Feral Thugs Welcome tourists

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭noway12345

Don't mention "middle". You'll set it off on another rant about his hatred for the middle class of Ireland. Whatever that's supposed to be.

There are a lot of kips in Dublin though and It's the likes of the monkeys in this story who make them so too.

Red face for ya, I never said I hated the middle class. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Punish everyone in the house, Remove all TV's computers anything entertainment. Put in a mobile phone blocker and Wi-Fi blocker. Remove any access they and the whole family have to the internet. See how long the darlings wake up and change their attitude.

What if they don't have most of that stuff?

noway12345 wrote: »
    What if they don't have most of that stuff?

Not everyone has wifi in their homes you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

They probably steal it anyway!

catallus wrote: »
    They probably steal it anyway!

Steal wifi. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

I went to Dublin once to collect my passport and was shot and killed.

Did you hear about that fella who was so good at fashion they had to shoot him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

This is the kind of thing our great leader Enda should be getting the guards to sort out
    Dublin must be the only capital city in Europe where the city centre is teaming with scumbags but nothing will be done until tourist numbers drop dramatically. Enda will then pay some company hundreds of thousands of euros to do a survey who will come back with a result that there are too many scumbags allowed to roam the streets

Not everyone has wifi in their homes you know?

But it is possible to use your neighbours Wi-Fi on your phone for example if they are not to far away.

Help!!!! wrote: »
    This is the kind of thing our great leader Enda should be getting the guards to sort out
    Dublin must be the only capital city in Europe where the city centre is teaming with scumbags but nothing will be done until tourist numbers drop dramatically. Enda will then pay some company hundreds of thousands of euros to do a survey who will come back with a result that there are too many scumbags allowed to roam the streets

Seemed to be enough Garda to hang around the water protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Red face for ya, I never said I hated the middle class. :D

Could have fooled me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Help!!!! wrote: »
    Dublin must be the only capital city in Europe where the city centre is teaming with scumbags but nothing will be done until tourist numbers drop dramatically.
    Any city with a tourist area attracts scumbags of all sorts. Barcellona has open prostitution on the streets. Eastern European countries have open begging on the streets. Many do manage to keep drug use out of the tourist areas but you often end up with a brutal police force that will beat first and ask questions second.

But it is possible to use your neighbours Wi-Fi on your phone for example if they are not to far away.

Most wifi is blocked, do you want the parents to go into their neighbours now to ask them to switch of their wifi cause their kids are a bit naughty?

Could have fooled me.

Well it's not hard to fool you in fairness. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

ScumLord wrote: »
    a brutal police force that will beat first and ask questions second.

And I suppose in your twisted moral hinterland this is worse than having scumbags who beat first and ask no questions at all?!

It is a sign of a mind beset by the disease of moral relativism that it cannot discriminate between the violence of the policeman and the violence of the criminal. For shame.

catallus wrote: »
    And I suppose in your twisted moral hinterland this is worse than having scumbags who beat first and ask no questions at all?!

It is a sign of a mind beset by the disease of moral relativism that it cannot discriminate between the violence of the policeman and the violence of the criminal. For shame.
    Your a great one for jumping to your own conclusions based on unrelated comments.

It's just a fact that police forces in the likes of Latvia do random beatings on men they see walking down the street when something happens. They instill fear in people but don't necessarily attack real crime. That's not really an effective alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Any city with a tourist area attracts scumbags of all sorts. Barcellona has open prostitution on the streets. Eastern European countries have open begging on the streets. Many do manage to keep drug use out of the tourist areas but you often end up with a brutal police force that will beat first and ask questions second.

I was in Barcelona a couple of years ago and was offered sex with prostitutes twice in broad daylight. Once by a pimp and the second time by a prostitute who screamed down the street at me when i refused. Straight after dark there was a gauntlet of between 10 and 15 dealers standing next to each other offering everything from hash to heroin to every passing tourist.

I've seen more violence on London transport at rush hour then I've seen in entire days and nights spent in Dublin. I'm not saying that it's a very safe city, but I'd rather live here than in most places I've passed through.

Most wifi is blocked, do you want the parents to go into their neighbours now to ask them to switch of their wifi cause their kids are a bit naughty?

1 out of 10.

:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Worked in what regard?

