Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is wrong with people who express their hatred for cats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

katydid wrote: »
    My mother hated cats so much that if she even saw one on the television she would break out into a cold sweat and start shaking.
    Well that's different to what the thread is about, which is this "badge of honour" aggressive attitude some people have towards cats. Your mother's case seems like a phobia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

anncoates wrote: »
    What kind of dumbass animal would starve to death rather than eat a 140 pound lump of meat rotting in the same room?

My cats always had my implicit permission to eat me in this scenario.

Yeah, but cats are such bastards they won't even wait until you're dead to start eating you......why do you think they're not allowed in old folks homes?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Chucken wrote: »
    All animals are brilliant.

No they're not, sheep are annoyingly fvckwitted.

anncoates wrote: »
    What kind of dumbass animal would starve to death rather than eat a 140 pound lump of meat rotting in the same room?

My cats always had my implicit permission to eat me in this scenario.

A dog never would. They'd die before they'd even consider it. That's why dogs are awesome, because they're loyal, even after death.

A cat would eat you and steal your wallet.

Lambs are cute. But then I feel bad because I go from, "aw, that's cute" to "and unbelievably delicious" in about ten seconds flat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

Cats are grand if you treat them like interior designers.

Shouldn't be let anywhere near a house.

And same goes for dogs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭katydid

Well that's different to what the thread is about, which is this "badge of honour" aggressive attitude some people have towards cats. Your mother's case seems like a phobia.

True enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

A dog never would. They'd die before they'd even consider it. That's why dogs are awesome, because they're loyal, even after death.

Points to a possible God that the dumb mutts survived the eddys of evolution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

And same goes for dogs.
    I have a lot more time for dogs than feng shui shysters though.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Dogs sound stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

We had a pet lamb once called Pepe. He was smart:(

Anyway, I saw Babe. Sheep can be clever when they want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

I know numerous people who "hated" cats (without ever actually owning one) then someone else they lived with got a cat, or they started going out with someone who had a cat... and became smitten.

I have some friends who think I should chuck my cats out when they call..eh no they live here not you >:-(
    I've had other friends who've said they hate cats but then been in my house (usually drunk) and decided my cat is lovely when I explained he is actually really friendly and won't claw their face off!

Dogs sound stupid.

There's no denying it. My own dog at home is incredibly stupid. She always gets some food from her bowl, but waits to get back into her bed before she eats it. Goes to her bowl and runs back to her bed. If you stand in her exact path when she's returning to her bed, she gets so confused for a few seconds and doesn't know what to do.
    We had a pet lamb once called Pepe. He was smart:(

Anyway, I saw Babe. Sheep can be clever when they want to be.

It was only in the past few years that I really understood that they were saying, "Baah-ram-ewe". I thought they were just going bahrhaaammyoouu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Hopkins and Pluck:pac:

Wonder what type of cat hoppy and plucky are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

When I arrive into the apartment they greet me. They'll hop on my lap, nudge my chin, touch their noses' off mine. Fall asleep on a cushion beside me...

...wantonly display their anal glands.

You forgot about that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Cats don't just stand by and watch you in pain or struggling.... no no no.

Sometimes they like to get involved too! ;)

I've seen a cat actually deliberately trip someone up so they'd fall down the stairs and get badly injured. Then slowly walk past their mangled heap at the bottom, like nothing even happened... oh and then lick their ar*e! (always with the feck*n ar*e lickin!?) lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Joking aside, I like dogs and their loyalty and empathy with humans but cats get a bad press because their independence and resistance to complete domestication is misconstrued.

I had a cat when I was a kid that waited at the top of the street for me to come home from school and jumped into my arms.

They can be very affectionate but retain an essential independence and wildness that is at at once useful, intriguing and attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Cats don't just stand by and watch you in pain or struggling.... no no no.

Sometimes they like to get involved too! ;)

I've seen a cat actually deliberately trip someone up so they'd fall down the stairs and get badly injured. Then slowly walk past their mangled heap at the bottom, like nothing even happened... oh and then lick their ar*e! (always with the feck*n ar*e lickin!?) lol

Aw now that is not true one of my furbabies :-) Jasper comes up to me for cuddles anytime I get a migraine which is quite often I think they can sense when you aren't well so can dogs. You can't say he's not cute !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

All animals are brilliant.

Maggots aren't.

There must be some reason why that cat is so pissed off. Seems overweight, probably doesn't get much exercise. The owner teasing it doesn't help either I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

There must be some reason why that cat is so pissed off. Seems overweight, probably doesn't get much exercise. The owner teasing it doesn't help either I'd say.

Living in an apartment or 3 bed room semi maybe and seeing no outdoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Maggots aren't.

Are they animals? But they are clever cos they live off already dead stuff and things.

Here's a picture of maggots being made :D
    http://file2.answcdn.com/answ-cld/image/upload/h_320,c_fill,g_face:center,q_60,f_jpg/v1400889964/misalke2peexb040sd2z.jpg

I've never had pets bar a couple of goldfish, so am a bit indifferent to pets generally though I think they're grand when I'm near them. I used to take Spanish classes with a lovely woman here who had 3 cats and she told me I was the only student they ever liked. She used to bring me into the bedroom at the end of class so they could say goodbye to me and they'd stare at me blankly with the blank cat face that cats have (This one :-<) and I didn't know what to do or say as someone who's not very accustomed to animals so all I could manage to do was stand there awkwardly waving and saying goodbye to them in Spanish while my teacher commented on how much they loved me (they weren't particularly demonstrative, in fairness)

Would love to get some sort of pet someday to see what the big hoo-ha is all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

You had me until "apartment".

I used to take Spanish classes with a lovely woman here who had 3 cats and she told me I was the only student they ever liked. She used to bring me into the bedroom at the end of class so they could say goodbye to me and they'd stare at me blankly with the blank cat face that cats have (This one :-<) and I didn't know what to do or say as someone who's not very accustomed to animals so all I could manage to do was stand there awkwardly waving and saying goodbye to them in Spanish while my teacher commented on how much they loved me (they weren't particularly demonstrative, in fairness)
    That's like a surreal comedy sketch - hilarious. :D

It was fooking gas. I'd have to wait 'till I left the flat before I had a giggle. She was such a nice woman though and boy, did she love her cats.

Crazy ladies always love their cats!

And can't understand when others look at them as boring arrogant little spawns of satan! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭130Kph

I had a hard-as-nails neighbour a few years ago who was hostile to cats but wouldn’t say why and yet had limitless warmth towards (big!) dogs. So I hatched a plan to get to the bottom of this question.

One night after an Ard Fheis (don’t ask) I fed him some of old Uncle Charlie’s cough medicine and within an hour he was loosened up.

We talked of many things that night, but the conversation gradually came around to dogs & cats. I asked him many times to explain his feelings on the issue. It became an increasingly tense interrogation. It was difficult and he threw books and glasses into the wall in frustration, like there was an issue here he himself wasn’t aware of.

But in the end I roared at him “why don’t you like cats” and at this point he just broke down and started sobbing “I just want to be loved, 130Kph, I just want to be loved - that’s the reason I can’t stand cats”. He kept sobbing & repeating this for what felt like days but it was probably only a minute. It was a beautiful teaching moment all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Oftentimes an older cat won't initially take to a human, you have to earn their trust and affection, they don't do blind loyalty and don't forgive people who mistreat them.

The dog is subservient and completely reliant, makes the human feel important.

The cat is self important, and makes the human feel subservient! :D