Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Mon 27.04.15

5.3 @ 7.02/mi

Another lunch time, another run in Shanganagh Park.

Tue 28.04.15

W/U, 6 X 600 w/ 200 active revovery, W/D

Times: 1.47, 1.52, 1.51, 1.52, 1.52, 1.53

Was meant to be doing a 200 session but having gone off plan with the 400 session on Saturday, the coach recommended that I tuck in with the 5/10k group and do their 600 session instead. Good group here with Moorsey and SC doing 8 repeats and myslef and KF doing the 6. Pace was tasty enough from the start with all the reps coming in at 5.10ish pace and the active 'recoveries' at just under 7 minute mile pace :eek:. By the third or fourth rep, the legs were really tiring and I was glad to be just doing the six. Recovered very quickly once finished but that was tough going.

Wed 29.04.15

5.3 @ 6.50/mi

Easy miles at lunch

Thu 30.04.15

5.3 @ 6.45/mi

Easy miles at lunch

Fri 01.05.15

4 @ 7.25/mi w/ strides

Easy miles at lunch with strides

Sat 02.05.15

W/U, IMC Greystones 1500 'B' (4.15.96), W/D

Woke up at 8 o'clock to the sound of rain smattering against the window and I don't think it stopped for one second throughout the day. Had heard a lot about these IMC races and our race was being paced to 66s laps by a clubmate so it should have been the ideal scenario but the weather put a bit of a dampener on the whole occasion.

On the Friday evening, I was pretty wrecked after work and ended up falling asleep after my dinner for a few hours. Woke at 11 and just decided to hit the hay. All told got about 12 hours sleep and must say that I felt full of beans on the Saturday. Doing some strides before the race and I was bouncing along effortlessly. Don't know if it was the weather or what but despite feeling great, I never really got in to race mode and couldn't get the pre-race adrenaline going. Lined up third from the inside and when the gun went, the guy in lane 4 got his elbow in front of me really restricting my movement and pushing me towards the back of the pack. Had hoped to go up tight with the pacer but was already about 6 or 7 yards back after only just starting. Once I could get going, the pace was perfect and JF paced the first lap perfect in 66s with me 2 seconds behind in 68. Pace was steady for the second lap but towards the end I lost my concentration for just a few seconds and before I knew it I was a couple of yards adrift from the pack. Woke up and slowly brought myself back in touch. We hit the bell and I wasn't in too bad a position. The group started to string out and on the back straight I started to make some round. Coach shouted that third was for the taking and even though there was a bit of ground to make I sort of felt the same myself. Got up to top speed coming around the final bend and worked my way in to third coming on to the home straight. One guy was finishing strong behind me. I was at top speed now and it was frustrating for him to ever so slowly make his way past me as we hit the line with me powerless to do anything. Still fourth position and 4.15 in tough conditions was a good result and I've learned a few more lessons from the race as well that I can apply next time. There really is s lot more to the 1500 than first meets the eye.

Sun 03.05.15

12 @ 6.43/mi

Met up with Moorsey down in Moorsey Park and we headed out to Blackrock and back. This unintentionally ended up being a bit of a progressive run. Hitting 7 minute miles for the 2 miles to the park. 6.45 miles for the 8 with SM and then 6.15 for the 2 miles home. Nice run and felt pretty good throughout.

Mon 04.05.15

Rest

Been a while since I've taken a rest day so went for the traditional lazing about and watching the snooker on a bank holiday Monday. Will probably run the 3k in the graded in Wednesday or maybe even the 8 if I'm feeling especially adventurous on the day.

Tue 05.05.15

3 @ 7.17/mi

Just a few laps of the Clanna Gael pitches with a clubmate and then 5 or 6 strides to top things off

Wed 06.05.15

W/U, Dublin Graded 3K 'A' (9.02), Home

I was in two minds about doing this after so many races lately but mentioned it to the coach and he thought it was a good idea so I said what the heck, I'll just do it. Was out very early as I got a lift out with RD who was running in the earlier scheduled 800. It was cold at the track and my motivation was very low to be honest. After watching the 800 races, I ambled around the path at the edge of the track for a few warm up laps. Couldn't get my head in to it but just did a couple of strides and lined up at the start. I was in no way nervous and I was pretty certain that if the going got tough, I would either drop out or just go through the motions and bring it home.

