Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sisters beaten up, held hostage by two men they "met" on Facebook

• 18-05-2015 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/sisters-tell-of-savage-attack-by-men-they-met-on-facebook-31230342.html

This looks to have been a particularly brutal and planned attack. Fair play to them for telling the story hopefully to avoid it happening to others.

I have a problem with the headline. You don't "meet" anyone on facebook. It's not like you are getting to know someone personally. It's dangerous to have that attitude. Maybe the language used around social media needs to start changing to get in to people's heads the risk of doing something like above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Does that photo look staged and story sound fake to anybody else?

It sounds bizarre. How does someone actually meet anyone on Facebook for the first time? There is a whole requirement that someone asks to be friends and that request is accepted or refused, you don't just fall into a conversation by chance and accept an invite to pop around no more than you would with any stranger. Certainly Facebook is not the issue here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Should be an open and shut case if Facebook was used to initiate the meeting. Unless these guys had fake profiles but between that, the apartment details and phone traces, these guys should be easily caught. Lesson learned for these girls, who goes to meet a stranger in a private residence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

I saw those two on the luas last Thursday! They got off at the red cow around 5.30.

Madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

DareGod wrote: »

I don't believe a word of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

DareGod wrote: »

From the short video clip I am seeing rubbing of the ear lobe quickly followed by looking to the side.
    I also hear the exact same words out of both mouths, like a worked out beforehand story.

I smell bullshit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Nah, something fishy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Very strange story

Nice line about digging holes in the Wicklow mountains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Never ceases to amaze me the amount of public profiles on facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,759 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think there's a tad more to that story than meets the eye or in this case eyes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

It just goes to show you.

I saw those two on the luas last Thursday! They got off at the red cow around 5.30.

Madness

Find out which cop station is dealing with the case, ask the for the relevant gardai that is dealing with it, and tell them. It might be able to provide some insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

They met the two men, aged 25 and 30, at a bus stop and arrived at the apartment in Newbridge town centre shortly after 7.30pm. Soon after, Amy said, one of the men, started "acting weird"...
    Amy said the last thing she remembered was her sister's lifeless body lying at the bottom of the stairs before she blacked out.
    "I was so scared," said Amy, "I thought we were going to die, I was full sure they were going to kill us."
    "They eventually let us go at about 3pm and said if we went to the guards they would kill us and our family."

So they passed out for the entire night?

If they went to an apartment I'm sure the guards can just call round there.

Sounds like a drug deal gone badly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

They've more black eyes than brain cells by the sound of things.

Maybe the language used around social media needs to start changing to get in to people's heads the risk of doing something like above.

I'd start by not having picture the like of this public..........
    [SNIP]

Unless of course you would like the attention of every weirdo with a hard on.

And the comments left up..........

