Graham Dwyer court case *READ FIRST POST BEFORE POSTING*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

Somebody accused me of saying otherwise so I thought I would clarify.

I'm not saying that at all. The media are saying Dwyer is a sex predator for being into S&M, well by that reasoning, everyone who is into S&M is a sex predator.

Is he not a sex predator because he murdered someone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

IMO, it seems like Dwyer was the type of person that probably believed he was doing her a favor and also got his kicks from murdering the girl.

He is to blame for the fallout of this and heaping misery on both families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'm not sorry I watched the programme tonight as the entire case was very unusual and as such interesting.
    My Monday nights won't be the same for awhile though. I was shocked by the programme and the manipulating nature of Grahame Dwyer. Hope there's nobody else out there like this animal but I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

She hurt his wife and kids by being murdered?

Where did I say that? I said that Dwyer and herself hurt the wife and kids by having an affair. Again, I'm not saying the affair was an excuse for her to die.
    Lau2976 wrote: »
    Is he not a sex predator because he murdered someone?

No he is a murderer who murdered a woman who had consensual sex with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Thatllteachya

Why should the media have focused more on her taste for S&M or the fact she knew he was married as the original post said?

Also the irony of being called thick by an individual who can neither spell their username correctly nor recognise textbook victim blaming isn't lost on me.

A post littered with grammatical errors accusing someone of spelling mistakes. Irony indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Where did I say that? I said that Dwyer and herself hurt the wife and kids by having an affair. Again, I'm not saying the affair was an excuse for her to die.

No he is a murderer who murdered a woman who had consensual sex with him.

The affair pales into insignificance compared to the murder charge I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 966 ✭✭✭JPCN1

MadDog76 wrote: »
    A life sentence in Ireland is an average of approximately 12 years but that's just an average ......... there are prisoners serving life sentences in Ireland who have been in custody for over 30 years.

Average life sentence I think has gone up to 18 years.

Thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

Mallagio wrote: »
    IMO, it seems like Dwyer was the type of person that probably believed he was doing her a favor and also got his kicks from murdering the girl.

He is to blame for the fallout of this and heaping misery on both families.

He probably imagines now he'll get lots of female fan mail and the Gardaí will be consulting him for help in profiling killers like himself or some such.
    Journalists will be wanting to interview him and he'll be the star prisoner.
    The guy clearly has delusions of grandeur and he'll want to make the most of his notoriety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

The prosecution case was put together superbly; the narrative with the mobile phones was brilliantly executed. Don't know why he didn't just burn the evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

A post littered with grammatical errors accusing someone of spelling mistakes. Irony indeed.

I would rather my posts contained informal English than deplorable implications about a woman who did nothing to deserve her faith and cannot defend herself from the fabricated charges you hold against her.

You are yet to explain why, in the context of Graeme Dwyer being convicted of her murder, the media should have shone a brighter light on the victims transgressions. Particularly as she clearly wasn't of sound mind and couldn't be held fully responsible for those actions even if they were worthy of blame, which they are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 966 ✭✭✭JPCN1

ectoraige wrote: »
    I fail to see why we needed any media coverage of this case while it was ongoing to be honest. There was no service to justice that could not have been carried out once the verdict was returned, there's always plenty of inches of space in the Sunday papers and supplements to delve into all the details afterwards. The drip-feeding of daily progress contributed nothing positive to our society, it only sold more papers, and must have tormented the friends and families of all concerned.

Justice can still be shown to have been done, after the fact.

Justice has to be in the open.

Particularly as she clearly wasn't of sound mind and couldn't be held fully responsible for those actions even if they were worthy of blame, which they are not.

She had two jobs, one of which involved minding children. She had a car, her own place, she was of sound enough mind to know that an affair was wrong.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

She had two jobs, one of which involved minding children. She had a car, her own place, she was of sound enough mind to know that an affair was wrong.

