Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Clareman wrote: »
    There's plans a foot to do up the Park, at the moment they are a complete disgrace with the filthy toilets, falling down stands and rusty barbwire everywhere, with the river running 1 side of it it's a disaster waiting to happen.

In my opinion, the GAA has too many big grounds that are just sitting empty for 360 days of the year, Ennis doesn't need a big ground, we need big enough for our county finals not to host Munster Championship matches. In Munsters there's the Semple Stadium (55,000), Gaelic Grounds (50,000), Páirc Ui Chaoimh (45,500) and Fitzgerald Stadium (43,000), that's enough stadium space for the population of each county (Cork excluding the city).
    Ya have to agree there, a well done up Ennis with 15k capacity would be far preferable to another 30k stadium that's empty most of the time, I know it's sacrilege but I think Clare should be able to nominate Gaelic grounds as a 'home ground' for Munster games, get all the access that they would to Cusack park before the games, get the gate receipts minus rent to limerick county board, don't even have to play limerick there but play cork, tipp or waterford. Much better than another capital intensive project...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Cusack Park as is is more than enough for the setup at the moment, the only games that Clare will have at home will be first round of the playoffs (once the draw goes our way), after the first or maybe second rounds there'll be double headers in Thurles.

If Clare are playing Kerry, Limerick or Tipp it should be played in the Gaelic Grounds, if we're playing Cork or Waterford it should be a toss of a coin between Gaelic Grounds and Semple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Why not upgrade Cusack Park to around 25k, that way it can take first round of the hurling championship games, such as last Sunday's.

We can switch to Gaelic Grounds or Semple if a crowd of 25k+ is genuinely expected.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Why not upgrade Cusack Park to around 25k, that way it can take first round of the hurling championship games, such as last Sunday's.

We can switch to Gaelic Grounds or Semple if a crowd of 25k+ is genuinely expected.

25k wouldn't be enough for a home first round game, also, we don't have home and away arrangements with any team. Cusack Park was 28k not too long ago and it wasn't getting any games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

So Semple has a capacity of 55k and last week there was 21k there?? I was there and both stands looked relatively full, where in the hell would they fit the other 34k? This always astounds me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Time to move on from the weekend anyway.
    First round of the senior championship this weekend and some cracking games in store.

Friday 7.30 in the park
    Inamona v crusheen. I'd expect crusheen to take this one. Have been so consistent at this level over the last number of years and would expect them to pull through by 4 or 5 points.

Saturday in the bridge
    Newmarket v feakle - expect a comfortable enough win for Newmarket but feakle have quite a good underage set up recently so they might give them a good test.
    Kilmaley v whitegate - same as the other game. Kilmaley should have too much for whitegate. Have already won the u21 this year and have a very solid team.

Saturday in the park
    Massive double header here

4.45 Eire og v the bridge
    Lots of history between these two sides and I'd expect a cracking game at the weekend. Obviously hope we come through against the bridge but will be very tough. Bridge probably have the slightly more better players but we certainly have the forwards to cause them problems. Should have a full forward line of reidy, o donnell and o holloran so if they get the right ball they will surely cause damage. Bridge have a very strong team throughout aswell as adding Cathay Malone ( which I still don't understand how it was allowed to happen) but will be missing shanahan. Also clash of the old Clare Titans between nuggy and gilli :) hon the town!!!

6.30 ballyea v cratloe
    Very tough test for the defending champs first up and with McGrath still an injury doubt they may not take this one. Reckon ballyea are primed for a good run this year. Ballyea by 2

Clonlara v clarecastle
    Good contest as well but I'd imagine clonlara should have too much even with Galvin absent. Clonlara by 6

Mills v tubber. Tight game but mills to come through

Tula v Clooney - no idea to be honest!! :)

Just got word that Davy o holloran is not going to play hurling this year with the eire of this year :(. Was thinking we might actually have a small chance of doing unite well this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

Just got word that Davy o holloran is not going to play hurling this year with the eire of this year :(. Was thinking we might actually have a small chance of doing unite well this year.

why is that? Thought he was playing with a couple weeks ago?

Gael85 wrote: »
    why is that? Thought he was playing with a couple weeks ago?

Only heard rumours so won't put them up on here. Think he left in the past week o so only

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Clare have 7 (seven!) game plans that they can switch into at any given stage of a game.

No confusion then amongst players I'd imagine.

My take on the weekends hurling

Ina-Mona vs. Crusheen - Crusheen based on past results only, don't know anything about how the teams are going
    Newmarket v Feakle - Big step up for Feakle, Colin Ryan almost always produces for Newmarket, Colin Lynch is under a bit of pressure here in his first outing as manager.
    Kilmaley v Whitegate - Kilmaley under 21s were impressive, might be a bit too much of a step up, heavy pitch in the 'Bridge wouldn't suit them, this could be the shock of the round.
    Eire og v Sixmilebridge - I think the step up to senior will be a bit too much for the town, especially is reports that O'Halloran won't be lining out, could be a draw.
    Ballyea v Cratloe - By all accounts Tony Kelly is out, Cratloe by 2 is he is, Ballyea by 2 if he isn't
    Clonlara v Clarecastle - Galvin a HUGE lossing for Clonlare, but I don't think Clarecastle are going to be up to much this year
    Mills v Tubber - Friend of mine from Tubber was telling me they are going great guns, no idea otherwise.
    Tula v Clooney - what LuckyGent88 said :D

