********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Already I can tell you that will not be cheap

I know that Titanium parts will be expensive but if they are just ridicolously expensive then I will be forgetting about it. I know what kinda price I can get the alloys for and the radio elsewhere, but it would be very handy getting all the parts from the one place and getting them all together.

dgt wrote: »
    Deep pockets... Wheels alone would be bloody expensive! :(

Not for me Im afraid, but I am considering buying a Ford Focus atm but all the models are the standard LX models - which will do me for my first car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

No point in getting an lx then spending loads on it because it's too basic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Bpmull wrote: »
    Id of had to give them money to look for it back. I offered to pay but they just said wait till im collecting the car. Granted that's probably a lot to do with my dad knowing them so well. I wouldn't say they through the keys of a temp to everyone and anyone who hasn't actually paid yet. But I fail to see how they are gaining with the current situation. I mean surly 2 key cards woulent cost a renault main dealer that much.

I suppose provided the insurance company extend the cover I am not too bad i still ultimately have a car to drive. Just a bit of a mad situation overall I thought the whole aim was to sell cars and get the cars out the door as quickly as possible.

Say your insurance won't cover you and you want your money back. There's plenty more cars out there.

To be honest it seems like there's an issue of some sorts and they won't admit exactly what it is.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    No point in getting an lx then spending loads on it because it's too basic

Thats what I told this guy but he is saying that he doesnt want to get rid off his car and then paying an extra grand or so on a Titanium model (of the same car, same year, same engine etc.) when he thinks the parts will be cheaper and just swap them over.

End of the day, he will still have the LX model. Anyhow, if it makes sense to him and I get paid then Im not complaining :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I don't think they see it as messing me around though as they have given me a car that's almost equivalent (well not as nice but ultimately the same model). I am going to ring Thursday and they would want to be ordering keys by then or have some plan. I don't really want to look for another car as tbh I really like the megane and probably wouldn't buy anything else anyway and this one is a well minded one and a very good deal and I know they will do warranty work as I know the service manager and he is sound.

You could argue its a win win for me as currently I have my money and a car but Id just prefer to get it soon all the same and be able to put all my stuff in it and make it feel like my own if you know what I mean.
    Ah here youre coming across as a complete pushover here

Youve agreed to buy a car and were supposed to pick it up last week.

The morning you are to pick it up they tell you it's been damaged and they've lost the keys

You get an assurance it will be ready this week, then discover today they've done nothing and it will be at least the end of next week before you get it.

In the meantime you are driving a less well specced loaner, stressing about extending your insurance, and you've managed to convince yourself it's a win win for you?

*if they are that lacksadaisical now what will they be like when you've an issue with the car and its to be dealt with under warranty?

If you read the same story from another poster on here I doubt you'd be telling them to think of it as a win for them would you?

It's not as if this is a rare performance car either there are loads of them out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Well laid out Stheno, when you look at it like that BP it really seems like they are playing you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

YbFocus wrote: »
    Well laid out Stheno, when you look at it like that BP it really seems like they are playing you!

Yep, these guys seem to be completely taking the pudding here. It appears there's something up and they aren't beingup front about it, not what you'd call a sweet deal.

Re Meegans, dealt with Tony but myself and always find him a lovely chap to deal with. Prices are strong due to proximity to the border I believe.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There was a breakers dgt refered me to a couple of years ago out the sticks in Louth or Cavan anyone know where I am thinking of? Great services and decent on price as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

@MC it's a good car drives perfect no rattles noises few marks on the body. Mechanically perfect never crashed from what I can see one owner full service history down to bulbs and tyres.

@stheno I'm kind of letting it play out a certain amount I'll give it till next Friday and then see. I'm busy in work so couldn't go car shopping anyway. I'd be very disappointed to leave this car behind tbh.

@ybfocus being played I'm the one driving a car. What good would handing it back and canceling the deal for a car I want to be down a car and financially no better off.

@MC it's a good car drives perfect no rattles noises few marks on the body. Mechanically perfect never crashed from what I can see one owner full service history down to bulbs and tyres.