The class in the field looked pretty good, so I went out handy enough and just settled in at the back. First lap came in at 72 seconds and felt very easy. This was bang on 9 minute pace so I said I would keep this momentum going and see how far I could go. Honestly the next few laps are a bit of a blur. Timmaay was just ahead of me and the distance between us was see sawing a bit but I think I was keeping a reasonably consistent pace. With 3, maybe 4 laps to go, I upped the effort a bit and I think I might have started making a few places. The laps were ticking off really quickly and I was on the last lap before I knew it. Had a glance at the clock, 7.51, so I would need a 68/69s last lap to make the sub 9. Bit of a long shot but I gave it a good go with a 70/71s last lap and came in at 9.02, I think. They have omitted myself and Timmaay from the results for some unknown reason :confused:.

Such a strange race and I don't know how I ran so well with so little motivation. I'll take it anyway :D. Next up is probably the 1500 in the AAI Games in Santry on Sunday week. Want to get some good sessions in and put my experience from the last two 1500 races to use and give it a really good shot. Want to go for a fast first lap this time and see how this strategy fares. Need to get out of my long distance running mindset.

Thu 07.05.15

5.3 @ 6.52/mi

Lunch in the park

Fri 08.05.15

5.1 @ 6.48/mi

Lunch in the park in the rain.

Sat 09.05.15

W/U, 4 X 410ish w/ 90s recovery, W/D

Times: 70, 70, 70, 70, 72, 73, 73, 73

I was down in Tipp so I headed down to a local running/walking track with the brother and his wife for this session. I was trying to measure the distance for this session on Google Maps but it was only built recently so they don't have the satellite image of it. Knowing its approximate location, I worked out that one corner to the opposite corner was approximately 410 metres so I decided this was good enough.

Myself and the brother hit the session. It was raining and the surface was loose gravel so not ideal conditions but just focussed on effort. By the second one, my legs were already starting to feel it. May have ran these too quick and come the fifth and sixth one I was really pushing it from early on in the rep. The last two were probably really good race preparation because the legs were jellyish pretty much the whole way through so just tried to concentrate on form and keep the turnover as quick as possible. Really tough session but great to get it under the belt. Should stand to me, I think.

Sun 11.05.15

13.4 @ 8.45/mi

Up early after little sleep but we had arranged this the night before and the three of us called our respective bluffs to head out on a tough hilly run on a surprisingly warm but windy morning. Of course, it was enjoyable once we got out and its such a lovely part of the country to run in. The hills are tough but being buffeted by the increasingly strong winds at the summit in the midst of some of the most beautiful countryside in the land really is invigorating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Sat 09.05.15

W/U, 4 X 410ish w/ 90s recovery, W/D

Times: 70, 70, 70, 70, 72, 73, 73, 73

I was down in Tipp so I headed down to a local running/walking track with the brother and his wife for this session. I was trying to measure the distance for this session on Google Maps but it was only built recently so they don't have the satellite image of it. Knowing its approximate location, I worked out that one corner to the opposite corner was approximately 410 metres so I decided this was good enough.

Myself and the brother hit the session. It was raining and the surface was loose gravel so not ideal conditions but just focussed on effort. By the second one, my legs were already starting to feel it. May have ran these too quick and come the fifth and sixth one I was really pushing it from early on in the rep. The last two were probably really good race preparation because the legs were jellyish pretty much the whole way through so just tried to concentrate on form and keep the turnover as quick as possible. Really tough session but great to get it under the belt. Should stand to me, I think.

Sun 11.05.15

13.4 @ 8.45/mi

Up early after little sleep but we had arranged this the night before and the three of us called our respective bluffs to head out on a tough hilly run on a surprisingly warm but windy morning. Of course, it was enjoyable once we got out and its such a lovely part of the country to run in. The hills are tough but being buffeted by the increasingly strong winds at the summit in the midst of some of the most beautiful countryside in the land really is invigorating.

In Tipperary??! :pac: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Haha, get yourself to South Kerry or the Aran Islands and you won't be saying that. :)

Golden Vale lads. Look it up. :P

Mon 11.05.15

4.8 @ 7.23/mi

Legs were feeling it a bit from the hills yesterday so kept the pace handy and the distance a tad shorter than the usual lunch run

Tue 12.05.15

W/U, 6 X 800, W/D

Times: 2.40, 2.31, 2.28, 2.27, 2.26, 2.23

Had a big group for this session, which is always great. I know I wouldn't have gotten this type of quality in without being pushed. First one felt very handy and it was a bit slow. Always best to ease in to a session anyway. By the third one, I was sort of regretting the up in pace :P. Fourth one was surprisingly comfortable but then the last two were really tough. Pace was a bit hotter so not surprising. Great session and compares well to some similar sessions done at the start of the year where paces were in the 2.30-2.40 bracket.

