Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Cowan abused by protestor (video)

• 25-04-2015 7:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Just saw this video reuploaded by the Niall Boylan show (apologies for the FB link, that's where it seems to have been uploaded) showing one the Dublin Says No crowd yet again following someone around shouting abuse at them with a camera phone. I'm no fan of Cowan, but there is no call for this gutter sh*te IMO to be honest. What does it achieve? Some of these idiots need jobs or hobbies, badly...

What do you think? Is it out of order to target former politicians in this way, or did he deserve the treatment he got here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Cowen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    ... the Dublin Says No crowd yet again...
    That's all I need to know.

Phoebas wrote: »
    That's all I need to know.

Tis only gays marrying, they should relax a little...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I thought he handled himself quite well.
    However, If he doesn't like it he is well able to pay for private security or call the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I don't think the protestors overstepped freedom of expression here unlike Cowen and FF when they hamfistedly put pressure on RTE not to report on what became known as portraitgate.

Mmmm ham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

Just saw this video reuploaded by the Niall Boylan show (apologies for the FB link, that's where it seems to have been uploaded) showing one the Dublin Says No crowd yet again following someone around shouting abuse at them with a camera phone. I'm no fan of Cowan, but there is no call for this gutter sh*te IMO to be honest. What does it achieve? Some of these idiots need jobs or hobbies, badly...

What do you think? Is it out of order to target former politicians in this way, or did he deserve the treatment he got here?

To be honest this sort of thing is way beyond legitimate protest and should be illegal and classed as criminal harassment. Shower of clueless morons pretending they're 'activists'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭washiskin

And they wonder why the numbers are down at the big Water marches?

Zamboni wrote: »
    However, If he doesn't like it he is well able to pay for private security or call the police.

I'm not sure why anyone should be expected to pay for private security because of the actions of these morons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Cowan is a man's man, such sh1t is water off his back. He'll still hold court with the boys in Clara and rake in his massive pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,532 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The man did what needed to be done to keep the country afloat.

It's funny how all these people say he ruined the country when they are all collecting dole payments that were elevated by FF much higher than FG or any of the opposition wanted at the time.

tritium wrote: »
    To be honest this sort of thing is way beyond legitimate protest and should be illegal and classed as criminal harassment. Shower of clueless Moro s pretending they're 'activists'.
    I wouldn't necessarily criminalise it, but its not really protest - its just angry mouthing off.

Nobody is listening to them except themselves and they just turn off decent people who are against water charges / anti austerity or whatever.

Cowan is a man's man, such sh1t is water off his back. He'll still hold court with the boys in Clara and rake in his massive pension that he earned legitimately

FYP ;)

I'm not sure why anyone should be expected to pay for private security because of the actions of these morons

Good thing nobody actually said that then.

I wouldn't necessarily criminalise it, but its not really protest - its just angry mouthing off.

Nobody is listening to them except themselves and they just turn off decent people who are against water charges / anti austerity or whatever.

Its still harassment and intimidation. Would we be happy to see some random person at a bus stop get that level of abuse from a gang of people? If the answer is no then we should extend the same courtesy to brian cowen when he's walking down the street

They really should get a job and maybe some English lessons...

To be honest this sort of thing is way beyond legitimate protest and should be illegal and classed as criminal harassment. Shower of clueless morons pretending they're 'activists'.

I don't think a once off meeting with abuse is really harassment. I think it would have to be much more sustained.

Having said that, I certainly think there is something a bit lame about an adult just shouting "you're a traitor, you're a traitor". He handled it well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭al22

Apology for may be off-topic

If suddenly a revolution? Do politicians expect they will be treated friendly and with a decent care? Protesters do not protest if they have no reason or happy. In my opinion protesst are the sigsn that something somehere go wrong and need to be fixed or corrected, but not by calling gardai or going to court against the protesters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

He got off lightly. Cowen doesn't deserve the same respect as the average joe or jane on the street.

al22 wrote: »

If suddenly a revolution? Do politicians expect they will be treated friendly and with a decent care? Protesters do not protest if they have no reason or happy. In my opinion protesst are the sigsn that something somehere go wrong and need to be fixed or corrected, but not by calling gardai or going to court against the protesters.

Oh right, and tying balloons to a mans car is the way to correct it. :rolleyes:

It's not a fúcking kids birthday party their protesting, it's the right for gay couples to marry. What has that got to do with Cowen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I don't think the protestors overstepped freedom of expression here unlike Cowen and FF when they hamfistedly put pressure on RTE not to report on what became known as portraitgate.

