Yet another death happens in police custody: Freddy Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

circadian wrote: »
    Can you explain to me why someone would need an M-16?

I'm not justifying that semi-auto rifles are any less dangerous. In capable hands they are probably more dangerous. However, if some mug with an assault rifle decides to open fire all they have to do is spray and pray.

You've watched too many arnie movies. M-16s are select fire so are not generally available. any that are in private hands are worth 10000+ and spend most of their lives locked in a safe.
    Have you ever fired an assault rifle? It's surprisingly easy compared to raising, aiming and firing a bolt action rifle.

How about an MP5? Why does someone need one of those? Honestly, what possible reason would someone have to walk into a gun shop to buy a submachine gun?

you do realise that submachine guns are NFA items? and that only pre-1968 examples can be held privately? so that excludes the MP5. again, any that are in the hands of manufacturers or class III dealers spend their lives in a safe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Lt J.R. Bell

InTheTrees wrote: »
    There's not a chance that the Justice Department would have conducted the Ferguson investigation if there hadnt been such a level of civil unrest.

The problem is that nobody is going to delve any deeper into these injustices if there's isnt a massive public reaction.

Thats just the way it is living as an impoverished minority in the USA.

Where was the rioting after Abbeylara? (who was not a criminal)

How many deaths are caused in Ireland by firearms?

How many members of the Gardai have shot people? Remember how replused the nation was when Abbeylara happened and the awful circumstances.? Was it a common occurrence back then?

Do we have lunatics shooting up people in schools?

Hell people get upty about prono magazines been in display in shops, imagine what it would be like with a Walmart ala USA.? You've seen Bowling for Columbine?,

Irish history , like history of many countries was born from the barrel of a gun. It's only 15 years ago a part of the island took the idea of removing guns from every day life. Of course there are still guns in the country. Some criminals may have stolen legally held guns. It would be pretty easy to smuggling in guns here.but , why should a tiny minority determine what really goes down. Most of us, if we wanted could legally own a gun (well a shot gun for shooting)

i totally agree. it is punishing the majority for the acts of a minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'm not justifying that semi-auto rifles are any less dangerous. In capable hands they are probably more dangerous. However, if some mug with an assault rifle decides to open fire all they have to do is spray and pray.

Have you ever fired an assault rifle? It's surprisingly easy compared to raising, aiming and firing a bolt action rifle.

How about an MP5? Why does someone need one of those? Honestly, what possible reason would someone have to walk into a gun shop to buy a submachine gun?

You could break this down with lots of things. Does anyone NEED a Ferarri?

I dont see any issue with being able to shoot an M-16 on a range or similar. I'd say its great craic. I'd like to be able to head somewhere in Dublin to do it when the mood takes me.

Generally its criminals with illegally held guns that are shooting people, no? The stuff that gets the attention, like a school shooting with a gun stolen from a parent or somesuch isnt the main gun crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

I imagine asking a gun nut why they want a MP5 or M-16 when they could have a .22 is like asking a car nut why they want a Lamborghini when they could have a micra.

My only time shooting guns was with the FCA, but I had fun shooting the BAP and SMG and really enjoyed the time on the range. I once seen guards at a range shooting Uzi's and the rate of fire was crazy.

If I could have guns without having to jump through all the legal hoops I would, and if I could own m-16's, MP5's, Ak47's Barrett 50cals etc I would, just for the craic. The rate of fire of the assault rifles and machine pistols is insane as is the kick off the 50 cal, so yep, I can see the attraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

How many deaths are caused in Ireland by firearms?

You've seen Bowling for Columbine?,

Yes. And like most of Moore's "work" it's riddled with deceptive BS:

http://www.hardylaw.net/Truth_About_Bowling.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Lt J.R. Bell

Amazingfun wrote: »
    Yes. And like most of Moore's "work" it's riddled with deceptive BS:

http://www.hardylaw.net/Truth_About_Bowling.html

I know what you mean, he did a documentary on the health care system and showed his durty commi side lol

What deceptive bs was in Bowling for Columbine, genuine question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Hoop66 wrote: »
    Anyone with a shred of humanity should.