Your posts are going too far I find them a little sickening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

A nut case murders a woman, indulges in sick rape and murder fantasies, plots the murder of a woman who didn't even know him and you fixate on the affair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Aineoil wrote: »
    Actually I felt the same way as you. I'm glad I was not a juror on the case. I

wonder if you can not do juror duty if you can't stomach the case?

Yes, potential jurors in this case were told to indicate if they were particularly squeamish and one of the potential jurors was excused because she said she was, another said that their brother had been murdered and was excused for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

What is your point? This wasn't an adultery trial.

It's not as if the woman lost a tenner and we can say "oh well Karma is a bitch", we're talking about a mentally ill woman who was viciously murdered and you're waving an affair around as if it in someway offsets that.

No action of Elaine O'Hara at any point caused her to be even marginally to blame for what happened her, I cannot put it any clearer than that.

What the f**k are you on about?

Stheno wrote: »
    Your posts are going too far I find them a little sickening

I'm just stating facts that the media have failed to mention.

Don't worry I gonna leave this discussion I'm having my words twisted left right and center. Bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

He got life in prison. Does that mean he'll actually spend the rest of his life in prison or is there some average amount of time that is usually spent in prison before someone would be let out?

Don't worry I gonna leave this discussion I'm having my words twisted left right and center. Bye.

There's always that small percentage who enjoys blaming the victim isn't there?

The media didn't fail to mention it, it was abundantly clear and your words are being twisted into a noose of your own making because what you're saying is absolutely f**king deplorable.

eoins23456 wrote: »
    He got life in prison. Does that mean he'll actually spend the rest of his life in prison or is there some average amount of time that is usually spent in prison before someone would be let out?

20 years approx but hopefully much longer.

It's not as if the woman lost a tenner and we can say "oh well Karma is a bitch", we're talking about a mentally ill woman who was viciously murdered and you're waving an affair around as if it in someway offsets that.

No action of Elaine O'Hara at any point caused her to be even marginally to blame for what happened her, I cannot put it any clearer than that.

Ive said several times now on this thread that she is not to blame for what happened, I cannot put it any clearer than that. I'm out of this thread bye.

A lot of strange individuals out there.
    Some of those websites has well over a million views.
    There could well be more Dwyers out there.
    Scary.

A lot of strange individuals in every walk of life in fairness. Thomas Hamilton who shot up Dunblane Primary School was a scout leader. Derek Bird who went on shooting rampage through Cumbria killing 12 was a grandad and taxi driver.

I think this case has demonised/stigmatised the BDSM scene a good deal for the layperson. We all have things we like yet wouldn't particularly want everyone to know. Some people have open relationships and the likes. I wouldn't know much about BDSM but I'd imagine for the most part it's role playing and is within guidelines and boundaries etc, this seems to have gone a lot further than it ever should have owing to one party being far more controlling than the norm and the other being a vunerable type. I wouldn't judge people for being into the lifestyle though, so long as it's all consensual, safe and above board.

Ive said several times now on this thread that she is not to blame for what happened, I cannot put it any clearer than that. I'm out of this thread bye.

Then what is the relevance of the affair you keep bringing up?

I think the point the kidchameleon is making is that Ms O'Hara was deemed well enough to work with minding children so was of sound enough mind to know what was going on in other respects. That seems to be the point he's getting at.

Omackeral wrote: »
    I think the point the kidchameleon is making is that Ms O'Hara was deemed well enough to work with minding children so was of sound enough mind to know what was going on in other respects. That seems to be the point he's getting at.

I know but I want to know why he considers that relevant to her murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I would consider myself to have a strong stomach. The case gave me the chills, and made me sick to the stomach. I am sure even in years to come, I won't shake the feeling this case gives me. The fella was cold and calculating, and completely lacking in any remorse. I would not wish what Elaine had gone through on my worst enemy. It sadden that life in this country could mean service a term of less than 10 years, even in a horrifying case.
    This is not even a case of a violent drunk who stabbed a partner. This is someone who takes great pleasure in exerting control over other with a twisted malevolence. A person like that can't be helped because, they won't accept treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

TV3 - where class, taste and dignity go to die.