If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Worse still though, some leads melt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Well done on getting the car BP, good to see. Now go enjoy the fecking thing! Not sure she will run on agri diesel though haha..

Sorry to see that OSI, the GTI is probably a bit self conscious now..!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Just for you Duke O Smiley, after a long, long time :P

20150515_205843_zps2sw8ip4x.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Insurance cert

eyetwitch_zps2cd52f58.png

Insurance cert

eyetwitch_zps2cd52f58.png

I tried man, I tried, it's pretty much permanently that way because of the old one :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Bpmull - I got one of the belkin 12v cig to 5v usb adapters. You need to use your own lead with it.
    a) Im wary of the shortcuts made in the cheapo chinese stuff
    b) I expected it to charge the phone quicker. Some of the cheapo yokes only seem to supply enough current to prevent the phone discharging further or they are so slow it seems that way.
    c) I had some plans to use it for some more sensitive electronics.

Anyway - belkin slightly disappointing, not as fast charging as I had hoped.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Tbf I paid about a tenner for one in the applegreen services on the m1 just outside Dundalk some time last year and its still going strong. I just leave it in the glove box when not in use

I've one of those too the past year or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Bpmull - I got one of the belkin 12v cig to 5v usb adapters. You need to use your own lead with it.
    a) Im wary of the shortcuts made in the cheapo chinese stuff
    b) I expected it to charge the phone quicker. Some of the cheapo yokes only seem to supply enough current to prevent the phone discharging further or they are so slow it seems that way.
    c) I had some plans to use it for some more sensitive electronics.

Anyway - belkin slightly disappointing, not as fast charging as I had hoped.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/R1B1-Car-Charger-DC-Converter-Module-12V-To-5V-3A-15W-with-Micro-USB-Cable/1216937513.html

This is what I've wired up in my car. Charges the phone really quickly compared to any plug-in charger I've used in the car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Insurance cert

About 95% of disc holders I've come across have slots too small to hold the insurance disc. It'll hold the other 2 grand. I always have to trim the edges to make them fit! Supposedly you're obliged to have the green strip on the left of the disc showing. The father cut that green sector completely off once, only to be told off by a guard!

Weird stipulation alright. Must be a hangover from when there were no colour photocopiers or printers in the hands of joe public.

Mechanic number 3 has determined that mechanic number 2 caused an oil leak from oil pressure switch while going the wrong way about fixing the problem caused by mechanic number 1.

Now entering week 3 of fixing the problems caused by specialists trying to change an oil filter.
    boys oh boys...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Haven't been breaking cars before really so, what's a fair price to ask for a passenger side airbag for a MK3 Golf / Vento?

GvidoR wrote: »
    Haven't been breaking cars before really so, what's a fair price to ask for a passenger side airbag for a MK3 Golf / Vento?

20 quid

OSI wrote: »
    Can you legally sell airbags second hand? :confused:

Yeah but you would be a bit foolish to want to fit one to your car

Can you legally sell airbags second hand? :confused:

I don't see why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Well I had to let my wife know the plans to buy a Kei-car and as she will be using it also she had to be involved in the decision making process, so I will importing one of these in the next few months, Suzuki Wagon R, I like the styling and how small it looks, there are also a ton of different versions, every Kei Car produced in Japan has a soft and a hard version which both look completely different from one another.

348990.jpg

Gotta love the Japanese car variety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

FN, have you tried swapping the NCT and Insurance certs around? You'll note the third pocket is detachable as its designed for the NCT cert and obviously not all cars need one.

Your right there went out there this morning as I had just shoved in the discs any way at all. When I put the nct in the seperate holder and insurance disc where it was original holder it fit perfect even with the green strip.

Looking for opinions, which seats look better / should I have in my Golf?

17114089833_07fe553853_c.jpg

17734793311_5330988523_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

The ones with the speckles of colour.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Your right there went out there this morning as I had just shoved in the discs any way at all. When I put the nct in the seperate holder and insurance disc where it was original holder it fit perfect even with the green strip.

Mine's still the same with them swapped :(

It's a tough one.

I will probably put in the door cards from the Vento which will match the other seats, since the Vento has electric windows and the Golf doesn't. They also seem to be in a bit better condition.

Fun question: How many bolts do you think hold the seat in place? :D

+1, those other ones are hideous

Fun question: How many bolts do you think hold the seat in place? :D

I don't know, but I bet they aren't bolted from underneath the car with two for each seat being buried under the exhaust heat shield

yep no competition the seats with the different colours on them are 100 times nicer. If I had the other ones in my car Id have to put a seat cover over them as I wouldn't be able to look at them everyday.

I don't know, but I bet they aren't bolted from underneath the car with two for each seat being buried under the exhaust heat shield

Only one!
    Bpmull wrote: »
    yep no competition the seats with the different colours on them are 100 times nicer. If I had the other ones in my car Id have to put a seat cover over them as I wouldn't be able to look at them everyday.

Wow, that bad? They look better in real life though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Only one!

I like the plain ones

Ah man they look like something out of a base spec Talbot Solara

Googled it, expected something uglier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Prefer the ones with colour. Adds a bit of colour to the interior that's no harm at all!

Maybe they are I just think the bit of colour looks well. I suppose comfort has to come into it too which are more comfortable ?