Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

boards feuds

• 03-05-2015 4:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭

have you ever found yourself engaged in a feud/rivalry with any fellow posters around here? that one poster that rubs you up the wrong way for whatever reason? was it long standing and have any consequences? would you even be bothered engaging in such a feud?

none have crossed my path yet, however I feel like sometimes posters offer intentionally contrary opinions to other posters repeatedly over different topics just to get at them, which often starts off the hostility. and stuff like poster history being used against them etc. further causes mayhem. its interesting to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

it's me against the pc brigade

Following a poster on to other to other topics and disagreeing with them just for the sake of it is sad. It's also like hanging a flashing "you've got to me" sign over ones posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Not really. There are a few who I really disagree with on a lot of things, but I kind of like seeing them pop up in a thread because it's a bit of craic to have a spirited discussion with them. They're civil, articulate, and clearly intelligent.

There are dozens more who I disagree with and who just vomit the usual soundbytes all over the screen, but you figure out pretty quickly there's no point engaging with them. Wouldn't even remember their names, let alone get into a feud with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

It's kind of embarrassing and childish (and on another site, but same idea). Anyway, I got into an argument with someone on this other site, naturally I was right, but neither of us were willing to let it drop. We continued arguing for like two weeks without a single other person posting. It was ridiculous.

I can only imagine how silly he felt, surely he must have realized he was wrong during the course of this. Probably just pride/stubbornness on his part.

I don't go out of my way to argue with him, but rather the opposite. When I see his posts (well, I'm assuming he's a guy based on his Display Name, but whatever) even when I'd usually respond, I just ask myself, 'Is this worth two weeks of arguing back and forth?'

The answer is always no. So I just avoid that topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,534 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I'm juggling four right now, but there's room for one more I reckon...

UCDVet wrote: »
    So I just avoid that topic.

I would never avoid a topic because of who posted. In fact, the more you engage the more you realise that you can strongly disagree with someone on one issues, strongly agree on another, and either way not have to stalk each other and continue some aggro from some long forgotten thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It's kind of embarrassing and childish (and on another site, but same idea). Anyway, I got into an argument with someone on this other site, naturally I was right, but neither of us were willing to let it drop. We continued arguing for like two weeks without a single other person posting. It was ridiculous.

I can only imagine how silly he felt, surely he must have realized he was wrong during the course of this. Probably just pride/stubbornness on his part.

I don't go out of my way to argue with him, but rather the opposite. When I see his posts (well, I'm assuming he's a guy based on his Display Name, but whatever) even when I'd usually respond, I just ask myself, 'Is this worth two weeks of arguing back and forth?'

The answer is always no. So I just avoid that topic.
    Not again !!!

Why do you always post rubbish for fecks sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No.

I've had extended disagreements with some posters over one issue on one thread, but might find that I agree with them completely on another issue.

I've never followed somebody around looking to disagree with them and don't think it has happened to me wither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Mint Aero wrote: »

GUYS I FOUND HIM
    *Lights the PC Brigade Signal*

I would never avoid a topic because of who posted. In fact, the more you engage the more you realise that you can strongly disagree with someone on one issues, strongly agree on another, and either way not have to stalk each other and continue some aggro from some long forgotten thread.

Sorry - to clarify - I avoid topics where I think he's completely wrong again. If we're agreeing on something, it's fine.

I secretly suspect he's a troll of sorts, though I have been accused of the same thing.

Not again !!!

Why do you always post rubbish for fecks sake.

OH JEZUS! Here we go again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

osarusan wrote: »
    No.

I've had extended disagreements with some posters over one issue on one thread, but might find that I agree with them completely on another issue.

I've never followed somebody around looking to disagree with them and don't think it has happened to me wither.

