Sisters beaten up, held hostage by two men they "met" on Facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Have mug shots and descriptions been released yet?

Two well known criminals- it shouldn't be that hard

Just check who did the locksmithing course in mountjoy recently

OK. I was on the fence about this, but the guy who picked them up and brought them to Tallaght hospital doesn't make sense. He has two children in the car. These two girls, who, by all accounts, are bleeding heavily. Why take them all the way to Tallaght instead of the nearby hospital? I don't buy that it was because it was on the way. If you have two badly beaten and distraught teenagers in your car, alongside your children, then would you just carry on or would you find where the nearest hospital is and go there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

bjork wrote: »
    Have mug shots and descriptions been released yet?

Two well known criminals- it shouldn't be that hard

Just check who did the locksmithing course in mountjoy recently

I think they know who they are, they just have to locate them now.

OK. I was on the fence about this, but the guy who picked them up and brought them to Tallaght hospital doesn't make sense. He has two children in the car. These two girls, who, by all accounts, are bleeding heavily. Why take them all the way to Tallaght instead of the nearby hospital? I don't buy that it was because it was on the way. If you have two badly beaten and distraught teenagers in your car, alongside your children, then would you just carry on or would you find where the nearest hospital is and go there?

Why not just dial 999 and get police and ambulance. If I had my kids in the car I would not be stopping, especially in a busy area where there are likely to be plenty of others around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Unless he knew them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 374 ✭✭Jjiipp79

Daregod said it all in the second post of this thread!

This story is as likely as scooby doo finding Shergar!

Total lies....

Also junkyard cat is also onto something!
    Some astronaut theorists would say "YES"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Apparently they have names.. two 'career criminals' according to the Herald.

One recently released from prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

My own thoughts on that would be that the girls just wanted to get home and didn't want to go to a hospital, and that the guy managed to convince them to go to a hospital. I'm just basing that off my own experience of people whom I've met who have been assaulted and nine times out of ten their first thought is that they just want to get home and they outright refuse to go to a hospital. Having been beaten up myself on a couple of occasions, yeah, the sensible and most rational course of action is to get to a hospital immediately, but some people aren't thinking so clearly or rationally after they've been beaten up and they just want to get home. I was beaten up in Dublin and I was a complete mess, I was only yards from the nearest hospital and all I could still think about was I just wanted to get home.

The story doesn't make any sense because we're looking at it from an outside perspective and trying to draw conclusions from some very sketchy details. I personally anyway don't care what the girls background is or what led them to put themselves in that situation. I care more about finding the people that did this to them and I hope the fcukers do time for what they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

My own thoughts on that would be that the girls just wanted to get home and didn't want to go to a hospital, and that the guy managed to convince them to go to a hospital. I'm just basing that off my own experience of people whom I've met who have been assaulted and nine times out of ten their first thought is that they just want to get home and they outright refuse to go to a hospital. Having been beaten up myself on a couple of occasions, yeah, the sensible and most rational course of action is to get to a hospital immediately, but some people aren't thinking so clearly or rationally after they've been beaten up and they just want to get home. I was beaten up in Dublin and I was a complete mess, I was only yards from the nearest hospital and all I could still think about was I just wanted to get home.

Ok so the man let them in his car with 2 children in it and drove them all to Dublin. Children have car seats usually one each side so one of the girls in the front and one in the back between his two children. 3pm suggests a school run , pick up two seriously assaulted head injured women and bring them and the kids for a trip up to Dublin then drive home to Newbridge with his Orange car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭play4fun1

I'm waiting for the news about one handed man .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

There was a post earlier (mod deleted pretty quick) pulled off one of the girls Facebook page,a back and forth with another girl sayinf all sorts, I'll batter ye,ye ge*bag blah blah went on for a bit.
    Named a particular male individual (boyfriend) I'd they were lured down there under false pretenses.

I'd imagine the guards know EXACTLY who these scumbags are and arrests will follow shortlisting (if they haven't skipped the country)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Meh... more idiotic young ones doing something idiotic, the world will keep turning

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Seems like this story is confined to the gutter press where it belongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭coopdog85

The story doesn't make any sense because we're looking at it from an outside perspective and trying to draw conclusions from some very sketchy details. I personally anyway don't care what the girls background is or what led them to put themselves in that situation. I care more about finding the people that did this to them and I hope the fcukers do time for what they did.

So you're bleeding heavily & have a broken jaw/nose & you choose not to go to the nearest hospital? Instead you go for a spin to Dublin & then pose for the newspapers.

These 2 were either escorts or they were up to something else in newbridge. If they were meeting 2 fellas they met on Facebook then they'd have told all their friends who they were going to see. Young girls love attention & letting people know they're in demand with males. Surely someone would have been informed that they were going riding the 2 fellas.

