Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet another death happens in police custody: Freddy Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Gray's arrest record - http://a.pomf.se/owvmme.jpg

Live stream of the riots - http://pzfeed.com/live-video-baltimore-protests/

Some photos of the looting(from reddit/twitter) - https://imgur.com/a/ReITb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Gray's arrest record - http://a.pomf.se/owvmme.jpg

Live stream of the riots - http://pzfeed.com/live-video-baltimore-protests/

Some photos of the looting(from reddit/twitter) - https://imgur.com/a/ReITb

Yep. Your point?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

However, due to pent up emotions, there is currently violence on the streets of Baltimore today.

More justification of scumbags engaging in criminality. "Pent up emotions" yeah right :rolleyes:

Laughing and joking while looting your own communitys businesses should be called what it is, not justified. But I await the swarm of Guardian reading communists to jump all over this.

Baltimore Police say they have received a "credible threat" that rival gangs have teamed up to "take out" law enforcement officers.

Police said in a statement that they have received information that members of "various gangs" — including the Black Guerrilla Family, the Bloods and the Crips — have "entered into a partnership" to harm police.

"Law enforcement agencies should take appropriate precautions to ensure the safety of their officers," police said.

Capt. Eric Kowalczyk, the agency's chief spokesman, said he could not immediately elaborate on how the information was received or why police found it credible. He would not say whether it was believed connected to the ongoing demonstrations regarding the death of Freddie Gray.

In December, the Baltimore FBI office issued a memo that the Black Guerrilla Family gang was targeting "white cops" in Maryland, an agency spokeswoman confirmed.

The memo, circulating among officers, said a contact who had given reliable information in the past said members of the gang — connected to the high-profile corruption scandal at the Baltimore City Detention Center — were planning to target white officers to "send a message."

http://touch.baltimoresun.com/#section/-1/article/p2p-83396244/

Things could escalate rapidly. Let's hope they don't follow through with their threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

I know I should care, but then again ... his arrest record. Meh.

We read that earlier, thanks. What's your overall point with that and the arrest record etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Nodin wrote: »
    Yep. Your point?

He was just a nice guy.....maybe misunderstood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

the swarm of Guardian reading communists

Oh noes. There's reds under the bed and we're back in 1950's USA.

The Communists are coming!

EVERYBODY PANIC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

We read that earlier, thanks. What's your overall point with that and the arrest record etc?

He judged the people around him to be fit for death and crime via drugs. Every day.

galljga1 wrote: »
    He was just a nice guy.....maybe misunderstood.

You know this via crystal ball or actual acquaintance?

Noblong wrote:
    He judged the people around him to be fit for death and crime via drugs. Every
    day.

Another psychic or associate of the deceased...what a coincidence....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

He had an arrest record? So does Charlie Sheen, Robert Downey, Jr, and Sean Penn but I don't see them lying dead in a casket for their past crimes.

Regardless of the crimes he committed, it does not warrant his death in the hands of police custody.

He had an arrest record? So does Charlie Sheen, Robert Downey, Jr, and Sean Penn but I don't see them lying dead in a casket for their past crimes.

Regardless of the crimes he committed, it does not warrant his death in the hands of police custody.

One of those was making the stuff. If it was ganja fair enough.

Noblong wrote: »
    One of those was making the stuff. If it was ganja fair enough.

What has that to with his death?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭66ad

That is quite an insulting comment Nodin. Unless you have lost someone close too drugs. Can you please keep your one liner sarcastic and patronising comments to yourself, for once???

A death of a career criminal does not warrant tearing your own neighbourhood apart, rioting and looting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

'RT Livestream'

RT is just as bad as FoxNews. I'd be very careful or trusting them as a reliable news source. They are extremely biased.

A death of a career criminal does not warrant tearing your own neighbourhood apart, rioting and looting.

Really? It would seem that somebody being beaten to death, sans trial, is the crux of the matter.

More playing the victim. You and your ilk are always the victim even when smashing up stores and looting. About time people took responsibility for their actions and stop blaming it on "the man".

