eastern european

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I do find it curious how English rugby fans manage to travel to dublin without incident at least once every two years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

You need to get laid.

Why?

It's what you would get in any.country in the world if you behaved the way those fans did that night.

You cause hassle in in another country you get a baiting from the police, that goes from Spain to America.

For once the gards grew a set and were rightly justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

h2005 wrote: »

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

VinLieger wrote: »
    I do find it curious how English rugby fans manage to travel to dublin without incident at least once every two years

Simple. In England, Soccer is a gentleman's game enjoyed by thugs. Rugby is a thugs game enjoyed by gentlemen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Simple. In England, Soccer is a gentleman's game enjoyed by thugs. Rugby is a thugs game enjoyed by gentlemen.

Confining this to england is deluded, its a worldwide phenomenon, football fans around the world are divided by police in the stands at club games, rugby matches never see similar precautions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

You jest but she was eastern european

Dey terk er soul destroying jerbs!