Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will you vote in the Marriage Equality referendum? Mod Note Post 1

• Site Banned Posts: 40 shooterjay

Anita Blow wrote: »
    This is a complete aside to the whole debate thing but as a gay guy I can tell you that making gay jokes doesn't make you a homophobe in the slightest, especially after you've come across so reasoned about ultimately coming to vote yes.

I'm the only gay lad in my group of friends who are all proper lads and I get it ripped out of me all the time for being gay, just like we rip it out of one of the other lads for being ginger, or another for his accent etc. etc. These very same lads have all registered to vote for the very first time and are liking every Yes page under the Sun on Facebook to show support for me.
    It's just one of the aspects of us that make us who we are and open to just as much light-hearted slagging.

thanks, yea it was always light hearted, and to be fair my buddy always took it well and indeed slagged me back (for various things i neednt disclose~)this thread has me missing him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

kylith wrote: »
    And tattoos, and shellfish, and wearing clothes made of more than one material, and shaving your beard, and having anything to do with a woman who is menstruating or has recently been menstruating. There are also about 3 paragraphs on consulting your priest about mildewed clothes and how to clean said clothes. The bible has 10 times as much to say about mildew as homosexuality.

Also, the bible bans Christmas trees.

Not to mention that it tells you how to handle leprosy...

kylith wrote: »
    And tattoos, and shellfish, and wearing clothes made of more than one material, and shaving your beard, and having anything to do with a woman who is menstruating or has recently been menstruating. There are also about 3 paragraphs on consulting your priest about mildewed clothes and how to clean said clothes. The bible has 10 times as much to say about mildew as homosexuality.

Also, the bible bans Christmas trees.

yes christmas trees, i love telling people that one.

Anyone see how Mothers and Fathers Matter are now pretending to be a neutral group who give "facts" in order to manipulate people?

sup_dude wrote: »
    Anyone see how Mothers and Fathers Matter are now pretending to be a neutral group who give "facts" in order to manipulate people?

Liar !! oh wait, you used "" ok. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

LEVITICUS 20:13 If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination: they shall surely be put to death

But:
    LEVITICUS 11:
    4 Nevertheless these shall ye not eat, of those that chew the cud or of those that divide the hoof: the camel, because he cheweth the cud but divideth not the hoof, he is unclean unto you;
    5 and the coney, because he cheweth the cud but divideth not the hoof, he is unclean unto you;
    6 and the hare, because he cheweth the cud but divideth not the hoof, he is unclean unto you;
    7 and the swine, though he divide the hoof and is cloven-footed, yet he cheweth not the cud, he is unclean to you.
    8 Of their flesh shall ye not eat, and their carcass shall ye not touch; they are unclean to you.

So the book that forbids homosexuality also forbids the eating or touching of ham and pork, and hare.

In Leviticus God also forbids shaving and tattoos:
    LEVITICUS 19:
    27 Ye shall not round off the corners of your heads, neither shalt thou mar the corners of thy beard.
    28 Ye shall not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, nor print any marks upon you: I am the Lord.

Leviticus also insists on the death sentence for murder:
    LEVITICUS 24:17 And he that killeth any man shall surely be put to death.

Not to mention Leviticus's acceptance of slavery, his casual use of the death sentence and bizarre forbidding of mixed cloths.

In a nutshell, Leviticus was a nutcase. So we dismiss everything he says as the ranting of a nutcase.

It always seems to be just the aggressive behaviour of the Yes voters that gets focused on, rather than the aggressive behaviour of either voters.
    It's rather telling (and kinda in a good way) that the Yes side are held to higher standards.

Nobody's free speech is being affected by the way. The nastier of the No voters are saying all the horrible stuff they want to say (I do not believe all No voters are homophobes or nasty people - it's a bit of a strange one for some older people to get their heads around and they mean no harm - but I'd hope they could see things from the perspective of gay people rather than just the definition of marriage).

its just gay shock, like, who knew they gays had such balls ? fair play. pull em all down boys. id expect the same for any other propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Should I have got a polling card by now? Never voted at this address but I'm on the register

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Sala wrote: »
    Should I have got a polling card by now? Never voted at this address but I'm on the register

No not yet. At least, I haven't got any yet either, and I'm definitely registered. :D

Besides, if you're definitely on the register at that address then you'll be able to vote, with or without a polling card, once you have photo ID. Ideally a passport or a driving licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Sala wrote: »

You should get a few days before polling day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

What facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

What facts?