A human being has been killed, not for the first time, by those supposed to defend public life and property.

The guy was a scumbag, so what. Are you of the view that criminals are fair game for the police and that if they are killed then thats a good thing?

Those of you defending the police's actions and putting down the rioters: just try to consider what it's like to live in an area like that and imagine how desperate you might become if you did live there.

He happened to share the same species of homosapien with the rest of us. So what ? World needs less humans by the looks of things, he looks like a prime candidate we could do without. I'd say society is far better off without scumbags obviously and while it isn't ideal they're killed by the boys in blue,(inadvertently in this case) I wouldn't make a song and dance about it either.
    Hoop66 wrote: »
    Or possibly desperation, and the feeling that their lives are viewed as worthless by those in power over them.

Ah here now. Wool over the eyes job. :D
    http://www.goccp.maryland.gov/msac/documents/2010_Crime_in_Maryland.pdf

According to the above (as of 2010) African-Americans are 29.4 percent of the population,but are responsible for 77 percent of homicide, 49 percent of rape, 77 percent of robbery, 53 percent of aggravated assault, and 48 percent of burglary.

Stats for Baltimore as of 2013:
    http://www.worldpopulationstatistics.com/baltimore-population-2013/

By the way, here is the case of Kim Leto, a bartender in an Irish pub in Baltimore. She was robbed by the same two Black "ÿouths" who returned months later to assault and murder her. No riots for Kim, sadly: http://articles.baltimoresun.com/2014-02-03/news/bs-md-ci-teen-murders-20140203_1_southeast-baltimore-burglary-baltimore-police

I wonder how many captioned t-shirts similar to "I can't breathe" were worn in her honor ?

This is one of the few sites that keeps track of the murders of white people the media rarely gives much attention to:

http://conservative-headlines.com/2015/03/52026/
    We have been working to create a comprehensive look at black on white murder for the years 2014 and 2015.

Our 2014 sampling of black on white murders is now up to 408.

Our 2015 sampling of black on white murders is already up to 77. (as of early March 2015. It's higher now)

We have also tried to find actual cases of white on black murders, in which the victim was not committing a felony at the time. We have asked the Southern Poverty Law Center [SPLC], #BlackLivesMatters, and various other left-wing groups for examples of white on black murders for 2014 and 2015. So far we have only found four in 2014, and one in 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

This is one of the few sites that keeps track of the murders of white people the media rarely gives much attention to:

http://conservative-headlines.com/2015/03/52026/
    This list also does not include white killed by blacks, in which there is no known suspect or description of a suspect.
    :pac::pac:

The 2nd of their 'principles' (the first is that the USA is a Christian country with Christian people):
    We believe the United States is a European country and that Americans are part of the European people. We believe that the United States derives from and is an integral part of European civilization and the European people and that the American people and government should remain European in their composition and character. We therefore oppose the massive immigration of non-European and non-Western peoples into the United States that threatens to transform our nation into a non-European majority in our lifetime

Quite the unbiased website there.

osarusan wrote: »

you do realise that would underestimate the number of whites killed by blacks, right? so the actual figures are probably worse.

Yes I know posting that site gives you something to attack. But the truth is it doesn't matter. Facts are not biased and there have aready been (over) 77 murders of whites by blacks this year and I can almost guarantee you know nothing about most ,if not all of them. You ought to wonder about why that is....

The 2nd of their 'principles' (the first is that the USA is a Christian country with Christian people):

something very sneaky going on here. you edited that post after (or while i replied). If you are going to substantially edit your post at least mark it as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

something very sneaky going on here. you edited that post after (or while i replied). If you are going to substantially edit your post at least mark it as such.
    While you replied. Nothing sneaky about it.

