If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

You see a lost child in a shop. What would you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Accusse them of trying to abduct the child in public.
    Call the guards. You then have to wait for the guards to turn up.
    While all around you people are looking at you and judging you.
    You then get to be questioned about what you were doing.

Can you imagine how humiliating that would be?
    In a smaller down where rumours spread this could be disastrous for the person involved.
    And what about being able to protest your innocence and tell those idiots to **** off, and the people who will come to your defence?
    Too much power is given to drama-seeking weirdos going by this scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

That aside anyway, my child.....
    Which is in no way comparible to the situation being discussed of approaching a strangers child.
    It's only a big deal if you make it a big deal tbh.
    This is just a meaningless platitude that ignores the reality of dealing with other people.
    And what about being able to protest your innocence and tell those idiots to **** off, and the people who will come to your defence?
    Too much power is given to drama-seeking weirdos going by this scenario.
    I barely trust people to park in a way that doesn't block and entire road at my local shopping centre.
    I definetly wouldn't expect reasonable, calm heads when allegations of child abduction are being thrown around.
    You can stay and protest your innocence or walk away but if someone calls the Gardaí there going to follow it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Which is in no way comparible to the situation being discussed of approaching a strangers child.

Well of course it's not comparable if you're just going to ignore the context which I was originally addressing which is the point you made about other people's reactions to a man who is thought to be abducting a child. My point was that nobody reacted. How were they to know we were father and son? We were both strangers to anyone else. Do you often see men walking out of shopping centres carrying a screaming child? Neither do I.

This is just a meaningless platitude that ignores the reality of dealing with other people.

It's not meaningless at all. You really don't have to make a big deal of it if you don't want to. I deal with other people in numerous situations every day. When they start losing the head and blowing things out of proportion - yes, they're easily ignored. Other people are easily ignored when you don't care for whether they're staring at you or not. With regard to how another person reacts when you're handing them back their child, if they lose the rag with me, well, quite frankly they'll be told to get knotted. Then I can walk away and they can waste Garda time all they want as far as I'm concerned. Any Garda with so much as an ounce of cop on will be able to review CCTV on the spot and know that the parent is reacting hysterically.

I barely trust people to park in a way that doesn't block and entire road at my local shopping centre.
    I definetly wouldn't expect reasonable, calm heads when allegations of child abduction are being thrown around.
    You can stay and protest your innocence or walk away but if someone calls the Gardaí there going to follow it up.

They're not at all necessarily going to follow up on anything, they're trained to have reasonable, calm heads when everyone else about them is losing theirs. The situation with the OP's friend is the first time I've ever heard of the Gardaí being called in that situation. I don't know who called the Gardaí or why his friend bothered sticking around (I can only imagine out of some sense of misguided need to prove himself innocent of any wrongdoing the parent was accusing him of doing?), but my point is that what you're imagining isn't borne out by reality at all, most people are relieved and grateful when their lost children are returned to them. They don't immediately accuse the person of trying to abduct the child because, y'know, abduction usually implies that the person is taking the child, not giving them back! :confused:

Genuinely, would you really waste your time justifying yourself to a complete stranger or caring what a complete stranger thinks of you? My more pressing concern would be that I left the child in the care of a complete idiot tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

I don't believe for one second that parents make a pedophilia allegation when someone talks to or finds their lost child.

Talk about hysteria.

Maybe the shock and panic makes them forget their manners but a sex abuse or abduction charge? That's paranoia.

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm in a sports club with dedicated time for children's lessons

Duringb that time no one apart from vetted coaches and parents are allowed any contact with the children so I take that same view in my wider life

They are following child safety protocols to protect the club and the children

It has nothing to do with your sports club. That is context specific. We don't apply context specific policy to the entirety of our lives as a general rule.

You don't like kids and you've made that pretty clear. Or their crap parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Seen a mother and (presumed) daughter searching for her lost kid in Penneys a few weeks back, going up & down the aisles screaming the kids name.

