Gardai Investigating Voter-Registration promo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's not valid. It's a human rights issue, not a political one.
    Unfortunately for the time being in this little country of ours, it's both.
    You have to look at it this way - the Gardai are tasked with upholding the law. If the force were to support a vote to go one way, and the vote went the other, what do you think that does for the public confidence in the ability of Gardai to do their job - upholding laws that the force as a whole publicly disagrees with?
    while i agree that it is a human rights issue, urging people to register to vote is a political act. the gardai should be apolitical.
    Actually I don't see the act of urging people to register to be wrong at all. It's impartial. OK, so it's getting involved in the political sphere, though it's not interfering in politics.

Along with the president, I consider one the core functions of the defence forces to be the support and promotion of the democratic process, and encouraging people to register falls well within that function.

That's just my opinion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

seamus wrote: »

Actually I don't see the act of urging people to register to be wrong at all. It's impartial. OK, so it's getting involved in the political sphere, though it's not interfering in politics.

Along with the president, I consider one the core functions of the defence forces to be the support and promotion of the democratic process, and encouraging people to register falls well within that function.

That's just my opinion though.

Why is it part of the gardais brief to encourage people to register? as i asked earlier, when have they done this for previous referenda and elections?

All this has done is given the No side another opportunity to play the victim card. Its just more ammunition for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

whether you agree or not is irrelevant. they shouldnt have done it.

And I disagree and disagree it was political? Shall we go round in circles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

floggg wrote: »
    And I disagree. Shall we go round in circles?

Whether you disagree or not doesn't make it any less wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Why is it part of the gardais brief to encourage people to register? as i asked earlier, when have they done this for previous referenda and elections?

All this has done is given the No side another opportunity to play the victim card. Its just more ammunition for them.
    Nail on head.

bjork wrote: »
    Whether you disagree or not doesn't make it any less wrong

Edited. I disagree it's political - which is ultimately a matter of opinion.

We accept that politicans can appear in different capacities at events. If Michael Martin lends his face to a charity event, it doesn't become a FF event.

Same principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

We accept that politicans can appear in different capacities at events. If Michael Martin lends his face to a charity event, it doesn't become a FF event.

Same principle.
    Michael Martin is not the police.

Same principle.

dont be disingenuous. this was not a charity event. this was an event connected to a referendum

Why is it part of the gardais brief to encourage people to register?
    I explained why I think it is. :)
    as i asked earlier, when have they done this for previous referenda and elections?

I don't disagree at all. And neither do the Garda press office.

The Garda PR guys have been working overtime in recent months, and no doubt someone saw this as a great opportunity to build Garda PR within the student bodies, where that relationship is pretty rocky. But it was a bit of a bum call.

Ultimately though I don't think it will hurt them. We all know who complained about this and why they complained, and even though they are right I don't think this will damage the Gardai at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,683 ✭✭✭✭listermint

But no one would believe it because they are not the ones being victimised.....

I explained why I think it is. :)

actually you didnt.

you said

that doesnt explain why it is the duty of the gardai to encourage people to vote. It simply is something they shouldnt be involved in. even if they did it in an impartial way. they are meant to be not just impartial but also apolitical.

listermint wrote: »
    But no one would believe it because they are not the ones being victimised.....

wait until you hear the spin they will inevitably put on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I don't think the Garda was in the wrong at all for jumping in for a photo op. Bear in mind that An Garda Síochána were previously announced as Employer of the Year at 2010 Gay and Lesbian Awards. Was what the did a political act? You could say no, it was just our national police force standing for equality as they've done for years.

smash wrote: »
    I don't think the Garda was in the wrong at all for jumping in for a photo op. Bear in mind that An Garda Síochána were previously announced as Employer of the Year at 2010 Gay and Lesbian Awards. Was what the did a political act? You could say no, it was just our national police force standing for equality as they've done for years.

or you could say they won a public vote.

Either way it has nothing to do with a referendum

what they did was overtly political. the gardai themselves have admitted this already.

actually you didnt.

you said

that doesnt explain why it is the duty of the gardai to encourage people to vote. It simply is something they shouldnt be involved in. even if they did it in an impartial way. they are meant to be not just impartial but also apolitical.
    I also said this:

It is not the function of the gardai to promote the democratic process. they exist entirely outside of it. or at least they should. Certainly they should be protecting it where there are attempts to distort it by illegal means but that is the end of their remit.

The Gardai can state that they knew it was an event organised by the yes side an as such they deployed staff in case there was any altercations. The Garda herself can state that she did what she did of her own accord. I doubt she'll get in much trouble for it. Or at least in my opinion, she shouldn't.

while she is wearing the uniform nothing she does is of her own account. People are still trying to excuse when even the gardai admit they are wrong. unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,683 ✭✭✭✭listermint

while she is wearing the uniform nothing she does is of her own account. People are still trying to excuse when even the gardai admit they are wrong. unbelievable.

Meh,

Any thoughts on Gardai being integral to the voter registration process?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

... the democratic process. they exist entirely outside of it.

That is a good aspiration. But he doesn't reflect the current reality. The government appoint all top ranks of the ags. The top ranks appoint the middle. So it is very much a politicised operation.

The same with the judiciary. They talk a big game in this country about the 'seperation of powers' and every single judge gets their job from the government.

Well yes people will excuse what she's done. Certainly everyone on the yes side will, because the yes side are of the opinion that this is a human rights issue. So fair play to the Gardai for standing up for human rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Well yes people will excuse what she's done. Certainly everyone on the yes side will, because the yes side are of the opinion that this is a human rights issue. So fair play to the Gardai for standing up for human rights.

No, I think what happened was wrong, and I'm very much on the Yes side.

I think that it will be blown out of all proportion though, and that is important for me - the scale of the protest is not at all proportionate to the scale of the mistake.

osarusan wrote: »
    No, I think what happened was wrong, and I'm very much on the Yes side.

I think that it will be blown out of all proportion though, and that is important for me - the scale of the protest is not at all proportionate to the scale of the mistake.

Im not sure what scale of protest there is?

Is this just IONA throwing their toys out of the basket again?

I wouldnt have heard about this only for this thread. So 'scale' doesnt really fit i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

listermint wrote: »
    I wouldnt have heard about this only for this thread. So 'scale' doesnt really fit i think.
    From the OP:
    Mothers and Fathers Matter campaign spokesman Keith Mills described the presence of a uniformed garda at a yes campaign event as a “sinister development” and a blatant attempt to politicise the gardaí.

although maybe the word I should have used is 'reaction' rather than 'protest'.

osarusan wrote: »
    From the OP:

although maybe the word I should have used is 'reaction' rather than 'protest'.

So 1 guy makes a statement and Zzzzzzz

Michael Martin is not the police.

No, in this instance Michael Martin is the judge.

Just because she is part of the campaign, it doesn't mean that everything she does is part of the campaign.

She's promoting registration. Not a vote one way or the other.

Why is there anything with wrong with them highlighting the ability to register - a service they facilitate.

Would you be outraged if they drew attention to the fact that they provided vetting services?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

These are community policing Gardaí. They get involved with events organised by travellers, the elderly, lgbt, immigrants, educational groups and many more. They do so at the request of the groups themselves for various reasons. You ask why they have not been seen doing this for previous referenda. Can you say how many times they have been asked to do something similar? It's also worth pointing out that this isn't the only place where Gardaí were set up to help people register.

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/578941120559890432

It just so happens that one of them, just one, set up at a table next to an lgbt activist.

^^ I don't see any Yes badges on the table?!? Are they in the blue bag?