Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/the-inside-story-of-the-cork-ladies-football-team-s-remarkable-decade-at-the-top-1.2039983

Corks imo greatest ever example where a team from nowhere in football changed the cultural attuide at all levels ladies footballers where success is an legacy and like Xmas comes once a year at least but even better Xmas cork ladies in usually have two national titles a year

Look where cork came from no foundation no structure no belief
    Cork senior is in better position from ucc and under twenty one and while issues st minor and club that must be refined there's a foundation here with current team to build on at least be competitive
    The most compelling read that's outstanding how to go from a minnows to a superpower over time and kilkjenny hurling while had traditional glory there now dominant ever were before and based on great management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Colemania

Well lads, how do ye rate your chances against Waterford on Sunday, with the neutral unbiased hat on? I suppose it may be better to form an opinion after the teams are named but I purely ask as I'm in a competition at the moment whereby if I get this result right, I win money for myself and for my club, much more money for the club than me :pac:

I honestly feel Cork are favourites and should win but jesus Waterford are in serious form at the moment that I wouldn't be surprised if they got the win. They'll need Cork to have an off day and to put 110% in to get the win and can be suspect to having a lot of wides so will need to work on their shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Colemania wrote: »
    Well lads, how do ye rate your chances against Waterford on Sunday, with the neutral unbiased hat on? I suppose it may be better to form an opinion after the teams are named but I purely ask as I'm in a competition at the moment whereby if I get this result right, I win money for myself and for my club, much more money for the club than me :pac:

I honestly feel Cork are favourites and should win but jesus Waterford are in serious form at the moment that I wouldn't be surprised if they got the win. They'll need Cork to have an off day and to put 110% in to get the win and can be suspect to having a lot of wides so will need to work on their shooting.

My initial instinct is a lot will depend on the defenders available to Cork and how much of their system do Waterford want to give away to Cork before championship. The teams should tell a fair bit when they're named.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

This "form" Waterford are supposedly in. Whats that based on? No Disrespect to Limerick, Wexford, Offaly Laois and Antrim but they're not exactly the same standard as the Div 1A teams that Cork have played. Form goes out the window for finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

cork 3 -15 clare 3 - 13 tonight in a minor hurling challenge in ballyhea. would apprceciate an idea re corks strength tonight.

Cork missin 3 or 4 starters at least

Surprised at dis result as Limerick beat Clare handy not to long ago

Connorzee wrote: »
    This "form" Waterford are supposedly in. Whats that based on? No Disrespect to Limerick, Wexford, Offaly Laois and Antrim but they're not exactly the same standard as the Div 1A teams that Cork have played. Form goes out the window for finals.

Hammered Galway and came back from 3 points down to beat Tipperary. Would not be surprised in the slightest if they won but I still reckon Cork should have the beating of them in Thurles

I'd agree waterford would for well to be aware false dawns as the league and championship shows

They have improve but talk say waterford are very gold no logic yet

Offaly Laois etc Galway poorer
    Tipperary credit due to a point
    Limerick are absolutely dire so only drew with them
    So well see Sunday

I'd agree waterford would for well to be aware false dawns as the league and championship shows

So well see Sunday

Limerick man here.... :p

I wouldn't say we're dire. Just not very good....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/are-leesiders-expectations-realistic-675068.html

At last some realism regarding Cork football.
    Didn't have the time to trawl through what was penned here over the last 5 days but I think this captures where Cork is at in the football world hierarchy.
    That is my one and only comment on the current state of football Leeside.
    Roll on Sunday. Summer is upon us and Cork hurlers are in a National final.
    I can only see one outcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭redlead

So well see Sunday

As usual you apply a totally different logic to other teams than you do to Cork. If Galway are so poor, why did Cork only beat them by a goal? To critisise Waterford for only drawing with Limerick but not mention the fact that Cork struggled to beat Wexford. There is absolutely nothing between Cork and Waterford (this years teams - forget about previous years) and Sundays result will reflect that. You were saying all the same rubbish that Waterford haven't proved anyting before the Tipp game and look what happened there. I hope for Corks sake they don't turn up with the same lack of respect for Waterford that you have because they will be well beaten if they do. There is nothing between Cork, Tipp, Clare, Dublin, Waterford and probably limerick if they get their act together. That's what is going to make this years championship so good.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/are-leesiders-expectations-realistic-675068.html

