Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Wrong attuide in you don't rate a player you don't simply don't play him and if it means play player no better at least try new guy and offer hope

Cronin galvin all better than loughrey
    Loughrey was poor Sunday and I don't blame him

Simple thing we can all agree on here is even you don't like English gene clearly etc bottom line is they all are some way proven at intercounty at a level or club that sexton and Davis are not even at club like sullivan and cuthbert bar minor to a degree

We don't know how good English clearly etc make cork but we know they certainly can't be worse this shambles and certainly odds are be least competitive

I agree they would at least be at the same level as the current group but they are certainly not the messiahs

Gould i dont rate on the national stage but its up to others to prove they are ahead of him within Cork. Aidan Walsh could do that but has gone hurling and Maguire may develop into it but isnt their yet. Dineen has never had the opportunity at intercounty and IMO O'Laoire isnt anywhere near good enough.

So you have a hurler, a player with a serious back problem and a player that hasnt been given a chance but previously didnt want to be involved anyway. So where is their a viable alternative to him then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

slingerz wrote: »
    Under Doherty they had tried to play football at least. When McGuinness took over he saw that they had good phyiscal athletes but not the best of footballers and choose a way of playing to make them hard to beat anyway. But they were/are a side that relied upon their phyisical ability rather than football and that has been broken down and cracked by teams now. It placed a huge stress on the players that they could take for only a limited time[/

Look forget the romance in football as kerry proved it's horse manure talk

I'm romantic, I treat my girlfriend to red roses, chocolate etc I love poetry and I love romantic films while your sleeping all that crack and I shed a tear really romantic ones as my emotions come out

However this is elite elite senior intercounty football where ruthless execution and pursuit glory is needed and forget the lark we tried play football but like night mare kerry last year got humiliation in cork that the banks of the lee was nearly flooded with tears for cork football

The game has adapted, Jack o Connor said kerry would never allow all Ireland won defensive way yet they regard last year one great achievement and even jack minor played defensive in the final

Evolution of all life survival is based on those who adapt
    The game is what it is and cork have to adapt
    Every team has a cycle of peak what hinder donegal is no constant line production young players coming through and their old team

Donegal were far from physical and outstanding counter attacking awesome kick passing at pace game much better than the physical brute force one dimension with exceptional Tyrone game as one off in cork all Ireland success that we actually stumbled to win when we should have won in a canter

I agree they would at least be at the same level as the current group but they are certainly not the messiahs

Gould i dont rate on the national stage but its up to others to prove they are ahead of him within Cork. Aidan Walsh could do that but has gone hurling and Maguire may develop into it but isnt their yet. Dineen has never had the opportunity at intercounty and IMO O'Laoire isnt anywhere near good enough.

So you have a hurler, a player with a serious back problem and a player that hasnt been given a chance but previously didnt want to be involved anyway. So where is their a viable alternative to him then?
    Its simple in wexford know gould won't do so we try others at worst we know they can't do but at least there's a chance

Dinnen outstanding v meath challenge training camp ul but no chance
    Be fair that's not right
    Laoire never got game time league like others at least give gut chance
    Maguire injured so kiely while he's work on distribution call him up
    Rather recall cussen and once great o Connor give fiactra lynch a few games as can win ball and not forward but may may be ball winner
    What you're doing imo is taking this management judgements players as gospel when all during their term showed their perception judgment player is truly awful

Deane if fit a game but remember only by cork man put piece together on deane tralee it that he despite not making cuthbert ist panel eventually got second panel despite good under twenty one and junior time with cork and then never had luxury play with Walsh but got one game v westmeath and Andrew sullivan rated over him so no guarantee fit deane rated this set up

Fair point not the messiahs the management I names that's valid point but look all I'm saying is that this set up management is poor and going nowhere and at least other more proven and even one per cent improvement better current shambles we have now

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/walsh-i-know-my-limitations-as-a-hurler/

Good read

Also it's clear as he said before Walsh soley made the decision to end dualism
    Yet even recently another interview cuthbert says management and players decided it wasn't working
    If Walsh had not stopped it both cuthbert and jbm would went for it however landers joining after I'd say would put a stop to it as it's common knowledge he's views on dualism
    From day one most know dualism would not work yet football management allowed it
    Another example poor management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Its simple in wexford know gould won't do so we try others at worst we know they can't do but at least there's a chance