Ha-ha, you said wither, your'e always making mistakes in your posts, why the hell don't you do a spellcheck, don't you know how annoying it is to have to read such illiterate trash/I'm really angry now! ( But you're right)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Oh yeah, the politics forums are absolutely full of factions. I regularly face off against one particular fella and yet the one time he was banned I was the one demanding he be let back in - as I always explain to foreigners, arguing is a hobby for many Irish people and an addiction to some of us. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,803 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I once had a boards poster follow me to.another site, set up an account (same name as he has here) and make one post in a sad attempt to troll me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A fella who owes me money for football boots from primary school posts on boards. I follow him every day. I haven't made myself known yet, just plotting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Oh yeah, the politics forums are absolutely full of factions. I regularly face off against one particular fella and yet the one time he was banned I was the one demanding he be let back in - as I always explain to foreigners, arguing is a hobby for many Irish people and an addiction to some of us. ;)

"The Irish don't know what they want and are prepared to fight to the death to get it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

That's it, FINAL STRAW OP!!!

I choose pistols at dawn.

Maybe noon. I like to sleep in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

osarusan wrote: »

^^
    This has happened me. Ive just put the poster(s) on ignore so maybe its still happening and I just dont notice it now.

From my side of it if I notice some particularly offensive post or series of opinions from someone I usually wouldnt even bother reading other things they post as I consider their opinions to be nonsense - I definitely wouldnt be bothered getting into a feud with them. Ill put then on ignore too so I dont have to see their rubbish - its happened with one particularly misogynistic poster here, basically almost anything they say is tainted with bitter vitriol so Id rather not see it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Not really. There are a few who I really disagree with on a lot of things, but I kind of like seeing them pop up in a thread because it's a bit of craic to have a spirited discussion with them. They're civil, articulate, and clearly intelligent.

There are dozens more who I disagree with and who just vomit the usual soundbytes all over the screen, but you figure out pretty quickly there's no point engaging with them. Wouldn't even remember their names, let alone get into a feud with them.

Dems fighting words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

There are feuds on all forums at some point, and not just Boards. Some can be just over stupid, childish stuff. I've never got into arguments with anyone on Boards, and I hope to keep it that way.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Dems fighting words.

So's dems :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

That's it, FINAL STRAW OP!!!

I choose pistols at dawn.

Maybe noon. I like to sleep in.
    I can be the referee like the midget in the 'the man with the golden gun' Bond movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

What did you say about my mother?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Under Appreciated Starving Artist Mint Aero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

It tends to be started by emotive topics.

I was on another forum where a poster would flame every noobie ..just because.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

Robsweezie wrote: »
    have you ever found yourself engaged in a feud/rivalry with any fellow posters around here?

Nope, I just couldn't be arsed engaging in such pettiness. I joined Boards for a laugh, not a head wreck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

rocky911 wrote: »
    What did you say about my mother?

Does she have house insurance?

So's dems :mad:

WHAT DID YOU SAY ABOUT ME MOTHER :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Used to have a few tiffs with one poster who's site banned now. He used to follow me about a little bit but nothing major though. Kinda amusing in retrospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

1, but their always one **** ;)

Tbh I only laugh at Posters posts now. Enjoy the ride.

EVENFLOW

cloud493 wrote: »
    WHAT DID YOU SAY ABOUT ME MOTHER :mad:

I'LL FOLLOW YOU INTO ANOTHER THREAD AND TELL YOU :mad:

FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Once on a gaming site I had an argument with several people including a couple of Mods over the meaning of "Irony".

It was no biggee, everyone was getting there own definitions from various sources. This site awarded posters military ranks according to their number of posts. I was a Major and the guy I was arguing with was like a Brigadier General. From that it kind of gives you a view of who you're talking to.