I was waiting on the gf so was keeping an eye out in case the kid walks by.

Mother gets to the back wall and no lie, stops to look at the shoes for about 15 seconds before returning to the search for her lost kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I'd be more concerned about being seen in the drapes section of Dunnes.

Been seen as a potential drapist would be far more damaging to a person's reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

zeffabelli wrote: »
    I don't believe for one second that parents make a pedophilia allegation when someone talks to or finds their lost child.

Talk about hysteria.

Maybe the shock and panic makes them forget their manners but a sex abuse or abduction charge? That's paranoia.

Aye, the OP's story does seem a bit far-fetched alright, but given that the guy actually stood there and let himself be accused of anything at all makes me think combination of an over-reactive parent (we know they exist) and a naive person (we know they exist), security guards that haven't a clue what they're doing (pay peanuts, well...), and the whole scenario is entirely plausible.

It has nothing to do with your sports club. That is context specific. We don't apply context specific policy to the entirety of our lives as a general rule.

You don't like kids and you've made that pretty clear. Or their crap parents.

Does seem a bit... convenient alright :D

But yeah, some people are like that, very rigid when the rules suit them. I'm Garda vetted for three different positions to work with children and vulnerable adults, and that still means fannyadams in practical terms, it just means I don't have any convictions, or as strobe alluded to earlier, it seems more important for insurance purposes than child and vulnerable adult protection policies.

Truth be told, I reckon anyone who wouldn't intervene in that situation is quite comfortable with their decision not to intervene or interfere, and any justifications about child protection, accusations of inappropriate behaviour or any of the rest of it just sound rather silly and almost like they're trying to justify the fact they simply wouldn't want to involve themselves in that situation.

I wouldn't judge them in any negative way for it, silly to be calling them all sorts, and unlikely to change their attitudes. I just think it's equally silly is all to hear grown-ups coming out with that sort of immature nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

Apologies for the length of the post! But I think it's important for those who wouldn't intervene to help a lost child to read it.

"James Bulger, the two-year-old allegedly beaten to death in Bootle, Merseyside, was spotted by passers-by in a distressed state being dragged along by two children, but nobody stopped to intervene, Preston crown court heard yesterday.

On the fourth day of the trial of two boys, aged 11, who deny counts of murder and attempted abduction, the jury heard evidence from a succession of witnesses relating to the movements of James after he left the New Strand shopping centre on February 12 having been separated from his mother.

Some witnesses said they saw the toddler crying and upset, but did not act because they assumed the two boys with him were relatives.

Kathleen Richardson said she cried out in anger when she saw how roughly a baby was being treated by two older boys. She was on the 67a bus travelling home.

At about 3.50pm, as the bus reached a roundabout about a mile from the New Strand, she saw out of the bus window two boys with a young child between them.

The boys were holding the child's hands. One let go as the other swung the child high above his shoulder. She saw the child's white shoes as he came up.

'I shouted out in the bus: 'What the hell are those kids doing to that poor child! What kind of friggin' parents have they got to let them out with a child like that?'

Under cross-examination, Mrs Richardson added: 'They were being rough with him. That's what made me shout out. It will never leave me because it upset me so much.'

A driver with a dry cleaning firm, Mark Pimblett, said he saw three boys at the roundabout while on his deliveries. Two boys appeared to be dragging the third younger one who was 'trying to dig in'.

As he drove off, Mr Pimblett looked in his mirror and saw one of the older boys kick the child under his right arm. 'It wasn't like a full blast kick, it was more like to persuade him to come on,' he said.

David Keay, a cab driver aged 33, was on the taxi rank outside the New Strand when he saw two boys with a younger child. 'One of the boys had him by the arm, pulling him up, and then he sort of held him up. He just pulled him up and lifted him up and put his arms around him.'

Lorna Brown cried in the witness box as she told the jury how she had watched a little boy being picked up by one of two older boys. When he was set down again, she noticed he was injured.

