Gardai Investigating Voter-Registration promo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    If you think the topic is about the no or yes side then youre being misled.

Whether the photo call was organised by the yes or no side is moot. The issue is that a member of the gardai was being used by one side.

Used by both sides .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

But all he'd be doing is trying to get people to register to vote? Right? And the Gardaí would be meerly trying to help with the voting process.

If you mean Willie O'Dea, then, no, he might be doing a lot of dodgy stuff.

But the Garda? Yes, she'd just be there because getting voters to register is simple civics, it's helping our state to function.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

marienbad wrote: »
    Both sides are having voter registration campaigns with a Garda present . Please stop pretending otherwise.

Its a bit naive to believe they are purely voter register campaigns. Esp. if you are canvassing voters at the same time. If a guard is obliged to show up then it should be fun at the next general election.

2 wrongs dont make a right
    is this still currently taking place?

If you mean Willie O'Dea, then, no, he might be doing a lot of dodgy stuff.

But the Garda? Yes, she'd just be there because getting voters to register is simple civics, it's helping our state to function.

Why should Willie decide where a guard goes?
    So you wouldnt mind if a guard followed a politician around the country on the premis of 'civic duty'?
    Thats great use of garda resources .

Its a bit naive to believe they are purely voter register campaigns. Esp. if you are canvassing voters at the same time. If a guard is obliged to show up then it should be fun at the next general election.

2 wrongs dont make a right
    is this still currently taking place?

Indeed ,and 3 wrongs even less so, so stop presenting a case as if it is only one side doing it .

Eh! nonsense yerself, the issue/thread topic has nothing to do with " getting upset at the thought of two men holding hands". I never mentioned anything about men holding hands.

The issue/thread topic is about gardaí being used by either side of a campaign to endorse their position.
    In this case a garda was used by Yes Equality to promote their position (i posted a link to Yes Equality's press release earlier which mentioned the garda and the judge (who is a proponent of the yes side).

Gardai Endorsing one side is wrong, Gardai endorsing the other side is wrong. Gardai endorsing 2 sides at the same time with some wishy washy thing about promoting registration is lunacy. Especially when the logic suggested is "ah shur let them do 2 wrongs and we'll be allright".
    Nevermind the 'community guard doing their civic duty thing', thats tenuous to say the least.

Best thing is:
    Let referendum comission promote a good turnout for whatever reason.
    Let both sides promote whatever they want.

Leave the guards out of it.
    If you think the topic is about the no or yes side then youre being misled.

Whether the photo call was organised by the yes or no side is moot. The issue is that a member of the gardai was being used by one side.
    Indeed ,and 3 wrongs even less so, so stop presenting a case as if it is only one side doing it .

Read my posts Marienbad, The thread title is in reference to the one particular incident. My argument is, and has always been, that NEITHER side should be doing it (using the gardai for their own ends). The logic is obvious:

If I'm arguing that it's wrong for one side to do it, I am also implying that neither side should be doing it. Because (as I said) 2 wrongs don't make a right.

But anyway, if you're core logic is that it's Ok for either side to use the gardai in such a manner because 'the other side is doing it' well then we'll have to agree to disagree.

And... if you genuinely believe either side are doing the voter registration purely out of 'civic interest' (whilst canvassing possible voters BTW) then you're more trusting than most.

I'm sure Yes Equality and Iona will be going out with their tables and Gardai in tow the next General/Council/European election as well. After all, it's in the public interest they'd be doing it? no?

Read my posts Marienbad,

It's quite obvious from your first post in the thread that you got hold of the wrong end of the stick. You thought this was an isolated case of a guard supporting the Yes side in the referendum. "Abusing their uniform", you said.

But as has been shown since, guards help all such registration drives when asked.

You were talking nonsense, and now you are tapdancing to distract from that obvious fact.

Read my posts Marienbad
    And... if you genuinely believe either side are doing the voter registration purely out of 'civic interest' (whilst canvassing possible voters BTW) then you're more trusting than most.