Amy Rice massive sis xxx
    28 February at 22:50 · 3
    Charlene Hickey Massive babes model material xoxo
    28 February at 22:52 · 4
    Zed Ilsley Awesome, cute but sexy with it
    2 March at 14:25 · 1
    Zed Ilsley Do you model
    2 March at 14:28 · 2
    Nicole Rice awh no but thanks smile emoticon
    2 March at 14:33
    Zed Ilsley You should try for it,got the looks the body stance and decent posture
    2 March at 14:47 · 2
    Amy Rice wink emoticon xxx
    2 March at 18:21 · 2
    Gary Arnold Swiss swooo
    5 March at 00:13 · 2
    Michael Geoghegan Very nice
    8 March at 16:12 · 2
    Ramon Enrique Herran Arredondo MmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmSee Translation
    10 March at 23:32 · 2
    Dan Man mmmmmmmmmmmmmm hot
    11 March at 00:49 · 1
    Mark Dunne Nice tits
    19 March at 00:54
    Daniel Mullen heart emoticon heart emoticon heart emoticon heart emoticon kiss emoticon
    19 March at 18:00 · 1
    Daniel Mullen message me xxxxxx heart emoticon kiss emoticon
    19 March at 18:15
    Daniel Mullen message me baby xxxxxxx heart emoticon kiss emoticon
    19 March at 22:08
    Anthony Kulik Very kinky lol
    21 March at 11:41 · 1
    Anto Kinsella Very nice x
    22 March at 01:02 · 1
    James Odriscoll very nic
    26 March at 01:35 · 1
    John Cork Your bringing sexy back.
    26 March at 02:46 · 1
    Anthony Kulik She looks like she is on her honeymoon and is getting ready to get her cherry popped
    26 March at 02:53 · 1
    Anthony Kulik Aww thanks Alan I didn't know u cared lol
    26 March at 03:05 · 1
    Anthony Kulik Just ****in with ya
    26 March at 03:05 · 1
    Phillip Mcclendon Dame how sexy
    26 March at 03:25 · 1
    Aamirbutt Butt sexy pussy
    26 March at 04:29
    Raymond Cervantez
    26 March at 04:31
    Greg Craig
    26 March at 05:37 · 1
    Paudy Byrne Switt Swoo
    26 March at 08:10 · 1
    Sebastian Filho
    26 March at 09:55 · 1
    Sheamus O Neill Wow looking unreal
    26 March at 10:54 · 1
    Dotty Butcher Boy Brady ****ing gang of creeps
    26 March at 12:34
    Phillip Mcclendon How beautiful and sexy
    26 March at 13:52 · 1
    Patrick Byrne Gorgeous pretty and lucky bod too
    26 March at 18:33 · 1
    Anthony Kulik Yes it is because she's half naked and all u guys wanna bang her lol
    26 March at 18:43 · 1
    Ryan Lynn id like too pull those thong off you
    27 March at 18:52 · 1
    Jimmy Byrne Get up terr u little rocket
    31 March at 21:09 · 1
    Paul Yates Alan Yates U look naughty
    6 April at 20:29 · 1
    Moumen Moumen Moumen Very Nice
    24 April at 06:53 · 1
    Michael Pidgeon WOW ONLY ONE WORD NICKI STUNNING WOW TAT SLIP UR WEARING HAS ME HOT GORGEOUS REPLY? .MICHAEL
    6 May at 00:07
    Juan Ruperto Reatiga Rodriguez Asi como estas temeto todo el pene x tu panochitaSee Translation
    7 May at 10:47
    Paul Smyth Wow my cock is hard looking at this u are beautiful text me inbox
    8 May at 03:44
    Jay Lee Shes just rite up my street xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

mikom wrote: »
    I'd start by not having picture the like of this public..........
    [SNIP]

Unless of course you would like the attention of every weirdo with a hard on.

Ahhh good old victim blaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Who on earth meets on facebook anymore. Think they were drugged, bruises in just one area, plain stupidity, wicklow mountains. Like an even worse version of hollyoaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Jude13

Nope Gatling, just not falling for what is spoon feed. ironically the independent slogan was 'before you make up your mind, open it'.

Gatling wrote: »

Not that at all.
    Common sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

If you go out dressed as Halloween, ghouls will try to get in your underpants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Gatling wrote: »

Well the victim did put herself in that situation so yeah the victim must take some responsibilty. Idiotic to say otherwise

mikom wrote: »
    Not that at all.
    Common sense.
    Commenting on someone not looking both ways before getting run over is victim-blaming now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Jude13

Commenting on someone not looking both ways before getting run over is victim-blaming now.

Congrats, you've managed to move the goalposts on page two with your whataboutery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

A lot of those guys who posted on that picture of her are here in Ireland and their faces and locations can be seen!
    Some amount of desperado's out there.

That Facebook linked posted is all kinds of messed up.

She's dressed like an eejit and all the guys are basically just walking cocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I feel genuinely bad for them however why on earth would you meet someone through facebook and then go to their apartment?? That is just crazy!

Whatever happened to meeting in a public place first ?!

Hope the men involved are caught! If they met them through facebook surely they can pass on their names and a copy of all of the facebook messages?

kingtut wrote: »
    If they met them through facebook surely they can pass on their names and a copy of all of the facebook messages?

