Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's the most annoying RTE News Correspondent?

• 05-05-2015 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭

Is it Plastic Sheeting(Pascal Sheehy), David Davin Power(Who always seems to be glued to the one spot at Leinster House) or that other Northern Ireland correspondent with the incredibly dreary voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Davin Power never blinks, seriously look next time.

The worst is this guy who does the politics stuff these days...something Murphy?...seems to try really hard to sound upper class. It grates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

KungPao wrote: »
    Davin Power never blinks, seriously look next time.

The worst is this guy who does the politics stuff these days...something Murphy?...seems to try really hard to sound upper class. It grates.

Probably sleeps with his eyes open too like the reptile he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Gotta be Paschal for the fake voice he puts on like its some form of performance art.

Cos no one, anywhere, ever.... ever would chose to speak like that naturally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I feel bad for Joe Little. The Ecumenical Matters Man.

Only gets to report on paedos and babies in tanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Luckysasha

Most of the male presenters in fact. The accents are terrible especially that John kilrane. RTE news is really annoying much prefer TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

The weather 'girls' (term used v. loosely) are awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Ciaran Maalllooohhy reporting from Mullinnggaarr.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Gotta be Aongus Mac Grianna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

Yer wan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Amazing the way RTE never have a working class Dublin lad or lass reading the news. No sign of many non nationals either. You'd swear it was a closed shop or something. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Don't know who is the most annoying, but the best was Michael Murphy I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Although she's a grand thing to stare at while learning about war in the middle east, Sharon ni Bheolains voice and tone goes right through me. The girl is constantly in need of a strepsil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Whats the difference between Fox News and RTE ?
    Answer: Milfs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

For me.....It has to be.......Paschal Sheehy.....For what....He........Has done......To the.....Rules of........Punctuation........In his......Reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Amazing the way RTE never have a working class Dublin lad or lass reading the news. No sign of many non nationals either. You'd swear it was a closed shop or something. ;)

Ding Dong Denny was given the news anchor role ahead of the Dobson fella. Due to an accident involving 45 pints of Guinness, a female Garda who wasn't a stripper and a pitchfork he didn't make it in on day one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Plastic Sheeting defintely gets my vote. Brendan Wright from BELL-FAST always seems to grip the microphone so strongly in his hands that he is paranoid some teenagers will swipe it from him mid sentence.

Philip Bromwell also grates, his voice overs are so laboured and contrived. Not only that, by the reports he is given it seems like he is the butt of all jokes in the newsroom. I get the feeling that if an editor is looking for a reporter to cover a story on a cat stuck up a tree then the entire newsroom justs says 'thats one for Bromwell, send him'. He always seems to get landed with the dross stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Paschal Sheehy.

RTÉ News.

Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Totofan99

Aengus Mac Grianna is a terrible news reader. Like, really bad. He's constantly stumbling over his words and making mistakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Yer wan.

Asian Correspondent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

That clown Michael Lehane on the political news. (Mehaul Lehaaane)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Ciaran Malooooley, RTE........Birrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Ciaran Malooooley, RTE........Birrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Coldest town in Ireland :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The fact that we might want to understand them when they speak probably has something to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Paschal Sheehy.

RTÉ News.

Cork.

Cark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Brian Kerr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Most of the sports reporters on RTE News are appallingly lazy speakers, who can't even be arsed learning how to pronounce 'Jose Mourinho' correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Or someone like this lad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

plastic sheeting

rte news

cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I think they're all grand.

Rather listen to them than any of the super critical boards eejits that couldn't report their own shadow anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Paschal Sheehy.

RTÉ News.

Cork.

Pascaaaaaaaaaaaaaaal Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeheeeeeeeeeee.

RTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE Noooooooooooooooooooss

Caaaaark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

There is so many of them, the Mid West one I think Jenny O something.

Fergal Bowers voice is annoying also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

fxotoole wrote: »
    Gotta be Aongus Mac Grianna.

Not a correspondent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Fozzy Bears Irish cousin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Although she's a grand thing to stare at while learning about war in the middle east, Sharon ni Bheolains voice and tone goes right through me. The girl is constantly in need of a strepsil

There was a running joke on oliver callans sketch show about her being a robot, referring to her speech

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Miall108 wrote: »
    David Davin Power(Who always seems to be glued to the one spot at Leinster House)

As opposed to sending in his reports while lightly jogging around the Dail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yer man Eileen Magnier is hard to listen to.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Marty Morrissey scares me.

Favourite is ciaran mulooly, strikes me as a decent guy without a laboured rte news readers accent. Brendan Wright probably my most annoying since he seems to love the misery of his northern stories!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Business correspondent, I can't think of her name. Always and only talking about SIPTU and trade union deals.

Feels a like a secondary school business class/teacher on cocaine.
    Most. boring. job. ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Brian Dowling, Ciaran Malooley.

With Sharon Ni Bheolain as the most annoying & amaturish TV News presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

Brendan Wright probably my most annoying since he seems to love the misery of his northern stories!

Yeh you can hear the sadistic passion in his voice especially when hes reporting on a shooting or death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

I don't really watch TV but have it on in the background sometimes and I could have sworn I heard one of them sign off as, "Hulk Hogan, RTE News, Dublin".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

LordSutch wrote: »

With Sharon Ni Bheolain as the most annoying & amaturish TV News presenter.

Id say Aonghus has to be. He literally cannot improvise. At all.

He spoke to some Coastguard lad live last night, and the man took him off his pre-prepared questions by expanding on some other points. Aonghus just spluttered and stuttered some nonsense before saying "thats grand" and letting him go.

I half expected another frozen in the headlights moment followed a painfully long time later by............................."What?"

Its not good readers you need as such, its people with charisma and a bit of cop on.

Theres nothing more cringey than a sportsguy handover on an RTE bulletin

Dobbo:"Looks a tough task player X has there eh Joe?"

Joe "Eh, yes Brian. Thanks Brian."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

There 2 IMO. Pascal Sheehy has a really dreary voice that makes me not listen to anything he says. There's also that correspondent that reports on places around athlone (not sure if it is David Davinpower.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The guy who says PortlaoiseA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Adamantium wrote: »
    Business correspondent, I can't think of her name. Always and only talking about SIPTU and trade union deals.

Feels a like a secondary school business class/teacher on cocaine.
    Most. boring. job. ever.

Ingrid Miley.

Terrible diction when not on auto cue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Sean "broadly in line figures" Whelan

nothing negative ever spoken about the economy since he took over from George

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Adamantium wrote: »
    Asian Correspondent?
    Yeah shes related to that chinese footballer, Bang Wan Inn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

He's the best!! He brought us Bridie!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

It really annoys me the way they all say 'Are T E'. This is Ireland, it's 'Oar T E'!

Pat McGrath looks like a Pat Shortt character.