Should we feed the band??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭stickybookmark

Melanie does your venue do bar food? My venue is only being hired by us for the wedding so there's no bar menu so we are paying for 3 dinners served in the bar for 33 euros per dinner (half price) for the 2 photographers and the videographer coz they will be with us all day and there are no other food options available for them (well they could pay the 33 themselves I suppose). the band is a tricky one. i think it depends on whether you have the spare cash in the budget or not, how many band members there are, whether there are cheap options nearby for them? they will have time during the meal, at least 2 hours so if they could drive or walk to somewhere close by where there are reasonable food options available i would say no need to feed them.

Just how stingy can you get? If you can't afford to provide a meal -- or 'feed' them as you so crudely put it -- don't get married.:rolleyes:

Do you expect the band to shell out for overpriced food at the venue from their meagre pay packets?:rolleyes:

You have to be on a wind up. The word feed is now on the crude words list?

I just browsed through my emails from bands who gave me quotes. 3 piece band playing for 3 hours in the evening 1900 euro works out at 211.11 per person per hour.
    3 musicians playing at drinks reception for an hour is 450 working out at 150 per person per hour. That's the rates and that's what I should be expecting to pay

But meagre wages? my a*se!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,740 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

yea i would, band life can be hard. long day for them to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

You have to be on a wind up. The word feed is now on the crude words list?

I just browsed through my emails from bands who gave me quotes. 3 piece band playing for 3 hours in the evening 1900 euro works out at 211.11 per person per hour.
    3 musicians playing at drinks reception for an hour is 450 working out at 150 per person per hour. That's the rates and that's what I should be expecting to pay

But meagre wages? my a*se!

You're forgetting the travel and set up time as well as the countless hours of practise. Not saying it justifies the amounts above, but it's not as simple as you make out.

Red Kev wrote: »
    You're forgetting the travel and set up time as well as the countless hours of practise. Not saying it justifies the amounts above, but it's not as simple as you make out.

Don't get me wrong Kev, I have no issue with their charges. I'm sure instruments and equipment aren't cheap eeither.

But to call someone stingy for not providing nourishment (is that word on the acceptable list?) when they are already paying a large sum (for the couple) is unnecessary.

If a band factors in the price of food along with everything else in their quoted price, so be it. But they are providing a service for a fee same as the caterers, the florist, the cake maker, chauffeur, etc. and price quoted is the price you should pay unless you choose to pay more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Red Kev wrote: »

what a load of rubbish.if they are any good they could set it up in their sleep and practice?they probably do this every weekend and if not that then twice in a weekend.95% of weddings are the same so if a wedding band needs to practice they are probably ****e to begin with.

and its up to the op to feed them or not but if they are being paid for the whole day its up to them to feed themselves.i would put money on it that all of these band members have day jobs and are doing this for a bit of extra money.most wedding bands are like that.
    so as someone said earlier meagre wages my arse.
    having them sit at a table at the wedding is just wrong imo.they are there to do a job and are being well paid for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Here Comes The Trio

If a band factors in the price of food along with everything else in their quoted price, so be it. But they are providing a service for a fee same as the caterers, the florist, the cake maker, chauffeur, etc. and price quoted is the price you should pay unless you choose to pay more.

WOAH I didn't realise this thread could be so controversial! I think the above sentences sum it up pretty well.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Jaysus! Let's all take a chill pill and not be so confrontational! It is possible (and a rule in this forum) to express opinions without biting other posters' heads off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Jes yeah seems to have turned around and gone nasty...

There is really not correct answer OP I would think, but the fact that you are asking maybe suggest that you are thinking about it already which would suggest just go for it, might be another thing ticked off the list and not to worry about..

Again as mentioned with our, because I suppose the venue as such allows for it, but we are offering them someplace to sleep and will be offering them food aswell, as they are travelling down from up the country so I presume they will be hungry. At least asking you give them the choice of saying yeah or ne

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭PutDownArtist

Toots wrote: »
    Jaysus! Let's all take a chill pill and not be so confrontational! It is possible (and a rule in this forum) to express opinions without biting other posters' heads off....

Who put you in charge?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭Gatica

Who put you in charge?:rolleyes:

ahem... she's the mod for this forum.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Gatica wrote: »
    ahem... she's the mod for this forum.

LOL!!

Haha really it does say Mod...PutDownArtist say hi to Toos (toots sorry) the mod for the forum....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Another day, another heated row on the weddings forum!