'He had a fresh bump on his forehead. It was a little speckly mark in the centre of his forehead.'

She walked on, then back in their direction but they had gone. 'I just wondered if the little boy was okay,' she said.

David Turner, QC, defending one of the accused, said: 'You were a little uneasy but not sufficiently uneasy to intervene.'

Mrs Brown replied: 'That's right.'

Earlier, the court heard that by the time James had reached the Leeds and Liverpool canal, a quarter of a mile from the New Strand, he was in a distressed condition. Malcolm Walton said he saw a child, whom he later identified as James, clearly upset. 'He was crying his eyes out.'

Pauline Murphy saw a child holding hands with an older boy in a beige coat. When the older boy let go of his hand, the child tried to run away but was brought back by a second boy wearing a dark coat.

'The little boy looked confused. He didn't know what was going on. I just thought they were friends or something. The little boy didn't seem to mind. I thought they were just relatives."

And YES I realise that it's a completely different situation, and that many of those who wouldn't intervene when the child looked lost but happy enough, would in fact intervene if the child was clearly in distress.

But by walking on by, you could be allowing for a situation to happen where the child does fall into harms way. How could you forgive yourself for that?

As a parent, I honestly believe most people are good. I don't believe in paedos/psychos lurking around every corner, just waiting for an unattended child. It's a total exception.

And I'm not using the "as a parent" thing as an argument that I've only understood this since becoming a parent - I've helped unattended children on several occasions long before I became a mother. I'm sure most other non-parents can understand the concept too ... it's just being a normal member of society. By the way, as it happens, I wouldn't describe myself as someone who likes children. I love my son to bits, but I'm a bit meah when it comes to other peoples' children. But I still recognise the importance of recognising their vulnerability and protecting them if they're in potential danger.

If I lost my son in a shopping centre, my main fear would be that he'd escape and run under a car (he's able to walk and run, but far too young to understand the danger of traffic.) I'd be afraid he'd pull some heavy display on top of himself and injure/kill himself - he loves climbing and pulling. I don't worry about paedophiles - it's such a rarity. And in fairness, if you were going to want to commit such an act and get away with it, it's unlikely you'd hang around shopping centres (full of CCTV) just waiting for the opportunity.

My point being that, in my opinion, most normal mothers (and fathers) would love for you to help their child in whatever way is best for the safety of the child. And in my opinion most normal parents won't mind any person (male or female) picking their child up to bring them to the customer services desk, or (in other circumstances, e.g. a child wandering alone outside) the Garda station if appropriate, whatever!

And if you get a bollocking for it from a hysterical parent, then, so what. It's they that have the problem, not you. Don't let it dissuade you next time.

I've never yet lost my toddler, but he's only one since January, and well able to walk and run. And chances are it may happen sometime (of course I will do all I can to prevent it, but it may happen!) And if you're a male, and you see a very cute curly-haired toddler rambling around alone, I can promise you I'll be nothing but appreciative to you if and when you return him to me.

I would hope that most reasonable and rational parents would be of the same mindframe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,761 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I've no interest in getting a bollocking from a hysterical parent, and I'm not really someone who knows how to deal with a bawling lost kid anyway so no I wouldn't go anywhere near it.

Also it's easy for women here to disregard posters fears of some looper parent calling them a nonce, chances are it would never happen but it only takes one time and a persons reputation could be ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

Apologies for the length of the post! But I think it's important for those who wouldn't intervene to help a lost child to read it.

<snip>

Quoting the Bulger case is a bit sensationalist, no? He was visibly injured to some witnesses, so not exactly your typical kid lost in a store. And, being female, it's likely you're not under the same risk of being accused of something unpleasant in such a situation. It's not so much a "bollocking" I'm scared of, more some ridiculous accusation that could destroy my reputation for the rest of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

The James Bulger case is a different thing to the topic of this thread. That is more along the lines would you intervene if 2 kids were fighting and possibly get done for assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Quoting the Bulger case is a bit sensationalist, no? He was visibly injured to some witnesses, so not exactly your typical kid lost in a store. And, being female, it's likely you're not under the same risk of being accused of something unpleasant in such a situation. It's not so much a "bollocking" I'm scared of, more some ridiculous accusation that could destroy my reputation for the rest of my life.