Mmmm ham.
    It was his wife that made the complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

Its still harassment and intimidation. Would we be happy to see some random person at a bus stop get that level of abuse from a gang of people? If the answer is no then we should extend the same courtesy to brian cowen when he's walking down the street

news flash news flash... breaking news
    'Random person at bus stop inflicts generational debt on soverign republic nation and puts the citizens in hock for 48 billion..... read all about it ..

Good thing nobody actually said that then.

You said he could afford to, I noted he shouldn't have to. Wasn't trying to imply you advocated that though, only that I believe that the guards (and courts) should deal severely with this crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,898 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

This is exactly what I was thinking.

Streetwalker, yes he deserves exactly the same respect as any other citizen. I dislike lots of things people have done and I manage to not abuse them in the street, because of common decency mostly.

In Ireland we can vote for politicians and that's the legitimate way to express this kind of vitriol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

al22 wrote: »

Firstly, Cowen is an ex politician for a party that is likely going to be out of government for a good while yet - he doesn't have the power to change fcuk all even if he wanted to.

Secondly, what would you do if a swarm of morons started following you around shouting abuse at you as you tried to get into your car, if not call the gardai?

My problem isn't with protest towards some sort of end, but these idiots are like dogs chasing cars - just scumbags who want to abuse others in the guise of "peaceful protest".

'Random person at bus stop inflicts generational debt on soverign republic nation and puts the citizens in hock for 48 billion..... read all about it ..

Did Cowan do that. Bloody hell, what did he buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

He got off lightly. Cowen doesn't deserve the same respect as the average joe or jane on the street.

Got off lightly did he? What should have happened then? Should they have beaten the sh*te out of him too? Smashed his car up a bit? Yeah, that'd fix the country alright :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Firstly, Cowen is an ex politician for a party that is likely going to be out of government for a good while yet - he doesn't have the power to change fcuk all even if he wanted to.

Secondly, what would you do if a swarm of morons started following you around shouting abuse at you as you tried to get into your car, if not call the gardai?

My problem isn't with protest towards some sort of end, but these idiots are like dogs chasing cars - just scumbags who want to abuse others in the guise of "peaceful protest".

That's why they all have flat noses and strange shaped foreheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭mad m

In my opinion, you should be able to walk down any street without intimidation, name calling. The bloke calling Cowen a scumbag is a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

padd b1975 wrote: »
    It was his wife that made the complaint.

I'm referring to members of FF who complained to RTE. :rolleyes:

Where would you like to draw the line as to who is a legitimate target for this harassment in their private life so? The bank official who made a few loans during the boom (these fcukwits have certainly abused a few of those), maybe the civil servant who who benefitted from benchmarking. His long till its in to harass people who paid water charges as 'scabs'

You said he could afford to, I noted he shouldn't have to. Wasn't trying to imply you advocated that though, only that I believe that the guards (and courts) should deal severely with this crap

If any other citizen contacted the police to tell them people are calling him names and tying balloons to his car I doubt the police would even turn up, never mind the courts.
    He doesn't merit any special treatment.

Did Cowan do that. Bloody hell, what did he buy?

4 Banks or didnt you hear ... where have you been. :eek:

Got off lightly did he? What should have happened then? Should they have beaten the sh*te out of him too? Smashed his car up a bit? Yeah, that'd fix the country alright :rolleyes:

I'm talking about he got off likely after the damage he's done to the country. Pension, no jail time etc.. Well done with the bad language btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

And then the "peaceful protest " / Garda brutality **** starts. I'm sure they'd love nothing more than for the Gardai to be called so they can start that.

They should take them off him now.

I mean Haughey bought a few shirts and that was bad enough. But fellows buying banks is not on.

I'm talking about he got off likely after the damage he's done to the country. Pension, no jail time etc.. Well done with the bad language btw.

Good thing no one actually said that either.....

I did say that this was harassment however and no citizen should have to put up with it. Oh and that the guards and courts should be particularly intolerant of the dopes who indulge in it.....

They shouldn't be doing it. That doesn't mean that it should be criminalised. Like farting in a lift.

They should take them off him now.

I mean Haughey bought a few shirts and that was bad enough. But fellows buying banks is not on.

Thats hilarious...

thankfully boards have an 'Ignore List' ... just added you to mine, so I will never ever again see one of those pathetic responses.... :D

Thats hilarious...

thankfully boards have an 'Ignore List' ... just added you to mine, so I will never ever again see one of those pathetic responses.... :D
    Very mature.