@stheno I'm kind of letting it play out a certain amount I'll give it till next Friday and then see. I'm busy in work so couldn't go car shopping anyway. I'd be very disappointed to leave this car behind tbh.

@ybfocus being played I'm the one driving a car. What good would handing it back and canceling the deal for a car I want to be down a car and financially no better off.

I'm obviously not as easy going as you that level of service when handing over what would be a fair whack of cash to me woould worry me
    perhaps I'm too distrusting having spent the past couple of months looking at cars, I found an almost perfect car for me which the dealer claimed was owned by his uncle and told me to call him on a certain day after work on it was doene

Rang and he'd sold it and then tries to sell me a completely different car on the basis that it was an auto and his wife had driven it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

What you're doing is genuinely idiotic. What about the old keys? Are they being removed from the cars ECU? What's to potentially stop someone who has them from taking it the night you get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Despite what's said there's plenty of cars like that in this country. I know you don't have a lot of time to be mess around but they are leaving you hanging for two weeks.

My guess...theres something else up with the car or the deal made.

I genuinely think the same tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Bp man I can't understand why you were giving out and when we join in to say what a ****ty situation it is you immediately defend them?
    Weird attitude man, they really are using your way too relaxed nature for their own benefit.
    Like everyone says here, there's probably another 10,000 of those exact cars in the country, you shouldn't feel tied to them in any way.
    I'd break the deal long ago, not be waiting on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bits from a Ford they have in stock, its the Titanium model which is rare enough in Ireland. The full leather interior, alloys, radio and front grille which is all available in 2 of the cars they seem to have in stock!

Don't get me started on that shower of prciks! Took 17 alloys off a 2010 mondeo, they said 60% tyres on the lot, and in great condition. My eye they were. All 4 tyres had frig all on them and not only that, but all 4 had slits in the sidewalls. Alloys were filthy, and I mean filthy, (I know it's not their job to clean them but still!). More kerb marks than I'd like. They came rapped in what, to me smelt like used silage wrap, stank anyway. And they wanted 350 for them. Rang them one day and the fella said 430, rang the second day and they said 350. They don't know what they are at tbh. Very annoyed with their service. Need I go on???

Is it the red titanium you are looking at? Don't think any of the front grilles are salvageable, if I remember correctly. I Thought the front drivers end got a fair rattle. They will go to town on you with the alloys, seeing what I paid, they will look more for them. My radio cost 250 delivered, (not off them) which is the same as that one, so expect to pay more. I considered the half leather seats, but they will be mad money altogether, not worth it IMO. Remember that the half leather seats on the titanium have an 8 way electric adjustable seat, whereas your zetec only has a 2 way, the rest being manually adjusted. Making them work in yours would be difficult.

Finally! Don't be so sure that all them parts are still in stock, that car is in a while, and breakers don't tend to update their pics! I rang a breakers only a month or 2 ago about wheels and they said that the wheels were the first thing taken off it..... in March '13. Nonetheless, the pictures showed that they were still on it!

Thanks lads for the advice I'll make a decision on it by the end of the week. Tbh it's my long week in work so not much time for car shopping. I mean if things don't dramatically improve by Friday I'll have to do something.

Just going out to look for another one would be a nightmare. Also the next cheapest equivalent car from a Renault is over 2k more. So it's not a case of going out and buying the same car for the same money elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Have you considered, and now I'm only throwing this out there, that the keys could have been deliberately "lost2? If I was in your situation, not only would I be extremely ticked off at the extended wait, but I would be suspicious of the whole ordeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Thanks lads for the advice I'll make a decision on it by the end of the week. Tbh it's my long week in work so not much time for car shopping. I mean if things don't dramatically improve by Friday I'll have to do something.

Just going out to look for another one would be a nightmare. Also the next cheapest equivalent car from a Renault is over 2k more. So it's not a case of going out and buying the same car for the same money elsewhere.
    Have you considered, and now I'm only throwing this out there, that the keys could have been deliberately "lost2? If I was in your situation, not only would I be extremely ticked off at the extended wait, but I would be suspicious of the whole ordeal

Yep, like I mentioned earlier. What's to stop someone from taking your car in the night with the old keys?