How many cases have there been of men getting their reputations destroyed for the rest of their life by helping a lost child find their way back to their parents in a shop?

How many children have been kidnapped from a shop in Ireland?

I imagine the biggest risk to an unattended 2 year old in a shop is being stood on or kicked but that isn't what people seem worried about on this thread.

I don't know. How on earth would I know a statistic like that? It seems like a perfectly plausible thing to happen though.

psinno wrote: »
    How many children have been kidnapped from a shop in Ireland?

I imagine the biggest risk to an unattended 2 year old in a shop is being stood on or kicked but that isn't what people seem worried about on this thread.

I've been lost in a shop as a child and I still remember how terrifying it was not knowing where mammy or daddy were. I wasn't kicked or stepped on or abducted, I was just lost.

A lovely old gentleman asked me was I lost and brought me to the customer desk where my frantic mother had just asked them to call out over the tannoy. She didn't accuse him of being a pervert, she just thanked him profusely, like the vast majority of parents would.

I'd like to think anyone with a shred of decency in them would do the same thing instead of worrying about their 'reputations'. Jesus, what have we come to at all??

^^^^

Different times. There was not the same degree of hysteria regarding child abductions in those days.

I don't know. How on earth would I know a statistic like that? It seems like a perfectly plausible thing to happen though.

If it scares you to the extent you'd leave a lost or distressed child on their own, I'd like to think there was at least some sort of precedent for such a view. A reputation being destroyed for life - that's quite the fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I've no interest in getting a bollocking from a hysterical parent, and I'm not really someone who knows how to deal with a bawling lost kid anyway so no I wouldn't go anywhere near it.

Also it's easy for women here to disregard posters fears of some looper parent calling them a nonce, chances are it would never happen but it only takes one time and a persons reputation could be ruined.

Is this perceived threat to your reputation more important than the child's safety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

John_D80 wrote: »
    Would you approach the child and try to help him find his mother??
    No. I'd get a woman to deal with it.
    folamh wrote: »
    Is this perceived threat to your reputation more important than the child's safety?
    Not being labeled a peado is generally more important than some kids well-being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I am a member of staff, and the amount of parents that happily leave their children to wander round never ceases to amaze. The correct answer is, take them to the customer service desk, put an announcement over the tannoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

But that's not really an apt comparison. You're comparing a 'threat' (ie the likelihood of something bad) to an absolute - the child's safety.

If I stop and talk to a stranger's child pretty much anything can happen. Most likely, nothing. Or I'd help the lost child feel better while we find his or her parents. There is just a tiny chance my actions would be misconstrued....but in extreme cases, who knows. Other people might assault me, even my death - it's just incredibly unlikely.

But the flip side is true too.

If I do NOTHING to help a crying child lost in a shop....what's going to happen to that child? In theory, anything could. But in practice, odds are, absolutely nothing bad. The most likely outcome is that the child's parent is already 1-2 isles over in the shop and will find them in a few minutes. Followed by ANOTHER stranger helping the child, perhaps one who is less in the 'suspicious' category (I'm a grown man with no children - that makes me a creep in the eyes of most parents if they see me talking to their child). Then you've got the store staff who, again, are far less likely to risk anything by helping the child. Heck, I got lost as a very young child and I walked home. The odds of the child's *safety* coming into play is very, very, very small.

