If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

RS Clutch make leg strong.

Grr

Arg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Interslice wrote: »
    Good to hear man. You going to park up the 900 now for tinkering with?
    Thinking about polybushing the front of the alfa. Going from working on the mivec to the 156 you can really see the difference in the size of the bushings and wishbones. More or less golfball size wishbone bushingd on the alfa to tennis ball size on the mitsubishi.

Yeah the plan is to have it tinkered with, but not too much incase this one decided to act up again, I'd go for polybushing it, as the alfa guys say, it's the best investment for it...or something along them lines
    anyways the plan for the 900 is to tax it, sort out the bad bits, and use it for the weekends or whatever
    The amount of 900's I've come across lately us unreal.

My favorite was only yesterday a 1990 red saab 900 convertible with a cream leather interior and was in fantastic condition all the way around !

I've yet to see another 900, even a woman stopped me today and said she used to own one and hasnt seen one since, thanked me for some reason, and carried on her way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

For anyone that's into older low mileage car finds. I have a neighbour that has a 98 micra from new irish one a few small marks of the body but nothing major inside is like it came out of the factory yesterday I mean Id say there wasn't so much as a bottle of water drank in the car. I looked at the odometer today for the craic 41k miles :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Worth close to 5 figures.

Ooft. Now I really wish they were 10p coins. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I've yet to see another 900, even a woman stopped me today and said she used to own one and hasnt seen one since, thanked me for some reason, and carried on her way

shtuck in so :pac:

but in all serious, the amount of them in south dublin is unreal... and funny they are all fully working and in great shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Bpmull wrote: »
    For anyone that's into older low mileage car finds. I have a neighbour that has a 98 micra from new irish one a few small marks of the body but nothing major inside is like it came out of the factory yesterday I mean Id say there wasn't so much as a bottle of water drank in the car. I looked at the odometer today for the craic 41k miles :eek:

A few weeks ago I seen a Micra with very low mileage, couldve been lower than that, for sale by a dealer in Kilkenny!

Had a look online and there seems to be a fare number of low mileage Micra's.

I had a '96 Micra with just over 100k km on it before :)

A few weeks ago I seen a Micra with very low mileage, couldve been lower than that, for sale by a dealer in Kilkenny!

Had a look online and there seems to be a fare number of low mileage Micra's.

I had a '96 Micra with just over 100k km on it before :)

How many are one owner too though. I suppose as many older people own them the mileage tends to be low. There is almost twice that mileage on my megane and that's only just turned 4 years old kind of made when you think of it that way and my car is not even that high mileage by today's standards.

This one on donedeal was one owner too AFAIK - Bill Maher (or something like that) had it advertised on donedeal and has a number of cars for sale.

You could find some very clean cars with genuine low miles with elderly people. A woman up the road from me has a '94 Micra and she only ever drove it to mass and back 5 times a week (2 mile round trip) and one trip into town to get her shopping and refuel (6 mile round trip). She has it parked in the corner of her yard now as she got a newer car, surprised that no one has it stolen out of it to be honest.

I've heard of that guy he is an independent dealer ive heard good things about him from salesmen and guys in the trade. Never bought a car of him or anything but I was going to look at a 1.4 golf he had a few weeks ago but didn't in the end.

He seems to have a nice selection of cars in stock. Didnt know what he was like as I have never heard of him nor did he appear in any Google search, but its good to hear that he's okay to deal with. I'll give him a call to see what he has what Im looking for.. Whenever I finally decide :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

shtuck in so :pac:

but in all serious, the amount of them in south dublin is unreal... and funny they are all fully working and in great shape.

Oh ya bai :pac:

Imagine that eh? Saabs that work :rolleyes: :P

He seems to have a nice selection of cars in stock. Didnt know what he was like as I have never heard of him nor did he appear in any Google search, but its good to hear that he's okay to deal with. I'll give him a call to see what he has what Im looking for.. Whenever I finally decide :pac:

Sure you must have nearly every car there is test driven at this stage :) only joking you might as well take your time and get something you like.

I think I'll start a list of cars that Ive test drove :pac: Trying to find the right car is hard when you dont know what you really want.. But its still nice to sit in and drive different cars.

Do up like a kind of pros and cons list for each car you'll quickly see which one suits your needs the best. Sometimes you are too spoiled for choice as there are just so many makes and models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Anyone watch Jaguar: making a million dollar car, pure droolsome :D I now want a jag e type :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I could have done the same tbh
    I think the issues ive had with the Honda are down to it having an electronically controlled throttle compared to me
    my alfas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

There must be a fault in your car stheno. Electronic throttle should behave the same as one with a cable. You push it more, it goes faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Autosport wrote: »
    Anyone watch Jaguar: making a million dollar car, pure droolsome :D I now want a jag e type :D

Damn, missed that program. Sounds to have been good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

job seeker wrote: »
    Damn, missed that program. Sounds to have been good.