Dinnen outstanding v meath challenge training camp ul but no chance
    Be fair that's not right
    Laoire never got game time league like others at least give gut chance
    Maguire injured so kiely while he's work on distribution call him up
    Rather recall cussen and once great o Connor give fiactra lynch a few games as can win ball and not forward but may may be ball winner
    What you're doing imo is taking this management judgements players as gospel when all during their term showed their perception judgment player is truly awful

Deane if fit a game but remember only by cork man put piece together on deane tralee it that he despite not making cuthbert ist panel eventually got second panel despite good under twenty one and junior time with cork and then never had luxury play with Walsh but got one game v westmeath and Andrew sullivan rated over him so no guarantee fit deane rated this set up

Fair point not the messiahs the management I names that's valid point but look all I'm saying is that this set up management is poor and going nowhere and at least other more proven and even one per cent improvement better current shambles we have now

I'd give Kiely a go alright along with Dineen and O'Laoire. I rate O'Laoire behind Gould to be honest. Deane should get a go alright once he is over his injury, i think he could be an option at wing forward moreso than midfield though. Fiachra Lynch i would give a go as well possibly Kevin Canty too but i cant say that those listed have excelled to such a degree in the county championship that i could say they had to be definite starters at midfield

http://m.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2015/0427/697072-ruthless-fitzmaurice-key-to-kerrys-ambition/
    Brolly after Sunday

That's what cork management needs to be like but as proven since day one recall old players, recall players failed under other manager, repeated game time for certain lads the non ruthless ability to knock dualism on its head shows how cork management are far from ruthless but soft minded approach to games

You can see the good old kerry yerra coming out by pat highlights kerry worst defence in the league and he's doing kerry a favour as some will belive this but fact is unlike cork kerry only ever targeted the donegal and Dublin games and their was nothing wrong in those league games bar bit fine tuning with the defence

Have no doubt Fitzmauirce knows kerry have to evolve and I actually more I think bout it will not show their full hand v cork but I expect a second gear performance with bit sloppy play as unlike last year where they didn't know fully cork challenge they know two well what they face so while under estimate cork won't happen unlike last year when needed confidence nothing they will gain from winning well and they will beat cork with out showing two much as have no doubt only one team they fear Dublin

Yes in about six weeks the talk will be they fear cork and expect back lash and there will be talk kerry struggling and few no doubt injury concerns coming out

I'd give Kiely a go alright along with Dineen and O'Laoire. I rate O'Laoire behind Gould to be honest. Deane should get a go alright once he is over his injury, i think he could be an option at wing forward moreso than midfield though. Fiachra Lynch i would give a go as well possibly Kevin Canty too but i cant say that those listed have excelled to such a degree in the county championship that i could say they had to be definite starters at midfield
    And I totally agree these lads may not work but all I want is cork try others as it's clear as day cadogan Gould Collins at midfield won't work

Canty give him a game but I have concerns and seen him go out games at club level

And you have valid points that none stood out consistent club scene fair enough bar imo dinnen but the point is gould never ever stood out Macroom consistently or Muskerry or cadogan played midfield for Douglas or Collins for haven only when there stuck but never performed their

Sullivan last year never stood out for Castletownbete
    I agree deane can play half forward and has done and always chops in with a score or two
    I always rated deane as against Dublin under twenty ones on beaten team he played brilliant and showed a hunger want desire to win ball under clearly

https://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2704151621-lorcan-mcloughlin-interview/

Brilliant read in such honesty and courage to say yes we have problems within
    See there's imo hope cork can solve them in the hurling as this year I noticed huge shift from mindset last year players and lehane and farell and lorcan interview prove that

To be fair unlike the football where we hear is just talk hurlers are actually trying to solve them with aidan Ryan called up and be fair Dublin ist half injury affected cork

Cork hurling has issues in defence due to injury where in football it's down to poor coaching

Yes cork done themselves no favours with kearney ahead of sullivan but over all better than the football in trying solve the issues and least lorcan said if KK played cork than Dublin game was over where's cork football don't have never said donegal and kerry was false dawns

Once you get attuide right your half where there

Cork hurling has concerns but has hope as at last there's an honesty within
    Football isn't even close to it
    And the difference is down to management imo

