Horse stabbed to death (in Limerick)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

we're not talking about Autistic kids. And the key is "controlled".

Do we just end up with trouble kids. That have a free horse?

No, that's what I'm saying. It does work with trouble kids too but in the same environment as those with autism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

myshirt wrote: »
    Well let's get the investment in there. But don't for a second think everyone is stabbing horses.

In case you missed it in the article, the guy pulled a knife meaning to stab the other guy, stabbed the horse, the pair of them ran after the horse, stabbed it a couple more times because they didn't know where the heart was, and then stood over the horse watching it bleed out for four hours before it died.

They are being taken care of, fair enough not to racehorse level, but they are being taken care of better than some people themselves are. No need to suggest banning ownership.

Honestly myshirt this is not the argument you want to be having. With all due respect, you're after spouting more horse shìte in this thread than I'd see covering the pavement on a walk through Southill, and I'm often out there and you mentioned earlier about young men doing something with their lives? Clean up the horseshìt in their communities would be a fantastic start!

These horses are anything BUT taken care of. You're trying to paint some romanticised notions like some "Into the West" bollocks. I know SFA about horses, but I sure as hell know cruelty when I see it, and these horses are treated appallingly. I think there was an article in the Belfast Telegraph the last time all the horses in the estate were rounded up and taken away. The graffiti is still there on the wall on the way into Southill saying - "Give us back our horses!".

No, under no circumstances should any horses ever be allowed near a housing estate. They simply don't belong there. I would go so far as to say buy a hobby horse if you want one that badly, but don't allow them to mistreat animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I reckon you misheard something?

from 2013 Roscommon Annual report:
    http://www.roscommoncoco.ie/en/Publications/Annual-Report-2013.pdf

235 stray horses were seized and impounded in 2013 of which 10 were
    reclaimed by their owners. Expenditure is recouped from the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine.

Social houses are delivered by a combination of the construction of houses, house purchases or turnkey
    acquisitions depending on available finance under the SHIP. Forty houses were acquired in 2013 and 84 houses
    (1 new, 3 acquisitions and 80 casual vacancies) were allocated in 2013.

must cost a lot to get a man and hosebox in Rocommon!! :)

Was something on Drivetime or perhaps Doe Juffy. Almost certain the Co.Manager or some other head honcho came out today and said that they've spent more money so far this year dealing with stray and neglected horses than they have housing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

There is no excuse for keeping a horse in an urban area. They have no shelter, no vet treatment and no safety. Quite often the only food they appear to have is the small patch of grass that they are tethered to. Time and time and time and time again Limerick Animal Welfare post cases of the most horrific abuse of horses and time and again people who own horses in Limerick City will go on to the LAW facebook page with obscene and abusive comments.

Owning horses in impoverished communities is not a cultural thing, it's a hobby for a certain 'type' of individual. Take the case we're discussing for example. Repeatedly stabbing a horse to try to kill it is insane and not the actions of anyone who genuinely cares for the animal or it's welfare. They've probably replaced the horse with another unfortunate horse. We need to see legislation whereby anyone without suitable stabling for a horse is legally prohibited from owning or keeping a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

We need to see legislation whereby anyone without suitable stabling for a horse is legally prohibited from owning or keeping a horse.

It already exists and has for nearly 20 years
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1996/en/act/pub/0037/index.html

Of course this means nothing when no action is taken and constant pathetic excuses are made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

You see, immediate resistance to the issue of greyhounds. Always the case.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

??? What have greyhounds to do with this thread?You are not making a great case for horses in green areas so are you trying to throw a red herring in??

Of course this means nothing when no action is taken and constant pathetic excuses are made

Gardai are too afraid of them to do anything. Animal welfare are too afraid that if they take the horses, they'll have a mob outside their door. Two years ago, there were 3 coloured ponies wandering around my housing estate. Two were shetlands, one was a yearling. All of them were in a bad state, with the yearling in the worst. It had trap marks on its side, its feet were in terrible condition with nails sticking everywhere, its coat was awful and probably full of lice, I doubt any had ever seen a wormer. The animal welfare told us the ring the Gardai but the two that showed up were afraid of horses so just told us to let them go :rolleyes:
    Because it's off topic! It'd be like me talking about sandwiches...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Horses aren't playthings or tools to alleviate the irregular boredom for a shower of Duffer tracksuits . My heart bleeds for they're lack of possibilities to neglect and abuse another living thing.

