Gardai Investigating Voter-Registration promo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,366 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

They are often attending water protests. Apolitical my hole!

i didnt realise there is an election around water charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭Korat

Damned if they do...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I thought their job included allowing people do their job without being intimidated by a crowd of thugs who use violence and threats against working men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,296 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

You mean attending in their official capacity right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

No they are not allowed to take sides. they are meant to be apolitical. what they do in their private life is up to them. once they put the uniform on then the rules change
    I know a few female Gardai who I wouldnt mind them putting on their uniform in private life Ooooooooh yummy yummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

The picture was to promote the fact that you can register to vote at a Garda Station. I'm just wondering was the Guard herself told it was the Yes side doing the photo shoot, more than likely not. Also I'm sure a Guard can't just walk out of a station and get posed photographs without someone else's approval. The No side shot themselves in the foot by launching a complaint as now Yes has gotten even more publicity out of it which may have been their intention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

On paper yes but in reality it was organised by the yes campaign which is why the gardai themselves have said it wasnt kosher

The only reason they are saying this is because the no camp are kicking up a stink.

This option is open to the no camp as well. Why aren't they organising events to encourage people to register to vote? Then they could have a Garda sitting beside them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

No camp mustn't have heard about the Streisand effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

20Cent wrote: »
    No camp mustn't have heard about the Streisand effect.

Letting everyone know the underhand tactics, used by one side to dupe the Gardai in to unwittingly promoting their campaign?!?

or if there is no issue and the Gardai weren't duped

What side will the force be taking in the Abortion referendum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Plazaman wrote: »
    The picture was to promote the fact that you can register to vote at a Garda Station. I'm just wondering was the Guard herself told it was the Yes side doing the photo shoot, more than likely not. Also I'm sure a Guard can't just walk out of a station and get posed photographs without someone else's approval. The No side shot themselves in the foot by launching a complaint as now Yes has gotten even more publicity out of it which may have been their intention.

From listening to Newstalk the other morning the photo shoot was cleared by a senior Garda. At least that means the Garda in the photo shouldn't be censured because of the pathetic "hand wringing" of the no-side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

bjork wrote: »
    Letting everyone know the underhand tactics, used by one side to dupe the Gardai in to unwittingly promoting their campaign?!?

or if there is no issue and the Gardai weren't duped

What side will the force be taking in the Abortion referendum?

That you need to register and go to a Garda station to sign up. Particularly young people.

What abortion referendum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Do you not think that maybe the guard didn't know who this woman was and what her stance is? Maybe she just thought this was a photo shoot to promote voter registration (a good thing) and therefore posed for the picture. Either way I hope she doesn't get into trouble over this as I think she is probably innocent of any malice.

I agree , however the issue here is whether it was reasonable for her to do it or not.

Gardai will have to make a rule now that no guard can have their picture taken in public while wearing their uniform in case the person it's taken with has some affiliation with a political party or agenda.

I think there already is a rule about gardaí engaging with the media off their own bat. Iirc everything has to be cleared by the press office!

Thats crowd control though. Its not as if they are standing beside Paul Murphy with 2 thumbs up endorsing the basic right to water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Thats crowd control though. Its not as if they are standing beside Paul Murphy with 2 thumbs up endorsing the basic right to water.

They were signing forms.

I don't see anything in the picture about how to vote, just with a former judge telling people to register.

If the garda was telling everyone how to vote and waving a big sign saying vote yes then I would agree. But signing these forms is what they do anyway.

She is a community garda, if the community gardai werent getting involved with the community people would complain.

They were signing forms.

I don't see anything in the picture about how to vote, just with a former judge telling people to register.

If the garda was telling everyone how to vote and waving a big sign saying vote yes then I would agree. But signing these forms is what they do anyway.

She is a community garda, if the community gardai werent getting involved with the community people would complain.

The Garda themselves have already said that she should not have been there. that it was a mistake. why are people still defending this?

gandalf wrote: »
    From listening to Newstalk the other morning the photo shoot was cleared by a senior Garda. At least that means the Garda in the photo shouldn't be censured because of the pathetic "hand wringing" of the no-side.

Did the senior Garda clear it with the Garda press office? I think everything media related has to be cleared by them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

The Garda themselves have already said that she should not have been there. that it was a mistake. why are people still defending this?

So gardai shouldn't have been attending any events where they were signing forms?

I would have thought that this would be something that would have been cleared with the boss.

So gardai shouldn't have been attending any events where they were signing forms?

I would have thought that this would be something that would have been cleared with the boss.

well apparently it was cleared with her boss. it was her boss who made the mistake.

and i never said she should not have been at an event where she was signing forms. but she should not have been involved in publicity for one side. Or any side for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

conorh91 wrote: »
    Would anybody be getting worked-up if the Dublin County Returning Officer appeared at a voter-registration event? I'd doubt it.
    If they making it blatantly obvious that they were the Dublin County Returning Officer, and acting in this capacity in a campaign organised by one side of the vote, then yes, I would have a very serious problem with that.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

I think thats the Cork thing you are referring to which is a different situation to the photocall with the Yes judge organised by Yes Equality (as per thread title).

But in relation to the Cork signing forms thing, the analogy would still stand. Would you mind if Willie O Dea set up a registration desk on the street with a guard at his side? (Of course ,purely in the interests of civic mindedness etc.)

Hey I know why dont we get the gardai to carry forms with them at all times.

Youve been arrested under section 8 , btw have you registered to vote yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

They could have run an apolitical event. Simply a stall, with a Garda, the forms etc, but no association or quasi-endorsement of either side.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

20Cent wrote: »
    That you need to register and go to a Garda station to sign up. Particularly young people.

What abortion referendum?

Uh oh, I sound too knowledgeable

What's a Garda Station?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

No they are not allowed to take sides. they are meant to be apolitical. what they do in their private life is up to them. once they put the uniform on then the rules change

There is no requirement on Gardaí to be apolitical, the requirement is not to be affiliated with a political party. When it comes to human rights and equality, there is no law or rule that I am aware of that prevents Gardaí getting involved on either side.
    gandalf wrote: »
    The only reason they are saying this is because the no camp are kicking up a stink.

This option is open to the no camp as well. Why aren't they organising events to encourage people to register to vote? Then they could have a Garda sitting beside them ;)

They do.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDB41xGW8AENzPF.png

Because Garda management rarely comes out with anything of substance.
    SeanW wrote: »
    They could have run an apolitical event. Simply a stall, with a Garda, the forms etc, but no association or quasi-endorsement of either side.

They had those too.

There is no requirement on Gardaí to be apolitical, the requirement is not to be affiliated with a political party. When it comes to human rights and equality, there is no law or rule that I am aware of that prevents Gardaí getting involved on either side.

They do.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDB41xGW8AENzPF.png

They had those too.

its a waste of time discussing this with you.

So put me on ignore instead of making grand proclamations without addressing anything I've said.

they have already been addressed. hence the waste of time.

Do you not know how discussion boards work? It's a back and forward process. Did you expect people to just agree with your weak points and change their minds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

mynamejeff wrote: »
    what id like to know is who investigates those who investigate themselves ?

the coast guard ?

The organization is called the Garda Siochana ombudsman commission

This is a referendum. by their nature they are political. Whether it is considered a human rights issue by some is irrelevant. the gardai cannot show bias towards either side. the gardai themselves admit this but you seem to know better.

so because you dont like what they say you simply ignore it.