If I knew a child would be hit by a car if I didn't itnerviene or abducted by a child molester - SURE, I would totally do something. But if I see a crying kid at a shop, I don't think twice. Half the time the parent is simply ignoring them while they cry for sweets. The other half they parent is just in another isle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

There seems to be a lack of awareness on how the different genders are treated when it comes to children.
    She didn't accuse him of being a pervert, she just thanked him profusely, like the vast majority of parents would.
    From my own experience and from other peoples experiences on this thread it would seem the opposite is true.
    If helping a child was met with profuse thanks the vast majority of the time, then this thread would be full of positive stories and people happy to help out.

the_syco wrote: »
    Not being labeled a peado is generally more important than some kids well-being.
    It is? Talk about wallowing in victimhood some people are doing here.

Some drooler... not even calling you a paedophile but suspecting you of being one (and probably not really, just looking for drama) because of you helping a lost child, gets to call the shots and will cause "society" to treat you as an outcast rather than being seen for the idiot that they are?
    At least ask someone to help the child or keep an eye on them until someone comes along. To just leave them because of this victim complex is absolutely awful tbh - it's not their fault.

People are very well aware of the different attitudes from some people towards men and women when it comes to children, but this is not as commonplace as some people (like to) think it is, and all people are saying is that most people wouldn't think a man helping a lost kid is a paedo, so why let the minority of thicks win?
    The thicks always shout the loudest but aren't taken seriously by right-thinking people. You only have to look at the news at the moment.

Does anyone know anyone personally (and who is actually taken in any way seriously as a person) who would suspect a man helping a lost child of being a predator? (Because those predators always do their preyin' in busy public places).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Approach in-house security & inform them.

If you get a bollocking or a dirty look or not the gratitide you expect, you can possibly boil it down to the panic is still alive in the parent, the parent feels like a **** parent and is displacing guilt for losing face, or perhaps is overwhelmed having spent a certain amount of time in a panic and still decompressing.

Although, I think one does need to be aware of one's own demeanor....I know a guy who also wont help lost kids or anything like that, and even though he is not a pedo or child abductor, he is a little creepy....he might creep out the kid or the parents.... he blames the pedo hysteria for his stance on this, but frankly he is creepy but he doesn't realise he has creepy vibe on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,761 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

As I said before, I'm awkward around kids, and would have no idea how to calm them down.

Chances are seeing a hefty looking fella with a shaved head and a beard (me) coming towards it wouldn't do anything to improve the situation and anyway we are talking about places like Dunnes where there are always lots of people who know how to handle these situations.

And yeah damn right my reputation is important to me, even if there's a one in a million chance of being wrongly accused of being the lowest form of scum it's a chance I won't take.

As I said before, I'm awkward around kids, and would have no idea how to calm them down.
    That's fair enough - not really the same as "I wouldn't help them in case people will think I'm a paedophile" (which totally feeds into the problem I think) in my opinion. Although I think you could maybe keep an eye on them or ask someone to go over to them, which perhaps you do.

he is a little creepy....he might creep out the kid or the parents.... he blames the pedo hysteria for his stance on this, but frankly he is creepy but he doesn't realise he has creepy vibe on him.

Since you mention him being creepy three times I feel like I should ask what is creepy about him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

There seems to be a lack of awareness on how the different genders are treated when it comes to children.

From my own experience and from other peoples experiences on this thread it would seem the opposite is true.
    If helping a child was met with profuse thanks the vast majority of the time, then this thread would be full of positive stories and people happy to help out.

A lot of people don't seem to be basing it on actual experience though, so much as an assumption that it's going to lead to accusations. The parents posting here all seem to be saying that they wouldn't have a problem with a man helping their lost child.

Also, just because someone doesn't start gushing thanks doesn't mean they think you're a paedophile. If I misplaced a child and someone brought it back, I could imagine I'd easily be a) quite embarrassed b) very flustered and c) so focused on fcuking the child out of it from a height for running off that I'd barely give the stranger a second thought til after they'd gone.

There are different assumptions made about men and women in relation to how safe they are to children, but I think a lot of the time people really internalise this thing of 'society' thinking all men are dangerous and read far too much into innocuous reactions.