If they went to an apartment surely they can tell the Gardai where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

facebook, not even once

If they went to an apartment surely they can tell the Gardai where?

Good point, definitely more to the story than meets the eye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

Good point, definitely more to the story than meets the eye!
    Hey ...how did you get so funky???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

MOD: Folks, the girls didn't agree to meet some people to get the sh*te kicked out of them and their lives threatened, so there's little reason to point the finger at them. By blaming the victims you're making excuses for the culprits.

And for the love of god, don't post links to people's Facebook pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

What the hell? I don't believe it. Were the two sisters sharing a profile and the two lads also sharing one like? And do many sisters go on double dates together...? Why did they accept a random stranger, why would random lads add random strangers and start chatting them. Like I'm sure they'd plenty of other girls they know in their friends lists. Then they randomly beat them up for no apparent reason.

This whole story sounds like BS from start to finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Was it tinder maybe and not facebook??

Ive no used tinder but is that not through facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

When the real story about what happened comes out then maybe I'll give a toss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Call me cynical but wouldn't be surprised if they did this to themselves to get a bit of fame
    With all the posing on their FB pages they seem to want to be models
    If they were indeed beaten then hopefully the guards catch who did it
    Hopefully it wont be 2 innocent lads getting their names dragged through the mud only for the girls to admit lying 6 months down the line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

They look like two Guantanamo prisoners in their orange boiler suits.

The folly of youth.

Specialun wrote: »
    Was it tinder maybe and not facebook??

Ive no used tinder but is that not through facebook

Nah, tinder just pulls info from your fb profile such as name age photos and friends list, but its a complete y separate app to Facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭anvilfour

Plazaman wrote: »
    Should be an open and shut case if Facebook was used to initiate the meeting. Unless these guys had fake profiles but between that, the apartment details and phone traces, these guys should be easily caught. Lesson learned for these girls, who goes to meet a stranger in a private residence?

You're right, shouldn't be too difficult to trace the IP address of the account used, even if it's in fake name. I doubt very much these men were smart enough to use a VPN or similar! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It sounds bizarre. How does someone actually meet anyone on Facebook for the first time? There is a whole requirement that someone asks to be friends and that request is accepted or refused, you don't just fall into a conversation by chance and accept an invite to pop around no more than you would with any stranger. Certainly Facebook is not the issue here.

Two strangers could be members of the same group and therefore able to message and contact each other without having ever heard of the other person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭burkey2k0

anvilfour wrote: »
    You're right, shouldn't be too difficult to trace the IP address of the account used, even if it's in fake name. I doubt very much these men were smart enough to use a VPN or similar! :)

I doubt very much that these men exist at all.

Not a chance in hell the story they're telling is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

wakka12 wrote: »
    What the hell? I don't believe it. Were the two sisters sharing a profile and the two lads also sharing one like? And do many sisters go on double dates together...? Why did they accept a random stranger, why would random lads add random strangers and start chatting them. Like I'm sure they'd plenty of other girls they know in their friends lists. Then they randomly beat them up for no apparent reason.

This whole story sounds like BS from start to finish

It does seem to all fit together a bit too easy and have made the perfect storm.
    I'm sure they could quite easily point the apartment out to the Guards. Phonecalls were made if the cops know the apartment and the timeframe they would be able to get the masts in the imediate vacintiy of the apartemnt yada yada.

I expect a white van, Asian men, swan feathers and eastern European accents to be thrown into the mix shortly.

Why are people so certain they're lying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Find out which cop station is dealing with the case, ask the for the relevant gardai that is dealing with it, and tell them. It might be able to provide some insight.

I will, I'll find out where is dealing with it

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It's a shame that this happened and I feel sorry for them. But it's a case of naive girls acting naively. Nothing to do with Facebook. It could have just as easily been two guys in a niteclub.

This might be the person responsible?

http://facebook.com/profile.php?=73322363.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I will, I'll find out where is dealing with it

Newbridge or Tallaght garda station. Ring newbridge and they might be able to point you in the direction easier.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Looks familiar.

gave me the fright of my life hahaha