Brian Cowan abused by protestor (video)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

He should have beaten them off with his lips.

Nobodys going to fcuk with those badboys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

If he was exiled we wouldn't be having this debate. In fact if we exiled all out of favour politicians there would be none left after a 20 year period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭barneystinson

So no Specifics?

Good luck in the hyper bowl this year. Who are you playing?

Aaaaaaaaand.... he's gone...!

He accidentally ignored himself, and imploded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Cowen is a poster boy for the type of person you might be best not sneaking up on and then intimidating.

Cardiac arrest and those muppets would be up on charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Cowan?

What is it 2009?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

No need for that tbh.

Didn't watch to the end, but Biffo seemed to have kept himself quite mildly mannered. Certainly handled it better than I would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭barneystinson

No need for that tbh.

Didn't watch to the end, but Biffo seemed to have kept himself quite mildly mannered. Certainly handled it better than I would have.

Especially with a Jameson hangover...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Especially with a Jameson hangover...

No hangover here Barnes. Few swift ones and bed.

Already a days work over me, but tomorrow may be a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭JTL

Thought it was going to be a lot worse to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    To which he is entitled

Did he break a law? Which one?

It's alright, I'm sure my mammy isn't looking

Ah the entitled word. The reason Ireland is where it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Cowen is a poster boy for the type of person you might be best not sneaking up on and then intimidating.

Cardiac arrest and those muppets would be up on charges.

:pac: Under what law? Abusing an animal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Nice to see one of the signs is written on the back of Coors light packaging. Recycling and what not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

Agreed. "entitled" to protest means people can act like scumbags. Bullying and harassing members of the public with impunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,798 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

bjork wrote: »
    Cowan?

What is it 2009?

Cowen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I'm referring to members of FF who complained to RTE. :rolleyes:

His wife made the initial written complaint to RTE.
    There was plenty follow up wind bagging from the usual rent a quotes.
    As far as I know, RTE acted only on the basis of his wife's letter.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

While civil discourse should be reasoned, Ireland now has a system where the state has become the overwhelming holder of wealth and influence. This is not held for the benefit of the people but the further interests of the state and lobby groups milking it. To make some form of protest is allowed under law, but the instuntional inertia makes this a pebble dropped into an ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

As opposed to the "lets strip legal entitlements from people I don't like... presumably because they drive nicer cars than I do" utopia you seem to be advocating? :confused:

I'm no fan of biffo (although his was the lesser crime of incompetence compared with the willful negligence of Bertie IMO) but the pension is his by law. We do love a good moan in this country all the same

Given that you are an ever-present at the water protests where your motto is that everybody is "entitled" to free water.....you have to admit the irony is delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭nc6000

Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

:pac: Under what law? Abusing an animal?

Hilarious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Wow, I never thought a day would come where I would feel sorry for Brian Cowan, but that video has done it. Cowan is no longer in politics and therefore not accountable to the Irish people- disgusting harassment of a private citizen by a bunch of degenerate thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

He put his banking buddies before the people he was sworn to serve and has ended up with a plump position with uncle Dinny for services rendered. Not so long ago he woulda been lynched. But the traditionalists on this site love a gangster as long as he wears a suit and tie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Quazzie wrote: »
    The man did what needed to be done to keep the country afloat.

It's funny how all these people say he ruined the country when they are all collecting dole payments that were elevated by FF much higher than FG or any of the opposition wanted at the time.

how does only showing up at the central bank 2 or 3 times when finance minister equate to him doing all he could to keep the country afloat, the man is a waste of space and should be ostracised everywhere he goes
    I doubt he is responsible for keeping the country afloat.He was an incompetent fool.

he was finance minister and it's on record how useless he was at that job and then he was handed the job of teeshock that boosted his pension up nicely
    PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Those protestors should be charged. You cannot just abuse somebody with impunity. Is it socially acceptable now to bully people?

...otherwise...

I'd really really love to see the **** hammered out of each and every one of them. Knackers.

quick to admisietr your justice on protestors who have hurt nobody yet those who've ****ed 4,500,000 people are to be left alone, despite forcing hundreds of thousands of our family, friends, neighbours etc to emigrate, ruined lives, pushed people over the edge that took their own lives etc etc etc
    Nice to see one of the signs is written on the back of Coors light packaging. Recycling and what not.

what one of the sign is written on has nothing to do with anything!!
    Foxhound38 wrote: »
    As opposed to the "lets strip legal entitlements from people I don't like... presumably because they drive nicer cars than I do" utopia you seem to be advocating? :confused:

I'm no fan of biffo (although his was the lesser crime of incompetence compared with the willful negligence of Bertie IMO) but the pension is his by law. We do love a good moan in this country all the same

i'd like to see you keep your pension if you didn't do your job while in the post (ie Cowens performance as finance minister) and then as a useless teeshock. peoples anger towards biffo and the likes is not because they drive a better car than I do, it's because they shouldn't even be out driving in the first place, they should be ****in locked up!!
    PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Given that you are an ever-present at the water protests where your motto is that everybody is "entitled" to free water.....you have to admit the irony is delicious.

WE ALREADY PAY FOR WATER, ALWAYS HAVE BUT REFUSE POINT BLANK TO PAY A THIRD TIME ;)
    Wow, I never thought a day would come where I would feel sorry for Brian Cowan, but that video has done it. Cowan is no longer in politics and therefore not accountable to the Irish people- disgusting harassment of a private citizen by a bunch of degenerate thugs.

as long as he collects a pension for being a buffoon in government he's accountable to the people of Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Cowen guilty of corruption or gross negligence he played his part in the destroying this country and then gets a job off the very people he bailed out at our expense either way he deserve some form of punishment and a lot more than a few balloons tied to his mercedes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

This is exactly what I was thinking.

Streetwalker, yes he deserves exactly the same respect as any other citizen. I dislike lots of things people have done and I manage to not abuse them in the street, because of common decency mostly.

In Ireland we can vote for politicians and that's the legitimate way to express this kind of vitriol

But as this week has shown, we only get the choice of one shower of crooks in Fianna fail or the other crowd of crooks in Fine Gael!

Not exactly a great choice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

What's clear in the video is that BC couldn't give a f**k, just sorts his motor out and heads.

Cool as a very large cucumber.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Mallagio wrote: »
    What's clear in the video is that BC couldn't give a f**k, just sorts his motor out and heads.

Cool as a very large cucumber.

I'd imagine it was more likely he didn't want to say anything to further antagonise an already erratic group of vile 'protestors' and give them more fodder for their pathetic facebook video.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

"ye melted cheese head" that line did make me laugh. It shouldn't have, but it did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

I'd imagine it was more likely he didn't want to say anything to further antagonise an already erratic group of vile 'protestors' and give them more fodder for their pathetic facebook video.

It was over the top from the protesters, yes but Vile would have been actually attacking the big lad physically.

quick to admisietr your justice on protestors who have hurt nobody yet those who've ****ed 4,500,000 people are to be left alone, despite forcing hundreds of thousands of our family, friends, neighbours etc to emigrate, ruined lives, pushed people over the edge that took their own lives etc etc etc
    Yes the government are to blame for everything. Take some ownership in the blame for christ sake. The amount of self pity, begrudgery and poor mouthing in this country is shocking. The hyperbole you spout aboveis vomit inducing.

WE ALREADY PAY FOR WATER, ALWAYS HAVE BUT REFUSE POINT BLANK TO PAY A THIRD TIME ;)
    Which tax or payment do you claim already pays for water?
    I pay for my water, its my own supply. The majority of the crusty IW protestors are dole merchants......they don't pay for ANYTHING.