Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Joining the silage crew here as well. Mowed this evening, tedd tomo rake and bale tues. Fingers crossed for the weather!!

Joining today pick up Wednesday morning, just getting 20 acres to make a start on it and take more next week.first time ever cutting in may as I alwaysgraze first but this is newly rented ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Cut 14 ares yesterday evening . Will try to leave down until Wednesday. Forecast not great for dryong but running a week late anyway. Hybrid and red clover gone a little too far but very heavy crop. If no drying will have a good few bles to the acre:mad: so will cost extra. Cut about 5 acrs of ryegrass this is dense leafy sward hope nitrogen is gone out of it. Have 8 acres left to cut of ryegrass. However this was grazed in late march and it got fertlizer for targeted cutting date of June1st.

As well I have started to strip graze one paddock of this as I am very tight for grass. The good thing is they are eating it to the butt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

About 10acres in the pit so far, won't be long at this rate. After it looking so hit and miss for the past few weeks it couldn't have worked out better. Hopefully it will all feed well now. Rest of the 1st cut next week hopefully, after that any extra silage made will purely be a bonus, we cannot depend on any sort of 2nd cut with the risk of droughts this part of the country ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

How soon after baling can you send a sample for analysis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You need to let it go into silage so 2-3 weeks at least. Is there any reason you need to know results asap. Be handier especially with bales to wait until you start feeding out. I'd imagine it'd be tricky to pull a bit moreof a bale then try seal it back up

Muckit wrote: »
    You need to let it go into silage so 2-3 weeks at least. Is there any reason you need to know results asap. Be handier especially with bales to wait until you start feeding out. I'd imagine it'd be tricky to pull a bit moreof a bale then try seal it back up

Not that hard really. Cut a cross in the plastic and through the net ( use a stanly type blade about 4-5'' long. Ose a knife to cut through silage to allow you to pull out sample. When you have your samplepush the plastic back in and tape up with silage tape overpapping well. Do it on a dry day and have a rag to clean plastic before applying tape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Dad baling since 9 am. 100 done so far. Grass as dry as a bone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Dad bang since 9 am. 100 done so far. Grass as dry as a bone

Is he baling or banging?? Good going either way!!!!! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Is he baling or banging?? Good going either way!!!!! :D

Lol be as good as a yearling bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Lol be as good as a yearling bull

Be some craic if he breaks something. ...clear your throat young lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

Whats the optimum wilt time in this weather for PIT silage. Fairly sunny here now and good breeze blowing. Crop cut dry Sun lunch time, Tedded tea time and contractors don't think they'll be on until Tue lunch time. Is there a worry this will get too dry and therefor hard to preserve.? Did have this problem previously when DM was 46% and silage ended up heating.
    This however was July for a second cut and temps were probably 20 +.
    Would this be a worry again or what would people guesstimate DM would be on this occasion?

200 Bales Made Today. Dad started to draw hr ago ill keep drawing all night to get then in. Well bale last 10 ac tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

200 Bales Made Today. Dad started to draw hr ago ill keep drawing all night to get then in. Well bale last 10 ac tomorrow

Afraid of crow damage??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

C4d78 wrote: »
    Whats the optimum wilt time in this weather for PIT silage. Fairly sunny here now and good breeze blowing. Crop cut dry Sun lunch time, Tedded tea time and contractors don't think they'll be on until Tue lunch time. Is there a worry this will get too dry and therefor hard to preserve.? Did have this problem previously when DM was 46% and silage ended up heating.
    Would this be a worry again or what would people guesstimate DM would be on this occasion?
    It'll be fine and preserve well just make sure roll it well and seal well.mine was cut sat afternoon ,Tedded ,again Sunday and again today.will be at least 45% dm I hope and 75 plus DMd .wont have room in pit so will bale some of it.will be raked around 10 in morning and picked an hour later .

Dawggone wrote: »
    Afraid of crow damage??

Yep mountain of the ****ers here early morning is when they seem to get them the worst

C4d78 wrote: »

Would not be over duly worried unless it is very hot had to see DM exceeding 30% even with tedding. Most lads would be delighted that it was down two days. I was hoping to let bales down until Wednesday but forecast has changed and showers expected Tuesday night so baling tomorrow evening/night.

It would make great bales:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

need a hand

dzer2 wrote: »
    need a hand

Can ye bring a second trailer?

Would not be over duly worried unless it is very hot had to see DM exceeding 30% even with tedding. Most lads would be delighted that it was down two days. I was hoping to let bales down until Wednesday but forecast has changed and showers expected Tuesday night so baling tomorrow evening/night.

we baled stuff today down since Saturday. No tedding. Dry as a bone dad said no sap in baler at all. 30+ dm I'm Saying any way

It sure would make rocket fuel of bales. Should still be good pit silage thou. Just don't like too high DM in pit from previous experience, difficult to manage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

Can ye bring a second trailer?

Normally yes but gave a loan to the neighbour yesterday. Is there not one near that you could borrow

A shotgun would help either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

mahoney_j wrote: »
    It'll be fine and preserve well just make sure roll it well and seal well.mine was cut sat afternoon ,Tedded ,again Sunday and again today.will be at least 45% dm I hope and 75 plus DMd .wont have room in pit so will bale some of it.will be raked around 10 in morning and picked an hour later .

Any have bother with moulds at high dry matters, thought that at above 30 you'd be thinking of an additive??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cow Porter wrote: »
    Any have bother with moulds at high dry matters, thought that at above 30 you'd be thinking of an additive??

Nope ,going into 36*90 pit with walls,,only additive will be 2 buckets of silos save on top back and sides after final roll .shear grab used at feed out and don't foresee any issues.sunny windy evening here and it's crispy dry.pit silage dear enough without paying to draw in water ,collect it and spread it back

Silo save a good job? Cost/bucket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

Suppose key is to have it well compacted, contractors around here need to keep harvester going, so handy crop and big harvester means man on pit has to be on top of his Job.

Anyway pit covered today, hoping min 70 dmd @ 30+ DM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Had second cut at 52dm here this year. A fcuker to manage. Had to give it to everything as soon as I opened it. Any more than two days crossing the pit and and it would be red hot and mould starting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Jeepers your mad for work. You were offering me a hand yesterday.

You need to spend 200k on a parlour and 200 on cows, that'd keep you going....................or make you run like phuck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Anyone use cling film cover under the top cover on pit silage ? Last of our silage getting picked up tonight 2 wagons flat out since yesterday should have a good bank of quality silage at 30+ dm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

I have a massive problem with the pit for the last few year. The top foot all around rots and has to be forked off. Usually have 30 acres in the pit that is pretty much around or within 400 yards of pit. I have a feeling that the lad on the loader (big Volvo) is not packing it right as it's coming in too quick due to the short draw. He stays about 20 minutes after the trailers have left to roll more but you'd see the silage springing up after he's passed over it. It's like the wheels are too big on these yokes and not enough weight per inch iykwim. I'll tell him to stay longer buy not sure if I will make a difference. Gets silasave and covered straight after.