If anyone wants to see how management can make a huge difference watch louth the seventheen may

They won't win all Ireland but having struggled all year they will vastly improvement for westmeath as great great great mick dwyer now training them will have boost players as where ever mick went wicklow Kildare Laois kerry etc he instilled belief and fight and made teams better what they were

So we will get a really good lesson in art how vital management helps a team at any level
    I'd recommend any cork fans that say management no huge influence all bout players watch this game as mick wonderful example of difference management can make and he has just four weeks

They won't win leinster but will get a win or two and that seemed impossible earlier. And mick hasn't seven weeks so root and branch review louth but will rely on he's understanding of basics gaelic football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭zetecescort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Great timing for the footballers after the massacre sunday. A further morale sapper when your told to hang around and no one there,they should have waited a few weeks or held it in clon or somewhere they might get a crowd

sean mac wrote: »
    Great timing for the footballers after the massacre sunday. A further morale sapper when your told to hang around and no one there,they should have waited a few weeks or held it in clon or somewhere they might get a crowd
    What do you make of the root and branch review
    Lot I talk to seem to think it's what is needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Well, did JBM find those sleeping pills for Cahalane yet? Supposedly the poor fella is having nightmares about facing Waterford Sunday. In fairness you can't blame him, with Patrick Horgan spending Sunday afternoon trying to find a way out of Noel Connors' pocket and Harnedy chasing Tadhg Bourke's shadow for 70minutes, who's going to save Cork? Ye should try bring Joe Deane or Brian Corcoran out of retirement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Deise_2012 wrote: »
    Well, did JBM find those sleeping pills for Cahalane yet? Supposedly the poor fella is having nightmares about facing Waterford Sunday. In fairness you can't blame him, with Patrick Horgan spending Sunday afternoon trying to find a way out of Noel Connors' pocket and Harnedy chasing Tadhg Bourke's shadow for 70minutes, who's going to save Cork? Ye should try bring Joe Deane or Brian Corcoran out of retirement
    LoL !! Mossies well known for their humour😃😃😃

And National League titles

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,073 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I've a feeling this post might come back to haunt you;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I've a feeling this post might come back to haunt you;)

You mean...

Deane and Corcoran are actually coming back? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

What do you make of the root and branch review
    Lot I talk to seem to think it's what is needed

A complete joke, Cuthbert has had more reviews then the hse, he might review himself and his management team who are totally out of their depth.

Can't wait for Sunday now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Interesting to read Lorcan McLoughlin say that the squad is very light in defence and that the squad was very sorry to lose Conor O Sullivan , William Egan refused to come back also when asked by JBM....Along with Chris Joyces injury we are very tight regards defenders ....Shane O Neill, Damien Cahalane , Stephen McDonnell, Lorcan, Mark Ellis and Cormac Murphy that's our back 6 .....William Kearney, Brian O Sullivan two defenders who are very inexperienced Aidan Ryan in his late 20s now not sure he will make it ..Killian Burke I think is the only top sub defender we have right now .....O Sullivan, Egan and Joyce are big losses ....worrying times as regards the defence more so if any of the 6 were to get injured...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Interesting to read Lorcan McLoughlin say that the squad is very light in defence and that the squad was very sorry to lose Conor O Sullivan , William Egan refused to come back also when asked by JBM....Along with Chris Joyces injury we are very tight regards defenders ....Shane O Neill, Damien Cahalane , Stephen McDonnell, Lorcan, Mark Ellis and Cormac Murphy that's our back 6 .....William Kearney, Brian O Sullivan two defenders who are very inexperienced Aidan Ryan in his late 20s now not sure he will make it ..Killian Burke I think is the only top sub defender we have right now .....O Sullivan, Egan and Joyce are big losses ....worrying times as regards the defence more so if any of the 6 were to get injured...

We have a good few defenders spare, give us a shout if ye're stuck Sunday!

Thanks a lot, Waterford are the new KK, hopefully cork get the bounce of the ball and with a bit of luck we stay within ten points as this Waterford team have been truly outstanding in the league, the best team in Ireland by a mile
    I heard from a reliable scource Cody is really worried and he's trying to get jj and shefflin out of retirement just to compete with Waterford this year.
    I wish I was in your shoes, yere unbeatable this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Are we finished tearing the heart out of our footballers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

how have ye defenders tospare when ye will have 12players behind the ball

wackokid wrote: »
    Are we finished tearing the heart out of our footballers?