Wed 13.05.15

5.3 @ 7.02/mi

Easy one at lunch

Thu 14.05.15

W/U, 2 X 8 mins, W/D

Two eight minute sections at approximately 6 minute pace. Nothing too taxing ahead of a race at the weekend

Fri 15.05.15

Rest

Sat 16.05.15

5 @ 7.38 w/ 4 X strides

The now traditional pre race easy miles with strides.

Sun 17.05.15

W/U, AAI Games 1500m (4.18.00), W/D

The less said about this one the better :). I don't really know why I entered this. Probably just because it's close to where I live. I had looked up the results from last year and the possibility that I would finish last with no one to chase was very high but I didn't want to let this put me off.

The day itself was a weird intermittently hot and cold day with a pretty stiff breeze on the home straight. Timmaay was racing as well so there was at least one person that wouldn't be a million miles from me. Bit of a delay in the start so we chatted away until it was time to go and then lined up. I took it easy at the start and just tagged on to the back of the group. Still, given the quality of the field, it was a decent first lap at 66s and I was just behind Timmaay and another lad. A brief loss in concentration and now the gap went from 2 metres to 10 metres in about 2 seconds. Later found out that the other guy had put in a bit of a surge and Timmaay had followed. I was now completely isolated and lost all motivation so just brought it home for a very unsatisfying 4.18. Was disappointed but didn't dwell on it too much.

Mon 18.05.15

10.1 @ 7.02/mi

Went up in to the Dublin Mountains after work for a really enjoyable run. One minute you're crossing the M50 and next you're in the middle of the countryside with not a soul in sight. Will have to explore this route a little more.

Tue 19.05.15

2.4 @ 7.28/mi w/ strides

Pre race handy run with strides

Wed 20.05.15

W/U, Dublin Graded 'A' Mile (4.32.72), W/D

I didn't really know what to expect after what has been a mixed bag of racing recently but I love the mile distance so I couldn't really turn down the opportunity to give this a shot. There was extra impetus in that two of my clubmates were running too and we wouldn't be too far off each other's abilities so it had the potential to be a great race.

The weather was really perfect for racing and this put me in a good mood so I couldn't wait to get going. The only thing running through my mind before the start of the race was to keep concentration during the second lap and I felt if I accomplished this then I could have a good performance. I was given a position towards the outer lanes at the start, which is my preference and got off to a good start just tucking in behind one of the clubmates in the middle of the pack but not boxed in. I was really concentrated on keeping relaxed and the first lap was a very comfortable 67/68 seconds. Now, I just wanted to keep in touch with the group on the second lap but not expend too much energy. Still feeling relaxed and hit the second lap in about 2.17 I think. Now, I was surprised to be feeling so good and decided to kick on a bit. Went round the clubmate and started reeling in some of the lads up ahead. Hit the bell and I think I took one or two places coming round the second last bend. Got moving fairly well on the back straight and was in a good position to catch the two runners ahead coming on to the home straight. Normally my legs are dead by this stage but I still had enough energy to really push off and generate some power in the home straight. I caught one runner just before the line and wasn't too far off the second one. Won the battle of the Cru too, which was the main thing :D

Thu 21.05.15

5.1 @ 7.09/mi

Easy Lunch Run

Fri 22.05.15

4.8 @ 7.14/mi

Not so easy lunch run. Probably just lack of sleep and excess of Smithwicks though.;)

Still not sure how to approach the summer in getting a balance between racing and training. Going to take a racing break for a couple of weeks now and get a decent block of training in. IMC in Tullamore looks like a good option to properly tackle the 1500m and finally run one that I'm fully happy with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ah ya f7"ker, ahead of me for the mile also! (my pb about 4.35, but more in the tank for me. Want a smackdown at the Bray runners invitational ha? Sub 4.30 or bust :p

Timmaay wrote: »
    Ah ya f7"ker, ahead of me for the mile also! (my pb about 4.35, but more in the tank for me. Want a smackdown at the Bray runners invitational ha? Sub 4.30 or bust :p

...but its the 1500 one that I want :rolleyes:

Perfect conditions on Wednesday and a big group around the 4.30 mark so I'm sure you would have taken chunks off your PB.

