Derek Davis RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Such a likeable guy and part of my childhood on TV rest in peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Aw, what a nice man. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

One of the best broadcasters RTE ever had.

A really nice humble guy but with a razor sharp wit and a great intellect.

Could never understand why RTE sidelined him ,he was a proper tv presenter not like the loud mouth,obnoxious,vacuous presenters so prevalent today.

Just read that one of the RTE executives once called Derek into his office to tell him he was too fat for light entertainment. :( He
    said he wanted to clock the guy, showed him his contract and
    told him: 'You can't get rid of me, you little bastard!' Your man was
    never on his own with Derek again!!

Like many, I was really shocked to hear of his death this morning,
    especially as he had been on radio and TV quite often recently,
    ironically enough, speaking about his battle with obesity. He
    underwent surgery last year as he feared if he didn't he would
    not live much longer. :(

May he rest in peace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

couldnt believe it when i heard this, only seen a piece on the sunday paper with him talking about loosing weight, a likeable guy, long live live at 3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

Walk home from school, in the door, Derek and Thelma on the telly, stew (again:() for dinner, fight with the Mammy to get Gordon the Gopher on.

Good times.

RIP

The staple of manys an Irish home in the 80's/90's, RIP Derek, one of RTE's good guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭paddy cork

Best presenter of Liveline

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Always loved Derek, no echo and gas craic, dont get presenters like him anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Noooo! :(

I always loved him for his cheerful face and soft Northern accent.

RIP Derek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Only reading about him working on his weight problems last weekend, how his grandchildren spurred him on to look after himself more so he'd be around longer. It's just not fair.

Goes to show, and I say it to myself every time I hear of a death, NOW is the time for living, but I never learn.

RIP Derek , hope you didn't suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Takes me back to coming in from school at 10 past 3 and my gran aunt would have Live @ 3 on without fail. Then she'd go help with dinner and it would be a quick flick over to the Den. RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭fed up sick and tired

Was it he who said to Ronnie Reagan that if Reagan's ancestors knew how much a bag of Ballyporeen soil was going for (ie at the time of his visit), they'd never have left Ireland in the first place. Ronnie laughed.

I always loved his accent, his delivery, and his enunciation. Consummate pro.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

keano_afc wrote: »
    I was getting changed after a workout in my gym one time and a guy standing behind me was struggling to open his locker. "Here young lad", he growled, "can you open that wee lock for me there, my glasses are in the locker and I'm f*cked if I can see the lock". So long Derek, I was happy to help that day.
    I even read that in his voice :(
    Such a likable man.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,585 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

RIP Derek. He was a great presenter in his day - used to always watch Live at Three and Play the Game as a kid :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Aglomerado wrote: »

I always loved him for his cheerful face and soft Northern accent.

yes he had a lovely nordie accent, esp at a time when the northern accent was associated with mayhem & misery

Great Professional Broadcaster RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

fryup wrote: »
    at a time when the northern accent was associated with mayhem & misery

Are you sure you have the correct tense there? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,364 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Jaysus, wasn't he only on Vincient Browne a few days back? Looked well from what I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

RIP

67 was very young to have passed away, like others I remember him on Live at Three with Thelma Mansfield back when I was in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭nathang20

RIP. Remember him with Thelma Mansfield, back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I thought there was something a bit dodgy about how he lost so much weight so quickly. It just seemed too easy, especially at his age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Had the pleasure to meet him once, a funny and kind human being. Rip

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Jaysus, wasn't he only on Vincient Browne a few days back? Looked well from what I saw.
    Thats the effect Minister of Doom Browne has on people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,581 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

RIP, growing up in the eighties and nineties was ever present on the tv when changing the channels in the afternoon :) Have some half memory of some charity single he was involved with maybe? Comic relief or one of those

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

RIP DD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭wupucus

A Legend has passed RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Dammit, going to miss this man.
    On the one hand I'll admit I didn't think about him all the time, or even get thinking about his shows and presenting jobs in the past but, when I'd hear his voice on the radio or on the tv it would just take me to a warm comfortable place and I'd wonder why the hell this man isn't still in the public eye, still making great regular tv and radio.
    I loved a christmas show he did many moons ago in the 80's, on the lead up to the big day, called The Season That's In It.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Supposed to have been lovely to work with.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

RobertKK wrote: »
    Yes, on Sunday on the Marian Finucane show, talking about actively working on reducing his weight, the main reason being he wanted to live longer.
    He said he wanted to live as long as possible to do all the 'grandad' things with his new grandson.

RIP. He seemed like a lovely man. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Only seeing this now,so sad,

RIP, DD

Never realised he was 67 always looked younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

He recorded one of the worst Country n' Irish albums you'll ever hear, but thankfully his talents lay in journalism & broadcasting, where his easy manner, inquisitive mind & that little bit of mischief in his personality shone through.

RIP big man.