Thank god no profits will be made from any of those banks. Wouldn't want to look foolish by not acknowledging that it didn't cost the country money............

galljga1 wrote: »
    Very mature.

Careful now or you'll be added to his ignore list. Do you really think you could handle that???

Good thing no one actually said that either.....

I did say that this was harassment however and no citizen should have to put up with it. Oh and that the guards and courts should be particularly intolerant of the dopes who indulge in it.....

I agree once the Gardaí and the courts put the same effort into sending the likes of Cowen to prison wouldn't you agree? Fair is fair right?

Thats hilarious...

And I thought that your assessment that he was solely responsible for €48 billion in losses was hilarious too.

It's great that we can both laugh, and a pity you feel the need to run away.

Careful now or you'll be added to his ignore list. Do you really think you could handle that???

I often wonder what boards would be like if you had every other poster on ignore . He won't be long getting there if everyone that doesn't agree with everything he says goes on it.

Thank god no profits will be made from any of those banks. Wouldn't want to look foolish by not acknowledging that it didn't cost the country money............

Im all for acknowledgement, in fact we even have a table from the NTMA that lists every billion we have left to acknowledge..... didnt cost the country, this thread is full of comedians
    http://www.ntma.ie/business-areas/funding-and-debt-management/debt-profile/historical-debt/

General Government Debt National Debt
    €€bn As % of GDP €€bn As % of GNP
    2013 215.6 123.3% 173.9 117.9%
    2012 210.2 121.7% 137.6 97.5%
    2011 190.1 111.1% 119.1 86.5%
    2010 144.2 87.4% 93.4 68.0%
    2009 104.5 62.2% 75.2 54.4%
    2008 79.6 42.6% 50.4 31.5%
    2007 47.1 24.0% 37.6 22.3%
    2006 43.7 23.8% 35.9 22.6%
    2005 44.3 26.2% 38.2 26.7%
    2004 44.1 28.3% 37.8 28.9%
    2003 43.6 30.1% 37.6 30.9%
    2002 41.5 30.7% 36.4 33.0%
    2001 40.5 33.4% 36.2 35.7%
    2000 39.1 36.3% 36.5 39.6%
    1999 43.2 46.7% 39.8 50.2%
    1998 41.4 51.6% 37.5 53.2%
    1997 42.7 61.7% 39.0 63.7%
    1996 42.1 70.0% 38.0 70.9%
    1995 43.1 78.7% 38.4 78.7%

I agree once the Gardaí and the courts put the same effort into sending the likes of Cowen to prison wouldn't you agree? Fair is fair right?

I think they'd need an actual crime to charge him with. Making political decisions, even poor ones, is not a crime.

Sadly, gross incompetence is not a crime.

Bertie, on the other hand.....a few bob on the horses....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Quazzie wrote: »
    The man did what needed to be done to keep the country afloat.

It's funny how all these people say he ruined the country when they are all collecting dole payments that were elevated by FF much higher than FG or any of the opposition wanted at the time.

I doubt he is responsible for keeping the country afloat.He was an incompetent fool.

Im all for acknowledgement, in fact we even have a table from the NTMA that lists every billion we have left to acknowledge..... didnt cost the country this thread is full of comedians
    http://www.ntma.ie/business-areas/funding-and-debt-management/debt-profile/historical-debt/

General Government Debt National Debt
    €€bn As % of GDP €€bn As % of GNP
    2013 215.6 123.3% 173.9 117.9%
    2012 210.2 121.7% 137.6 97.5%
    2011 190.1 111.1% 119.1 86.5%
    2010 144.2 87.4% 93.4 68.0%
    2009 104.5 62.2% 75.2 54.4%
    2008 79.6 42.6% 50.4 31.5%
    2007 47.1 24.0% 37.6 22.3%
    2006 43.7 23.8% 35.9 22.6%
    2005 44.3 26.2% 38.2 26.7%
    2004 44.1 28.3% 37.8 28.9%
    2003 43.6 30.1% 37.6 30.9%
    2002 41.5 30.7% 36.4 33.0%
    2001 40.5 33.4% 36.2 35.7%
    2000 39.1 36.3% 36.5 39.6%
    1999 43.2 46.7% 39.8 50.2%
    1998 41.4 51.6% 37.5 53.2%
    1997 42.7 61.7% 39.0 63.7%
    1996 42.1 70.0% 38.0 70.9%
    1995 43.1 78.7% 38.4 78.7%

So which bank do these figures show how much the government spent buying then selling it Specifically?

Or that there weren't exactly a long list of more palitable alternatives without adverse consequences

(And I say that as someone who's very critical of how the banking crisis was handled)