Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derek Davis RIP

• 13-05-2015 11:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭

Derek Davis has died after suffering a stroke.

A legend of Irish TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Ah sorry to hear that. RIP Derek.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

RIP, a legend from 80s Irish TV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 Mr Peebs

Poor aul Derek has passed away. Pleasant gent - I always liked him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭DubiousV

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Fond memories of Live at 3 back in the 80s. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Jeeez heard him live on the radio last weekend did I not?... life is so short and so fickle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

A charismatic and professional Broadcaster.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Misfortunate man. He was only on the radio a couple of days back. Great media personality and a heck of a nice fella. RIP Mr. Davis. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Jeeez heard him live on the radio last weekend did I not?... life is so short and so fickle.

Yes, on Sunday on the Marian Finucane show, talking about actively working on reducing his weight, the main reason being he wanted to live longer.
    So sad when you know he was doing things to positively affect his life, but then none of us know, one could be thin and get a stroke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

RIP to a legend. Was listening to him only last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Only 67 too.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

A staple of Irish TV growing up, used to love watching him host Playing The Game.

Always reminded me of an Irish Brian Dennehy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I was getting changed after a workout in my gym one time and a guy standing behind me was struggling to open his locker. "Here young lad", he growled, "can you open that wee lock for me there, my glasses are in the locker and I'm f*cked if I can see the lock". So long Derek, I was happy to help that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

RIP

A gentleman.

Condolences to his family and friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Sad news. He was a gentleman. RIP Derek :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

One of few Irish/RTE "celebs" who was thoroughly likeable and sound. He had such a great passion for the outdoors and really, for life itself.
    Very sad to hear he's gone :(
    RIP Derek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Always seemed like a really nice guy, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,690 ✭✭✭eigrod

RIP Derek.

Must've been so sudden. He was on RTE Radio only at the weekend talking about obesity :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

That's very sad. I saw him a while back talking to Brendan O'Connor about his weight loss and wanting to be around for his grandchildren. He seemed to be in a really good place. Rip and condolences to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

The only person that could make me listen to Liveline.

Seemed like the kind of grandfather/helping ear you'd always want.
    RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Ah he was lovely. I used to love him when I was little. He was like a beardless Santa Claus. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Walk home from school, in the door, Derek and Thelma on the telly, stew (again:() for dinner, fight with the Mammy to get Gordon the Gopher on.

Good times.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Pretzill

A fine broadcaster and a very likeable person - RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ahh jeeze, very sorry to hear the news.

Always came across as a likeable gent and a fine broadcaster.

I always remember his fishing programs.

RIP.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Ah no, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,964 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

One of the best broadcasters RTE ever had.

A really nice humble guy but with a razor sharp wit and a great intellect.

Could never understand why RTE sidelined him ,he was a proper tv presenter not like the loud mouth,obnoxious,vacuous presenters so prevalent today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Always well liked I feel. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Walk home from school, in the door, Derek and Thelma on the telly, stew (again:() for dinner, fight with the Mammy to get Gordon the Gopher on.

Good times.

RIP

This^^^^

...only it was cabbage/bacon and the fight was with my Granny:pac:

Feckin blight on my post school TV watching in the 80's, but all is forgiven.

RIP Derek, always came across as an absolute Gentleman whenever I saw or heard him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Brown trout up and down the length of the country will be breathing a sigh of relief. Handy man with a fly, was Derek.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Such a likeable guy and part of my childhood on TV rest in peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Aw, what a nice man. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

One of the best broadcasters RTE ever had.

A really nice humble guy but with a razor sharp wit and a great intellect.

Could never understand why RTE sidelined him ,he was a proper tv presenter not like the loud mouth,obnoxious,vacuous presenters so prevalent today.

Just read that one of the RTE executives once called Derek into his office to tell him he was too fat for light entertainment. :( He
    said he wanted to clock the guy, showed him his contract and
    told him: 'You can't get rid of me, you little bastard!' Your man was
    never on his own with Derek again!!

Like many, I was really shocked to hear of his death this morning,
    especially as he had been on radio and TV quite often recently,
    ironically enough, speaking about his battle with obesity. He
    underwent surgery last year as he feared if he didn't he would
    not live much longer. :(

May he rest in peace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

couldnt believe it when i heard this, only seen a piece on the sunday paper with him talking about loosing weight, a likeable guy, long live live at 3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

Good times.

RIP

The staple of manys an Irish home in the 80's/90's, RIP Derek, one of RTE's good guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭paddy cork

Best presenter of Liveline

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Always loved Derek, no echo and gas craic, dont get presenters like him anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Noooo! :(

I always loved him for his cheerful face and soft Northern accent.

RIP Derek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Only reading about him working on his weight problems last weekend, how his grandchildren spurred him on to look after himself more so he'd be around longer. It's just not fair.

Goes to show, and I say it to myself every time I hear of a death, NOW is the time for living, but I never learn.

RIP Derek , hope you didn't suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Takes me back to coming in from school at 10 past 3 and my gran aunt would have Live @ 3 on without fail. Then she'd go help with dinner and it would be a quick flick over to the Den. RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭fed up sick and tired

Was it he who said to Ronnie Reagan that if Reagan's ancestors knew how much a bag of Ballyporeen soil was going for (ie at the time of his visit), they'd never have left Ireland in the first place. Ronnie laughed.

I always loved his accent, his delivery, and his enunciation. Consummate pro.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

keano_afc wrote: »
    I was getting changed after a workout in my gym one time and a guy standing behind me was struggling to open his locker. "Here young lad", he growled, "can you open that wee lock for me there, my glasses are in the locker and I'm f*cked if I can see the lock". So long Derek, I was happy to help that day.
    I even read that in his voice :(
    Such a likable man.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

RIP Derek. He was a great presenter in his day - used to always watch Live at Three and Play the Game as a kid :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Aglomerado wrote: »

I always loved him for his cheerful face and soft Northern accent.

yes he had a lovely nordie accent, esp at a time when the northern accent was associated with mayhem & misery

Great Professional Broadcaster RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

fryup wrote: »
    at a time when the northern accent was associated with mayhem & misery

Are you sure you have the correct tense there? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,429 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Jaysus, wasn't he only on Vincient Browne a few days back? Looked well from what I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

RIP

67 was very young to have passed away, like others I remember him on Live at Three with Thelma Mansfield back when I was in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭nathang20

RIP. Remember him with Thelma Mansfield, back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I thought there was something a bit dodgy about how he lost so much weight so quickly. It just seemed too easy, especially at his age.