It's not off topic. The key issue here is one of animal welfare, and the dominant theme has evolved to be an outright assault on vulnerable people taking care of their horses to the best of their ability. No one seems to want to talk about well to do people. If we want to have a balanced discussion on the real issue here, why are people not hitting on the plight of the greyhound. Seems to always be a convenient ommision.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

*Sigh* Sure in that case why aren't we talking about rhino poaching??

It's not off topic. The key issue here is one of animal welfare, and the dominant theme has evolved to be an outright assault on vulnerable people taking care of their horses. No one seems to want to talk about well to do people. If we want to have a balanced discussion on the real issue here, why are people not hitting on the plight of the greyhound. Seems to always be a convenient ommision.

No, the key issue here is the welfare of horses in Traveller ownership. They are not taking care of their horses, please stop saying they are. I don't care if they're vunerable. Equine abuse within those communities is rampant and they should not be allowed to keep horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

It's not off topic. The key issue here is one of animal welfare, and the dominant theme has evolved to be an outright assault on vulnerable people taking care of their horses to the best of their ability. No one seems to want to talk about well to do people. If we want to have a balanced discussion on the real issue here, why are people not hitting on the plight of the greyhound. Seems to always be a convenient ommision.

In fairness, myshirt,this is about horses, scrotes, and their entitlement to keep them

Cutting the ears of greyhounds and other such cruelty is worthy of another thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

sup_dude wrote: »
    No, the key issue here is the welfare of horses in Traveller ownership. They are not taking care of their horses, please stop saying they are. I don't care if they're vunerable. Equine abuse within those communities is rampant and they should not be allowed to keep horses.

Unfortunately, it's not just travellers that are mistreating their horses.

No, but they're the only ones where you can point a finger at a collective group and have very few exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

I spoke to a chap this afternoon who said some horses in Limerick are actually specifically robbed for order for some leading fairs. Only a number of months ago did he get back his horse (foalless) half way up the country, who had been boxed and stolen.

The market doesnT lie, why would there be such demand for these horses if they were badly taken care of?

an old saying hereabouts, she has as much value to him as a horse to a tinker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

What i am going on about is that everytime these threads come up there always seems to be this sinister undertone to them. I always read people here criticising vulnerable people, never those who are well to do. Seems to be ok for them to shoot greyhounds.

wtf, a sinister undertone, who are vunerable people, the disabled, the terminally ill, the blind the widows, who are the well to do who shoots greyhounds, on the opposite of the city last year, vets were told they would be shot if they put down a damaged pony which was damaged by who some who are called vunerable people

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

fryup wrote: »
    you couldn't get any scummier than inner-city Limerick
    That is, as they say, Limerick City.

Mod

Ye were asked by whoopsa above not to tar the whole city, so please don't. Any more from this post on will be carded - it rubs people up the wrong way.

Cheers

Mod

Ye were asked by whoopsa above not to tar the whole city, so please don't. Any more from this post on will be carded - it rubs people up the wrong way.

Cheers

Is it okay to label a whole people, like travellers, but not a geographical area?

That...doesn't make sense.

Is it okay to label a whole people, like travellers, but not a geographical area?

That...doesn't make sense.

Because it's not based on prejudice or a case of labelling for the sake of labelling. It's something that's well known within the equestrian community.

What if travellers are based largely in a geographical area?

Could one say horses in Rathkeale get a tough time, but we couldn't say it about Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

And yet this is the norm (in terms irresponsible and inadequate horse ownership) across the country. Every kip of a council estate has at least a few of these poor unfortunate majestics being left tied to a tree with fishing rope on a green area opposite knackerfest villas.