I'm sure Yes Equality and Iona will be going out with their tables and Gardai in tow the next General/Council/European election as well. After all, it's in the public interest they'd be doing it? no?

I read every post I reply to , this is the first time you have accepted that it is going on by both sides . Until now your contributions have been completely one sided .

And by the way if my memory serves me correctly this has gone on in every referendum on social issues by those opposed to those issues . It went on in my area on the divorce one and definitely on all the abortion ones .

A then we have collecting voters on the day of polling which goes on in all elections and I have heard cases of 'helping' them into the voting booth when it was obvious they were barely compos mentis .

But that is Ireland for you, And I have no illusions whatsoever . I am just asking that you be even handed when doling out the brickbats .

It's quite obvious from your first post in the thread that you got hold of the wrong end of the stick. You thought this was an isolated case of a guard supporting the Yes side in the referendum. "Abusing their uniform", you said.

But as has been shown since, guards help all such registration drives when asked.

You were talking nonsense, and now you are tapdancing to distract from that obvious fact.

Not at all I dealt with the OP's issue which appeared in the newspaper.

Whether or not they help all such 'registration drives' when asked is all well and good for you. My point is that I think it is wrong.

The Garda Commisioner seemed to be of the same opinion (in reference to the OP's post and thread title).
    "Ms O’Sullivan said it was not appropriate that a uniformed garda was in a photo shoot organised by the Yes campaign in the same-sex marriage referendum."HERE

and similarly in a subsequent 'registration drive' organised by LGBT.

"Brian Fitzpatrick, president of Dundalk IT students’ union, said the registration event had been arranged via LGBT organisation Dundalk Outcomers. A Garda presence on campus to register new voters on Monday before the May 5th deadline had been arranged, he said.
    No gardaí attended the event, which was to take place for the first four days of this week and had been advertised on social media, Mr Fitzpatrick said."

But before you jump on yer high horse, this does not mean I am questioning:
    *Voter Registration (with gardai partaking)
    or
    *A campaign by LGBT Dundalk to encourage a yes vote (or any other no campaign for that matter either.)

What I am against is ANY particular side being able to structure a campaign around the 'premiss' of doing it solely in the interest of 'civic duty'.... and USING the Gardai to further their own aims.

I don't really care whether it is 'one isolated case' or the practice is rife. And yes maybe guards do "help all such registration drives when asked". But as it can be seen, the practice has been questioned by the Garda commissioner. The case she was referring to was a Photoshoot (as per OP's post)... but extending that ... what's to stop any 'registration drive' by any side being turned into a photo oppertunity.

I have never 'tapdanced to distract' and I've stuck to the thread topic.

And yes I do still believe it is an abuse of the uniform if it's to further one sides aims....

So.. the question to you then remains.

If you contend that either side are doing these 'registration drives' PURELY in the interests of enabling people to vote (as opposed to canvassing their vote!). Do you think we will see the same groups coming out during the general/european or local council elections as well?

I read every post I reply to , this is the first time you have accepted that it is going on by both sides . Until now your contributions have been completely one sided .

And by the way if my memory serves me correctly this has gone on in every referendum on social issues by those opposed to those issues . It went on in my area on the divorce one and definitely on all the abortion ones .

A then we have collecting voters on the day of polling which goes on in all elections and I have heard cases of 'helping' them into the voting booth when it was obvious they were barely compos mentis .

But that is Ireland for you, And I have no illusions whatsoever . I am just asking that you be even handed when doling out the brickbats .

MY contributions have not been 'one sided' if by that you mean I am coming down against the YES side... as I said, the issue at hand is not which 'side' is right on the ballot paper, the issue is the practice outlined in the OP. My contention is and always has been that the practice is wrong no matter who is doing it.

If I think one side doing it is wrong (which I do) then the only logic that follows (which you are blind to) is that IT IS WRONG no matter who is doing it.

So if I told you that I am voting Yes (which I am!) but am against the practice of using gardai to further a canvassing initiative by any side, would you still say that I "have been completely one sided".