Nobody tearing the heart of the footballers
    l
    Were judging performance and imo my view has actually defended the footballers totalling in poorly management

You say tearing the heart out, where do I start
    Dinny Allen, eugene-mcgee, joe brolly. Martin brehony all accused the players being soft

Some players in cork not good enough for senior nothing more or less just like mick flynn said KK judge
    The talk that players totally blame in media being wrong and imo is as you say tearing the heart out of them when imo this management would actually make Dublin look bad and kerry
    I understand you have a great affinity for three players which is fair enough but there fine club players surely you acknowledge now not what cork needs

Sorry now but your quick enough to call journalist clowns etc and be quite smart critsom some players when it suits once it's not certain players to be fair and equal now

I don't rate some journalist my self but I certainly wouldn't call them a clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Barry John Keane gave Tom Clon a lot of bother but apart from him the Cork backs were well on top. Donaghy was at his usual sledging and just had to stick his nose into everything. No doubt Kerry will be better when O Donoghue and Gooch return but their backs are not good and with any kind of parity around the middle they are very beatable.
    Them Driscolls are some clan. Tough as nails and good footballers too.
    That is a decent subs bench too, Donnacha, Daniel and John Hayes along with Kerrigan and Dorman would start on most intercounty teams IMHO so we shouldn't be too negative in our comments about Killarney later in the year.
    With proper discipline and focus we have the players to cause another upset. 11 points is a fair old beating and we were worth every point of it.
    Now is the time to refine the system and forget about winning this league. Let the good times roll.

I only show this post just to point out the difference in views in you're post is very optimistic and when you say such things to be fair nobody really will critse it as people see its hugely postive and as your said let good times roll so people in cork football so used negative views they fair enough jump to anything postive

My point has always been once anyone here goes realistic view and unfortunately with this management anything realistically is negative in the team in eighteen months has struggled badly they unfortunately find themselves portrayed as the kind of bad guys when nothing is further from the truth but all were doing honestly is seeing and saying what's wrong as if fans can see it have no doubts kerry and Dublin as they proved saw it
    If there's problems in a team and people try and paint over them then unfortunately a team never evolved as you can't fix anything of lf you convince yourself no problem exists

Look at lehane interview lastly week saying that landers breath fresh air in yes he's tough task master but lehane has been cork teams past management where no ruthless judgements occurred and he suffered failure yet he aspires KK way so demands ways KK I'm cork just like lorcan said today

Were all cork men here and look all we want is cork to be the best they can be

This talk that cork shouldn't be negative bases on killarney had be fair no real logic to back it up as surely to god cork football learns beating kerrys in the league unless it's do or die in kerry have to win so they can not be relegated is absolutely meaningless and when kerry as they done don't treat these games with will to win imo it shows they don't fear a team as they picked chooses teams and don't fear monaghan as lost but did fear Dublin and donegal so they made sure they won those games

Beating kerry was telegraphed as a false dawn as I have recorded that match and watched it lots times and there's clear period kerry dominate midfield then Fitzmauirce takes off a midfield player

Why is that
    Clear as day they knew in that period would win midfield so they said ease off here now let cadogan think he's midfield player
    How time and time again cork fall to kerry cuteness amazes me
    Your were totally right I fully agree cork should forget league to a point and refined the system however imo would have to built a system as well actually hsve imo no system as we cant attack or defend in big games

I geuinely don't mean to sound negative but we must be realistic in assement cork otherwise kerry are laughing at us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

cork 3 -15 clare 3 - 13 tonight in a minor hurling challenge in ballyhea. would apprceciate an idea re corks strength tonight.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,073 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

One of your better posts :pac:

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/traditional-roles-hard-to-break/

He's entitled to he's opinion the writer I respect it but I disagree with it

To use tradition imo is the same excuse cork football always uses when blames everything bar the hub of the problem
    It's like we have no traditional ethos glory cork football so seven all Irelands we accept and we shouldn't expect or demands cultural change

Donegal had no culture of successful or clsre under twenty one hurlers yet they were success
    Cork under twenty one football had no tradition ten years or so ago and came from Anthony Davis rock bottom defeat to waterford and changed its legacy
    Castlehaven had no traditional and look at their success
    Newton has no traditional success yet they won four county titles and all Ireland and munster club