At last some realism regarding Cork football.
    Didn't have the time to trawl through what was penned here over the last 5 days but I think this captures where Cork is at in the football world hierarchy.
    That is my one and only comment on the current state of football Leeside.
    Roll on Sunday. Summer is upon us and Cork hurlers are in a National final.
    I can only see one outcome!
    I actually posted that article before yourself and I gave lots points shows realism In counter debate it

Your post doesn't prove anything and that writer is good some articles he wrote however if you actually look since cuthbert ever took over he's a huge huge fan cuthbert has defended him from day one and never questioned one performance and when loose badly they never questions management

This is the same writer that though cork would win hurling two years ago as it was 99 all over again and cork name was on the cup

To say even in cork darkest days football he's the optimist all time is even an under statement

Unfortunately imo every view he's given since cuthbert took over regards cork football as results prove he's been proven wrong then

I understand you as a hurling man myself type in you have said this yourself before you may not imo have same level demand cork footballers in acceptance standards football but from talking huge football die hard I know attuide cork don't have traditionally values and use excuse not to not challenge all Ireland is not agreed on and again were now not even competing all Irelands but we're again being humiliation in defeats

Every fan seems says cork shouldn't be harsh Sunday convently forgets imo cork are simply not loosing under this management it's beyond that but twice to Dublin kerry we are destroyed and also mayo and derry this last year league and most games cork win are by point's or so bar the annual false dawn non interested league win v kerry but most games cork loose under this management term we loose badly and there is No excuse imo related traditional ways for manner cork loose

redlead wrote: »
    As usual you apply a totally different logic to other teams than you do to Cork. If Galway are so poor, why did Cork only beat them by a goal? To critisise Waterford for only drawing with Limerick but not mention the fact that Cork struggled to beat Wexford. There is absolutely nothing between Cork and Waterford (this years teams - forget about previous years) and Sundays result will reflect that. You were saying all the same rubbish that Waterford haven't proved anyting before the Tipp game and look what happened there. I hope for Corks sake they don't turn up with the same lack of respect for Waterford that you have because they will be well beaten if they do. There is nothing between Cork, Tipp, Clare, Dublin, Waterford and probably limerick if they get their act together. That's what is going to make this years championship so good.
    I have taken on your points and I appreciate your opinion and I respect it

I don't agree though
    As my posts prove regards teams and I'm sorry of it offends but as football proved cork under twenty one v Waterford last year I'm a realist and I don't do false dawns as they have habit of coming back to haunt you so I think and said waterford done all asked and we'll but nothing proven yet in big games

Cork beating Galway by threw to waterford hammering Galway means nothing in Galway are dismal under cunningham and have outgrown him but you forget Galway played cork home advantage and always tough cork beat

Waterford played Galway not in Galway

As for wexford cork struggled but cork beaten Dublin twice and clare and been higher level league consistently then waterford
    Waterford are division two and don't forget cork neat waterford last year easily

Most know my logic is consistent and I be fair never sit in the fence always give view whether people agree or not before and after the game

As for Sunday I got to see cork team ist as I belive in astute in depth assement so pardon me I won't jump in predict now however I am kind of thinking waterford may win as despite all talk etc cork want win I remains be convinced cork all out win this yes want it all out I doubt it and Waterford are as while jbm has doubters he's proven still where mcgrath largely unproven

Waterford when they perform big games then I'll say fair play maybe I was wrong however as my posting history proves seldom does one swallow ever make a summer and that just my opinion is why seldom I'm rarely wrong when I judge a team and it's manager as one game never is total value I judge on

But yes waterford hsve made progress however division two ane division one are not at the same level and since wexford no team won since ninety six all Ireland so not my opinion but a fact of history division two hurling not at same level as division one

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,026 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cork v Waterford should be a good game. Even with a few starters not available to us we should have to win. Cork could do with a good hard game and I think they will get it.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Cork v Waterford should be a good game. Even with a few starters not available to us we should have to win. Cork could do with a good hard game and I think they will get it.