SO the question to you then is this (because it needs to be clarified)

Do you support the use of gardai for photoshoots/canvassing initiatives by either side?

And yes I do still believe it is an abuse of the uniform if it's to further one sides aims....

We have already established that it is to further voter registration, and is done for both sides.

The Commsisioner did not say it was wrong for the Garda to be there; the Commissioner said the Garda should not be in a Yes campaign photoshoot.

Which, I think, is a weaselly political bit of bullsh!t, exactly what you'd expect from someone who floats to the top of the political cesspit that is the top rank of our police force.

MY contributions have not been 'one sided' if by that you mean I am coming down against the YES side... as I said, the issue at hand is not which 'side' is right on the ballot paper, the issue is the practice outlined in the OP. My contention is and always has been that the practice is wrong no matter who is doing it.

If I think one side doing it is wrong (which I do) then the only logic that follows (which you are blind to) is that IT IS WRONG no matter who is doing it.

So if I told you that I am voting Yes (which I am!) but am against the practice of using gardai to further a canvassing initiative by any side, would you still say that I "have been completely one sided".

Do you support the use of gardai for photoshoots/canvassing initiatives by either side?

No you have not been even handed , and the question to me is irrelevant. I have not been complaining of one side and ignoring the other .

We have already established that it is to further voter registration, and is done for both sides.

Ok that's all very noble of them both. But do you accept that canvassing takes place during the registration process?
    The Commsisioner did not say it was wrong for the Garda to be there the Commisioner said the Garda should not be in a Yes campaign photoshoot.

I think what she said was quite concise and actually what your trying to conflate it into is just as weaselly. Here is the newspaper quote again (not your one BTW).

Ms O’Sullivan said it was not appropriate that a uniformed garda was in a photo shoot organised by the Yes campaign in the same-sex marriage referendum.

Your quote:
    "The Commsisioner did not say it was wrong for the Garda to be there "
    Read the Irish Times Quote again, the commissioner DID say it was wrong ("not appropriate") to be THERE (i.e. at the photoshoot, or indeed any photoshoot).

The second part of your quote is weaselling her words out of context
    "the Commisioner said the Garda should not be in a Yes campaign photoshoot."
    This does not Imply that the commissioner thinks it's ok for the garda to be at any other photoshoot as long as it's not Orgainsed by the Yes campaign". I think that we can take it that the Commissiner is saying that being used by either side at any photoshoot is "not appropriate".
    Which, I think, is a weaselly political bit of bullsh!t, exactly what you'd expect from someone who floats to the top of the political cesspit that is the top rank of our police force.
    Now who'se tapdancing and distracting? Just because you don't like the message you try to discredit the messanger.

So.... what would you have said if you were the Garda Commissioner?

No you have not been even handed , and the question to me is irrelevant.

The question to you is the nub of the thread title/OP. It should be relevant to you if you want to partake in the discussion in this thread.

Voter-Registration Promo is the thread title.

So rather than trying to discredit what I've said, when I've repeatedly stated that I don't agree with the practice FULL STOP, lets hear what you have to say in relation to this thread:
    Do you support the use of gardai for "voter registration promotions" which might involve photoshoots/canvassing by either side?
    I have not been complaining of one side and ignoring the other .

So we are both in agreement then that both sides were wrong to use gardai for "voter registration promotions" which might involve photoshoots/canvassing by either side?

More correctly you should say that after much prodding you are now in agreement that both sides are using Garda in voter registration .

So.... what would you have said if you were the Garda Commissioner?

The Garda was doing her job, helping to register voters. Her boss knew about it, and I knew it was standard practice.

I do think that a Garda should not be involved in a photoshoot or other publicity event for either side while doing their job, and I will amend our policy to state that. This is not a reflection on the work of the Garda in question, who was working completely within existing guidelines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The question to you is the nub of the thread title/OP. It should be relevant to you if you want to partake in the discussion in this thread.

Voter-Registration Promo is the thread title.

