Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

So far so good on the breeding here. 8 days in with 50%of the heifers done and 41% of the cows done. Numbers coming in are fairly consistent, had a drop in cow numbers on Sun and drop in heifer numbers on Mon. Back to normal again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Asked my rep about the megafat, he said they couldn't add it in, would have to be the manufacturer (p&v), he didn't sound convinced at all 2bh, told me to feed straw instead hmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Timmaay wrote: »
    Asked my rep about the megafat, he said they couldn't add it in, would have to be the manufacturer (p&v), he didn't sound convinced at all 2bh, told me to feed straw instead hmmmm.

Pile of crap ,tell them your going to try another mill,fat here has dropped to 3.92 and p 3.47,31.5 to 32 Ltrs consistent .fat this time last year was 3.54.it dose work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭conor t

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Pile of crap ,tell them your going to try another mill,fat here has dropped to 3.92 and p 3.47,31.5 to 32 Ltrs consistent .fat this time last year was 3.54.it dose work
    Does the megafat work as a buffer to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

jaysus lads its depressing all this rain, cows will be back in by end of this week if the rain thats forecast comes. why people in this country ever look for rain i dont know,think we would have learned by now.
    Because different soil types have different requirements. We have 6 inches of soil over limestone on most of the farm so after one week without water, the growth rates drop off a cliff because there is no moisture to carry nutrients into the grass. A quarter of the farm is heavy so during prolonged dry weather, all the growth is in that 25% of the farm.

It's like in wet weather, someone with 25% of the farm being dry will be restricted to using just that 25%. I know it's not exactly like that but similar. The bonus for dry land is we get growth and utilisation on the shoulders but get low growth during the midseason.

The overall growth rate across the whole country, north and south, east and west, is capable of 15t DM production per Ha each year. The difficulty is in the utilisation of it on heavy land and the lack of growth on dry land in the middle.

Just don't be greedy, keep some back and send it on in August, thanks:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Did you drop the acid buff when you put in the megafat?

Does it have to be blended in when making the nut, or can it be mixed in afterwards??

What price are you's paying for nuts at the min, 14% grass spec for 260/ton, will probably get a 12% next load but the price isn't much cheaper, 5euro/ton or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Did you drop the acid buff when you put in the megafat?

Yep ,nut really well balanced.maize based with beet pulp,soya and pk 15% p and over 10% fibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,158 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I googled megafat there and got strange results:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,796 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

how is your bf, mine went back up to 3.95% on last collection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

I googled megafat there and got strange results:eek:

Something like a Belgian blue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,439 ✭✭✭tanko

Is there any word yet when it will be possible to sell animals without a Brucellosis test.

tanko wrote: »
    Is there any word yet when it will be possible to sell animals without a Brucellosis test.
    Last i heard, we're waiting for NI to be declared brucellosis free and then we can get rid of testing. End of May was what i remember.

whelan2 wrote: »
    how is your bf, mine went back up to 3.95% on last collection

Jumping around 2bh, hit 3.7 then back up, cows extremely loose in the parlour also ha. But at 20e/ton if it gives the results it gave MJ its an utter no brainer to get it!

only sending off my profit monitor now , what % of esb etc do we allocate to farm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

only sending off my profit monitor now , what % of esb etc do we allocate to farm?

2/3
    I put all mobile and not hse phone
    I put in full Jeep and no family car

what goes into sundry variable and sundry fixed costs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Was water pump at home giving trouble yesterday one on out farm now.

at least its happening now and not when the drought comes

We'll convert you yet, W2:D

True. Uncle came down yesterday zmd sorted out pump at home. Said who ever fitted it was every shade of gob****e.
    Your man that fitted it who ever he was put in a new switch on wall and wired it up through the old switch reckons it was 30 yr old.

Mam and dad gone up to him now with pump from out farm to see can it be got working

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

what goes into sundry variable and sundry fixed costs?

Not to be smart:)
    But any other odd and end costs that don't fit elsewhere. Not that nb where they go just as long as all are included

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Never found ration as good as pellets in parlour no issue with TMR. I can't explain it, wondering how others find it. Have you upped meal for the wet weather. We're double feeding during wether
    Yip up to nearly 4 kg for the wet weather strugling to eat tho , finnishing the silo and back to nuts the blend was sliped when i was off farm for a few days think ive finnally won the debate nuts for the rest of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Because different soil types have different requirements. We have 6 inches of soil over limestone on most of the farm so after one week without water, the growth rates drop off a cliff because there is no moisture to carry nutrients into the grass. A quarter of the farm is heavy so during prolonged dry weather, all the growth is in that 25% of the farm.

It's like in wet weather, someone with 25% of the farm being dry will be restricted to using just that 25%. I know it's not exactly like that but similar. The bonus for dry land is we get growth and utilisation on the shoulders but get low growth during the midseason.

The overall growth rate across the whole country, north and south, east and west, is capable of 15t DM production per Ha each year. The difficulty is in the utilisation of it on heavy land and the lack of growth on dry land in the middle.

Just don't be greedy, keep some back and send it on in August, thanks:P

your an ardfert man i take it....

Not to be smart:)
    But any other odd and end costs that don't fit elsewhere. Not that nb where they go just as long as all are included

Agreed, whelan don't be too pushed about accounting for every single last 1000 in the PM, start with the big items 1stly, milk sales, meal, fert, wages, etc, if you excluded all the small stuff you'd still be within 5% which would still tell you a huge amount about how your business is preforming. Moving forward I plan on banging out some sort of PM for the month of Jan every year, the more ya do the easier it gets. Also using taxation accounts often isn't the best approach, esp if your any way creative ha, you want a good reflection of how your business is actually preforming against other farms.

as a man in my dg said to me before the best thing a pm does is compare your own farm yr after yr and where ye can improve

started profit monitor at christmas with great intentions, with calving and everything only got it finished last night , thanks lads for the help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

80 acres of grassland near me made 295 an acre for 5 years last week. No entitlements or sheds split by a busy main road and badly needs reseeding. Madness

Mulumpy wrote: »
    80 acres of grassland near me made 295 an acre for 5 years last week. No entitlements or sheds split by a busy main road and badly needs reseeding. Madness

Madness.

your an ardfert man i take it....

How dare you, sir, to insult me like that.

Pistols at dawn, you cad!

I would be part of the occupied territories, the unoccupied part, past Droiheadaclare bridge;-)