Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is Great

• 08-05-2015 1:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭

People complain about Ireland relentlessly, which is natural, people of every nationality complain about their own country but actually, its a fantastic place to live and work.

It's not perfect but when you add everything up, I think its way ahead of anywhere else in the world.

Looking forward to coming home next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,875 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Free Hat wrote: »
    People complain about Ireland relentlessly, which is natural, people of every nationality complain about their own country but actually, its a fantastic place to live and work.

It's not perfect but when you add everything up, I think its way ahead of anywhere else in the world.

Curious, how did you come to this conclusion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Free Hat

Patww79 wrote: »

I don't think notionable is a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Patww79 wrote: »
    It is brimming with notionable twats these days.

Don't be so hard on yourself, I think you're great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Great bunch of lads.

Kolido wrote: »
    Curious, how did you come to this conclusion?

I really just pulled it out of my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

North Korea is great.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭marc96

Ireland is still playing catch up with rest of the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

I love Ireland. We're great shur!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

marc96 wrote: »
    Ireland is still playing catch up with rest of the world
    Thanks Henry Kelly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭RZoran

Some point between American exceptionalism and constant Irish negativity/self-loathing would be the perfect balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I used to think Ireland was great.
    Then literally every country I visited on my travels was better.
    Ireland is actually quite sh1t.

Which ones were they and I'll explain why they are not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Actually a great country surrounded by water and beautiful beaches scenery.

Spoiled and we don't even realise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

I don't think notionable is a word.

It's a perfectly cromulent word

Which ones were they and I'll explain why they are not?

By your first post I don't value your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Buck Melanoma

This is the thing, you were travelling, not living there which is a totally different thing, having to pay taxes, work etc. Sure dont the tourists that come here thing Ireland is great, same thing, they are only travelling.... but on balance would not call it great but it is above average.

By your first post I don't value your opinion.

The one where I said T-1000 was my favourite bad guy in a film. It's a fair cop I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Newsflash: visiting a country for a pleasant, leisurely holiday of eating, drinking and sight-seeing with not a care in the world is not actually experiencing life in a country. Seems ridiculous I even have to point that out but hey ho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

It's too cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

If you and your country men aren't drowning trying to get across someone else's boarders, maybe things aren't so bad

Probably the greatest natural resource we have is "craic". Its quite difficult to find outside of Ireland. Hence we have 7000 Irish pubs selling the notion of "craic" all over the world. Alas this "craic" has been cut so heavily, it's not much "craic" at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It's a perfectly cromulent word

It helps embiggen the thread too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Please stay away then where you'll be very happy.

This is the thing, you were travelling, not living there which is a totally different thing, having to pay taxes, work etc. Sure dont the tourists that come here thing Ireland is great, same thing, they are only travelling.... but on balance would not call it great but it is above average.

Living then.

Why won't you say where it was?

Newsflash: visiting a country for a pleasant, leisurely holiday of eating, drinking and sight-seeing with not a care in the world is not actually experiencing life in a country. Seems ridiculous I even have to point that out but hey ho.

Travels includes living in places.
    Seems ridiculous I even have to point that out but hey ho.

Were you working and living?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭billythefish99

Ive lived and worked in six different countries for a period of one year or more. Ireland is the best Ive lived in.

Were you working and living?

Yes.
    I'm not talking about a package holiday to lanzarote for two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Thanks Henry Kelly

Yes.
    I'm not talking about a package holiday to lanzarote for two weeks.

I figured as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭billythefish99

For a lot of these clowns who say x is a better country than Ireland, they are comparing living in Melbourne or Vancouver with whatever ****woods backwater they come from here. Its laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I can't wait to come home in July.

Yes Ireland has plenty wrong with it, but there's so much right with it too. The grass isn't always greener- anywhere you go will have stuff that you don't like.

This thing about the weather being terrible, well it's sunny here all the time and to be honest, its boring. We get a nice mix of weather, none of it extreme, so we appreciate the sun when we have it. It's like how much fun would it be if every day was christmas day?

When I was away I had a craving to come home to good old Ireland that I missed so much... When I came home what greeted me was high costs of living combined with little work and badly paid at that. Might not be everyone's situation but I think Ireland is pure misery. What I actually missed was family and friends that live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

When I was away I had a craving to come home to good old Ireland that I missed so much... When I came home what greeted me was high costs of living combined with little work and badly paid at that. Might not be everyone's situation but I think Ireland is pure misery. What I actually missed was family and friends that live here.

It has improved a lot since you left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think we've got a decent balance of a left leaning ideals (free 3rd level education was implemented when times were good, free travel for the elderly and disabled, medical cards, relatively generous social welfare payments) and a right leaning business/economic outlook which attracts a lot of investment. It's not perfect, nothing is. But anyone that lived in the Ireland of the 1950s would take where we are now over that anyday.

If you travel outside of the US and Europe, even just on Europe's doorstep, you can appreciate what a wealthy country this is, despite everything. Irish people are some of the best off in the world. We have plenty of failings, but millions would gladly swap places with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Ah dear. Travelling and living are two separate things, chum and you did say "visit". I don't say I'm visiting Spain while I'm settled down living, working and paying taxes in Spain :confused:. I'm...living here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I have travelled quite a bit and lived in 3 different country's. I would put Ireland above them all.its the people that make a country and we have great people in this country.it took living abroad for me to realise how good Ireland is. I had the same opinion as you at one time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

are you for real?

i tried to detect the sarcasm, but i fear you are actually serious.

It's a dog bin

are you for real?

It's a dog bin

Ah no, its nicer than that.

Probably the greatest natural resource we have is "craic". Its quite difficult to find outside of Ireland. Hence we have 7000 Irish pubs selling the notion of "craic" all over the world. Alas this "craic" has been cut so heavily, it's not much "craic" at all.

there's no such thing.

it's just a word created so that culchies dont feel bad when the mask slips after a few pints and they start behaving like retards/

there's no such thing.

it's just a word created so that culchies dont feel bad when the mask slips after a few pints and they start behaving like retards/

We shipped all of those over to Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

RZoran wrote: »
    Some point between American exceptionalism and constant Irish negativity/self-loathing would be the perfect balance.

OMG! Twadn't bad now at all at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

are you for real?

It's a dog bin

Shut the door on your way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

there's no such thing.

Spoken like a true craic Nazi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I would like to extend our warmest welcome to all the returning Irish who fecked off and left the rest of us to pay the bills for the last few years :D

Valetta wrote: »
    Shut the door on your way out.

i wont just shut it, i'll lock yiz all in too. then ye can have as much "craic" as you like.

what do you like so much about ireland that you feel the need to take such a smarmy attitude anyway?

it's (IN my opinion) a total dump full of idiots who think they're better than everyone else. they're not, you're not, i'm not. it's a joke of country.

a horrid little non-story slimy cold wet rock in the north atlantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I want a free hat