Graham Dwyer court case *READ FIRST POST BEFORE POSTING*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I don't feel the exposure Elaine O'Hara's personal and sex life got belittles her or builds a bad or terrible picture of her.

And this is important.

Yeah, she had alternative tastes, but so do millions of people. A bit of kink and pain isn't that unusual at all.

Dwyer was the weirdo. He used her vulnerability and her interest in an alternative sex life to his own means. There's no way it was consensual, it never is if there's a shred of doubt or if mental illness is involved. Her illness was separate to her interest in kink.

In the end Dwyer shattered lots of lives. Elaine's family, His Dads, his kids, his wife's and his sons. Shame on him.

His kids will know about this at some stage. It's not like years ago, unfortunately you can't just hide these things years down the line any more. Very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Totally agree with you Rambo... The people I feel most sorry for are his wife children, how can the mother explain to those two kids about their father? It's heartbreaking for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Del.Monte wrote: »
    I didn't notice anything new in the thread? There's little doubt that there will be an appeal and I can still see him walking.

I vaguely remember a point of appeal could be the illegal use of the mobile phone data. There was some ruling in Europe that he was trying to say they breached? Sorry can't remember it so I'm being vague.

For me, the fact that he lied about owning the phone and it was clearly proved he did own it proved the case. If that evidence has to be disregarded I feel the ruling would be over turned.

Anyone know more details on that or if is a possible angle? Or have I gotten it wrong and he attempted to dismiss the evidence before the trial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

yeahimhere wrote: »
    I vaguely remember a point of appeal could be the illegal use of the mobile phone data. There was some ruling in Europe that he was trying to say they breached? Sorry can't remember it so I'm being vague.

For me, the fact that he lied about owning the phone and it was clearly proved he did own it proved the case. If that evidence has to be disregarded I feel the ruling would be over turned.

Anyone know more details on that or if is a possible angle? Or have I gotten it wrong and he attempted to dismiss the evidence before the trial?

From 16 months ago

https://www.digitalrights.ie/european-court-ruling-condemns-mass-surveillance/

Shame, they put people(low profile) who
    Elaine encounter. Why is it the 'high profile' people were allowed to be except from the trial!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

murpho999 wrote: »
    The case was entirely circumstantial but it was very solid.

Why do people think that circumstantial evidence is weaker?

The judge's instructions to the jury re the
    circumstantial evidence were excellent. I was so convinced GD was guilty based on all of it that I was amazed anyone could think he would walk free!

I rem we were chatting to a (detective) garda friend of my OH's at a christening and he was full sure Dwyer was going to get off becasue there was absolutely nothing linking him to the scene of the crime. No DNA evidence, even that paint analysis of the spade found at the scene didn't match the paint on his garden fence/shed.

Same here. The only people who seemed to think he would walk free were
    Gardai I know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Same here. The only people who seemed to think he would walk free were
    Gardai I know!

No cause of death, no evidence of knife-like damage to the remains that were found, no murder weapon, no sightings of Dwyer near the scene that day, no clear cut proof he owned the "master" phone, no DNA or any other evidence linking him to the scene and an absolute certainty that Elaine O'Hara was mentally ill and self destructive.

There is very little doubt he was guilty but the case was 100% based on circumstance and conjecture, don't confuse circumstantial with unconvincing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

John_Rambo wrote: »
    There's no way it was consensual, it never is if there's a shred of doubt or if mental illness is involved. Her illness was separate to her interest in kink.

Are you saying that anyone with a mental illness cant give consent?

Elaine actively sought someone for stabbing and bloodletting on that website, her profile listed these activities as something she enjoyed. One of her partners who was a witness said he couldn't keep up with her. Her and Dwyers relationship was for the most part consensual.

No cause of death, no evidence of knife-like damage to the remains that were found, no murder weapon, no sightings of Dwyer near the scene that day, no clear cut proof he owned the "master" phone, no DNA or any other evidence linking him to the scene and an absolute certainty that Elaine O'Hara was mentally ill and self destructive.

