Who's the most annoying RTE News Correspondent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭clear thinking

Garda spokesman Paul reynolds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Yer wan Jacqui Hurley that does the sports, annoying accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

efb wrote: »
    Not a correspondent

Still a feckin eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Vivienne Traynor. Simply because she's on my telly and not on my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

The voice of doom - George Lee, doesn't really fit his new role as Agriculture and Environment Correspondent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Not a correspondent but Mary Wilson. Well she was a court reporter one time. All her Ts and Ds sound the same. Jeermish McJermish (Diarmud McDermot) Sounds like she's half pissed sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I've never found any of them *that* annoying. Less make-up, Cathy Halloran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Ciarán Mullooly, "Talkeen in the meeteen"

I try not to be snob about accents but really...

also, since I am airing my prejudices, anyone who says Feena Fawl in de Dawl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

"Jim Fahy, RTE NEWS, Side of a ditch, Galway, 1962"

Jim'a alright but that Gift Grub impersonation had him spot on.

Anthony Murnane for me, the guy takes himself so seriously. I remember when he was doing the late news on Network 2 after Podge & Rodge A Scare at Bedtime and after some really outlandish ones he'd have a face like thunder trying to follow them up.

Joe Stack needs to unclench his teeth too.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Can't stand Tommy Gorman, he seems to use his news reading job as some weird therapy or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

That young fella that looks like a seagull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Brian Dowling.

Can't quite put my finger on why he annoys me, but sometimes I think I hear a bit of dis, dat, dese and dose, with other 'blunted' words thrown in? Probably just his accent, but it annoys me :)

Not a broadcast journalist, but Brian McConnell from the Indo is an awful eejit. Sometimes he appears on TV shows like Tonight with Vincent Browne. He seems genuinely clueless about everything, including the English language.

Fiach Kelly is another one.

As for newsreaders and correspondents, they're all quite unremarkable.

Bring back Anne Doyle I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Most of those already mentioned are poor broadcasters but none are what I would describe as irritating, unlike their counterparts on Sky News, for instance.
    Anodyne, coiffured, blandness personified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

Pascal Sheehy once barged into me outside the court house in Cork and never apologised either. He was talking on his mobile and giving out to whoever was on the other end about a third person being "Utterly useless". His off air speaking style is exactly the same as his on air one.

David Davin-Power passed me on Dawson Street the day Brian Cowen stepped down as Taoiseach - Dave was hurtling Leinster House wards like a man possessed. He's tiny in real life, looked rather wizened and his hair was badly dyed and rather sparse.

I used to live near Sharon Ní Bheoláin and she always had a smile and wave for me so she's grand in my book.

Not RTE but Paul Byrne from TV3 news drives me spare with his Kent Brockman-esque love of 'Soft News' and complete lack of asking any sort of difficult questions. "So Mary, your son shot and killed three people, injured ten more and died while trying to burn a convent full of nuns to the ground - who do you blame?"

"I blame the Guards for not stopping my boy from hurting himself."

"Mary, there, a poor bereft mother asking hard questions of the authorities. Paul Byrne, TV3 News, Cork."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

6 pages and no mention of Caitriona Perry.
    She grinds my gears every single time.

I know he is not there anymore, but I hated Charlie Bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Jennie o Sullivan from RTE Cork without a shadow of a doubt. Painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 VWD8

Aidric wrote: »

Jenny o Sullivan
    AR T EEE News
    Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

FunLover18 wrote: »
    It really annoys me the way they all say 'Are T E'. This is Ireland, it's 'Oar T E'!

Pat McGrath looks like a Pat Shortt character.

I went to school with Pat McGrath, think he is the western correspondent on RTE now, I seldom watch the news. He used to go around the handball alleys interviewing people in second year with an imaginary microphone....funny how things turn out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Emma O'Kelly, Education correspondent and Fergal Bowers, Health correspondent - when they come on I feel my brain glazing over, think it's the topics they are reporting on more so their voices.

I grew up with a younger sister who had barbie dolls. When bored, I'd pull her barbies' heads off and reattach them to other dolls etc. Anyway, if you took a barbie and bent its head backwards towards the spine, its face would flatten. If you're near a barbie doll go do it now.

Emma O'Kelly kind of looks like that. I don't mind her at all though.

Whoever said that about DDP never blinking is spot on - I think I noticed that about ten years ago and would have staring matches with him when he came on. He always won...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭trashcan

Aidric wrote: »

Yep, we have a winner. That voice !!!! Brian Dobson and Sharon Ni thingy are awful newsreaders too. Keep putting their pauses in the .......wrong places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Not RTE but Paul Byrne from TV3 news drives me spare with his Kent Brockman-esque love of 'Soft News' and complete lack of asking any sort of difficult questions. "So Mary, your son shot and killed three people, injured ten more and died while trying to burn a convent full of nuns to the ground - who do you blame?"

"I blame the Guards for not stopping my boy from hurting himself."

"Mary, there, a poor bereft mother asking hard questions of the authorities. Paul Byrne, TV3 News, Cork."

Not RTE, nor TV either, but that insufferable gobsh1te Jonathan Healy on Newstalk manages to fill an hour a day, five days a week with similar crap.

Here's his job application: https://simpsonswiki.com/wiki/Bart's_People

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭ice.cube

trashcan wrote: »
    Yep, we have a winner. That voice !!!! Brian Dobson and Sharon Ni thingy are awful newsreaders too. Keep putting their pauses in the .......wrong places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

VWD8 wrote: »
    Jenny o Sullivan
    AR T EEE News
    Cork
    Like it or not she's more correct than most of the RTE reporters with their Ooooor-tee-ee News.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Pearlstone

"Moykal" Mock Morrow...especially when he says Orsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Pearlstone

Apologies..just realised MMcM is not RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Mammycat1

Vomit wrote: »
    I don't really watch TV but have it on in the background sometimes and I could have sworn I heard one of them sign off as, "Hulk Hogan, RTE News, Dublin".

That's Paul Colgan, for some reason it does sound like he's saying Hulk Hogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,492 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Mammycat1 wrote: »
    That's Paul Colgan, for some reason it does sound like he's saying Hulk Hogan

He is not on RTE anymore. His current job is Economics Editor for UTV Ireland.

The one I will put down is Ray Kennedy. He is an awful newsreader as well. He would sometimes sound rather smug doing the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

A number of them are incredibly bad. the cork and west ones especially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Just surprised people still watch the RTE news.
    Sure, we all did way back when. But have yiz not got the internets yet ?