boards feuds

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

"There are no facts, only interpretations"

--Friedrich Nietzsche

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Roquentin wrote: »
    "There are no facts, only interpretations"

--Friedrich Nietzsche

It is definitely a fact that since September 2014 I have paid my landlord £500 each month to rent my flat, and in my opinion I am not just interpreting it as such ;)

I thought an opinion was just a subjective view, neither right nor wrong, but if it can also include views that are wrong, then that makes more sense.

when two or more people argue, they dont argue over who is right and wrong, the argue over whose interpretation is more convenient. one argument cannot be more right than another, only more convenient.

It is definitely a fact that since September 2014 I have paid my landlord £500 each month to rent my flat, and in my opinion I am not just interpreting it as such ;)

not according to my interpretation of your interpretation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Opinion doesn't require links because it's just opinion, neither right nor wrong.

But when it's something that is presented as fact or likelihood, getting all arsey about the request for a link just looks like they know they're talking tripe. Saying "It's my opinion" is used as a get-out clause too, when opinion doesn't even come into it - it's either a fact or it isn't.

I think actually yeah, the difference between fact and opinion is what causes the issues people take with requests for links/not providing links.

if you're having a debate in the pub do you often say ....."have you a link for that?"

I thought an opinion was just a subjective view, neither right nor wrong, but if it can also include views that are wrong, then that makes more sense.

I'd say some things are about how you interpret them, and in life I really consciously try to remember that with most thing there are no absolute right or wrongs, and that everyone will interpret things different ways.

On the other hand, I think there are some things that are either going to be right or wrong, and some things are facts, and are presented as such, and then when someone challenges it and asks on what basis they believe it etc, they say it's not a fact, it's just my opinion.

E.g. Let's say someone posts and says Michael J. Higgins is 39 year old. Clearly inaccurate, unless we're going to form some new basis on what a year means. So someone comes along and challenges it, but although by saying 'MJH is 39 years old', and presenting it as fact, the person then changes to 'no, it's my opinion that MJH is 39 years old' which is obviously a very different thing.

So, yep, I think that many things about interpretation, but some things either factually correct or not, and often people present as fact, but then change to it's their opinion, and it just gets a little silly sometimes IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

I think (maybe) Boom Bap means when you are asked to back up your own opinion with links, when all you're professing it to be is your own opinion. I see that every so often and it is really annoying.

Far more annoying is when you provide the link only for the other poster to shift the goalposts and change what they want you to prove

So you provide a link to the new criteria-and they shift them again!!:confused::confused::confused:

All so they never have to admit they might be wrong about something :eek:

{even worse when they then accuse you of being disingenuous}

Roquentin wrote: »
    not according to my interpretation of your interpretation

Doesn't make it any less factually true that I paid that £500 each month to my landlord :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Doesn't make it any less factually true that I paid that £500 each month to my landlord :rolleyes:
    I wouldn't bother. ;)

Hitchens wrote: »
    if you're having a debate in the pub do you often say ....."have you a link for that?"

I'd say that you might not say 'have you got a link for that?' rather 'on what basis do you think that?' 'what made you reach that conclusion etc?', as you want to understand more.
    The pub is a completely different context, so obviously you're not going to ask for links, but while it's a different way of approaching it, it's a similar concept.

I wouldn't bother. ;)

Yep. In my opinion, there's better things I could be doing this afternoon :D

When you're having a debate in the pub and throw out some random unsupported view and people ask you to back it up, do you say "Waaaaaaaaah, I'm entitled to my opinion!!!"?

":D"

but you didnt pay him

When you're having a debate in the pub and throw out some random unsupported view and people ask you to back it up, do you say "Waaaaaaaaah, I'm entitled to my opinion!!!"?

":D"
    if someone asks me that I bar them ..................I own the pub! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I can't do this because all my friends own fancy phones. They just pull out their phone and pull up the links. :(

Haha yes, when my friends and I are discussing trivial things like random songs / artists etc, but can't quite figure out something, I'm almost always the first to pull out the phone and google it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

You cant say much aaron sat there in your ****ing fancy ****ing jumper. Dya think your better than me with your ****ing jumper ya bollox.