There is very little doubt he was guilty but the case was 100% based on circumstance and conjecture, don't confuse circumstantial with unconvincing.

The brilliant work of crime analyst, Sarah Skedd, was totally convincing for many,
    most importantly for the jury.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Elaine actively sought someone for stabbing and bloodletting on that website, her profile listed these activities as something she enjoyed. One of her partners who was a witness said he couldn't keep up with her. Her and Dwyers relationship was for the most part consensual.

Multiple texts from her slave phone indicated she had lost the desire to see blood spilled

He was undone by the phone evidence!......same thing happened to Joe O'Reilly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

“I’m going to chain you to a tree and rape you,” he says. There is discussion about what turns her on and she warns, “Don’t even try to stab me.”
    “I am a sadist, I enjoy other’s pain. You should help me inflict pain on you,” he says. “Yes, sir,” Ms O’Hara responds. He tells her she is a “good girl” and if she helps him stab a girl she won’t get knifed.

On April 25th, the 083 user says he found a dead sheep yesterday. “Might go back after dark and see what it feels like to sink a knife into it,” he says. There is a discussion about him paying for a tattoo on her and another about killing someone. The 083 user says, “Everyone has to die sometime, it’s bad luck for whoever this is.” He would hit her across the head with a hammer, he says, so she doesn’t feel it and her heart is still working and he’d get “the full effect of the stabbing”.

On May 7th, Ms O’Hara texts that she has been to her psychiatrist but is “unfortunately not suicidal”. The 083 user responds that he is available to end it painlessly. “Just think, all your worries gone. I can fit you in on Thursday,” he says. He also says he knows she wants it; “Thirty seconds to put you into oblivion”. She asks him to “please stop”.

On May 24th, the sheep is discussed again and the 083 user says he was “laying low” in case the stabbing was investigated. He says he was “up flying” and took a peek and the animals had “picked the carcass clean”. “I want to do a woman next. It was a fantastic feeling, the knife going in and watching blood spurt out,” he says. They also discuss Ms O’Hara’s shortage of money and he suggests he will pay her €50 a stab. "Nice try, I’m not giving blood for anything,” she responds.

The 083 user later says he is thinking of visiting a prostitute to see how easy it is to kill. He also suggests they could find “a young female auctioneer”. He tells her he will kill someone only if he has a “perfect plan”. “Lots of people have stabbed and got away with it, why not me?” he asks.

Irish Times reports from the court, whatever consent Elaine O'Hara could be perceived to have given is completely debased by her diminished capacity to give it and the extent to which he manipulated her into giving it.

"Her and Dwyers relationship was for the most part consensual."

True, nobody is trying to charge him for "raping", stabbing or restraining her as that was all done with consent. The small part of their relationship that wasn't consensual was him deliberately killing her and this is what he has been convicted of. Her sexual preferences have little to do with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

nullzero wrote: »
    He should and most likely will spend his remaining years behind bars. The likelihood of him being released at any point is very slim considering his apparent psychological make up being that of a psychopath, which means rehabilitation to reintegrate into society is not something that can be realistically believed to be possible. I'm sure he will continuously profess his innocence due to his being a narcissistic psychopath but it would be unconscionable for anyone to make a decision to release such an individual back into society.

What about Larry Murphy?

ViveLaVie wrote: »
    What about Larry Murphy?

People like Larry Murphy will never be comfortable in life, (always be hiding) the same with GD! If GD ever gets out of prison he'd never be able to live a 'normal' life, unless he's given a change identify and plastic surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

bigpink wrote: »
    I wonder did the wife know his fetishes.
    She didn't see him again after being arrested that morning in the house
    It's not relevant, but I'd be very very very surprised to be told his Wife didn't know he had some sort of f*cked up fetish.
    He was undone by the phone evidence!......same thing happened to Joe O'Reilly.
    And the Computer, and the witnesses and the stuff found in the resevoir, and the Garda that followed it up, and the Dog that uncovered her remains and...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

My point mire was she totally dropped him the morning if arrest so that shows she knew in her gut

bigpink wrote: »
    My point de mire was she totally dropped him the morning of arrest so that shows she knew in her gut

Maybe.
    I only quoted you because it was something I had already thought about, but seems to be something that nobody wants to mention.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Did he have access to the son?Read some where he stalked ex partner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Allyall wrote: »
    Maybe.
    I only quoted you because it was something I had already thought about, but seems to be something that nobody wants to mention.

