Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭blackdog1

MfMan wrote: »
    Anyone use the clingfilm stuff, e.g. Visqueen Clingseal? Wonder is it any good?

I used it last year on whole crop in an indoor pit. Made some difference no waste at all hardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

just do it wrote: »
    First cube of storm gone last night :). Now any other tricks to keep the cats off my bales?

Net over the top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

apparently you can get dried lion dung from garden centers. They smell a bigger cat and stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

MfMan wrote: »
    Anyone use the clingfilm stuff, e.g. Visqueen Clingseal? Wonder is it any good?

We use it on all pits was very surprised by how little waste there was after it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

trixi2011 wrote: »
    We use it on all pits was very surprised by how little waste there was after it was

Not being smart but compared to what? Were you using all new sheets before this? side sheets? how were ye weighing down sheets? Never have much waste here. All new sheets, side sheets and truck tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Today was a great day on silage around here. Mine was raked into rows yesterday evening and sunshine and wind today all day. Contractor to start baling in next half hour. I expect that it will be over 30 DM what ever about dmd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Not being smart but compared to what? Were you using all new sheets before this? side sheets? how were ye weighing down sheets? Never have much waste here. All new sheets, side sheets and truck tyres.

Compared to farms I worked on in nz and our own pit at home. Side sheet cling sheet and top sheet then green net covers over that tyres around the edges . Last winter there wasn't any viable waste on top or sides , at home we would always get a bit on top and on the sides and we would have tyres on every piece of the cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭degetme

First cut done and the banner bate.
    Very productive few days work done:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Gave up on tyres as a waste of time.
    Crows/pigeons would land and peck holes in the plastic.
    Everyone here uses a heavy type plastic/tarpaulin that you do not need to weigh down (only on joinings and edges/walls) that works very well.
    Easy to fold up and stow away when pit is opened.
    Expensive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

Dawggone wrote: »
    Gave up on tyres as a waste of time.
    Crows/pigeons would land and peck holes in the plastic.
    Everyone here uses a heavy type plastic/tarpaulin that you do not need to weigh down (only on joinings and edges/walls) that works very well.
    Easy to fold up and stow away when pit is opened.
    Expensive...

How long do they last, what brand. Maizetec sell 1 called secure covers, Kevin clave in UK sell silo stop I think it's called.

Do you get strong winds where you are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

degetme wrote: »
    First cut done and the banner bate.
    Very productive few days work done:-)

Go away out of that, we beat ye in the important one ;)

Cow Porter wrote: »
    How long do they last, what brand. Maizetec sell 1 called secure covers, Kevin clave in UK sell silo stop I think it's called.

Do you get strong winds where you are?

Guaranteed for 20yrs CP.
    In fairness the weather is usually benign here, but I would have thought that direct sunlight would be the greatest challenge.

I will post make and 'weight' tomorrow, if interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭degetme

just do it wrote: »
    Go away out of that, we beat ye in the important one ;)

Just let me have my hour of glory, we don't win too often:-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

That's it finished, cover pits in am. Paddocks to come out before wend if possible

Guaranteed for 20yrs CP.
    In fairness the weather is usually benign here, but I would have thought that direct sunlight would be the greatest challenge.

I will post make and 'weight' tomorrow, if interested.
    How large are the sections iykwim? Sick to the whole of tyres, devils invention, dirty feckers.

Used dung till we were stopped, that was the real deal put on and taken off with loader. We have pits to cover tomorrow that are in sheds would love to use dung but guy feeding cattle is objecting. He has tyre mats that are great for taking off but slow to go on

That's it finished, cover pits in am. Paddocks to come out before wend if possible

Why didn't you pit it today??

Paddocks are 35 km from pit we were filling :):)

Bit of a long draw then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

When yer travellin through avfield to another one do ye prefer to drive on the same track or make new ones, just a thought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

kevthegaff wrote: »
    When yer travellin through avfield to another one do ye prefer to drive on the same track or make new ones, just a thought!

This will be interesting.
    I prefer to use different tracks the boss only knows the one

How large are the sections iykwim? Sick to the whole of tyres, devils invention, dirty feckers.

Used dung till we were stopped, that was the real deal put on and taken off with loader. We have pits to cover tomorrow that are in sheds would love to use dung but guy feeding cattle is objecting. He has tyre mats that are great for taking off but slow to go on

They come in all sizes.
    Not being smart, but, they will cover your pit, and, they will be expensive, but they will do the job.
    For a guaranteed 20 years.

any guesstimate on dm and dmd frazzled? How many times did you Ted?

Re covers: http://www.maizetech.ie/SecureCovers.htm

Don't know if any other irish company doing them. High open windy spot here so like to hear from someone with similar conditions lol. Reckon the mats would stay better but maybe not, plastic went like a sail when covering and was lifting a heavy jeep tyres!

Cow Porter wrote: »
    any guesstimate on dm and dmd frazzled? How many times did you Ted?

Re covers: http://www.maizetech.ie/SecureCovers.htm

Don't know if any other irish company doing them. High open windy spot here so like to hear from someone with similar conditions lol. Reckon the mats would stay better but maybe not, plastic went like a sail when covering and was lifting a heavy jeep tyres!

Have dealt with Maizetch in the past. I'll enquire, has to be something better than tyres.

I'll be disappointed with less than 75 D and 40 dm. Tedded twice times with heavier reseeds getting an extra run. I've often been disappointed before. Well able to do >75 and 45 dm in bales can't see pit any different.

Looked good going into pit. I was in the pit myself and rolled the be jaysus out of it. One wagon so lots of time. I've made that mistake before with 2 wagons. You'd keep it out of the way but not enough time to roll the layers properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

They come in all sizes.
    Not being smart, but, they will cover your pit, and, they will be expensive, but they will do the job.
    For a guaranteed 20 years.

I seem to remember you having to go and have a little lie down after writing the cheque for a couple of them last summer.

Yea, they're poison dear but corvids did more damage that the cost.

Mice need to be kept away from them when in storage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Easi fix do them aswell I'm sure they do. Made out of recycled tyres. Heavy as fcuk. Know a lad who has then nor far from me. Has a pallet of pallet forks and just throws them up on it when ever he's pulling back the pit. Then all he has to do during covering is bring out the pallets of mats as ye covers pit.

Pit covers.

Boudán covers.

Details.
    Sorry for not putting on one post but on iphone.

Details.
    Sorry for not putting on one post but on iphone.

a google search brought up this

http://www.dancovershop.com/ie/product/tarpaulins/silo-net-silage-cover-10x12-m-170g.aspx

10x12 m for €260 .... add in gavel bags??