Might make it out to the mile in Greystones but its just after a weekend of music festivalling so I may not be in PB shape :)

Sat 23.05.15

W/U, 5 X 1k (w/ 90s recovery), W/D
    Times: 3.06, 3.03, 3.08, 3.04, 3.11

We had a new addition to the group today in a former Irish U23 XC International runner. He ran with the Cru a few years ago but has been injured since I joined. It was myself, himself and AC for this session. It was a fantastic day for it but there was a long stretch in to a moderate wind for the odd numbered reps so these were a little slower. Aim was 5k pace so we agreed that 3.10 for the reps or in about would be a reasonable pace. We went off together and I stuck with him for the first two reps but the effort might have been a tad too high. Definitely felt it in the legs for the third rep but kept it going, although he was making a few metres on us now. Fourth rep was with the wind so the effort wasn't incredibly hard for the pace. Final rep was really tough but got it done. Always find this session really tough and it was a great confidence booster to be hitting times well above what I would have been running last year

12.1 @ 6.59/mi

I was feeling a little ropey but got out early afternoon for a long run around the Phoenix Park. First half was fine but was getting very tired and thristy towards the end and downed a whole litre of milk when I got in the door. That was very satisfying :D

Mon 25.05.15

W/U, 2 X (4 X 400 w/ 60s recovery) & 5 mins between sets, W/D

Times: 67, 72, 67, 71, 66, 71, 67, 72

Was way too tired going in to this after a really tough session on the Saturday and the long run on Sunday but it was today or not at all so I gave it a shot but wasn't too worried about times. Needless to say, it was quite windy so alternate splits have quite a bit of variation. Got it done in the end but might have been better off just giving it a miss. Definite signs coming from the legs that they need a bit of rest.

Tue 26.05.15

5.2 @ 7.03/mi

Legs still really tired for this run at lunch time.

Wed 27.05.15

5.4 @ 6.48/mi

...basically the same route as the day before with a slight detour to pick up a bit of lunch but felt a world more lively.

Thu 28.05.15

W/U, 2 X 12 mins, W/D

Paces: 5.58, 5.48

A handy enough tempo in Sean Moore Park with AC

Fri 29.05.15 - Mon 01.06.15

No running

Was down in Kerry for the long weekend and did a 175k cycle on the Saturday and an 80k one on the Sunday so I wasn't completely slacking either :pac:. I'll not be converted to the dark side yet though. Me back is broke from being hunched over the handlebars all weekend.

Tue 02.06.15

1.7 @ 7.26/mi

After a few days off from running, it was back to the serious stuff. Can't remember the session exactly but it was an unusual mix of 1500, 800 and 400 pace stuff. I was looking forward to it because it was a break from what can be a very predictable training plan usually. Still very stiff from the massive amount of cycling and during the dynamic stretches I pulled a muscle in my hamstring. So long since I misssed a session through injury and I was gutted. :(

Wed 03.06.15 - Fri 05.06.15

5.2 @ 6.45/mi, 5.3 @ 6.45/mi, 4.8 @ 6.49/mi

Was worried I would be out for a few days but did a bit of a tester run on the Wednesday at lunch and it was the grandest. Felt very lethargic though on all these runs and I think that cycle fairly knackered me.

Sat 06.06.15

W/U, Tullamore IMC 1500m (4.16.17), W/D

Bit of a meh race this one. Wasn't confident going in to it because I just felt pretty tired in general but secretly hoped that I would pull out a good performance. Arrived in Tullamore lateish and after getting changed and a few warm up laps, there was just 15 minutes to go. I made my way to the track to do a bit of a dynamic warm up and some strides. Halfway through me star jumps and I was called over to the line. I said it to the race director/my coach that there was still 10 minutes to go but he proceeded with lining everybody up anyway despite the fact that half the lads were changing in to spikes or pulling off the tracksuits. This pissed me off because he's always priding himself on how the IMC events run on time so the athletes can time their warm up appropriately.

