If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sooo which one of ye has inside knowledge of when the sterling/euro rate is going to improve? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Sooo which one of ye has inside knowledge of when the sterling/euro rate is going to improve? :D

Last time the Brits had no clear winner in their election, sterling dropped significantly;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

pred racer wrote: »
    Is it just me or does the fluence look like it's sitting about a foot off it's wheels?

It is a ridiculously high car, our one has I think 16" alloys and there's roughly about 20ft between the top of the tyre and the arch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bpmull wrote: »
    How good or bad are barum tyres ?

What size are you looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I also need to know this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

My dad has been working in the uk for probably the last 8 months and the last time he was home I was in getting money for him in the post office and every 100 pounds was costing as close as makes no difference 140 euro madness altogether.

Had the misfortune of seeing this today. A lovely 151 octavia vrs dragging this behind. Seen it all now, a farmer with a vrs!

Trailer was far too big for the car.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What size are you looking at?

Ah they are 205/55/16 probably the most common size at this stage tyres are not expensive for them infairness.

I think tyre stop are still doing Michelin energy for €80 in that size. Must get some soon for the back of the civic.

I really hope you didn't get an auris. I've got this awful feeling that you might have.

I think tyre stop are still doing Michelin energy for €80 in that size. Must get some soon for the back of the civic.

I really hope you didn't get an auris. I've got this awful feeling that you might have.

Nope not an auris although I do kind of like them but wouldn't buy one really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Speaking of tyres... Had a blowout on the M1 today. Thank goodness I was near the turn for castlebellingham!

Tyre in an absolute hape, well mutilated when I stopped.

Have had blowouts before (usually after spinning in circles) but this was a first on the motorway.

Lost my f*ckin wheelbrace too :mad:

Tyre was about 2mm across so nearing end of life anyway. Was a Semperit and was less than 3 years old...

Got a free hancook and have it fitted already so its not all bad :)

Think its to do with my mileage. Last week I covered over 1300k miles and this week the trip is over 400 already. Thats miles not kms. Its only Tuesday ffs :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I dont like traffic so I usually stay back in work for an extra hour, get home the same time as if I left at 6 o'clock. However I am sure citywest is much worse than what I face.

I'm stuck on fixed houra dealing with a customer

Since I got an auto traffic has been great craic all together, recline the aul seat, have some food, be grand :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Since I got an auto traffic has been great craic all together, recline the aul seat, have some food, be grand :pac:

Lazy chungfellits. I loves my oul' Fordson Tractor! :)

€1 cornettos too. Great time to have an e39

colm_mcm wrote:

Them €1 cornettos are a disgrace. Far far smaller than the normal ones :mad:

The miniature ones are class though.

mini-cornetto.jpg
    You get boxes of them in dunnes cheap every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

The strawberry ones are ****e but those ones are nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Mint cornetto were the job, they were mint you might say!

Lad. What a time to be alive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Lad. What a time to be alive!

Instantly thought of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The strawberry ones are ****e but those ones are nice

**** off, strawberry is the best cornetto flavour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

CianRyan wrote: »
    **** off, strawberry is the best cornetto flavour.

Weirdo :p

The garage is going to tax the car for me and I'll pay them for which is handy as the car tax is out a few months and my biggest concern would be getting tickets in public places of wardens would be the same.

It won't be ready till Friday afternoon now there must be a lot wrong with it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Bpmull wrote: »
    The garage is going to tax the car for me and I'll pay them for which is handy as the car tax is out a few months and my biggest concern would be getting tickets in public places of wardens would be the same.

It won't be ready till Friday afternoon now there must be a lot wrong with it :pac:

Make sure they don't tax it until Friday. Any earlier and April will be counted as a whole month.

dorgasm wrote: »
    Make sure they don't tax it until Friday. Any earlier and April will be counted as a whole month.

Yep I'll say that thanks. It costs about three fiddy to tax it for the year :) Ah no it abit more than that but still Cheap not 100% sure but somewhere in and around 200 for the years unless emissions went up in the last budget I'm not sure.

Bpmull wrote:
    Yep I'll say that thanks. It costs about three fiddy to tax it for the year Ah no it abit more than that but still Cheap not 100% sure but somewhere in and around 200 for the years unless emissions went up in the last budget I'm not sure.

So it's post 08. We'll have it figured out before Friday!!

I'm taking bets on it being a Megane III.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Post 08 for chaep tax , in whatever the band just above 156 is
    Shift light so its a car intended for wimminz
    205/55/16 tyres on it so something small-medium in size

. Im going to bet the megane aswell

Typing all the spec into google brings up a toyota auris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

1.3 diesel astra j