I watched another bit of the match the other day, mainly the second half, this time I kept an eye on the Clare tackling. I might be looking into it a bit much, but their technique is terrible, it almost seems like football tackling where you keep going for the ball with 1 hand and disrupt the man with the other, they seem to forget that they only have 1 hand so it's always going to be a foul. We also seem hellbent on testing the fabric of our opponents kit the whole time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

after scoring 2-1 last sunday from the bench hammy picked up a hamstring tonight in wolfe tones annihilation of doora barefield 6 19 to 0-14 it finshed in the first round of the IHC , he should be back for the 2nd round of the quilifers should we get that far .........davey will love this :rolleyes:

in senior championship last years runners up crusheen beat inagh/kilnamona 3-18 to 0-16 dispite the poor showing in last years final they are still a relitavly dangerous side especially under the new format

I was speaking to someone this morning that was at the match, looks like a bad 1 for Cunningham, there's a reason he's known as hammy :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

I watched another bit of the match the other day, mainly the second half, this time I kept an eye on the Clare tackling. I might be looking into it a bit much, but their technique is terrible, it almost seems like football tackling where you keep going for the ball with 1 hand and disrupt the man with the other, they seem to forget that they only have 1 hand so it's always going to be a foul. We also seem hellbent on testing the fabric of our opponents kit the whole time

Our tackling technique was a big problem last year and little seems to have been done to eradicate it.
    We've an awful habit of putting an arm out to slow an opposition player running with the ball. The main problem I think is lads are leaving the 'tackling arm' in too long. If you're going to do it, the arm check needs to be in and then immediately taken away. This lark of leaving it in is costing us countless frees

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Our tackling technique was a big problem last year and little seems to have been done to eradicate it.
    We've an awful habit of putting an arm out to slow an opposition player running with the ball. The main problem I think is lads are leaving the 'tackling arm' in too long. If you're going to do it, the arm check needs to be in and then immediately taken away. This lark of leaving it in is costing us countless frees

I was talking to someone who watched them train recently, he told me that their tackling in training is all about pulling and dragging, he counted 4 lads who had their face mask opened during the drill, considering interfering with the face mask is a sending off offence I don't know why they'd be doing it in training.

Update this to reflect any scores/results I come across
    My take on the weekends hurling

Ina-Mona 0-15 vs. Crusheen 3-18 Result
    Newmarket 0-10 v Feakle 1-5 Half Time
    Kilmaley v Whitegate
    Eire og v Sixmilebridge
    Ballyea v Cratloe
    Clonlara 1-20 v Clarecastle 2-17 Extra time being played (surprise to me)
    Mills v Tubber
    Tula v Clooney

Newmarket 2-13 v Feakle 1-13 Result
    Kilmaley v Whitegate
    Eire og v Sixmilebridge
    Ballyea v Cratloe
    Clonlara 1-25 v Clarecastle 2-22 Result aet
    Mills v Tubber
    Tula v Cloone

Kilmaley 1-22 v Whitegate 1-10 Result
    Eire og v Sixmilebridge
    Ballyea v Cratloe
    Mills v Tubber
    Tula v Clooney

11 points to the bridge 1-6 to eire og at half time here at the park.

Lucky to be only 2 down but they are more than capable of playing much better.

That clonlara clarecastle match must have been pretty epic

Very comfortable victory in the end for the bridge. 2-19 to 1-10.

Golden the difference. 2-4 I'd say from play. Reidy very good for us. O donnell not in the game at all really and was injured in the last few moments of the game. Nothing serious though I'd say.

Seadna morey also excellent and really should start the next day for Clare.

Pity our manager is out in Florida for himself instead of watching the championship!!!!

McGrath warming up here anyway

Podge Collins gone. Long term as well

Very comfortable victory in the end for the bridge. 2-19 to 1-10.

Golden the difference. 2-4 I'd say from play. Reidy very good for us. O donnell not in the game at all really and was injured in the last few moments of the game. Nothing serious though I'd say.

Seadna morey also excellent and really should start the next day for Clare.

Pity our manager is out in Florida for himself instead of watching the championship!!!!

McGrath warming up here anyway

Where did Morey play.
    surprised he didn't get the start last Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Podge Collins gone. Long term as well

What's wrong with him - is he injured?

cnoc wrote: »
    What's wrong with him - is he injured?

Knee injury which looked bad.

Martin o Leary from the footballers gone too. Collarbone I'd say

Morey was everywhere in the backline really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭letowski

Was at the park too, I thought the bridge were good, there hurling is quite sharp. Golden at full forward was excellent today, he has been very good at club level now these past few seasons. Eire og got down to a point at the start of the second half but it just never really happened for them. I think they are improving though, just need to get better ball inside to Sod and DOH should get back too. The bridge were very solid with Quilligan and Morey at 3 & 6 and should be thereabouts this year. Was dissappointed with Malones performance, he doesnt seem to have a good skillset.

Clareman wrote:
    Ina-Mona 0-15 vs. Crusheen 3-18 Result Newmarket 2-13 v Feakle 1-13 Result Kilmaley 1-22 v Whitegate 1-10 Result Eire og v Sixmilebridge Ballyea v Cratloe Clonlara 1-25 v Clarecastle 2-22 Result aet Mills v Tubber Tula v Clooney

I saw on the programme John Conlon at 6 for Clonlara, did he actually play there?

letowski wrote: »
    I saw on the programme John Conlon at 6 for Clonlara, did he actually play there?

He played centre back for them at times in the Clare Cup anyhow. Strange one tbh

Martin o Leary from the footballers gone too. Collarbone I'd say

Knee injury which looked bad.

Thats a real tough one for the Clare footballers. Theyre were already badly struggling with injuries before and after the Limerick game.

Kilmaley 1-22 v Whitegate 1-10 Result
    Eire og 1-10 v Sixmilebridge 2-19 Result
    Ballyea 0-13 v Cratloe 0-11 Result
    Mills 2-12 v Tubber 0-6 half time
    Tula v Clooney