OP we fed our videographer and photographer. Both did a full day from about noon to 10 pm so during our meal theyate in the bar. I can't remember what we did about the band but I'm sure they helped themselves to the afters food, the usual sausages and sandwiches. If we'd had them for the ceremony and drinks reception music (they offered this service but we didn't need them for that) we'd have fed them during dinner too. We had a few no shows on the day (we kind of knew this in advance) so simply confirmed beforehand that those meals or something from the bar menu would be provided and paid for by us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Uno my Uno.

A friend of mine plays with a wedding band regularly, sometimes they get fed sometimes not. They appreciate it when it happens but it is rarely the wedding meal and they never eat with the guests. Considering that this band will be with you all day I would be inclined to make arrangements for them to have something to eat somewhere such as the bar while you and your guests are dining.

lazygal wrote: »
    Another day, another heated row on the weddings forum!

OP we fed our videographer and photographer. Both did a full day from about noon to 10 pm so during our meal theyate in the bar. I can't remember what we did about the band but I'm sure they helped themselves to the afters food, the usual sausages and sandwiches. If we'd had them for the ceremony and drinks reception music (they offered this service but we didn't need them for that) we'd have fed them during dinner too. We had a few no shows on the day (we kind of knew this in advance) so simply confirmed beforehand that those meals or something from the bar menu would be provided and paid for by us.

hmm interesting. i haven't factored the band helping themselves to the afters food into my numbers i'm giving the venue for the afters food! Good idea to offer the band any dinners that go to waste though! must keep that in mind if we have cancellations after the 2 week final numbers for dining cut off date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

We fed the photographer and videographer in the bar of the hotel as they were there from 10am - 11pm on the day. They were both brilliant and we were happy to do it. It cost about €45 for them both.

Would have done the same with the band had they been there all day. In the event they played right through so didn't even have any afters food.

The photographer & videographer asked not to be seated with the guests for dinner as it's just less awkward for everyone. That suited us fine too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You would defo offer them some of the late night nibbles sticky, even just a plate between then youd make sure they had something

Milly33 wrote: »
    You would defo offer them some of the late night nibbles sticky, even just a plate between then youd make sure they had something

cripes more fecking money! late night food in my place is pizza at 15.50 per pizza they say to allow half a pizza per person so I suppose I better add another 6 people (think that's how many are in my band) onto that so! That's about 46 quid

Seriously, where are you getting married with these prices?! I remember your posts about the children's food too. What gives? I think they're over-estimating how much pizza people will eat. I'd nibble on a slice with a drink after a four course meal so I wouldn't go overboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

yeah i'd say the band would love food but moreso away from the wedding in the bar perhaps!

lazygal wrote: »
    I think they're over-estimating how much pizza people will eat. .

Could be a ploy to upsell alright. Maybe a third of a pizza per person so?

I was just going to say, Sticky your prices that you have posted in different threads seem to be mad.... What kinda pizza are they serving you would order a pizza for delivery for nearly the same price. it sounds like you didn't do much research into the prices...

Milly33 wrote: »
    I was just going to say, Sticky your prices that you have posted in different threads seem to be mad.... What kinda pizza are they serving you would order a pizza for delivery for nearly the same price. it sounds like you didn't do much research into the prices...

We're splashing out alright. Hopefully it will be worth it on the day :-)
    I suppose because the prices are so high I view alot of these things like feeding the band and giving adult menu to teenagers differently than others that are paying a lot less would, coz it's more money at stake

to be honest it doesn't sounds like it, sorry sticky but 15 for pizza is crazy.... We are having crab, lamb shanks and pizza and others for the afters and it is no where near this

We had sandwiches and sausages and I think it was probably about a fiver a head, and we were advised to only order for half the crowd. We could have upgraded but for evening food we decided to keep it low key. At that stage everyone had had drinks reception food and a four course meal, so the evening food was only a bonus. I'd begrudge paying €15.50 between two for pizza to be really honest.

Yep sounds more like it, that what we were advises by most too and to have less than the amount of people going as not every one will eat everything, saves wasting food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 CelticRock

When we play weddings we usually arrive at the hotel around 1pm to set up before any guest arrive. If we have to travel we could be on the road at 10 am and not arrive home till 4am so as 4 growing lads we will never refuse a bite of grub and a sup of tae .
    We never expect it and never think less of anyone who doesn't offer it , it's just nice.
    Playing in different hotels over the years and getting to know hotel staff always helps as well , there is always a spare bit of turkey and some smashed spuds left over.
    And sure at the end of the day there's always the flashk and the hang sangwiches .

cant beat a hang sandwich.... So tisnt the worst idea to ask then