Balloncollg for years were a classic pro type cork football but due to culture change and hard work and good management won a brilliant county playing brilliant football and hsve at least imo two more county titles in them
    Chelsea in league titles were a nothing club and now look at them
    Leinster rugby was under achievers all hair oil no socks but changed the legacy to become the greatest European side ever and changed to winning culture

Of course the best examples is on cork doorstep the wonderful truly wonderful cork ladies footballers that couldn't even compete in games yet cork have won so many munster so many all Ireland so many all stars so many league titles I actually forget the number in total

As harte said they had a culture of no value to cork ladies they had no identity years ago they never knew what it meant but eammon Ryan changed that and traditions went out the windows

He has a point regards tradition to a degree but imo correlation is more associated with greatest respect wicklow Kildare etc this world and cork with resources number clubs playing population and talent available as proven by countless wonderful football players we produce over and over again is not a justified excuse imo for cork football

He uses term collapse as imo it kind saying harsh word he says in saying cork never got going so couldn't collapse to begin with
    Imo it's a non logic argument when imo grasping for staws is all I can see the article is doing as look it was a collapse and if he wants to ignore that on cork never started well well then look back to last year a huge league and cork were humiliated by Dublin so that was a utter utter total collapse so there no denying cork collapse under this management and mayo last year I'm the league, ist twenty minutes second half all Ireland quatre final, Dublin this and last year and kerry surely people will stop making excuses that are not there or at best play a minority problems and realise that bar no pressure early games cork win over fitness alone when big games come cork don't just loose but a point that's never said a lot cork are not loosing under management but loosing badly consistently

The writer says cork are in transition
    Cork imo with shields cads kelly doc colm Kerrigan and Walsh last year were just same or close number senior all Ireland winners Dublin have and cork have munster success and success at ucc in sigerson cups so cork year half in are far from transition as let's go further to prove it

Cork transitional game defence started last July v sligo and conceded seven ninety in group stages the league
    Dublin like cork were all out attack
    They started the same defence system as cork actually in months after cork not end their championship like cork yer conceded just two seventy eight group stages

Meath changes their system to defence and very good defence in division two
    Kerry last year changed their system in league last year and has the best record defence last year

This is not my opinion but anyone looking at the defence records will surely see Dublin meath kerry all in transition period improved their defence in one year league cork havent at all and bar kerry worst defence this year something I noticed most cork media rarely highlights or eight goals one hundred thirty conceded all league and best we get we concede a lot some say but why not print the stats as we can all see them

The fact cork are in transition doesn't imo justify the dualism, recall some players that then dropped again, numerous times picking many many players out of positions, the critsom horan and mayo last year and the three humiliation defeats plus imo mayo as imo one point moral victory defeat hindered cork football as covered up weak spots and course don't forget cork were haunted in cork to beat tipp

A lot is made of cork confidence was lost after Dublin last year as if cork should say not management fault when jbm twice in 99 after huge defeat limerick three years earlier and after league defeat rebuilt cork confidence, mcguiness rebuild donegal after year before humiliating defeat to armagh etc many more examples where good management can regain confidence to a team but this set up purely bases results have done nothing to prove they can do the same

Last year a picture in cork was painted on flawed early leagues cork serious contenders for all Ireland or munster when as said it then we were way off
    This year we heard again cork were on the road to redemption

People are entitled to their opinions but imo cork games are seen as false dawns in early league imo as James horan said more or less
    I noticed dave Barry and eugene-mcgee mentioned regularly to add immunity to critse cork management but James horan raised questions internally externally yet never mentioned

What amazed me is Paul Grimley admitted he was to blame armagh last year Jim gavin for Dublin Paul Bealin sacked over run defeats westmeath yet no one question performances field play this management when again no one rarely says sexton sullivan and Davis no records and cuthbert no record club and people say give him time seem to forget he was selector with counihan so nearly threw years he's senior experience so this talk he's learning imo doesn't add up when mcguiness Fitzmauirce Davy all had success fast

Some media blame players
    No one yet said this cork team lacked direction leadership and fight from management level and should be questioned on management records when cork football deserves that at least imo

Cork hurling team be named tonight