Ireland is Great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Thanks Henry Kelly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Free Hat

Yes.
    I'm not talking about a package holiday to lanzarote for two weeks.

I figured as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭billythefish99

For a lot of these clowns who say x is a better country than Ireland, they are comparing living in Melbourne or Vancouver with whatever ****woods backwater they come from here. Its laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I can't wait to come home in July.

Yes Ireland has plenty wrong with it, but there's so much right with it too. The grass isn't always greener- anywhere you go will have stuff that you don't like.

This thing about the weather being terrible, well it's sunny here all the time and to be honest, its boring. We get a nice mix of weather, none of it extreme, so we appreciate the sun when we have it. It's like how much fun would it be if every day was christmas day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

When I was away I had a craving to come home to good old Ireland that I missed so much... When I came home what greeted me was high costs of living combined with little work and badly paid at that. Might not be everyone's situation but I think Ireland is pure misery. What I actually missed was family and friends that live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

When I was away I had a craving to come home to good old Ireland that I missed so much... When I came home what greeted me was high costs of living combined with little work and badly paid at that. Might not be everyone's situation but I think Ireland is pure misery. What I actually missed was family and friends that live here.

It has improved a lot since you left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think we've got a decent balance of a left leaning ideals (free 3rd level education was implemented when times were good, free travel for the elderly and disabled, medical cards, relatively generous social welfare payments) and a right leaning business/economic outlook which attracts a lot of investment. It's not perfect, nothing is. But anyone that lived in the Ireland of the 1950s would take where we are now over that anyday.

If you travel outside of the US and Europe, even just on Europe's doorstep, you can appreciate what a wealthy country this is, despite everything. Irish people are some of the best off in the world. We have plenty of failings, but millions would gladly swap places with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Travels includes living in places.
    Seems ridiculous I even have to point that out but hey ho.

Ah dear. Travelling and living are two separate things, chum and you did say "visit". I don't say I'm visiting Spain while I'm settled down living, working and paying taxes in Spain :confused:. I'm...living here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I used to think Ireland was great.
    Then literally every country I visited on my travels was better.
    Ireland is actually quite sh1t.

I have travelled quite a bit and lived in 3 different country's. I would put Ireland above them all.its the people that make a country and we have great people in this country.it took living abroad for me to realise how good Ireland is. I had the same opinion as you at one time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

Free Hat wrote: »
    People complain about Ireland relentlessly, which is natural, people of every nationality complain about their own country but actually, its a fantastic place to live and work.

It's not perfect but when you add everything up, I think its way ahead of anywhere else in the world.

Looking forward to coming home next month.

are you for real?

i tried to detect the sarcasm, but i fear you are actually serious.

It's a dog bin

are you for real?

It's a dog bin

Ah no, its nicer than that.

Free Hat wrote: »
    Probably the greatest natural resource we have is "craic". Its quite difficult to find outside of Ireland. Hence we have 7000 Irish pubs selling the notion of "craic" all over the world. Alas this "craic" has been cut so heavily, it's not much "craic" at all.

there's no such thing.

it's just a word created so that culchies dont feel bad when the mask slips after a few pints and they start behaving like retards/

there's no such thing.

it's just a word created so that culchies dont feel bad when the mask slips after a few pints and they start behaving like retards/

We shipped all of those over to Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

RZoran wrote: »
    Some point between American exceptionalism and constant Irish negativity/self-loathing would be the perfect balance.

OMG! Twadn't bad now at all at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

are you for real?

It's a dog bin

Shut the door on your way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

there's no such thing.

Spoken like a true craic Nazi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I would like to extend our warmest welcome to all the returning Irish who fecked off and left the rest of us to pay the bills for the last few years :D

Valetta wrote: »
    Shut the door on your way out.

i wont just shut it, i'll lock yiz all in too. then ye can have as much "craic" as you like.

what do you like so much about ireland that you feel the need to take such a smarmy attitude anyway?

it's (IN my opinion) a total dump full of idiots who think they're better than everyone else. they're not, you're not, i'm not. it's a joke of country.

a horrid little non-story slimy cold wet rock in the north atlantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭BMJD

I want a free hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

It's def not way ahead of anywhere else in the world but I get what you're saying.

It may rain a lot but we don't have horrible extremes of weather where we're snowed in or can barely walk outside because it's too hot.
    We're not prone to natural disasters like earthquakes, tornadoes etc.
    We don't have highly dangerous animals roaming around like poisonous spiders/snakes.
    The people are generally a very warm, friendly, kind bunch and are well known for it worldwide.
    We have beaches and mountains all within a short drive from wherever we live.

Could be a lot worse in fairness!

BMJD wrote: »
    I want a free hat

Free Hat with every 100 thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Portlaoise Hospital

Catholic Church

Corrupt Politicians

Hepatitis C

Symphysiotomy

Babies being killed in Public Hospitals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

scdublin wrote: »
    We don't have highly dangerous animals roaming around like poisonous spiders/snakes.

According to last week's LiveLine there are anything from 30,000 - 1 million wild deer decimating the Irish countryside and causing car accidents

Unequal Society (despite what the blueshirts say)