There's still concern over one or two so hopefully team tonight well know more

You were totally correct by the way regards cork football you gave a brilliant report after kerry game saying cork wouldn't want read much in to it and you were right and your concerns regards cuthbert are very valid imo

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/league-win-means-dublin-have-cork-on-the-back-foot-already-says-bryan-cullen-327883.html
    Very valid points how hard is cork recover
    Great points regards defence but this is the irony with cork we weren't even playing all out attack we set up with a blanket but I fully understand and appreciate Cullen thinking cotk not playing blanket as I must admit I thought that myself with the way our blanket conceded so much but cork management said we play blanket so we accept it's blanket

But as Cullen said the defence was too open
    Great read by Cullen
    Was a fine player too a real leadership within

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭blue note

I have taken on your points and I appreciate your opinion and I respect it

I don't agree though
    As my posts prove regards teams and I'm sorry of it offends but as football proved cork under twenty one v Waterford last year I'm a realist and I don't do false dawns as they have habit of coming back to haunt you so I think and said waterford done all asked and we'll but nothing proven yet in big games

Cork beating Galway by threw to waterford hammering Galway means nothing in Galway are dismal under cunningham and have outgrown him but you forget Galway played cork home advantage and always tough cork beat

Waterford played Galway not in Galway

As for wexford cork struggled but cork beaten Dublin twice and clare and been higher level league consistently then waterford
    Waterford are division two and don't forget cork neat waterford last year easily

Most know my logic is consistent and I be fair never sit in the fence always give view whether people agree or not before and after the game

As for Sunday I got to see cork team ist as I belive in astute in depth assement so pardon me I won't jump in predict now however I am kind of thinking waterford may win as despite all talk etc cork want win I remains be convinced cork all out win this yes want it all out I doubt it and Waterford are as while jbm has doubters he's proven still where mcgrath largely unproven

Waterford when they perform big games then I'll say fair play maybe I was wrong however as my posting history proves seldom does one swallow ever make a summer and that just my opinion is why seldom I'm rarely wrong when I judge a team and it's manager as one game never is total value I judge on

But yes waterford hsve made progress however division two ane division one are not at the same level and since wexford no team won since ninety six all Ireland so not my opinion but a fact of history division two hurling not at same level as division one

Sorry thinkstoomuch1, but you say you’re open to changing your opinion, but you’re clearly not. You seem to have hurdles that Waterford have to overcome before respecting them, but you change them every time they get over one.

We draw with Limerick on the opening day of the league (after they got two very soft penalties). I’d have thought that getting to the last 4 of the AI for the last two years and winning Munster two years ago would make them decent opposition and the draw would mean something? No, apparently not.
    We beat Wexford comfortably in Wexford. They beat the AI champs and Waterford the year before, drew with Dublin the year before that. They’d go on to push Cork close in Cork in their next game. Does that count as something? No, it doesn’t.
    Then we finally come up against a Division 1 team – Galway. They’d beaten Clare and Kilkenny in the league (Division 1 teams) and had close matches against Cork and Tipp (Division 1 teams). We win comfortably again. And again no, it doesn’t mean anything.
    Then we come up against Tipp, many people’s favourite for the all Ireland, runners up last year, in good form, topped the league table. We have a very good comeback against them to win a tight encounter. Does it count? Yes apparently, but you’re still not budging on your opinion!

You say you respect Waterford, but that’s just talk. I’m not sure you’re capable of it to be honest.

blue note wrote: »
    Sorry thinkstoomuch1, but you say you’re open to changing your opinion, but you’re clearly not. You seem to have hurdles that Waterford have to overcome before respecting them, but you change them every time they get over one.

We draw with Limerick on the opening day of the league (after they got two very soft penalties). I’d have thought that getting to the last 4 of the AI for the last two years and winning Munster two years ago would make them decent opposition and the draw would mean something? No, apparently not.
    We beat Wexford comfortably in Wexford. They beat the AI champs and Waterford the year before, drew with Dublin the year before that. They’d go on to push Cork close in Cork in their next game. Does that count as something? No, it doesn’t.
    Then we finally come up against a Division 1 team – Galway. They’d beaten Clare and Kilkenny in the league (Division 1 teams) and had close matches against Cork and Tipp (Division 1 teams). We win comfortably again. And again no, it doesn’t mean anything.
    Then we come up against Tipp, many people’s favourite for the all Ireland, runners up last year, in good form, topped the league table. We have a very good comeback against them to win a tight encounter. Does it count? Yes apparently, but you’re still not budging on your opinion!

