Woman drops trou - sues state.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭noway12345

Complains about prison officers.
    Proceeds to tell a story that has bugger all to do with prison officers.

Different cheek but the same arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

noway12345 wrote: »
    I wouldn't believe a word any prison officer says. I have a friend who's from Romania. He's lived here since he started secondary school. He was driving to work about a month ago when he was pulled over by gaurds, he was told he had to go to the barracks to have his car searched. My friend didn't know why but agreed to go. When he got there he was asked to come into the station for questioning while his car was searched. When he was in the station they told him to strip while they searched him.
    They were accusing him of being a drug dealer and one of them was saying 'I hate roma scumbags like you' 'why don't you **** off back to the ****hole you came from' and stuff like that. He was humiliated, when he got back to his car it was in a mess. Stuff thrown everywhere, seat covers ripped. He realised later that they went through his phone which he'd left in his car. He went to his solicitor and is going to make a complaint. No doubt those scumbags who did this to him will deny it all. Worse, people like we see on this thread will believe them because they don't know what the gardaí and prison officers are like in this state.
    You can see why people never agree to anything being searched unless they have a warrant, and as soon as they want to talk to you demand a solicitor.
    I remember they wanted to search a neighbours garage (he imported bikes from america, customised them and sold them) cos they thought he was importing guns hidden in the engines! I think some gardai watch too much CSI

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Cut from the same cloth? Ya wha?

You speakey the engalish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

In fairness, inferring she was 'crazy' and that she was doing a 'striptease' was completely inappropriate and unprofessional and so she is dead right to sue them. The bafoon might choose his words a little more carefully given similar circumstances in the future.
    It's a sad sign of the times when you can get lots of money out of the state because someone askes "Are you crazy?" and says "we can't have you doing a striptease" after you pull your pants down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

You speakey the engalish?

Me speakey Englalish fine.
    Care to explain how they are "cut from the same cloth"?

Nope..

She concedes that she her underwear came down partially due to her own error and had security just said something along the lines of: Sorry, you've misunderstood, you only need to remove.. then there would be no case, as then any embarrassment that she felt would have been 100% her own doing.

However, that is not the case here, as BUT FOR (which is the point of law primarily called on in such cases) the inappropriate response to the woman's error, she would not have felt so embarrassed and humiliated. Asking her was she crazy and instructing her not to do a striptease, when others were present is what resulted in that.

Hur Hur. Butt.

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Me speakey Englalish fine.
    Care to explain how they are "cut from the same cloth"?

Same mentality. Like to have power over people and generally abuse it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Same mentality. have power over people and generally use it in the course of their work.

Fixed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,704 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

However, that is not the case here, as BUT FOR (which is the point of law primarily called on in such cases) the inappropriate response to the woman's error, she would not have felt so embarrassed and humiliated. Asking her was she crazy and instructing her not to do a striptease, when others were present is what resulted in that.

And for an allegedly inappropriate response to her own stupid mistake we need a court case and a claim for compensation. What a world we live in. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Kop On

I'd love to know who is paying for her challenge in the courts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

In fairness, inferring she was 'crazy' and that she was doing a 'striptease' was completely inappropriate and unprofessional and so she is dead right to sue them. The bafoon might choose his words a little more carefully given similar circumstances in the future.

Yeah, I'm always asked in shops "Ya alrigh?'" [Deli woman, Grand Canal Spar take note:)] as opposed to "Can I help you?"or other civil ways to inquire if one needs service. She probably is a buffoon and all that, but I think I'll kick off proceedings to sue them for a deficiency in customer service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    It's a sad sign of the times when you can get lots of money out of the state because someone askes "Are you crazy?" and says "we can't have you doing a striptease" after you pull your pants down!
    It's not a 'sign of the times' that needlessly humiliating someone when professionalism is called for, results in a court case, not sure why you think it is.

Ambulance chasing is a problem, but this is a far cry from that.

They failed to act professionally when the woman misunderstood their instructions, choose to mock and laugh at her instead and are now being sued for it and rightly so. They disrespected her, they shouldn't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,107 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Kop On wrote: »
    I'd love to know who is paying for her challenge in the courts?

You are, of course.

Woman sues Prison Service (state), probably gets a settlement to bog off and save more legal expenses, costs paid by state, taxpayer gets rode again.

It's amazing how many people are taking the word of the prison officer as gospel. No wonder the church etc. where able to get away with stuff in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Gardai, prisoner officers, priests....