Lined up anyway and we were off. Not a bad start and I settled in mid pack. First lap was a good pace at 65-66s and I concentrated on keeping my position in the second lap. Tagged on to the wrong lad because the second lap was a slow 69-70 seconds. From here, I couldn't kick in to another gear and just maintained my position to the end. Disappointing day out but it just wasn't there today. Super motivated for my next race anyway :)

Sun 07.06.15

Off

Mon 08.06.15

5.3 @ 7.00/mi

Lunch in Shanganagh

Tue 09.06.15

W/U, 8 X 200 (w/ 2.30 recovery), W/D

Times: 30, 29, 29, 28, 29, 29, 30, 29

Legs were feeling good again and I was down for a 3/5k paced session but I've done so many of these recently that I decided to switch to a proper speed session with the 800m runners. Unfortunately the one 800m runner down pulled a muscle during the warm up so it was just me and GP for the session. Marked out a generous 200m and got going. Hit the majority in sub 30, which was good and the last 3 were very difficult, while keeping the same pace so reckon I got the effort just about right. Really enjoyed this session

Wed 10.06.15 - Thu 10.06.15

5.4 @ 7.01/mi & 5.4 @ 6.50/mi

2 easy runs at lunch time and the thighs were very stiff from the session on the Tuesday. A good thing, I think. Quietly optimistic about the 1500 race in the Le Cheile meet at the weekend ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Remind me KU, What's your 1500 PB?

TbL

Remind me KU, What's your 1500 PB?

TbL

Its 4.14 from my first race back in May. 3 races since, ranging from 4.15 to 4.18 but this one was in perfect conditions so was the most disappointing one. Ran a good mile, which would be approximately equivalent to a 4.11 1500, so want to get under the 4.10 mark pretty soon. Set myself an optimistic target of sub 4.05 at the start of the year so will take a bit of work to get down to that level but its a long summer ahead yet.

Fri 12.06.15

Rest

Had intended on getting out at lunch for my traditional pre race jaunt and strides but mad busy day at work so never had the chance. Probably no great loss anyway.

Sat 13.06.15

W/U, Le Chéile IMC 'C' 1500 (4.11.50), W/D & Boards.ie beer mile in 8.48

Almost perfect conditions out in Leixlip today with just a slight headwind in the home straight so there would be no excuses if I couldn't run a PB. I had to run a PB :)

Bumped in to Timmaay after registering and we traversed the place looking for the changing rooms but the gym ones were behind heavy security and there was none by the track so we had the to get changed in the great outdoors. Lucky for any ladies passing in the vicinity ;). Tim wasn't racing till an hour after me so I headed off for a few warm up laps around the adjoining pitches and then over to the track. Bif crowds around and a great atmospphere so it was a pleasure to sit down by the track in the sun and change in to my spikes, while watching the other 1500m races taking place. Thankfully, the race didn't go off early this time so I got my full dynamic in with a few strides before the off. At this stage, all that was going through my head was to hit 2 laps in 2.12 and then I was confident I'd plough through the last 2 laps. Pacer was running 65s, so if I stuck with him, then I wouldn't do too bad.

We're called to the line and then the gun. Got a really good start, which I'm starting to get good at and I was able to slip in to the lead group of 5 or 6 on the inside lane. Pace slowed down a bit after 200m and I was tempted to go round but tucked in to get some protection from the wind and relied on the pacemaker to get us round on target. First lap was 65/66 so bang on target. Pace started to hurt a little now but I picked it up to keep with the lead group with the pace maker and again tucked in to get some protection from the wind on the home straight. Good shout outs from the Cru supporters on track, which was a help in keeping me honest. Hit the second lap in 2.12, so right on time and I was very happy with this. Last two races were lost in the second lap so really wanted to nail it this time. Couldn't rest on my laurels though and effort levels were getting high. I went by a few people and the field was getting stretched at this stage, so I was largely on my own. Hit the bell and upped the effort again. Breezed by two guys here but I think it was just them slowing down than any great increase in pace by me. There was three guys behind me as well that I just couldn't lose. I was giving everything and if they had a sprint finish in them, then I didn't think I had it in me to respond. Sure enough, two of them came by me in the home straight but the legs were like jelly so I couldn't do anything. At least held of one of them to finish in 6th position out of 14 starters, so not a bad result at all.

I was in an absolute heap after the race and the only thing I was fit for was the leaba. Could barely stand up of my own accord. Recoevered a bit and decided to join Timmay for a warm down but I could barely breathe so had to call it after a lap and go for a lie down. This was nice and eventually I recovered enough to get the train home and have a shower and a bit to eat before heading out to the main event of the day, the Beer Mile.