You say you respect Waterford, but that’s just talk. I’m not sure you’re capable of it to be honest.
    Look at cork football this league winning games then crunch came and lost

If ye loose Sunday will you be as confident or will you run hair chase hound praise team one minute winds changed then slate them as some fans do
    Not my style
    I like to be consistent

I said waterford wouldn't beat cork championship day one now beating Laois antrim limerick Galway isn't going to change that
    Fair play ye beat tipp however missing a few and tbh played like team out grew o shea and looked hunger less
    Good win nothing great in ye won by a point ye easily could lost

I'm sorry now but I like be consistent so again unfortunately it puts me unpopular view again as I'm one won't go with this talk waterford rude health just yet when only one win to a degree with real value
    Cork beat tipp munster five years ago yet woeful two years under Walsh
    One win never imo proved anything and as of yet I only regards one win waterford had league of value as other teams poor as time proved imo

Ye have made progress but yr hsve huge issues as in scoring from play etc
    Galway are awful to be fair
    When ye beat cork munster championship if so I'll fully give Waterford credit and I'll lauded them and admit I was wrong but as of yet ye have done nothing
    Ye will possibly from what I'm hearing regards injury if true beat cork Sunday but imo not in munster

I respect you opinion but we'll disagree
    Championship will define all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭blue note

Look at cork football this league winning games then crunch came and lost

If ye loose Sunday will you be as confident or will you run hair chase hound praise team one minute winds changed then slate them as some fans do
    Not my style
    I like to be consistent

I said waterford wouldn't beat cork championship day one now beating Laois antrim limerick Galway isn't going to change that
    Fair play ye beat tipp however missing a few and tbh played like team out grew o shea and looked hunger less
    Good win nothing great in ye won by a point ye easily could lost

I'm sorry now but I like be consistent so again unfortunately it puts me unpopular view again as I'm one won't go with this talk waterford rude health just yet when only one win to a degree with real value
    Cork beat tipp munster five years ago yet woeful two years under Walsh
    One win never imo proved anything and as of yet I only regards one win waterford had league of value as other teams poor as time proved imo

Ye have made progress but yr hsve huge issues as in scoring from play etc
    Galway are awful to be fair
    When ye beat cork munster championship if so I'll fully give Waterford credit and I'll lauded them and admit I was wrong but as of yet ye have done nothing
    Ye will possibly from what I'm hearing regards injury if true beat cork Sunday but imo not in munster

I respect you opinion but we'll disagree
    Championship will define all

You put a lot of stock in the difference between division 1 and 2 teams, but when we beat division 1 teams it means nothing. Clare won the AI a year after being in Division 2 and Cork got to a final a year after being in Division 2. In truth there are more strong teams than there are places in Division 1. There are arguably 3 good teams in Division 2. Being in Division 2 (or 1B as they call it) is quite different to what it meant a few years ago.

And there’s a difference between being consistent in an opinion and being unwilling to alter one. I like to think I’m quite consistent and conservative in changing it. At the start of the year I thought Limerick would be the ones promoted and thought ourselves and Wexford would be fairly evenly matched. After the Limerick game I thought that might still be the case, but over the course of the league I changed my opinion. Now, after 7 games, 4 against what I’d consider good opposition I’m confident in saying that we’re able to compete with the top counties again. One more game isn’t going to change my opinion massively either way. If we win it will give me a bit more confidence going into the championship against Cork. If we lose a little less.

And after that championship game there’s still the back door for either county. Whoever loses I won’t write them off for the rest of the summer.

Anyway, best of luck on Sunday!

blue note wrote: »
    You put a lot of stock in the difference between division 1 and 2 teams, but when we beat division 1 teams it means nothing. Clare won the AI a year after being in Division 2 and Cork got to a final a year after being in Division 2. In truth there are more strong teams than there are places in Division 1. There are arguably 3 good teams in Division 2. Being in Division 2 (or 1B as they call it) is quite different to what it meant a few years ago.

And there’s a difference between being consistent in an opinion and being unwilling to alter one. I like to think I’m quite consistent and conservative in changing it. At the start of the year I thought Limerick would be the ones promoted and thought ourselves and Wexford would be fairly evenly matched. After the Limerick game I thought that might still be the case, but over the course of the league I changed my opinion. Now, after 7 games, 4 against what I’d consider good opposition I’m confident in saying that we’re able to compete with the top counties again. One more game isn’t going to change my opinion massively either way. If we win it will give me a bit more confidence going into the championship against Cork. If we lose a little less.

And after that championship game there’s still the back door for either county. Whoever loses I won’t write them off for the rest of the summer.