That's what we are wondering...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,009 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

LEVITICUS 20:13 If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination: they shall surely be put to death

A similar belief to the sign one U.S. Christian church put on it's billboard a few days ago about gays being worthy of the death penalty if the U.S.S.C approves of giving them marriage rights.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,381 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

What facts?

Well apparently according to them people who rip down their posters as as bad as Islamic State. Presumably that's the sort of fact they're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Has anybody checked their Facebook page? They've deleted any comments from the yes side so it looks like a bunch of insane no siders arguing amongst themselves.

It's quite comical. So much for free speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Leviticus 21:17 "For the generations to come none of your descendants who has a defect may come near to offer the food of his God. No man who has any defect may come near: no man who is blind or lame, disfigured or deformed; no man with a crippled foot or hand, or who is a hunchback or a dwarf, or who has any eye defect, or who has festering or running sores or damaged testicles"

Leviticus 12:5 "But if she bear a maid child, then she shall be unclean two weeks, as in her separation: and she shall continue in the blood of her purifying threescore and six days."

Leviticus 20:9 "For every one that curseth his father or his mother shall be surely put to death: he hath cursed his father or his mother; his blood shall be upon him."

Everyone is put to death in Leviticus. It's one of, if not the, most insane books in the bible. Do you really wanna use it as reasoning?

The book according to reality: Erra, feck it, down with hatred and pants.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    The aggressive behaviour of some of the Yes supporters e.g. tearing down No posters, attacking anyone with an opposing view etc. are putting off a lot of the soft Yes voters. I dont trust the polls as it seems to be unpopular to give the view that you might vote No so people wont tell the truth to the pollsters

What's getting to me about these "YES supporters are pulling down vote NO posters" claims is that there is no proof, only allegations, that there are YES voters behind what is reported as happening. It's the day of modern technology but no one has posted or provided images of those allegedly responsible for the reported damage to the "vote NO" Ads, yet it is claimed that the vote NO campaign has seen this being done live. The only image of damaged "vote NO" Ads I've seen are very carefully sliced up posters. I know that if I was doing what was alleged, I wouldn't be hanging around to place the posters on a flat surface so I could use a blade to slice them up in such straight lines, I'd just cut them down, fold/tear them up & move on fast.

This seem's like how YD claimed their offices on Capel St had been badly damaged and defaced last year by people gluing posters to the front of shop, The posters were A4 size reprints of newspaper reports stuck on with sellotape, totally stupid claims to gain victim status.

Edit: The Outhouse LGBT Centre on Capel St is open to a visit by shooterjay and HouseHero. It's straight-friendly.

Zaph wrote: »
    Well apparently according to them people who rip down their posters as as bad as Islamic State. Presumably that's the sort of fact they're talking about.

I doubt that very much. Do you have a link for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Given how many citations you have been asked for in the last week - you are hardly in a position to ask?

John Waters has made public his view that a group (allegedly a Pro "vote yes" anarchist group) which posted images of it tearing down "vote no" posters as terrorists as they "dress like ISIS". John has allied himself publicly to the Mothers And Fathers Matter group on the "vote no" campaign side. Maybe the group you are asking about heard about their ally's statement on h behalf of the "vote no" campaign.

Ah yes, the Indo'. That's the link I saw. Now it's from what is seen by some as part of the establishment as it's owned by Denis O'Brien.

Bannasidhe wrote: »

The bizarre video was in the style of Isis, this was the comparison. Still waiting on these facts.

What facts?

They've a video called Make Up Your Own Mind, which is telling people that the referendum is about children and that passing the referendum would mean that straight couples will become baby farms for gay couples. It also says that the Yes side are massive bullies and so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

What facts?

Direct quote from their website
    We believe that the Government’s new Children and Family Relationships Bill is unjust because it says mothers and fathers don’t matter to children. Mothers and Fathers Matter also favours retaining the present definition of marriage because this is in the best interests of children.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Direct quote from their website

"We believe"....they aren't presenting this as fact. You've misinterpreted it.

No, look at what they say. Their opinion is that its wrong. It presents this
    because it says mothers and fathers don’t matter to children

And in the video I was talking about they are presenting their side as neutral facts.

cloud493 wrote: »
    No, look at what they say. Their opinion is that its wrong. It presents this

Yes, THEIR OPINION. People are allowed to have an opinion, even if you disagree with it.

No, they state the bill is against mothers and fathers. That is presented as fact, not opinion.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,381 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well in that case, in my opinion they're talking out of their asses.