Thought I had loads of time, getting in to the town at 6.15 for what is usually a half hour journey out to Beer Mile stadium. Bus took 20 minutes to arrive. It was packed with people and then they had a bus driver change over in Donnybrook. Arrived there at 7.35 and was expecting to see the event in full flow but luckily, the preparations were still ongoing and I was able to get down in to my racing gear and give the beers a bit of time to settle before the off. Was worried that the run down from the bus stop, would cause issues but luckily they had settled enough and I used the old trick of flicking the cans to allow the CO2 to settle and this seemed to work.

I had no chugging training done and was pretty wrecked after the 1500 race so my expectations were low and I was out to have a bit of a laugh more so than anything. Bit naive, because drinking 4 beers and running a mile in 9 minutes is not really all that enjoyable an experience. Not at the time anyway :P. We were given the countdown and I cracked open the first can. This took three or four gos but eventually got it down, although I was one of the last heading off. Kept it controlled on the first lap and worryingly wasn't burping as much as I had hoped. This could prove an issue. Made a few places on the run but the lead lads were flying and were well gone by the time I got round. Second beer was slow enough and at this stage I knew my time from last year was safe. Hit the second lap and again I wasn't getting the burping in so was starting to feel very bloated. On to the thrid beer and I decided not to force it. A PB was off the cards so I didn't want the shame of puking up some froth. On this lap, the two lead lads were finishing up and had a great vantage point from the opposite side of the track for the sprint finish. What athletes:D. For the fourth beer, I really took it easy because I was feeling bloated as fook. Meno and yaboya headed off on their last lap as I was still drinking. Thought I might be able to catch them with a quick last lap but they possibly had too much of a lead and I had to nurse my way around to avoid the dreaded penalty lap. Finished in 8.48, which was a bit disappointing but a great evenings entertainment and the banter was mighty. Felt really ropey for the next 10 minutes but then the alcohol started to take effect and I was cured, along with everyone else apparently. It was pretty funny to see. Headed in to the town then for a few cool down drinks. Don't know what I was drinking because the memories are after a certain point are none too clear and I'm a bit of a shell of a man today.

Sun 14.06.15

Rest

For obvious reasons.

Congrats on the 1500m.

Piss poor showing in the main event, I had you chalked down as a dark horse for the win, country lad that likes a pint, quick enough, and all that! Obviously living in the Pale is affecting your conditioning :)

TbL

Congrats on the 1500m.

Piss poor showing in the main event, I had you chalked down as a dark horse for the win, country lad that likes a pint, quick enough, and all that! Obviously living in the Pale is affecting your conditioning :)

TbL

More of an endurance athlete when it comes to the drinking unfortunately. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Congrats on the 1500m.

TbL

If a few smokes were thrown into the event he'd be nailed on for a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

JTG commentary is gas when you were passing the camera. Something along the lines of "and here comes one of the pre race favourites, simply because he's wearing short running shorts and looks reasonably athletic".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Congrats on the 1500m.

TbL

The JTG commentator had him marked down as a darkhorse too.

I am surprised at your surprise in Krusty's video while you were finishing your 4th beer :)

menoscemo wrote: »
    The JTG commentator had him marked down as a darkhorse too.

I am surprised at your surprise in Krusty's video while you were finishing your 4th beer :)

Yea, I was gutted when I saw yourself and yaboya heading off ahead of me. Now I have to wait a whole year to try and redeem myself. :D

The commentary was excellent alright. I liked his assessment of my pre race favouritism based on the fact that I was wearing split shorts and looked reasonably athletic :).

Bit of a disaster the last few weeks running wise. Since the 1500/beer mile I haven't been able to do any sessions and its been all easy running. Landlord is selling up our house so had to find a place and its been house hunting every single evening for the last two weeks with trying to fit in a few runs at lunch time. Then the Body & Soul festival last weekend didn't help matters either :D. Lots of running around and acting the eejit but none of it was 1500 specific :)

First session in a long time planned for tomorrow but I'm down in Tipp so will have to do it all on my ownesome :(

Anyway here's a brief summary of the last two weeks and from now on it will be serious training in prep for the Nationals mainly and the GV Ryan meet and the Gradeds will be other targets.