So rather than trying to discredit what I've said, when I've repeatedly stated that I don't agree with the practice FULL STOP, lets hear what you have to say in relation to this thread:
    Do you support the use of gardai for "voter registration promotions" which might involve photoshoots/canvassing by either side?

There are no groups out there that will have no political affiliation, especially when you consider how their members vote as a sign of their affiliation. If things happened your way then Gardaí would not be able to attend any event organised by a third party for fear that someone involved would have an affiliation.

Like I said, there are two ways to be apolitical, all inclusive or all exclusive. You believe the latter is the best way, I believe the former is more appropriate, particularly for a section of the Gardaí tasked with community integration.

More correctly you should say that after much prodding you are now in agreement that both sides are using Garda in voter registration .

I never stated anywhere that both sides WEREN'T engaged in it (quote me please). I dealt with the opening situation unlike youreself who is afraid to discuss the issue, as your only effort is to turn it into a he said/she said squabble without contributing anything.
    but alas ill spell out the logic again for you.
    If Im against one side doing it Im obviously against the other side doing it (irregardless of whether I mention the other side were at it.... ).

There are no groups out there that will have no political affiliation,

Actually there are groups that have no political affiliation, namely the gardaí.
    .....especially when you consider how their members vote as a sign of their affiliation. If things happened your way then Gardaí would not be able to attend any event organised by a third party for fear that someone involved would have an affiliation.
    See above.
    ...Like I said, there are two ways to be apolitical, all inclusive or all exclusive.
    So your logic is that Gardai can be apolitical by promoting both sides of the referendum in photoshoots/canvassing/voter registration!!
    Is that what you mean by all inclusive?

You believe the latter is the best way, I believe the former is more appropriate, particularly for a section of the Gardaí tasked with community integration.

Yes I do and I dont think Yes equality (or the Iona institute or who ever) should be using any guard for their OWN ends.

Actually there are groups that have no political affiliation, namely the gardaí.

See above.

Ok. Name some community groups that can be said to be completely unaffiliated, and have no members with any political affiliation, that the Gardaí could get involved in.
    So your logic is that Gardai can be apolitical by promoting both sides of the referendum in photoshoots/canvassing/voter registration!!
    Is that what you mean by all inclusive?

See you are altering the language to suit yourself. You've used the term promoting. Only you seem to be using that term. Almost everyone else seems to recognise that there was no promoting of a particular side by the Gardaí. They simply made themselves available to sign and stamp forms for people. The only promotion is in the connections you have decided to make.
    Yes I do and I dont think Yes equality (or the Iona institute or who ever) should be using any guard for their OWN ends.

Well we have a community focused police service established in this state. The clue is in the first three words of the mission statement "Working with Communities". If you want a more stand offish by the law book force I suggest you campaign for such a thing. Until then, community Gardaí will continue to work with all sides of the community, not just the ones they personally agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

See you are altering the language to suit yourself. You've used the term promoting. Only you seem to be using that term. Almost everyone else seems to recognise that there was no promoting of a particular side by the Gardaí. They simply made themselves available to sign and stamp forms for people. The only promotion is in the connections you have decided to make.

they took part in a photocall for the yes side. how is that not 'promoting'?

There was nothing promotional in it. And before you refer to the other person in the photo, I refer you back to my example of the deputy who got his photo taken with a black man and is now in trouble because that black man happened to be Snoop Dog. This is really simple. The Garda was asked to be photographed as part of a campaign to encourage voter registration. She did. The only people assigning a political affiliation to it are those who want to.

Edit: And who is "they"? One Garda was in that photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

we've gone round in circles so much i'm getting dizzy

There was nothing promotional in it.
    It was a photocall organised by Yes Equality .. with a known promotor of the YEs vote (the ex judge) in it).
    If that's not promotion then I think the concept of PR is totally lost on you.

But alas I presume you believe the photocall by Yes Equality was simply doing their civic duty to get everyone to vote regardless of what side they are voting for.