Yeah you can edit your post within a few minutes without it marking it with "edit".

While you replied. Nothing sneaky about it.

but nothing to mark it as edited. especially when the edit changes the nature of the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

but nothing to mark it as edited. especially when the edit changes the nature of the post.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057400868

I know what you mean, he did a documentary on the health care system and showed his durty commi side lol

What deceptive bs was in Bowling for Columbine, genuine question?

He should really have posted a link or something, right there in his post, shouldnt he? Eh.........................

i did think that was very sneaky of them alright. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Yes I know posting that site gives you something to attack. But the truth is it doesn't matter. Facts are not biased and there have aready been (over) 77 murders of whites by blacks this year and I can almost guarantee you know nothing about most ,if not all of them. You ought to wonder about why that is....

How many murders of white people by black police officers have there been?

Let's compare apples with apples if you want play statistics....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭DocQismyJesus

77 murders in a country tha avgs 16,000 or so. A drop in the statistical bucket and I'm willing to bet less than 10 of those have anything approaching a racial motive. You clearly have zero understanding of US racial dynamics

Terrified whitey would be funny if he weren't so dangerous

77 murders in a country tha avgs 16,000 or so. A drop in the statistical bucket and I'm willing to bet less than 10 of those have anything approaching a racial motive. You clearly have zero understanding of US racial dynamics

so when a black person murders a white person it isnt racist but when a while person murders a black person it is?

is that 16,000 in the same period as the 77? A quick skim of the post says there was 408 last year, The 77 is just this year to march.

How many murders of white people by black police officers have there been?

Let's compare apples with apples if you want play statistics....

Is every black person that dies at the hands of police a racist act and murder?

How many police related deaths are there in total in the US a year?

statistics dont lie http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/crime-in-the-u.s/2013/crime-in-the-u.s.-2013/offenses-known-to-law-enforcement/expanded-homicide/expanded_homicide_data_table_6_murder_race_and_sex_of_vicitm_by_race_and_sex_of_offender_2013.xls

3,005 white people murdered in 2013. 409 of them by black people.
    2491 black people murdered in 2013. 2245 of them by black people.

i think those stats are pretty telling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭DocQismyJesus

so when a black person murders a white person it isnt racist but when a while person murders a black person it is?

There are a variety of reasons people get murdered. The U.S. is no doubt a violent country in many respects- murders often cross racial lines for reasons ranging from robbery to domestic to criminal feuds etc. my point is simply that the amount of whites murdered simply for being white is pretty much statistically non existent.

The rage you are seeing on the streets of Baltimore and elsewhere is a result of a couple of centuries of institutionalised racism that unless you grew up in America, you'd find very hard to grasp.

Believe it or not I actually think things are starting to get better as the last institution where race profiling has been actively allowed is finally being exposed (the police) and the people in power like the Mayor and the President are no longer 60 yr old white men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Is every black person that dies at the hands of police a racist act and murder?

How many police related deaths are there in total in the US a year?

There don't seem to be any official statistics kept but it's believed there are twice as many white people shot by police as there are black people. Although you have to consider that there are about one quarter the amount of black people as there are white people. So, proportionally, twice as many blacks as whites are shot. But seeing as how black people are much more likely to be involved in violent crime it makes sense.

USA is 111th on the list for murder rates according to this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

Seems we really only care about it so much is because its Western, English speaking and we like to go there on holiday. Oh, and of course "America is bad etc"

77 so far this year! Not insignificant at all. More like alarming.
    And what is funny is your quick assumption these murders had nothing to do with race- that is what people tried to claim about the Channon Christian and Christopher Newsom rape/torture and murder. As if- it most certainly was.

http://www.knoxnews.com/news/local-news/horror-of-christiannewsom-killings-in-focus

Btw: And I am very well schooled in the "racial dynamics" of the USA. Very.