Monday 15.05.15 - Thursday 18.06.15

5.4 @ 6.58/mi
    5.4 @ 6.37/mi
    5.4 @ 6.46/mi
    5.4 @ 6.27/mi

Lots of easy runs at lunch times. Some of them I finished up with a couple of quick miles but don't like to stretch it too far at lunch because the AC in the office is broke and its like the Bahamas in there at the best of times

Fri 19.06.15 - Wed 24.06.15

Off

Body & Soul and other stuff getting in the way

Thu 25.06.15

9 @ 7.05/mi

Finally sorted a house on the Wednesday so celebrated ny first free evening in a long time with a run up the Dublin Mountains. Very humid so not ideal weather for running up a mountain :eek: but really loved the descent down some of the more technical bits. Really gets the adrenaline going

Fri 26.06.15

5.4 @ 6.55/mi

Standard run around Shanganagh at lunch

Sat 27.06.15

W/U, 2 X (4 X 220ish w/ 90s rec.) & 5 mins between sets, W/D

Times: (33.9, 35.3, 34.3, 35.7) , (33.7, 35.6, 35.6, 36.3)

Down in Tipp for the weekend so headed down to the local GAA pitches for this session. They have just built a training pitch with a gravel running track around this and the surface on the training pitch is actually really quality so decided to do the 200s around this. Had looked up the dimensions of a GAA pitch on d'internet and taking the nominal dimensions, stating from the '21' and running the length, behind the goalsa and to the far corner should have been close to 200m. The Borris pitch is a bit bigger than your average GAA pitch (we're expansive hurlers down in Borris, like to let the ball do the work:D), so I feared it would work out a little longer. After the first one, I was really hoping that this assumption was correct :P.

I had a serious case of DOMS from the run in the Dublin Mountains on the Thursday. Probably a bit of a silly thing to do after a week of no running. After the warm up and some dynamic exercises followed by strides, I had loosened up a bit so got stuck in. Strong wind on the pitch so even reps are all a little slower. Knew from the first one that it was going to be a bit of a struggle. Garmin has this at 4 minute pace, so I'm guessing it would be equivalent to a 29/30 but it didn't feel comfortable. Second was okay but third and fourth ones, I was tying up in the last 50m. Long break and the splits for the first two on the second set actually don't look too bad but I was working too hard to hit these. I was hands on knees after each one, which is always a bad sign. Was nauseous going in to the third one but got it done and likewise with the fourth. Times for these weren't great though. Overall, a killer session and one of the tougher ones I've ever done. I was absolutely crawling it around on the warm down and had to stop a few times for little breaks.

I think its a mixture of the break and probably a lot to do with the festival on the previous weekend where healthy living was at a premium but will need to just keep the head down to get back in to decent shape for the GV Ryan meet in two weeks.

Sun 28.06.15

8.1 @ 6.42/mi

Again, very stiff today and need to get some serious sliotharing done on my calf this afternoon, which is always the problem muscle for me. Pace was way too quick on what is a pretty tough hilly course. Will slow down the pace big time on the lunch run tomorrow and try get reasonably fresh and loose for the first club session in a while on Tuesday.

Mon 29.06.15

Rest

I had intended on running but there was some over run meeting at work or something that prevented me from doing it I think. Pain in the hole.

Tue 30.06.15

W/U, 2 X (4 X 200) 1st set 2 mins rec, 2nd set 90s rec & 6 min between sets, W/D

Times: 65, 65, 64, 65, 68, 68, 73, 69

Man, this was tough. The 800 lads were doing 3 X 400 and then some 200s so I joined them for the first four so I would at least have a little bit of company. Windy enough on the odd reps but strangely didn't seem to affect the times too much. Definitely hit the first four too hard. Stuck a little bit behind the lads but 64s and 65s were still way too quick for 400 reps on the grass. Was wrecked after the fourth one but had a generous 6 minutes recovery so hoped I wouldn't be too bad for the second set. Was happy with the first one of this set but from then on it was hard, hard work. Pushed it out on the second one but was in bits for the last 100m of the third one in to the wind and felt like I was barely jogging. Was contemplating calling it a day after seeing the 73 but then shook it off and decided I would give it one last big effort for the last rep. Legs were like jelly for most of the rep but was delighted to nip under 70, if only just. I collapsed in a heap at the end but it was so satisfying to get it done. Chest was worryingly tight on the warm down and I had to cut it short. This is the third time recently this has happened. After the Le Cheile 1500 race, the 200 session on Saturday and now this. Will need to keep an eye on it. Might be pushing it a bit too hard for my current level of fitness.