Also why is it on Yes Equality website!!!
    https://www.yesequality.ie/category/news/

And ....as per usual I'll ask the question. If you think it is purely in the 'civic interest' Yes equality (OR ANY OF THE OPPOSING SIDES) to ONLY promote registration for voting (as the referndum commission is tasked to do) then will we see the same groups coming out for the Local/General and European elections promoting voting registration... after all they should be doing it PURELY in the public interest to get everybody to register!!!

And before you refer to the other person in the photo,

Ya that's right we must ignore the other person from this argument!!! You mean the Judge promoting the YES vote who is there on behalf of Yes Equality...
    I refer you back to my example of the deputy who got his photo taken with a black man and is now in trouble because that black man happened to be Snoop Dog.

Depends what line the deputy was taking and the circumstances he found himself there!. Like my enda kenny example meeting (shaking hands with!) the whistleblower guard across the road whilst he was canvassing. Each situation has to be addressed, but in this case it wasn't happenstance. The guard didn't just walk out of work and suddenly get pulled into a photoshoot organsed by Yes Equality... or maybe she did! Or maybe she was sold a pup and told it was 'to promote voter registration'.... which is a half truth as it's also being used to promote a Yes vote (notice the retired judge)... Anyway why would you bring along a retired judge. What is so special about this judge I wonder???.

This is really simple. The Garda was asked to be photographed as part of a campaign to encourage voter registration.

It is simple because you have removed some of the detail. And the fact that you are removing it shows you want to hide it. I'll finish it off for you (the full story is in bold):
    This is really simple. The Garda was asked to be photographed as part of a campaign to encourage voter registration. The campaign was organised by Yes Equality, along with the guard it featured only one other person who is a known proponent of the Yes side. And the photocall now features on the Yes Equality website.
    The only people assigning a political affiliation to it are those who want to.

If she is in a staged photo organised by one side, it features herself and ONLY a known proponent of that side then I would call that an affiliation to that side.
    Edit: And who is "they"? One Garda was in that photo.

I think there was mention of other gardai taking part in other canvassing/promotions/voter registration things... but that's moot. If it's wrong to associate with one particular side then I think it's just wrong to be associating with all sides.

Just go down to the garda station and get the forms signed yourself. At least the gardai get on with other work, rather than being dragged hither and tither by either side to aid in their canvassing.

Ok. Name some community groups that can be said to be completely unaffiliated, and have no members with any political affiliation, that the Gardaí could get involved in.

That's neither here nor their. I don't care if it's a community guard, traffic corps, drug squad, ERU, CAB or whatever (you could use all those under the pretence of having to get involved in doing 'civic duty'. Similarly that guard could have been involved with the Yes judge in court (if the judge was still serving), theres no conflict of affiliation going on, its when the explicit purpose is to bolster a sides campaign then theres a problem. If they are being used by One side to promote that side (by having ONLY a known advocate on that side in the photo) then it's inappropriate.
    It shouldn't be done for this referendum for either side.
    It shouldn't be done for any election for either side.

Voter Registration promotion was specifically farmed out to the Referendum Commission for a very good reason, to avoid accusations of bias. Let them at it. If you want a form signed then go to a garda station and do it.
    See you are altering the language to suit yourself. You've used the term promoting. Only you seem to be using that term.

Ahh check the thread title.
    It's a photoshoot which was organised by Yes Equality.
    The only person apart form the guard is a known Yes promoter.
    They are now promoting it on their website!
    Almost everyone else seems to recognise that there was no promoting of a particular side by the Gardaí.

Ya sure, gardai out on the streets signing forms, at tables organised by a particular side (or the other side, as others have reported here)... And I suppose you believe no canvassing occured/material handed out/discussions took place either! There is promotion taking place.. maybe the garda at the table signing the forms is not doing it but they are helping to garner potential votes for a particular side if the canvassers are allowed to do their task. So that is an affiliation to a certain side by my standards.
    They simply made themselves available to sign and stamp forms for people. The only promotion is in the connections you have decided to make.
    They simply facilitated the garnering of votes for a particular side by signing people up who have been canvassed at the same time. If you don't see that then you are far to trusting.