Who are you referring to by "your ilk" there, might I ask?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

66ad wrote: »
    That is quite an insulting comment Nodin. Unless you have lost someone close too drugs. Can you please keep your one liner sarcastic and patronising comments to yourself, for once???

Mod

Leave the modding to the mods please. If you've an issue with a post, report it.

Cheers

Just trying to empathise with a poor misunderstood drug dealer/burglar.

You seem to be endeavouring to say something in as oblique a manner as possible. Why is this? Why can't you just come out with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

There's never a Cop around when you need one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭66ad

Mod

Leave the modding to the mods please. If you've an issue with a post, report it.

Cheers

Ahh always knew poor old nodie, had special treatment goodbye boards...

Who are you referring to by "your ilk" there, might I ask?
    The likes of you, always looking for something to be offended by and play the victim, to excuse criminality.

A typical leftie tactic, engage in criminality and blame the police government and everyone else. Always a victim, dont have the maturity to take personal responsibility.

Yeah ... good luck with the sympathy drive lads :rolleyes: .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Yet Another "black man din do nuffin" thread from our resident angry black woman.Posts a couple of links without giving her veiw and just sits back.Other mods have been known to call this sort of behaviour "agenda pushing".

Bear in mind the same OP backed De'Marquise Elkins,who shot and killed a White toddler in his stroller as part of a robbery,to the hilt,claiming that White women often invent these stories and blame black men for it- as soon as Elkins was found guilty,we didn't hear from her on the thread again.

The likes of you, always looking for something to be offended by and play the victim, to excuse criminality. .

Funny enough, I'm not the victim here, thankfully. Seeing as the thread centres on what seems to be the beating to death of a man by police, and that I condemn same, I'm not seeing where I excuse criminality.
    A typical leftie tactic, engage in criminality and blame the police government and everyone else. Always a victim, dont have the maturity to take personal responsibility.

I'm glad to see we're going to have a thread without stereotypes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

66ad wrote: »
    Ahh always knew poor old nodie, had special treatment goodbye boards...

Yet another death ^ we can blame on the baltimore cops...thread.

Yer man Gray did sound a bit scuzzy though..maybe Karma upped its game..

Yeah ... good luck with the sympathy drive lads :rolleyes: .....

Why, is that yer man doing the bonnet dance (a well known death penalty crime in Baltimore)?

crockholm wrote: »
    Yet Another "black man din do nuffin" thread from our resident angry black woman.Posts a couple of links without giving her veiw and just sits back.Other mods have been known to call this sort of behaviour "agenda pushing".

Bear in mind the same OP backed De'Marquise Elkins,who shot and killed a White toddler in his stroller as part of a robbery,to the hilt,claiming that White women often invent these stories and blame black men for it- as soon as Elkins was found guilty,we didn't hear from her on the thread again.

Just another circlejerk for the OP, Nodin and others to play the victim and praise the "oppressed" minority, praising those who engage in criminal activity.

The usual agenda driven stuff, helpfully enabled by the Boards.ie mods. Given the make up of this website these days thats no surprise.

Why, is that yer man doing the bonnet dance (a well known death penalty crime in Baltimore)?

huh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Obviously, its just much easier to sympathise with an innocent victim.

You seem to be endeavouring to say something in as oblique a manner as possible. Why is this? Why can't you just come out with it?

O.K. Let me try and be as direct as possible:
    I have absolutely no sympathy for this guy or any other person of his 'ilk'.

The same applies to the assholes who are rioting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The likes of you, always looking for something to be offended by and play the victim, to excuse criminality.

hahaha

Says the guy that launches himself head long into threads like this with a pre-scripted rant about the loony left and how they persecute / silence you

You might want to take a look at yourself before talking about others 'playing the victim'

There are few on here that sound as affected as yourself and a few others who have posted similar views.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Fcuk him , looking at his past record , he won't be any great loss in the land of the free , murica

O.K. Let me try and be as direct as possible:
    I have absolutely no sympathy for this guy or any other person of his 'ilk'.

The same applies to the assholes who are rioting.

So you prefer the death sentence for most offences, without the hassle of a trial. So noted, ty.

What's particularly complex about this situation is that Baltimore is led by a black female mayor and a black male police commissioner. There are more blacks within the ranks of the police force compared to the other stories.