Wed 01.7.15

6.7 @ 6.55/mi

Ran in to the work and it was really nice. Great time of the day to run when the weather is hot like this. Was especially glad when faced with the horrible, sticky humid weather l going home. Hate that type of weather.

Thu 02.07.15

W/U , 3 X 8 mins w/ (2 min jog rec), W/D

Paces: 5.50, 5.41, 5.38

No company down the club for this one again. Don't know where every one has disappeared off to. This made this a bit of a slog but happy that the paces on the 8 minute sections were progressive and I didn't have to overly kill myself for it.

Fri 03.07.15

5.3 @ 7.06/mi

Lunch time run

Sat 04.07.15

W/U, 4 X 1k (w/ 2 min rec.), W/D

Times: 3.04, 3.06, 3.09, 3.04

It was raining when I woke up so stuck on a hoodie and ran down to get the 46A out to Phoenix Park. This was a bit of a mistake because it was pretty humid out and I was feeling dehydrated by the time I got to the Acres in the park. Don't think it affected me too much but one of this silly things that is easily avoidable i.e. just stopping to take off my hoodie when it heated up :rolleyes:.

Again I was on my own for this session with everyone else either hitting the hills or doing full laps around the acres. Would have ideally liked to be hitting close to 3k pace on this session (3.00/3.01 per k) but given I was on my own, it was on the grass and it was a bit windy, I was happy enough to relax in to it and let the times take care of themselves. First kilometre was nice and relaxed and I was really happy with the 3.04 clocking. It got tougher from there on in and had to push it out a bit on the last one to hit another 3.04 but this was in to the wind so I think it was worth a few seconds more. Delighted with this session and it leaves me very positive about the GV Ryan meet next week.

Sun 05.07.15

10.1 @ 7.27/mi

Was very tired heading out so took it nice and relaxed for the first few miles. Ended up hitting the hills in Dalkey around the half way point to get a glimpse of how the better half live. Very lavishly is the answer :D. Once I got down out of the hills, I was feeling good and really enjoyed the last 5 miles running along the coast through, Dalkey, Sandycove and Dun Laoghaire in neigh on perfect running weather.

Mon 06.07.15

5.3 @ 7.08/mi

This was the easiest run I've done in a long while. Now that I'm really trying to peak for a few races, I'm taking it super easy on my in between day runs. Pace was surprisingly good but I could have been walking for the amount of effort I was putting in. Great feeling.

Tue 07.07.15

W/U, 8 X 200 (w/ jog back recovery), W/D

I was looking forward to this session all day at work but then I get down to the train station only to find that all the trains have been cancelled due to a truck blasting through a level crossing. Was waiting for a bus back to Blackrock, which of course never arrived and by the time I got a bus in to town it was twenty minutes later. Was resigned to doing this on my own but the other lads were obviously a bit delayed too because I got there three quarters of an hour late and they were just about to start. Got a short warm up in and we were off.

The two 800 lads were always a second or two ahead but I ran these really strong and was really happy with how it went. The 200 distance was just approx so times aren't too significant but I'd say they were worth 28-30s for each of them and were pretty consistent as a whole.

Worked it out later that I'd done about three and a half hours travelling for under 4 minutes of hard running. Seems a bit ridiculous when you put it that way :D

Wed 08.07.15

6.7 @ 7.12/mi

Ran in to work in the morning

Thu 09.07.15

W/U, 2 X 8mins (w/ 2 min jog rec), W/D

Paces: 5.47, 5.39

These tempos are always a bit of a struggle, whether its 2 X 8 or 3 X 15, 5.30 pace or 6 pace, it doesn't really seem to matter. Hard to get motivated for the Thursday sessions but they're a necessary evil. Finished up with 5 X 100m strides and felt strong on these so that was the main thing.

Fri 10.07.15

4.7 @ 7.20/mi

Just a really handy run to shake out the legs ahead of the race tomorrow. Really looking forward to it. Feeling good about it.

What you racing tomorrow KU, another 1500m?

TbL

What you racing tomorrow KU, another 1500m?

TbL

Aye, its another 1500 in the IMC GV Ryan meet in Santry.

You make me sound so predictable :D

Months of preparation for 4 mins of hard running :)

Yea I saw the GV Ryan mentioned in a previous post but didn't know the distance.

I assume you're looking for a PB, good luck with it.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Good luck with race today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Best of luck today.
    No beer mile to worry about afterwards today :D