Personally I think the less talk about Dwyer's wife the better. She has done nothing wrong. Do people not think she is questioning herself enough as it is? Chastising herself for not noticing, raking over all their years together trying to think of signs she missed, full of shame knowing that a large portion of the population is questioning her marriage etc etc.
    She assisted the Gardai, gave evidence, she did everything in her power to help the investigation, the prosecution etc and that should be enough.
    I hope that she can rebuild her life and move on from this in privacy.

Frigga_92 wrote: »
    Personally I think the less talk about Dwyer's wife the better. She has done nothing wrong. Do people not think she is questioning herself enough as it is? Chastising herself for not noticing, raking over all their years together trying to think of signs she missed, full of shame knowing that a large portion of the population is questioning her marriage etc etc.
    She assisted the Gardai, gave evidence, she did everything in her power to help the investigation, the prosecution etc and that should be enough.

A few too many drinks last night.
    I agree, but mind wandered.

She may even have been the anonymous tip off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

there was an anonymous tip off???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

"Her and Dwyers relationship was for the most part consensual."

True, nobody is trying to charge him for "raping", stabbing or restraining her as that was all done with consent. The small part of their relationship that wasn't consensual was him deliberately killing her is what he has been convicted of and her sexual preferences have little to do with that.

So we agree that she consented to being stabbed and of course she didn't agree to be killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

Pity the wife, TV3 putting up photos of her was grotesque & left a very bad taste in my mouth. Shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

It's not relevant, but I'd be very very very surprised to be told his Wife didn't know he had some sort of f*cked up fetish.

And the Computer, and the witnesses and the stuff found in the resevoir, and the Garda that followed it up, and the Dog that uncovered her remains and...

No just the two phones. Had he destroyed them then they could find as many bodies and witnesses and guards and dogs as they wished and they wouldn't have a shred of hard evidence against him. I'm afraid 'It wos the phones wot done 'im M'Lord'

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^

there was an anonymous tip off???

Detective Chief Superintendent Diarmuid O'Sullivan received confidential information on Graham Dwyer, then searched his bins and found the turtlewax.

RE the Wife. I 100% agree she should be left out. I was at a leaving do, had a few more than I intended, and mind wandered. These sort of cases tend to have that affect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Frigga_92 wrote: »

Absolutely.
    That poor woman.
    Wherever she goes hopefully she'll be helped get on with her life with dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

So we agree that she consented to being stabbed and of course she didn't agree to be killed.
    that's a very simplistic view of the situation, read the texts from start to finish and your view will change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

A few too many drinks last night.
    I agree, but mind wandered.

She may even have been the anonymous tip off...

I doubt it for two reasons - I'd say that GD compartmentalised his life to the extent that his wife was totally unaware of his urges. He made that mistake once with his ex and she lived in fear of him. If there had been any similarities within his marriage to his true self the prosecution would have used that to strengthen their circumstantial evidence - sensitivities of a wife aside.

My guess is that it was his other sub, The high-ranking professional working in the civil service. Why else would a superintendent rake through a bin of a suspect? She may have known about EOH going missing but assumed that she killed herself, like everyone else did. When the stuff was found in the reservoir and her remains in location 20km away from her car, it was the beginnings of a suspicious death investigation, not a missing persons report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

ViveLaVie wrote: »
    What about Larry Murphy?

While it gals many that Murphy got an early release, fact is, if he had severed every single day of his 15 year sentence, they'd have had to release him last February with no power to hold him any longer.