Who's next on your hit list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

It's not a 'sign of the times' that needlessly humiliating someone when professionalism is called for, results in a court case, not sure why you think it is.

Ambulance chasing is a problem, but this is a far cry from that.

They failed to act professionally when the woman misunderstood their instructions, choose to mock and laugh at her instead and are now being sued for it and rightly so. They disrespected her, they shouldn't have.

Do you not think that the prison guards were embarrassed by what she did. Easy to say they should have acted professionally but how was she mocked or laughed at?
    The asked " are you crazy " & " no need to do a striptease " think most people would say the same if it happened to them

Valetta wrote: »
    Gardai, prisoner officers, priests....

Who's next on your hit list?

The question you should be asking is who's next on their hit list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

I wouldn't believe a word any prison officer says. I have a friend who's from Romania. He's lived here since he started secondary school. He was driving to work about a month ago when he was pulled over by gaurds, he was told he had to go to the barracks to have his car searched. My friend didn't know why but agreed to go. When he got there he was asked to come into the station for questioning while his car was searched. When he was in the station they told him to strip while they searched him.
    They were accusing him of being a drug dealer and one of them was saying 'I hate roma scumbags like you' 'why don't you **** off back to the ****hole you came from' and stuff like that. He was humiliated, when he got back to his car it was in a mess. Stuff thrown everywhere, seat covers ripped. He realised later that they went through his phone which he'd left in his car. He went to his solicitor and is going to make a complaint. No doubt those scumbags who did this to him will deny it all. Worse, people like we see on this thread will believe them because they don't know what the gardaí and prison officers are like in this state.

Don't trust the Romanians - one of my mates cousins father is a garda - he once had a Romanian shout and spit at him. my mates cousins father saw him shoplifting and sure as everyone knws them lads are all the same .

Help!!!! wrote: »
    Do you not think that the prison guards were embarrassed by what she did. Easy to say they should have acted professionally but how was she mocked or laughed at?
    The asked " are you crazy " & " no need to do a striptease " think most people would say the same if it happened to them

She was laughed at by a number of prison officers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Prison guards should counter sue for her sickening their hole with a gimps of hers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Geniass

Asking her was she crazy and instructing her not to do a striptease, when others were present is what resulted in that.

Does she feel no embarrassment that it has gone from a few people knowing to the entire country?

Don't trust the Romanians - one of my mates cousins father is a garda - he once had a Romanian shout and spit at him. my mates cousins father saw him shoplifting and sure as everyone knws them lads are all the same .

Ok but what has that got to do with gardaí in the case I described ? The whole ordeal took 2 hours, did the gardaí not have work to do? Aren't they usually complaining about cutbacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Geniass wrote: »
    Does she feel no embarrassment that it has gone from a few people knowing to the entire country?

Yeah you see the problem there is that a fat greasy payout is her motivation, not embarrassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Geniass

Yes. Because she pulled her pants and knickers down for no reason.

Should they have had 'do not overly react when person pulls down their pants and underwear for no reason' training to have reacted better.

I can't imagine this happens very often.

Geniass wrote: »
    Yes. Because she pulled her pants and knickers down for no reason.

Should they have had 'do not overly react when person pulls down their pants and underwear for no reason' training to have reacted better.

I can't imagine this happens very often.

She was asked to pull down her trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

It's amazing how many people are taking the word of the prison officer as gospel..
    You seem to have no problem taking her account of what happened as gospel - you are parroting contested statements as facts in every post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Where in the story does it say she was laughed at by the prison guards?
    No male security guard can search a female & no male or female security guard will tell someone to take off there trousers, dress or any other piece of clothing apart from shoes

osarusan wrote: »
    You seem to have no problem taking her account of what happened as gospel - you are parroting contested statements as facts in every post.

Yes, have you noticed I've been doing that? Is anyone getting the point?

Help!!!! wrote: »
    Where in the story does it say she was laughed at by the prison guards?
    No male security guard can search a female & no male or female security guard will tell someone to take off there trousers, dress or any other piece of clothing apart from shoes

She was told to take her trousers off and then the prison officers laughed at her when her pants came down. They then joked about not doing a striptease in front of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Her side of the story is that She was told to take her trousers off and then the prison officers laughed at her when her pants came down. Her side of the story is that They then joked about not doing a striptease in front of them.
    Fixed that for you.