Haha yes, when my friends and I are discussing trivial things like random songs / artists etc, but can't quite figure out something, I'm almost always the first to pull out the phone and google it.
    It just means an evening of possible arguing back and forth is ruined by people just googling things and going "No you were wrong/right." End of conversation. :D
    You cant say much aaron sat there in your ****ing fancy ****ing jumper. Dya think your better than me with your ****ing jumper ya bollox.
    Yeah you sit there and be jealous. When your phone starts to run out of battery and you start worrying because all your insta-facts will be out of reach, I'll be sitting there in my jumper, victorious, warm and fabulous. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

It just means an evening of possible arguing back and forth is ruined by people just googling things and going "No you were wrong/right." End of conversation. :D

Yeah you sit there and be jealous. When your phone starts to run out of battery and you start worrying because all your insta-facts will be out of reach, I'll be sitting there in my jumper, victorious, warm and fabulous. :pac:

Theres no link proving you'll be fabulous you liary jumper wearing prick. I'm sat beside a socket so my battery will never die but sooner or later your ****ing jumper will be gone.

I have disagreed with people but it's never gotten to people following me thread to thread to annoy me. I imagine I'd be flattered in a twisted kind of way. "This person is taking a lot of time out of their day to try and wind me up."
    Theres no link proving you'll be fabulous you liary jumper wearing prick. I'm sat beside a socket so my battery will never die but sooner or later your ****ing jumper will be gone.
    With all the money I save from not buying fancy phones I'll just buy another. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

FECK OFF! :mad:
    Great comeback

How about you go and back up your face?!
    Hey everyone, we have a poet

This conversation surely counts as a shred of evidence ;)
    Yea Ted, sure.

Know what's ridiculous? Your attitude.
    I call bullsh!t on you and you get all uppity, yea, I'm the one with the bad attitude

The shade of brown my dog's sh!t is, generally serves as a harbringer of what's in store later when she's taking her next crap. This stuff matters, dude. :pac:
    Good

Do you even lift, brah?
    yes, no, maybe, can you repeat the question?

Matt and Patrick are feudin' now.

Threadception.

Matt and Patrick are feudin' now.

Threadception.

Maybe they mis-'interpreted' what the thread was about :P

Mod

Eehhhhhh

I thought hatrickpatrick and matt_trakker were on a wind up considering the thread, in fact - I'm pretty sure that's all one of them is doing but the other has mistaken it for abuse.

They'll know which is which. If Ye both could drop it lads before it all ends in tears as me mammy would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I now have a feud with electro~bitch. We shall have to duel to resolve our differences. Pistols at dawn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Actually there's a thing now. I wonder has an argument or feud ever become so heated on Boards that two posters literally met up face to face to finally resolve it ?

Myself and another obvious wind up merchant were not subtlety threatened to come to his home address and "say it in my presence". This was all over the piss taking poster commenting Heil Hitler on the Stag in Prague thread involving the Hitler mask debacle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

It might be a fact that your rent is 500 euros per month but is your flat actually worth 500 euros a month .......... in your opinion? If so, why??

Mod

Eehhhhhh

I thought hatrickpatrick and matt_trakker were on a wind up considering the thread, in fact - I'm pretty sure that's all one of them is doing but the other has mistaken it for abuse.

They'll know which is which. If Ye both could drop it lads before it all ends in tears as me mammy would say.
    you tell 'em ...............my Lady WADD :)

That was my weirdest mod warning ever :o

"Stop doing what you don't realise you're doing please"

Aaaaanyway.

That was my weirdest mod warning ever :o

"Stop doing what you don't realise you're doing please"

Aaaaanyway.

OMG I'm torn between the 'I'm not supposed to comment on mods actions, right?' and 'Gotta say that made me laugh out quite loudly for real. And on a bus too!'