Anyway, best of luck on Sunday!
    Some valid points be fair
    I agree with some as there well said
    We have different thoughts in some points the beauty sport

As for luck I don't belive in it in sport in any great deal tbh I am cody ethos of great managers in luck largely last commodity for success imo and you can't control it. Control what you can in sport
    Do that your almost certain to win
    Sunday imo is a battle but the war of championship is in June

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Well it's a good thing you've decided we have no form so, we're not losing much ground that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭zetecescort

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)

3. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)

4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)

5. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)

6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)

7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)

9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

10. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

11. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)

12. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)

14. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Subs:

16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

17. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s)

18. Killian Burke (Midleton)

19. William Kearney (Sarsfields)

20. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)

21. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)

22. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

23. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)

24. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)

25. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)

26. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)

Note: Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy) not considered due to injury.

Team Management: Jimmy Barry-Murphy (St. Finbarr’s) - Manager, Mark Landers (Killeagh) - Coach, Johnny Crowley (Bishopstown), Seánie McGrath (Glen Rovers).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,026 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Aidan Ryan at full back, Cahalane dropped adds to the excitement I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Lehane at full forward given the form of Luke and particularly Paudie is a strange one imo, don't think Conor has ever played well in there

He might be given a free role for a 2 man full toward line.

I'm delighted with aidan Ryan full back absolutely delighted and we'll dine well done management take a bow a brave bold courage ruthless call to start him

Yes huge risk in ist huge game at full but I said week ago my team had play as only test cotk could give him in before championship

It could yes go pear shaped buy I won't blame management our Ryan if so as have no other choice and Sunday tell if cork be answer

He's strong intelligent great know how and catch ball plays stand up tall in very rarely man go through him
    He will be warned lack touch pace to ball in man might win few get points but I fine that as point won't beat cork but goals will so once no goals or one cotk be okay

He played half forward and ball winner but couldn't score
    Goof minors and under twenty one
    Big test but into has chance and he job won't be free man just mark square as Mcdonnell be free man if so

Wallis reinvented aidan and imo flying midelton and if needs be go centre and was brilliant v KK and now unlike then two corner backs better cover him

Delighted coughlan made bench
    Mccarthy and more so lawton shouldn't have
    John cronin gets two games then not here poor call

Overall delighted and call Ryan full shows cork won't win but correctly so not key in management more interesting solving long term full back issue

If that is solved Sunday cork loose few points I'll be happy more so win with no full back

Brilliant brilliant call start Ryan had get chance
    Short game time with just two games but imo has good chance be okay as brilliant temperament game

Great call in cork are not going orthodox

Lehane will drop and roam and cadogan horgan inside
    Year ago I'd be worried lehane starting but clear landers will play sweeper

Sullivan rightly so didn't start this game hordes courses selection and save bit for June

Great great poker players never show all their hand ist deal

Very very happy well done management
    Learning at last credit where due

Cork are shadow boxing clear as day like I said earlier would and their absolutely right to only worry Nash huge doubts so if not fit worry Collins and Ryan start finally ist time but leaderships o brilliant and Mcdonnell is needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

great to see cooper starting. we need forwards that have a bit of steel. we have enough of wristy forwards. jbm not afraid to make big calls eg ryan atFB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

I agree Cooper has to start a bit of Tim Crowley about him ! Aidan Ryan played for Gerald McCarthys team during the strike in 2009 .....if Nash is out young Patrick Collins will start ....a brand new Goalie and full back in a National final very interesting ! delighted to see Jamie Coughlan in the subs hopefully he can stay injury free now a class act . I think the subs list looks strong would like Anthony Spillane and Colm to be involved and John Cronin....tough going on young Anthony Spillane to miss out hes been involved in all the league games ...Darren McCarthys 4 points from play against Kilkenny must have played him on to the subs bench.

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    I agree Cooper has to start a bit of Tim Crowley about him ! Aidan Ryan played for Gerald McCarthys team during the strike in 2009 .....if Nash is out young Patrick Collins will start ....a brand new Goalie and full back in a National final very interesting ! delighted to see Jamie Coughlan in the subs hopefully he can stay injury free now a class act . I think the subs list looks strong would like Anthony Spillane and Colm to be involved and John Cronin....tough going on young Anthony Spillane to miss out hes been involved in all the league games ...Darren McCarthys 4 points from play against Kilkenny must have played him on to the subs bench.

I'd agree with all that but kearney and lawton very poor subs

Mccarthy got good scores but still feel better we have cork forward wise

Ryan is twenty nine and six foot three and very strong so ideal size for full back