For those of you who may remember from watching The Wire, many young black men have criminal records which exclude them from gaining respectable employment. If they are young and with a family, they will do what they feel is necessary to earn money for their family. That means an on-going cycle of criminality.

When you look at the livestreams, you don't see grocery stores. You see corner stores. You don't see banks. You see payday loan franchises. These are neighborhoods where there aren't many opportunities for the come up.

'RT Livestream'

RT is just as bad as FoxNews. I'd be very careful or trusting them as a reliable news source. They are extremely biased.

They are truly just livestreaming. A helicopter from above and a cameraman on the ground. Contrast that with KTVU livestream which has a reporter reporting on the events. I've heard this reporter say, "Look at them, you know they are going straight for the drugs" when commenting on the destruction and looting of a CVS drug store.

ETA the KTVU livestream: http://www.ktvu.com/category/299377/ktvu-livestream-no2

hahaha

Says the guy that launches himself head long into threads like this with a pre-scripted rant about the loony left and how they persecute / silence you

You might want to take a look at yourself before talking about others 'playing the victim'

There are few on here that sound as affected as yourself and a few others who have posted similar views.

Oh look, another moral guardian of the "oppressed". With 60k posts between you and Nodin, maybe its time yous started a blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

What's particularly complex about this situation is that Baltimore is led by a black female mayor and a black male police commissioner. There are more blacks within the ranks of the police force compared to the other stories.

For those of you who may remember from watching The Wire, many young black men have criminal records which exclude them from gaining respectable employment. If they are young and with a family, they will do what they feel is necessary to earn money for their family. That means an on-going cycle of criminality.

When you look at the livestreams, you don't see grocery stores. You see corner stores. You don't see banks. You see payday loan franchises. These are neighborhoods where there aren't many opportunities for the come up.

Hang on, I'll tune up the violin

fedor.2. wrote: »

Play it long and play it right. It's gonna be a long year.

So you prefer the death sentence for most offences, without the hassle of a trial. So noted, ty.

Three strikes and you're out.
    Saves a lot of money and hassle.

Social welfare not enough?

The mayor decided to give the rioters a 'space to destroy'.
    What no one expected is what Baltimore Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake admitted in a press conference on Sunday: that she asked the Baltimore Police Department to “give those who wished to destroy space to do that.”

We work very hard to keep that balance [between free speech and destructive elements], and to put ourselves in the best position to de-escalate,” she said.

Overall, Baltimore police said 34 arrests were made during Saturday’s main demonstration, and six officers were allegedly injured.

Several downtown storefronts were smashed, and some police cars were damaged.

But overall, the most of the damage was cosmetic, and it might not cost the city or property owners a fortune to fix. Either that, or it might have been worth the calculation from city officials to sacrifice a little public property for the sake of allowing protesters to vent their anger, hopefully quelling unrest in the long run.

http://fusion.net/story/126587/the-odd-tactic-of-giving-baltimore-protesters-space-to-destroy-property/

Genius! What could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Oh look, another moral guardian of the "oppressed". With 60k posts between you and Nodin, maybe its time yous started a blog.

I have no interest in blogging but thanks for the suggestion

If you have an issue with how often someone takes part in a discussion on a discussion forum, perhaps it's you that should look into alternatives to discussion forums.

You still sound like a persecuted delicate little flower btw. Those evil feminist communists and Guardian readers oppressing you at every turn. Poor mite =(

Interesting, it will be harder for you and co the blame to police this time so. But I'm sure you'll manage to.

Surely this must be the fault of "the white man". I mean isn't he to blame for all your problems in life? Hmmm will be hard since he isnt involved here, I'm sure he will be squeezed in somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

Is there any facts as to how his death came to be ?

Could there be a credible reason as to how he died? Was he resisting arrest ?

A lot of people on both sides jump to conclusions of who's innocent way too quickly.

The guy in question did not seem to be a Saint by any stretch but most like didnt deserve to die in this way, if only it was in America as he would no doubt still be in prison for his litany of offences........oh wait.

fedor.2. wrote: »

We should all hold hands around the Spire tonight in a show of solidarity.