Have you asked yourself why this is the case? Assuming they'd go for 8-10k why is yours up to 20 per cent cheaper than it's nearest equivalent?

I know I sound harsh but you literally decided you wanted to change car so you'd a four door, you then scoured every local dealer till you found something you liked and that's it

I'm sharing a car with oh at the moment to get a car costing half you'd that I am happy with.

Something is off here

Oh I considered this. But apparently it was some new lad that moved it and that's how they got lost. But Ye they could well have them is be tempted to drive over late and see has the car moved at all as it was parked at an angle so would be easy to spot if it had moved. But they had actually done the mechanical work and there was new Renault mudflaps on it just no body work as they didn't have the keys when they went to being it to the body shop.

Although I think if they were making up the keys thing surly they would have said they found them by today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

It really does smell like a 4 legged friend rhyming with hat that isn't cat

I don't like it atall

Stheno wrote: »
    Have you asked yourself why this is the case? Assuming they'd go for 8-10k why is yours up to 20 per cent cheaper than it's nearest equivalent?

I know I sound harsh but you literally decided you wanted to change car so you'd a four door, you then scoured every local dealer till you found something you liked and that's it

I'm sharing a car with oh at the moment to get a car costing half you'd that I am happy with.

Something is off here

As I said my dad knows this dealer probably bought at least 10 new vans of them and done the interior fit out work on all their garage. So I was getting a good deal on it. There is nothing wrong with it they are trying to clear stock he wouldn't be the kind to sell me a dodgy car.

dgt wrote:
    It really does smell like a 4 legged friend rhyming with hat that isn't cat

You have me stumped? Prob something simple, but I'm tired :P

As I said my dad knows this dealer probably bought at least 10 new vans of them and done the interior fit out work on all their garage. So I was getting a good deal on it. There is nothing wrong with it they are trying to clear stock he wouldn't be the kind to sell me a dodgy car.

You never know who would do what given certain circumstances.

Sometimes its those you wouldn't expect, just to turn round and stab you in the back, forget all the good things you and your father have done for them. Go and do stuff behind your back sort of effort.

You want to avoid these sort of people for your own sake

Its pretty low if this is the case
    You have me stumped? Prob something simple, but I'm tired :P

That would be a... Rat :p

dgt wrote:
    That would be a... Rat

Oh christ, it's bad that I didn't get that!!h

And gobsh*te here on the beer again.... Tut tut! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

@BP.

If I were you I'd stop stressing over this. It won't do anything.

I'd go down to the dealer when you have tme next and discuss it in person and also inspect the car yourself.

Make a judgement call on if you want to stick with it and go from there.

Your money, your call.

Stheno wrote: »
    There was a breakers dgt refered me to a couple of years ago out the sticks in Louth or Cavan anyone know where I am thinking of? Great services and decent on price as well

Wouldn't be the local beatties in camlough would it :D

Was more than likely kilcock as they always have a hape of alfas there

You seriously think you got a 20 to twenty five per cent discount due to this

Imo you've come across as being very naive throughout this entire experience

I'll give you a corollary. I don't wear much jewellery but have a penchant for statement rings which get remarked upon. Sometimes I spend as much as a bangernomics car on a really special ring from a jeweller I trust.

The oh in a fit of insanity decided he was buying me such a ring a few months ago. The stones in the ring weigh 68 carats which is absolutely huge and I've very small fingers so it had to be resized down then up and every week I checked it

I was expecting to pick up the finished article at the weekend so rocked up and it wasn't there.

Owner was sinecerely apologetic, thanked me for being patient and made a commitment to have it finalised

She knows on the basis of my buying in the past that I'll be back as a customer, knows I'll negotiate etc, but she always delivers

You on the other hand using the jewellery analogy have bought something cheap from a chain like Argos and are making way too many excuses