Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan2 wrote: »
    will take 2 weeks for the ground to dry out here, normally cut first cut on june bank holiday weekend

I've seen more than a few crops which weren't grazed before closing starting to lodge around here after the rain last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,792 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I've seen more than a few crops which weren't grazed before closing starting to lodge around here after the rain last week.
    mine was grazed so we have a bit of time, fert only went out in early april

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Completely finished now.

Nothing to do tomorrow except go to Gowran

will take 2 weeks for the ground to dry out here, normally cut first cut on june bank holiday weekend

This is the main reason our ground is dry and early. Seeing as the contractor had no mowing to do he sent the guy who normally drives the mower along with a digger and rock breaker. These bastards were a real hazard to mowers and even pickups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

This is the main reason our ground is dry and early. Seeing as the contractor had no mowing to do he sent the guy who normally drives the mower along with a digger and rock breaker. These bastards were a real hazard to mowers and even pickups.

That's almost like limestone. Once those are ripped out it allys any fear of machonery getting damaged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Sure it makes the silage cuttin' a bit more interesting up there in their climate controlled cabins:D

We did a bit of that a few years ago but we waited till the silage was cut to do the digging, ya mad yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Jaysus I must be a ****e farmer.......no silage made yet :D:D

You better hurry up, I made mine 9 months ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

hey frazz, most things are better topless

I presumed it was the local beaches he was talking about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Found a "victim" for my first cut. :)
    Pitted second cut and a further 5ha of wraps on strong paddocks.

Dry as tobacco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

14 acres of cows ground mowed and tedded yesterday, raked and baled this evening, two really great drying days with plenty sunshine. 74 bales of what I'd hope is super quality stuff stacked and finished now and it's just started raining outside. I love it when a plan comes together!!

Nothing to do tomorrow except go to Gowran

Racing??

I love racing.

Jaysus I must be a ****e farmer.......no silage made yet :D:D

Expert grass budgeter?:)

WTF! Have you enough surface to sink a plough??
    I must admit, I don't have any experience of ground like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

60 bales made ,but not all in, lashing here now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Dawggone wrote: »
    Racing??

I love racing.

Not racing.
    Glanbia coop members voting on releasing or not, some of the coops value to members in the form of Plc shares.

Might be the one time more people bring money out of Gowran than don't :):)

Dawggone wrote: »
    WTF! Have you enough surface to sink a plough??
    I must admit, I don't have any experience of ground like that.

There's rock like that in most paddocks though what's left is generally benign as the dangerous ones have been rockbroken or dug out. That's in ground we bought a few years ago and are still trying to get right. Blackgrass reckons it's boys ground. Grew decent crops of beet though.

on our outfarm we have land like that, when motorway went through it we got the lads to break up the rocks and we hired dumpers to dump the rock in the bog, used to be all furze , rocks and bog and now there's no waste

Not racing.
    Glanbia coop members voting on releasing or not, some of the coops value to members in the form of Plc shares.

was all set to go but something has come up here:mad: too long to be away , let us know how it goes, would be the guts of 4.5 hours on the road to/from here

Not racing.

Nice one!!
    I hope ye make a small fortune.

Must be good land to grow good crops of beet.
    I thought that I've experience of most types of land, but I've never seen that kind of land. I assume it's very dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

was all set to go but something has come up here:mad: too long to be away , let us know how it goes, would be the guts of 4.5 hours on the road to/from here

Similar here, but cross Country all the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

We all know someone bigger better faster stronger smarter than ourslves, in know few folk with Dorset diamond or Aberdeen gravel who'd happily swap their bit of dirt.
    http://d1hu4133i4rt3z.cloudfront.net/attachments/113/113914-d128da04c748f97eb048d87c9711fc5d.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Timmaay wrote: »
    Similar here, but cross Country all the way.

On a bicycle ? :D
    Down the Gorey bypass on to Bunclody and across to M9 is how I go
    Good road all the way
    About an hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Good road all the way
    About an hour

Pr into bunclody head for kiltealy onto bored and your in gowran. Only 30 min for us and look at heifers on the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Pr into bunclody head for kiltealy onto bored and your in gowran. Only 30 min for us and look at heifers on the way

I've put bored into the Sat nav and it's asking me to make a legal u-turn :D

on our outfarm we have land like that, when motorway went through it we got the lads to break up the rocks and we hired dumpers to dump the rock in the bog, used to be all furze , rocks and bog and now there's no waste

Did you use it to reclaim the bog? Convert it to grazing ground? Nice one

There's a Russian lady showing up in an advert on boards between posts and she's most distracting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

just do it wrote: »
    There's a Russian lady showing up in an advert on boards between posts and she's most distracting

I didn't want to be the first to say I saw her in case it reflected poorly on my search history

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I've put bored into the Sat nav and it's asking me to make a legal u-turn :D

Borris would be a fairly boring place alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Good road all the way
    About an hour

Just looked at Google maps, 1hr40, I'm almost I Wicklow Town, but Yeh I was thinking tinahealy way before you suggested Bunclody. In any case, other things to be done!