It definitely was, 6 cars hand made like the original e type, buyers hand picked but the craftsmanship was beautiful :)

Every night this week at around 11:10 I've met the same wide load convoy in Adare carrying gigantic piping to Kerry. Its like lunch time traffic on a Friday but at night time. Absolute nightmare. Had a feeling they'd be there again tonight so I said I'd stop off for a quick cuppa before I go home and hopefully they'd have passed through by the time I get there. Nope, there they were. Slowly manoeuvring around every street light, sign post and telephone post with a mile long tailback. Adare needs to be nuked. Also 3 squad cars, 3 gigantic trucks and 2 escort vans with all their blues/ambers flashing at night time is absolutely blinding. If you were epileptic you were fecked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Every night this week at around 11:10 I've met the same wide load convoy in Adare carrying gigantic piping to Kerry. Its like lunch time traffic on a Friday but at night time. Absolute nightmare. Had a feeling they'd be there again tonight so I said I'd stop off for a quick cuppa before I go home and hopefully they'd have passed through by the time I get there. Nope, there they were. Slowly manoeuvring around every street light, sign post and telephone post with a mile long tailback. Adare needs to be nuked. Also 3 squad cars, 3 gigantic trucks and 2 escort vans with all their blues/ambers flashing at night time is absolutely blinding. If you were epileptic you were fecked!

I got stuck watching wind turbines and the rest of their convoy going through the docks in galway city before. Some decent truckin on show so wasn't so bad :). Up onto paths and to get them around the corners. Couldn't fit under the bridge to get it in down the lough atalia road. Someone there told me that bridge is being raised or something at the moment.

edit: Lowering the road!! A bit dodge in the floods?

Working-at-L-Atalia.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

There literally isn't a week that goes by that I don't thank my lucky stars I am against the traffic in adare every morning and evening. This idea of don't bypass adare as it will die is daft. The tour buses will still stop and if it were to be pedestrianised somewhat it would explode with tourists. Keep the motorway only 2 minutes away from the village and you'd attract even more in.
    From May on I nearly plow down a headless tourist in a weekly basis coming through the village. Madness!!

Interslice wrote: »
    I got stuck watching wind turbines and the rest of their convoy going through the docks in galway city before. Some decent truckin on show so wasn't so bad :). Up onto paths and to get them around the corners.

The first night was cool watching them manouver around that disaster of a village. The novelty soon wore off.

There literally isn't a week that goes by that I don't thank my lucky stars I am against the traffic in adare every morning and evening. This idea of don't bypass adare as it will die is daft. The tour buses will still stop and if it were to be pedestrianised somewhat it would explode with tourists. Keep the motorway only 2 minutes away from the village and you'd attract even more in.
    From May on I nearly plow down a headless tourist in a weekly basis coming through the village. Madness!!

I'll either be dead or too old to drive by the time its bypassed and I'm in my mid 20's. Moving back into the city again soon though so won't have to go near the place as often thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Woohoo, kung fury has been released. It's so shíte you'll split your sides laughing at it.

It has cars in it :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bpmull wrote:
    For anyone that's into older low mileage car finds. I have a neighbour that has a 98 micra from new irish one a few small marks of the body but nothing major inside is like it came out of the factory yesterday I mean Id say there wasn't so much as a bottle of water drank in the car. I looked at the odometer today for the craic 41k miles

Neighbour of mines brother won a lovely 2003 focus ghia back in 2003 from some credit union quiz. Bearly drove it, he died there last year, so the neighbour took it over. It was impeccable, spotless, with 22k miles on it. That was last August. It has done damn all since, but has a few scuffs put on it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Interslice wrote:
    I got stuck watching wind turbines and the rest of their convoy going through the docks in galway city before. Some decent truckin on show so wasn't so bad . Up onto paths and to get them around the corners. Couldn't fit under the bridge to get it in down the lough atalia road. Someone there told me that bridge is being raised or something at the moment.

Them frigging road works have been going on for an age on that Lough Atalia road. Fecks up traffic big time, due to finish tomorrow though. Would seem a bit dodge lowering the road, but that area wouldn't really be a flood hazzard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Yea it never floods there and I'm pretty sure they would put good drainage under the new road as well.

Them frigging road works have been going on for an age on that Lough Atalia road. Fecks up traffic big time, due to finish tomorrow though. Would seem a bit dodge lowering the road, but that area wouldn't really be a flood hazzard.

Be grand!! Did you even notice the strong bang of petrol out of there in the summer? Though it would be all sealed in this day and age with emmisions and all that.

http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/74889/costs-rise-for-lough-atalia-roadworks

Yea it never floods there and I'm pretty sure they would put good drainage under the new road as well.

Its the tide coming up the drainage I was thinking of. Maybe its high enough up?