Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I expect the referendum to be passed by a large majority ...But for the record I voted No.

I had started out as a Yes voter because I do believe that 2 adults have the right to determine their futures.

But I also believe that there will be knock on effects from a yes vote ,as there have been in all the referendums that try to regulate the way societies live their lives..I wasn't convinced that childrens rights were best served by a change from a system that has been accepted from the beginning of time
    Yes there is bad parenting and good parenting regardless of the genders involved, I just believe that they should have the opportunity of male/female upbringing. ...........

I'm reading this as meaning you voted no because you were against gay couples adopting. If this is the case you've wasted your vote, because gay couples can already legally adopt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's a pretty stupid thing to do though isn't it, change your vote not only to spite others, but more oddly to spite yourself ?
    I think it's a ruse. I don't think anyone could think so ridiculously as to change their vote just to spite a few people. I think it's just a cover-up for voting no and always voting no. I'd have far more respect for someone just saying they're voting no, than resorting to that "I'm doing it to get back at some yes voters" pettiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Alt J

sup_dude wrote: »
    Eh, I know it's too late now but you do know that this referendum doesn't change that one little bit so you've essentially just wasted your vote?

I think you have been very misinformed and have just wasted a vote :):D

edit

Sorry this was in reply too foozzybear61

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

mikom wrote: »
    On my way back from the polling booth I bumped into two neighbors (male and female, Early 30's) that would be sure No's.
    I asked them were they on their way up to vote.
    "Nah, not gonna bother our arse voting" was the reply.
    There will be a lot of that.

I think there was a big drive towards yes yesterday. Particularly the sight of all those people coming home to vote.
    It's physchological thing with some, they like to be on a winning side. By not bothering to vote thus they won't be "losers".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Voted. \o/ Can't wait for tamara.

Well done lads for not being bullied or ashamed by their disgraceful antics. You wont get much support from this lot but you did what ye thought yourselves not what was being forced at ye. Well done
    "Well done"? For claiming they voted no even though they actually were going to vote yes - and only voting no to "get back at" a few yes supporters who pissed them off but no issue with the disgraceful tactics by some "no" supporters?

Doesn't take much to make you backslap I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

I took my toddler with me to the polling booth today to vote yes.
    While practicing His ABC's this evening he uttered....... "A, B, B, A.
    Have we time for an antidote?

I'm afraid studies show a negative correlation between age of exposure and increasing levels of campness. I predict it'll be no more than 3 weeks before the child exhibits stage 1 fabulousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Generally 3-5 days before onset of symptoms. Typically begins as lad banter on social media/Whatsapp groups with gay undertones such as "not gay but I would", usually in response to pictures of Micheál Martin's son voting. 48 hours post-referendum you can expect aching loins, disco fever and increasing tolerance for Abba. Ultimately culminates in purchase of fitted shirts in non-neutral colours and downloading of Grindr by day 6. At this point there is no cure, it's terminal. Best evidence suggests that patients begin requesting a surrogate child 6 months from onset.
    Feck, I was humming a ABBA song earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Generally 3-5 days before onset of symptoms. Typically begins as lad banter on social media/Whatsapp groups with gay undertones such as "not gay but I would", usually in response to pictures of Micheál Martin's son voting. 48 hours post-referendum you can expect aching loins, disco fever and increasing tolerance for Abba. Ultimately culminates in purchase of fitted shirts in non-neutral colours and downloading of Grindr by day 6. At this point there is no cure, it's terminal. Best evidence suggests that patients begin requesting a surrogate child 6 months from onset.

Seriously how hot is he!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I expect the referendum to be passed by a large majority ...But for the record I voted No.

I had started out as a Yes voter because I do believe that 2 adults have the right to determine their futures.

But I also believe that there will be knock on effects from a yes vote ,as there have been in all the referendums that try to regulate the way societies live their lives..I wasn't convinced that childrens rights were best served by a change from a system that has been accepted from the beginning of time
    Yes there is bad parenting and good parenting regardless of the genders involved, I just believe that they should have the opportunity of male/female upbringing. I do know familes where this wasn't possible , but none where this was the ideal at the outset , and who would have liked it to have been different .
    making laws to control human interactions isint always perfect
    I voted for the reduced age for presidential election ..again because adults can decide if a 21 year old or a 34 year old is up to the job ,its a judgement call on the candidate running for election.

I look forward to the day when we vote on the worthiness of your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,377 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Stinicker wrote: »
    Just got back in from voting and feel I did the right thing, the abolsute disgraceful bullyboy tactics I witnessed over the last week drove me from being a Yes to being a No voter.

Rural Ireland will vote strongly No and the entire Western Seaboard will poll No strongly.
    Exactly, i voted no as well because of this and know a lot of other people did so as well.

Neither of ye voted no for that reason.

At least be honest with yourselves (if nobody else) about the reasons you voted as you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Just back from the polling booth with 50 other family members and guess what we all voted NO. Not only that but 20 cousins flew home to Vote from Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Palestine & South Sudan and guess what?.... All voted NO too. That's 70 NO Votes. Can you believe it? We all feel so liberated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

I voted yes for both. Yes for marriage equality was a no brainer. I thought about the issue of the age of presidential candidates and ended up voting yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Vivisectus

Yes there is bad parenting and good parenting regardless of the genders involved, I just believe that they should have the opportunity of male/female upbringing. I do know familes where this wasn't possible , but none where this was the ideal at the outset , and who would have liked it to have been different .
    making laws to control human interactions isint always perfect
    I voted for the reduced age for presidential election ..again because adults can decide if a 21 year old or a 34 year old is up to the job ,its a judgement call on the candidate running for election.

