Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Ultra Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,962 ✭✭✭opus

Djoucer wrote: »
    Keith Whyte also won the Antarctic 100km today in 9 hours 26.

It's the top story on the Examiner website today!

Irishman wins 100km race in freezing -30C Antarctic

KeithWhyteIceRunner20Jan15_large.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

Great short film by L'Equipe on Anton Krupika. It's mostly in English.

lequipe.fr/explore-video/anton-krupicka-ultra-pur/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

https://ogeerunner.wordpress.com

While wé Are waiting for enduro to get d finger out.....it's not from the Ulster marathon champion

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

From JTG facebook... "The Debate Over Running While High"
    ultra high??
    Article is targeted at ultra runners mainly so throwing it up here....
    So, do ye think there is a lot of this going on among ultra runners? I'd imagine it's rare enough tbh....
    You can use the " I heard of someone" approach to keep it anonymous :D:D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    From JTG facebook... "The Debate Over Running While High"
    ultra high??
    Article is targeted at ultra runners mainly so throwing it up here....
    So, do ye think there is a lot of this going on among ultra runners? I'd imagine it's rare enough tbh....
    You can use the " I heard of someone" approach to keep it anonymous :D:D
    Just d one person....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

That's an interesting survey.

Hoka the most popular shoe with 20%. Impressive given Hoka are only around since 2010.

Some good articles on IrunFar last few days.

The agony of finishing 11th in WS.

irunfar.com/2015/04/the-lore-of-western-states-the-agony-of-11th-place.html

And this is quite interesting, the experience of 'flow' when running.

irunfar.com/2015/03/the-pleasure-of-flow.html

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭inigo

And this is quite interesting, the experience of 'flow' when running.

irunfar.com/2015/03/the-pleasure-of-flow.html

I feel like literally writing Csíkszentmihályi's quote in the 2nd paragraph on my walls.

I've actually experienced "the flow" a few times in my life. Not running though, can't run that far yet...

Any know where I might pick up a Salomon race vest in Dublin/Ireland?

Looking at the Salomon Advanced Skin Lab Hydro 5 Set

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭grahamor

Great outdoors used to have them but not anymore i think. Snow and Rock might stock them.

I'd personally buy one online from Castleberg Outdoors or Wiggle. Better selection and free delivery usually. You could return if it didn't suit.

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭lgk

Haven't seen them in the shops in Ireland in a long time.

Millet Sports can be good for Salomon.I have one, and the previous version. The main compartments in the new one don't have any closures, so you need to be a little careful of how you load it. New one comes with two soft flasks that are less fussy than bladders to top up on the move. No bladder/ tube is supplied, but it does come with an insulating sleeve to slip the Salomon bladder into. The Raidlight soft flasks work well with it also, and have the advantage of an extended drinking straw, so they don't need to be removed to drink.

I've seen the new version on Wiggle etc but seems to be mixed reviews with some saying the 2014 vest is better?

All online stores have the new vests so was looking around to see if any stores had some lying around.

That said, seems odd that the 2015 would be worse than the 2014.

For the peace of mind of your stuff not falling out of the main compartment, the older one is certainly better. Guess it was a weight play to omit zips as the competition caught on to the race vest concept.

lgk wrote: »
    For the peace of mind of your stuff not falling out of the main compartment, the older one is certainly better. Guess it was a weight play to omit zips as the competition caught on to the race vest concept.

Cheers.

You sure there's no closures on the main compartment? Link?

Haven't seen any mention of that.

Cheers.

You sure there's no closures on the main compartment? Link?

Haven't seen any mention of that.

Yeah. There's a stretch to the material that should keep things from moving about, but I'd be careful about stowing keys/phones right down at the bottom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Marathon de sables
    Eurosport 10:15pm
    Sat 2 may

http://www.emusport.hu/en/node/75

Good luck enduro ..

http://www.emusport.hu/hu/klub/emu-sport-tv
    live updates ....in second place at mo against his ariszona nemisis joe feges

still in 2nd place at halfway stage(3 days)..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

An ex boardsie also running the Transvulcania Ultra today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

ThisRegard wrote: »
    An ex boardsie also running the Transvulcania Ultra today.

Let us know how he gets on. you can write his report for him ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He seems to be on the home stretch now, last checkpoint was at 61.8 which he went through a while ago. The website is not the friendliest but it looks like it's downhill all the way from now but the map is showing a kicker of a climb to the finish but has the finish at 83.3km so not quite sure what's going on there.

ultraman1 wrote: »
    still in 2nd place at halfway stage(3 days)..
    Still in 2nd place,just csught him on the video runnin well

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Well done Enduro!

2nd place
    814km
    907 laps
    6 days

You're a legend :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

Well done Enduro!

2nd place
    814km
    907 laps
    6 days

Halfway to completing the 1000mile challenge. Fair play Enduro!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭Enduro

Well done Enduro!

2nd place
    814km
    907 laps
    6 days

Thanks guys. I'd have given my right arm for that result before the race. It was possibly the most top heavily stacked 6 day race in years, full of world class talent (which is exactly why I had been targeting this race as the one to enter). It's probably my best ever result bar none... 2nd in a world trophy competion....Jaysus... it's still hard to believe.

It was a great racer's race as well... lots of tactical games, attacks, blow-ups, etc etc. Took lots of hard work to get into a good position, and even more to hold it. Massive thanks to my oh-so-vital support crew (a.k.a. wife) who played a key role in enabling that.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Ran my first 100miler (Thames Path 100) at the start of May,
    Finally put together a race report
    http://runninginkilkenny.blogspot.ie/2015/05/thames-path-100-2015-race-report.html

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭jimcricket

Sooo well done. Cant wait to hear all of it on the road