Well we have a community focused police service established in this state. The clue is in the first three words of the mission statement "Working with Communities".

What, working with communities to help them vote a certain way by being affiliated with a certain side? I get the feeling you think gardai have nothing better to do other than be at the beck and call of others to promote their own cause (which definitely isnt the noble cause of 'voter registration').
    If you want a more stand offish by the law book force I suggest you campaign for such a thing.
    No, on the contrary I think it is yourself who will need to campaign for the opposite. The garda are tasked with being apolitical.. the Comissioner has re-iterated that. Nothing has to change as long as they stop being used by others.
    By "stand offish by the law book", if you mean impartial and follow the letter of the law, then hell yes I'm all for that. Aren't you?
    Until then, community Gardaí will continue to work with all sides of the community, not just the ones they personally agree with.

Well let them off to do their work with their community. If you want to register then go and register at the garda station. There's guards in there waiting to work with their local community by stamping the forms of whoever comes in the door from that community. They don't need to be called out at the whim of Yes equality or whoever to promote anything.

It's the explicit job of the referendum commission to promote voter registration, not the gardai. Either side 'promoting voter registration' purely in the public good is a joke. They're there to garner votes for that particular side. if you don't understand that then you don't know how politics or canvassing works.

You'll excuse me if I don't reply to all of that bit by bit. I doubt we are going to come to an agreement. You believe the Gardaí can only be apolitical by being all exclusive, I believe it can be done by being all inclusive. If you want to attach a motive to the Gardaí in the photos that's up to you. I doubt anyone will change your mind.

All inclusive to you means that the gardaí are allowed to (or required to, if some could have their way) attend any shindig to promote a certain position. By shindig I mean balloons/posters/photoshoots/canvassing on the streets/video promos ...the lot... but meanwhile our guard has been called to this event (organised by one side) under the wishy washy pretence of 'community' work or 'civic duty'!

This is a ridiculous situation which some are perfectly fine with.

You want to vote?
    Go to the garda station and get registered to vote the normal way. And then vote whatever the hell way you want.
    You want more info? Then ask around at the shindigs going on, check the internet, referendum comission... whatever. No need for gardai to be 'called out' in that instance.

Theres a Fianna Fáil árd fheis on at the moment... should set up a stall outside 'to promote voter registration' ... perfect job for an ideal community garda!

All inclusive to you means that the gardaí are allowed to (or required to, if some could have their way) attend any shindig to promote a certain position. By shindig I mean balloons/posters/photoshoots/canvassing on the streets/video promos ...the lot... but meanwhile our guard has been called to this event (organised by one side) under the wishy washy pretence of 'community' work or 'civic duty'!

This is a ridiculous situation which some are perfectly fine with.

You want to vote?
    Go to the garda station and get registered to vote the normal way. And then vote whatever the hell way you want.
    You want more info? Then ask around at the shindigs going on, check the internet, referendum comission... whatever. No need for gardai to be 'called out' in that instance.

Theres a Fianna Fáil árd fheis on at the moment... should set up a stall outside 'to promote voter registration' ... perfect job for an ideal community garda!

I've already explained that the Gardaí cannot be involved with political parties so your continuous effort to equate to two situations is wasted.

Ahh I see, so its not ok for the gardai to be involved with political parties (even in this 'civic duty/voter registration' role which you advocate)... but it is ok to be used by one side (or the other... or your 'inclusive' both) in promotional/canvassing/photoshoots for a referendum.

Is that your position?

Ahh I see, so its not ok for the gardai to be involved with political parties (even in this 'civic duty/voter registration' role which you advocate)... but it is ok to be used by one side (or the other... or your 'inclusive' both) in promotional/canvassing/photoshoots for a referendum.

Is that your position?

It's not my position, it's the way it is. No affiliation with political parties or secret societies. It's in the oath Gardaí take.