The local councils and Gardai seriously need to put the foot down with regards to idle, feral horses. I actually do know one or two lads who keep their horses in local stables and treat the horse like their own child, but they're a very seldom minority. :(
    the garda & councils dont give a **** about animal welfare in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Well let's get the investment in there. But don't for a second think everyone is stabbing horses. They are being taken care of, fair enough not to racehorse level, but they are being taken care of better than some people themselves are. No need to suggest banning ownership.
    I have always said horses don't belong in any estate and they should be collected and euthanised on the same day! no return to owner or other concessions. No animal welfare re-homing nonsense! put the horses out of their misery.

as for investment - these sort of people have more money wasted on them already through extra and alternative education, garda resources, court services, probation services, free legal aid, housing, medical care, social welfare etc etc. Now you want them to be given even more money for their mostly illegal horses??
    I spoke to a chap this afternoon who said some horses in Limerick are actually specifically robbed for order for some leading fairs. Only a number of months ago did he get back his horse (foalless) half way up the country, who had been boxed and stolen.

The market doesnT lie, why would there be such demand for these horses if they were badly taken care of?
    just shows the mainly criminal element of those who keep these horses!
    What i am going on about is that everytime these threads come up there always seems to be this sinister undertone to them. I always read people here criticising vulnerable people, never those who are well to do. Seems to be ok for them to shoot greyhounds.
    it is very sinister that people feel so entitled to own horses in situations where the welfare of the horse can never be good.

there are many more reports of these criminal types horses being shot and left for dead on the highways and byways of the country than there are reports of greyhounds being shot!

ah but our laws are not their laws!
    Gardai are too afraid of them to do anything. Animal welfare are too afraid that if they take the horses, they'll have a mob outside their door. Two years ago, there were 3 coloured ponies wandering around my housing estate. Two were shetlands, one was a yearling. All of them were in a bad state, with the yearling in the worst. It had trap marks on its side, its feet were in terrible condition with nails sticking everywhere, its coat was awful and probably full of lice, I doubt any had ever seen a wormer. The animal welfare told us the ring the Gardai but the two that showed up were afraid of horses so just told us to let them go :rolleyes:

Because it's off topic! It'd be like me talking about sandwiches...
    Always ring the council instead of the Gardai or those re-homing "charities" and stress that the horses are in areas where children are playing and the council will be liable in case of a child being hurt or killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

the garda & councils dont give a **** about animal welfare in ireland

So true. The recent Animal Welfare Act gives them even more powers that they won't use.

When a foal was stoned to death in Galway by children the GSPCA had to do the investigating. Needless to say no one was prosecuted.

Foggy lad, you should watch this video before you post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

We do criticise the well to do. Why just today we were criticising multi-billionaire Denis O'Brien but you defended him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

and the dominant theme has evolved to be an outright assault on vulnerable people taking care of their horses to the best of their ability.

Are you for real? How is somebody stabbing a horse to death taking care of it to the best of their ability?

WTF do the well-to-do or greyhounds have to do with a thread specifically about a horse dying?

What if travellers are based largely in a geographical area?

Could one say horses in Rathkeale get a tough time, but we couldn't say it about Limerick?

Not really in my experience. When you know what to look for, it's quite easy to spot. And they definitely get a tough time in Limerick. Then you take in the likes of Ballinasloe and other fairs, you get quite a lot of the population in one place, dealing specifically with horses. If you're really not fussy about a horse, the easiest way to get one is to roll up to a Traveller horse fair and leave a trailer. You could have three jammed into it within an hour.
    Foggy lad, you should watch this video before you post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭dutopia

Kovu wrote: »
    Eh, I'm a bit lost at the part

Why not call a vet to put it down?

Too stupid to realise there are doctors for animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Kovu wrote: »
    Eh, I'm a bit lost at the part

Why not call a vet to put it down?

They were from one of the many animal charities AFAIK, they never kill an animal but would let a poor horse die in agony rather than have it put down. They were probably hoping a vet would come along and be able to save the horse.