Internet thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Satori Rae

My dad hails from the liberty's even to this day he treats going to Dublin like Homer Simpson treats a trip to New York it has rubbed of on me I must say! Unfortunate for what could be a deadly city to be such a hole!!

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    I was in Barcelona a couple of years ago and was offered sex with prostitutes twice in broad daylight. Once by a pimp and the second time by a prostitute who screamed down the street at me when i refused. Straight after dark there was a gauntlet of between 10 and 15 dealers standing next to each other offering everything from hash to heroin to every passing tourist.
    I had to give a prostitute €2 just to let go of me. I can't remember seeing a lot of drug dealing on the streets but I did come home with hash, so they were there somewhere.
    I've seen more violence on London transport at rush hour then I've seen in entire days and nights spent in Dublin. I'm not saying that it's a very safe city, but I'd rather live here than in most places I've passed through.
    I've never seen any violence in London and I've been there a good few times in different areas. People seem to keep to themselves for the most part on the London underground but I would have been using it during the day when everyone was going to work.

I remember driving down the street in Dublin and seeing a fist fight during the middle of the day, but that's been it. Never had any trouble myself, in general though I don't attract trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Well it's not hard to fool you in fairness. :D

Speak of the devil. Darkpagandeath is doing a number on you as we speak.

Satori Rae wrote: »
    My dad hails from the liberty's even to this day he treats going to Dublin like Homer Simpson treats a trip to New York it has rubbed of on me I must say! Unfortunate for what could be a deadly city to be such a hole!!

I'm not a big Simpsons fan but I love that episode. It really nailed the way bumpkins treat visiting cities.

I've never seen any violence in London and I've been there a good few times in different areas. People seem to keep to themselves for the most part on the London underground but I would have been using it during the day when everyone was going to work.

I had 4 attempted robberies on me in my last 5 year stint there. 1 on an overhead train with plenty of other passengers on it with everybody pretending they couldn't see it, another at Romford station at 4PM, so hundreds of people around while 15 lads turned out my pockets. I was lucky though because on the train I managed to just refuse to give anything away and they eventually gave up and at the station I'd lost my phone 3 days before*. That's the downside of people keeping to themselves, they watch a teenager being manhandled and robbed and think "that's none of my business..."

Google happyslapping if you haven't heard of it. Gangs of teens going around slapping and sometimes really severely beating everyone from young boys to old women and capturing it on camera for a laugh. It was endemic in London and all across Britain a few years back.

*I was a teenager then and you deal with this type of thing a lot more as a teen so the comparison isn't entirely like for like. The person who found my phone insisted that I meet them at 11PM at Barking station, so I would have been saying "5 robbery attempts in 5 years" had I been stupid enough to meet them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Street Cleansing. No other way.

McGarnagle Style ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Satori Rae

I'm not a big Simpsons fan but I love that episode. It really nailed the way bumpkins treat visiting cities.

Ha it did indeed and he came from one of the most poorest parts of Dublin. :P

Went up on a over nighter to the big smoke myself with my OH recently and was the first time I have ever been able to relax there properly. With out feeling to panicked to get out of dodge. Saying that there was a few hairy moments.

I feel bad for the decent folk living there. Obliviously there is drug issues and scummers everywhere you go but there didn't seem to much of a police presence at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Jaysus, you can't be saying stuff like that on here.

Dublin is the portal to Satan's Anus, let there be no more talk otherwise.

Satori Rae wrote: »
    Ha it did indeed and he came from one of the most poorest parts of Dublin. :P

Went up on a over nighter to the big smoke myself with my OH recently and was the first time I have ever been able to relax there properly. With out feeling to panicked to get out of dodge. Saying that there was a few hairy moments.

I feel bad for the decent folk living there. Obliviously there is drug issues and scummers everywhere you go but there didn't seem to much of a police presence at all.

The only real societal issue I see more in Dublin than elsewhere is the heroin problem and I'm a rare case (apparently judging by comments on here and elsewhere) in that it doesn't frighten me. Saddens me maybe, but I'm not worried that they'll pounce on me for my belongings. I'd be more wary of a gang of boys who don't look like they're returning from a phy clinic to be honest. Anyone could outrun a serious heroin addict, especially when they're in withdrawals.