Something very strange about the whole thing. Also, nobody heard a scream in the neighbouring apartments? If 2 girls are getting flogged & getting their jaw broken in a prolonged attack then I'm fairly sure they'd be screaming to high heaven to try & raise the alarm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

Four page spread in the Sunday world this week no doubt including blurred out pics of the two "well known criminals who can't be named for legal reason's" and a long list of their previous.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

coopdog85 wrote: »
    So you're bleeding heavily & have a broken jaw/nose & you choose not to go to the nearest hospital? Instead you go for a spin to Dublin & then pose for the newspapers.

These 2 were either escorts or they were up to something else in newbridge. If they were meeting 2 fellas they met on Facebook then they'd have told all their friends who they were going to see. Young girls love attention & letting people know they're in demand with males. Surely someone would have been informed that they were going riding the 2 fellas.

Something very strange about the whole thing. Also, nobody heard a scream in the neighbouring apartments? If 2 girls are getting flogged & getting their jaw broken in a prolonged attack then I'm fairly sure they'd be screaming to high heaven to try & raise the alarm.

Why are so many people jumping to the conclusion that they are escorts, or involved in some sort of vice? I see nothing that'd lead me to consider such a thing. Ireland is a small town in the grand scheme of things. Doubt you'd get sisters doing that kind of thing, let alone sisters doing it together. It's very unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

This story is so odd I wouldnt be surprised if it was real or fake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Potatoeman wrote: »
    This story is so odd I wouldnt be surprised if it was real or fake.
    I wouldn't be surprised if anything was real OR fake.
    But I've spent too long working with Boolean logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Why are so many people jumping to the conclusion that they are escorts, or involved in some sort of vice? Doubt you'd get sisters doing that kind of thing, let alone sisters doing it together. It's very unlikely.

Sisters could charge a premium.
    Stranger things have happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Seems like this story is confined to the gutter press where it belongs.
    Its on RTE as alleged assault also Irish times
    Belfast telegraph and an Australia newswire news.au

going viral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,951 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Why are so many people jumping to the conclusion that they are escorts, or involved in some sort of vice? I see nothing that'd lead me to consider such a thing. Ireland is a small town in the grand scheme of things. Doubt you'd get sisters doing that kind of thing, let alone sisters doing it together. It's very unlikely.

Because the whole story is just..... Off.

The idea that it was a botched escort job/they got battered for owing a dealer money/jealous girlfriend got someone to give them a going over all seem more plausible to me.

If there were 2 guys living out some kind of torture porn dream, why let them go?

In the herald today they claim they've been warned not to return to tallaght, why do they keep telling the paper things that they're being warned not to?

It just seems to me like somewhere along the way they ****ed up and are now trying to cover their arses.

Regardless of what they were or weren't up to, they did not deserve to end up like they did.

I think their story will come out eventually and may be a bit different to what we have heard so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Graham 1324

Meh... more idiotic young ones doing something idiotic, the world will keep turning

That's bad craic mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Can someone tell me why this hasn't made RTE news? I know some here think it's poppycock, but that doesn't change the fact that two young girls were beaten to a pulp by someone, and that should be reported on, however suspicious the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

hynesie08 wrote: »

The idea that it was a botched escort job/they got battered for owing a dealer money/jealous girlfriend got someone to give them a going over all seem more plausible to me.

If there were 2 guys living out some kind of torture porn dream, why let them go?

In the herald today they claim they've been warned not to return to tallaght, why do they keep telling the paper things that they're being warned not to?

It just seems to me like somewhere along the way they ****ed up and are now trying to cover their arses.

Its the attention whore pictures thats making people jump to that idea faster than they normally would.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

hynesie08 wrote: »

Why?

All you are doing is guessing. That doesn't make something is plausible.

Who's warned them?

It could have been the Gardaí who got word their suspects may be in the area.
    mikom wrote: »
    Sisters could charge a premium.
    Stranger things have happened.

Yeah... such as brothers charging a premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

anna080 wrote: »
    Can someone tell me why this hasn't made RTE news? I know some here think it's poppycock, but that doesn't change the fact that two young girls were beaten to a pulp by someone, and that should be reported on, however suspicious the circumstances.

It is, it's hardly headline news though seeing as serious assaults happen frequently enough.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0518/702036-newbridge-investigation/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

Also its all of the facts of the case are not clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It is, it's hardly headline news though seeing as serious assaults happen frequently enough.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0518/702036-newbridge-investigation/

I remember that being reported on RTE news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Jjiipp79 wrote: »
    Daregod said it all in the second post of this thread!

This story is as likely as scooby doo finding Shergar!

Total lies....
    On what grounds is it total lies?