Anyway this went on and on - I was totally in the right of course - but it was only when I saw another post that I realised I'd been arguing for days with a 12y/o kid :o

Sometimes you do need to remember that its only the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

have you ever found yourself engaged in a feud/rivalry with any fellow posters around here? that one poster that rubs you up the wrong way for whatever reason? was it long standing and have any consequences? would you even be bothered engaging in such a feud?

none have crossed my path yet, however I feel like sometimes posters offer intentionally contrary opinions to other posters repeatedly over different topics just to get at them, which often starts off the hostility. and stuff like poster history being used against them etc. further causes mayhem. its interesting to watch.

I honestly never thought of it myself as interesting to watch two or more posters taking lumps out of each other and getting sneaky passive aggressive digs in at each other like both their brains would explode if they didn't come up with a searing put-down or a witty(less) retort.

As long as people are civil I could discuss all day, or they come back with a rebuttal that I have to hand it to them that was good. I don't really go in for petty sniping matches or bearing grudges against people. I could have my argument destroyed in a thread and still say fair play, as long as a poster made a fair argument.

The thing that always gets on my tits though are indeed post history trawlers who can't come up with a decent argument so stoop to undermining the poster directly, or spelling and grammar pedantry, or just outright caustic bitterness and abuse, so unnecessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Life's too short for feuds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

There no PC you rabble rabble

Not a feud but constant amusement generated when I see him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

There are some posters I avoid because I don't like them...and a few because we have fallen out...but not really a fued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,160 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

There was a poster who tended to drag threads off topic, several posters told them to stop but when i said it all hell broke loose, dredging through my post history to attack me, checking my profile to see when i was online and even trying to log into my account.

They've been sitebanned since for being a complete mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Fecking Mac brigader :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Once on a gaming site I had an argument with several people including a couple of Mods over the meaning of "Irony".

It was no biggee, everyone was getting there own definitions from various sources. This site awarded posters military ranks according to their number of posts. I was a Major and the guy I was arguing with was like a Brigadier General. From that it kind of gives you a view of who you're talking to.

Anyway this went on and on - I was totally in the right of course - but it was only when I saw another post that I realised I'd been arguing for days with a 12y/o kid :o

Sometimes you do need to remember that its only the internet.

Paradoxplaza?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

There's a particularly stupid poster on Boards who is ridiculed daily for their general moronic stupidity and naivete, but can't seem to get the message. Others are convinced it's an actual troll.

I wonder how many people are reading these and thinking, 'Ummm are they talking about me?!?' :)

This is not a thread for the paranoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,160 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

There's a particularly stupid poster on Boards who is ridiculed daily for their general moronic stupidity and naivete, but can't seem to get the message. Others are convinced it's an actual troll.

There are 2 obvious possibilities i can think of, and they're in a boards feud with each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

To be fair i can think of about 10 posters off the top of my head on Boards who'd fit that description.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

I wonder how many people are reading these and thinking, 'Ummm are they talking about me?!?' :)
    That's what they want us to think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I've found myself in one, well one stands out for me. Found out it was a male who seems rightly p!ssed off with me. Followed me around on varying threads I was posting on trying to pick a fight. He never got one.
    Each time I would post something optimistic, he would refute that with negativity and always tried to find issue with what I was saying.

Never reacted to him, who-ever he is, kinda feel sad for him that his postings were so negative.
    Strange Creature so he was,
    kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

You should never argue with a stupid person. They will drag you down to their level, and beat you with experience!:pac:

There was one poster who I actually thought had taken a strange dislike to me. I soon realised that she is in fact just a pedantic pat who would argue black is white for the sake of it.

Other than that, no. I get accused of disliking people quite regularly when the reality is I've only ever disliked a handful of people on here over the years and wouldn't ever take mod actioned based on that - I always ask another mod to review something if I don't feel I can look on it objectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Your post history is fair game if it relates to the topic at hand imo.

I've had plenty of robust conversations on here but never been party to a long running one on one fued that I know of anyway.

There was a dude a couple of years ago who decided I was a troll, called himself the troll hunter, said he made youtube videos about how much of a troll I was (never saw them) and hounded me from thread to thread. Had to report him so many times eventually so he stopped.