Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Well done, that was tight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Looks like white smoke from Camp Bungy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

libelula wrote: »
    Can we celebrate? Can we can we? :p

yes we can!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

\o/ -o- \o/

menoscemo wrote: »
    Well done, that was tight :)

How'd you do yourself, meno?

Murph_D wrote: »
    How'd you do yourself, meno?

Ran a sneaky PB, albeit I have gone slightly faster in a 10k before (hadn't raced a 5 mile since Raheny 2012 :eek:)

what does that mean? You went faster in a 10k than you did tonight in a 5 mile? but it's a 5 mile pb? :cool: a pb is a pb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

libelula wrote: »
    Can we celebrate? Can we can we? :p
    annapr wrote: »
    yes we can!!!

The party has started without me ;)

34:56 :D

Report later. First dinner.

Anyone got a link to that table .... :D ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Get your sub35 ass back here right now and put this back on the front page!!!!

Edit: jinx!

Fantastic, really delighted for you!!! Yeeehaaa!!

annapr wrote: »
    what does that mean? You went faster in a 10k than you did tonight in a 5 mile? but it's a 5 mile pb? :cool: a pb is a pb!

Yeah it's a Pb and I am happy because it was much better than last week's 5k. Ran 31:12 officially tonight (no start mat, I had 31:09) but I went through 5 miles in a 10k a few years ago in 30:50ish.

Anyway sorry for the hijack, well done BG and get youself on that table ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

as Simon Cowell would say, you absolutely nailed it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Whew! Glad it was not any tighter! Great great time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Excellent :D

Good work BG :D

BHAA Government Services 5 miles (Dunboyne)

34:56 gun time (PB)
    Garmin Splits (6:55, 6:59, 7:01, 7:05, 6:51 + 3 seconds to make it to the finish line)
    199th overall, 20th ? F, 5th in age group

After panicking all day that I wasn’t going to make it to Dunboyne on time, I arrived with over an hour to spare :rolleyes:. Did a 2 mile warm up, out and back the last mile of the route at a snail’s pace to waste time. Strolled towards the start line, met FD and a couple of clubmates along the way, then lined up 6 or 7 rows back. There was a big crowd (450+) and I didn’t want to get in the way of the faster runners but at the same time I’d be kicking myself if I didn’t make the target by a few seconds having started too far back. Turned out to be fine, I ended up with similar paced runners quickly enough without getting elbowed and settled into a comfortably hard pace. I reckon I lost about 5 seconds getting to the start line so it was tight in the end (yes, Meno, I agree !) and a chip time would have given me a bit of breathing space. But it is what it is and I started the watch on the gun so I wouldn’t be kidding myself.

The course is lovely – country roads, flatish but a few little bumps here and there to make it interesting. And of course the weather was just perfect, warm but not too warm, a gentle breeze but not windy.

I had remembered to set the watch to pace/time rather than the pace/distance setting I had used for Terenure. And of course the lap beeper gizmo that flashes up each mile split which is really handy (this is probably old hat to all you Garmin addicts out there, but I’m like a child with a new toy).

First mile was grand, felt easy. Second mile was ok (at this point in Terenure I was already dying…). Third mile I was starting to work hard. Fourth mile I may have waved that magic wand. Fifth mile I had to tell myself to HTFU or I wasn’t going to make it and having got that far it would be a bit defeatist to not give it everything for 7 minutes. 7 minutes – less than an episode of Charlie & Lola, less time than it takes to drink a cup of tea. But this 7 minutes was the longest of my life. The magic wand wasn’t working, my legs, lungs and abs (not the Flabs though) were in bits. There was a marker at the 4.5 mile point, if I could just hang on I was going to make it. Told myself if I got to the final turn before the track by 33 minutes I was going to make it. 33:00 on the button. Oh holy feck the track is going on forever, just keep going for one more minute then you can stop I promise, 30 more seconds, 10 seconds, 5 seconds more. Aaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh. I definitely don’t want to see any race photos. I have no doubt I look like I was being chased by the devil around that track. The things we do to get our name in lights on a spreadsheet.

Congratulations to Firedance on her shiny new PB and to Meno on his official one. Good to meet AMK and Mulberry too. Thanks to Dubgal for the tapering advice, that must have been what clinched it :D.

That’s me done with the 5 milers for this year. I really don’t think I can improve over that distance for the foreseeable so going to try for a 10K PB then hang up the racing shoes for the summer to focus on base building.

• 7 miles incl. 5 @ 6:59 . No cool down (tut, tut)

Oh, and as an incentive for the sub 35 I had promised myself a pair of these beauties. :)

What a great report and well done again on the well-deserved PB! Love the reward :D

Well done, G. There was no way you were letting it get away from you this time. Delighted for you.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    What a great report and well done again on the well-deserved PB! Love the reward :D

DG I have good and bad news for you.
    The good news is that Emilia won last night. I could see her up the road for most of the race but she was really strong and never drifted back.

Now the bad news.
    I told her she seemed to pace it really well (for once) and she told me it was thanks to the big dirty Garmin 305 she had on her arm. No gold jewellery watch last night :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

super report - LOVE the reward!! enjoy your PB buzz today

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Well done G, delighted you got under 35...

DG I have good and bad news for you.
    The good news is that Emilia won last night. I could see her up the road for most of the race but she was really strong and never drifted back.

Now the bad news.
    I told her she seemed to pace it really well (for once) and she told me it was thanks to the big dirty Garmin 305 she had on her arm. No gold jewellery watch last night :eek::eek:

Noooooooooooo ..... *so conflicted on multiple levels* :D:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Woohoo! Delighted for you BG. I was just scrolling through the results there looking for your name before coming on here and as I got closer and closer to the 35 min mark I was shouting C'mon G (in my head!)hoping you had clinched it. Well done!:)

RedRunner wrote: »
    Woohoo! Delighted for you BG. I was just scrolling through the results there looking for your name before coming on here and as I got closer and closer to the 35 min mark I was shouting C'mon G (in my head!)hoping you had clinched it. Well done!:)

Ha ha, kept you guessing down to the wire I'd say. Thanks a million RR, it was close but on the right side of 35 finally :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Great stuff, well done....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Great report. Delighted you got that goal. Onwards again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Well done on the pb BG - well deserved!

Delighted for you, G... you earned that reward for sure! hope you are still on a high today after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Well done BG - excellent timing to earn your reward!

Thanks so much everyone for the kind words. I thought briefly about retiring after reaching the Holy Grail that is The Table but now I'm thinking about maybe getting a second time on there before the year is out....

It really isn't that long ago that a stand-alone sub 7 min/mile was beyond me so it's heartening to be making progress and stringing 5 of them together which is something I would never have thought possible.

Thursday - Easy
    Back to it today. Plan was for 4 miles easy. Legs felt good, to the point where I must have been running 'in the zone' as I found myself continuing for an extra lap oblivious to the fact that I should have turned off for home to get ready for work :o
    • 4.2 miles (38:00), on grass mainly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Really inspiring stuff BG keep it up.