Ah yes. The bad spelling and fractured grammar, the shallow rationalizations, and unsupported claims... I guess those no posters really did their job on you.

Would you like to walk through the things you said step by step and see if they hold any water?

Stinicker wrote: »
    Irish people are conservative by nature
    Just because you are and you wish others were, doesn't mean it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

High turnout today, that's going to be good for the yes vote. I'm pretty confident this will pass now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

brianblaze wrote: »
    Smoking ban... Plastic bag surcharge... Woo, look at us....

To discriminate against anyone for a reason as stupid as their colour or sexual orientation is stone age, IMO

The Stone Age was thousands of years ago. Humans have done unspeakable horror to each other between now & then.

Discrimination is very 20th Century unfortunately. Sorry to be pedantic, but the phrase stone-age this or that is over used.:o
    I would of love to of voted no today because marriage to me is stupidity, but I voted yes, if they want to get married let them, not as if they are trying to get married to me

Well we can all be stupid together. Voting for something that you don't necessarily belief in but can appreciate that others do - well that's actually very open minded.;)

I do understand people are opposed to marriage full stop but that's a whole other debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Alt J wrote: »

edit

I took it for sarcasm anyway :pac:

Vivisectus wrote: »
    Ah yes. The bad spelling and fractured grammar, the shallow rationalizations, and unsupported claims... I guess those no posters really did their job on you.

Would you like to walk through the things you said step by step and see if they hold any water?
    Go easy. They made their point reasonably, even if you don't agree. Your reaction is giving the more lunatic fringe of the "no" campaign a stick to beat yes voters with.

Is it me or has there been far too many people who have thought this was about gay couples being allowed to marry, adopt etc, be married in a church. Just seems like there has been far too may idiots who have no clue. I see us the yes winning.

Too a equal Ireland :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Zen65 wrote: »
    There's no evidence in scriptures to suggest what Jesus thought about gay people.

And to be honest I wouldn't give a flying fcuk if there was .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

I took my toddler with me to the polling booth today to vote yes.
    While practicing His ABC's this evening he uttered....... "A, B, B, A.
    Have we time for an antidote?

Sounds like a chronic case to be honest. I'd expect him to be ending the alphabet with Y,M,C,A by morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

efb wrote: »
    Seriously how hot is he!

I mean seriously. If we're going to outlaw anything it should be looking that good
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CFn9qzgWAAE04mP.jpg

Just back from the polling booth with 50 other family members and guess what we all voted NO. Not only that but 20 cousins flew home to Vote from Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Palestine & South Sudan and guess what?.... All voted NO too. That's 70 NO Votes. Can you believe it? We all feel so liberated.
    Go too bed you're drunk

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Even though I'd not agree with much of what you're saying FB, I do say fair play for running agin the herd. I generally have far more respect for those who change positions because they thought about it rather than those who just go with the flow with whatever the groupthink tide reckons, regardless of the position of said groupthink. If this was 40 years ago the result would be very different, even though the same basic people would be in the mix*.

The Mob(™) is easily influenced for both good and ill and happy to regurgitate verbatim whichever side is influencing them. And of course both claim the objective high ground and authority.

Then again, by nature I'm an iconoclast, so I would think like that.

Oh I voted yes BTW, lest any of the Rainbow Warriors on their ArseBook page types take umbrage. Taking all info into consideration it seemed the logical choice. Mainly because there are already gay folks in marriages in all but name out there, so why deny them the legal protection everyone else has? Plus the sky ain't gonna fall down if they get them.

*There is for me a large element in Ireland of any chance to "stick it to the Catholic Church" by proxy and as a guilt driven retrospective thing going on. The transition from a majority of god botherers and craw thumpers to a majority "meh" state was an incredibly quick one. Less than a decade. Not quite enough to decompress so we can suffer from the odd attack of the cultural bends. There can be an echo of guilt at how we went along with that guff so easily and for so long and sometimes we're all too eager to prove our New Ireland credentials.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭foozzybear61

Alt J wrote: »

edit

No I haven't been miss informed neither have I wasted my Vote

I have expressed my voice to register my concerns, Nobody gave me the option to have a say on the adoption rights issue ?( if they did and I missed that opportunity then slap my hand)..
    I didn't get a say in the civil partnership bill. which I am in favour of by the way...again adults can make their own decisions.
    Will you support further "enforcement " of equal rights should they arise or will you be selective /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I have expressed my voice to register my concerns, Nobody gave me the option to have a say on the adoption rights issue ?( if they did and I missed that opportunity then slap my hand)..
    I didn't get a say in the civil partnership bill. which I am in favour of by the way...again adults can make their own decisions.
    Will you support further "enforcement " of equal rights should they arise or will you be selective /

But your vote will not change it in any shape or form. You did not have a say in adoption, you never have and you most likely never will. Voting No did not change this fact.

I will wake up tomorrow knowing I live in a country that said yes too having all humans regardless of being straight or gay equal. As for your other issues, this has nothing to do with this referendum.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Discrimination is very 20th Century unfortunately.
    Hang on, did I just read that correctly? *rubs eyes with vigour* I did. Wut?

Well we can all be stupid together. Voting for something that you don't necessarily belief in but can appreciate that others do - well that's actually very open minded.;)
    Or it can mean the person is a good resource for wool and mutton.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Pov06 wrote: »
    Well, you better pray you won't be crying tomorrow :p

Don't worry, God will do the right thing. Yes all the way.