Today I'm wearing... ***NO quoting photos***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,727 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

This is even better than I could have hoped...its stunning, its 44mm but only 11mm and so light.

and you cant beat the sound of a manual wind,

How many winds would I need ?

IMG_0528_zps46e20beb.jpg

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭Mredsnapper

How many winds depends on the technique. 22-24 long winds between thumb and forefinger for my Speedy Pro from empty. You'll know when to stop when it starts tightening. Just don't force past that point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lardy

Only found this forum the other day...

This is my Eco-Drive on a canvas NATO strap. The strap will be swapped out for a leather NATO after Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Got a new black leather with white stitching strap for the Sinn 657s.
    Much happier with it now. I liked the rallye style strap as well to mix it up a bit.

955D3BEE09CB414190A6E07303F37DF5-0000345144-0003706651-00800L-110B64C943BA4C32901523BB72F9F406.jpg

B0683968A0CC4EE98394FCB14A01B654-0000345144-0003706650-00800L-56CF30EB2BFE40ABABE8E1CF0A572B39.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lardy

Gave my 1977 Military Timex a run out today. Think I'm going to put it onto a retro leather strap with leather wrist protector. Two things that I don't really like are the fact it's a little small, and you have to keep spinning the hands to change the date!...

IMG_0176_zpsod3bdn7a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Anjobe

Lardy wrote: »
    Gave my 1977 Military Timex a run out today. Think I'm going to put it onto a retro leather strap with leather wrist protector. Two things that I don't really like are the fact it's a little small, and you have to keep spinning the hands to change the date!...

That takes me back, I had one those as my first watch. It was a present for my ninth birthday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭fulladapipes

Through some piece of inter web flukery, I have managed to sell a watch I didn't want to sell, but acquired a watch that has been on my (mostly unobtainable) list for a long time. Very pleased with it.

DSCF1834_zpsu0aylhoe.jpg
    DSCF1829_zpsjhpzelvv.jpg
    IMG_20150307_160508_zpsgnhdy8lf.jpg
    IMG_20150307_160529_edit1_zpsoqlhpizu.jpg

That's a real stunner Fdp.

Thanks. It's a plain bezel black index Datejust II (as I'm sure you already know!). It looks good in the flesh. Bought it unseen, but it's new. Had to divest myself of my Speedmaster 9300 though. No regrets. Will get a Speedy Pro in due course - and then that's me done. For ever. Possibly.

" .....and then that's me done. For ever. Possibly."

that's what I keep telling myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

In Marshall Zhukov's office this evening. The German High Command surrendered in the room next door.
    14042015.jpg

In Marshall Zhukov's office this evening. The German High Command surrendered in the room next door.

Really nice CB, I miss mine.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,336 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

10zqski.jpg

1985 Longines VHP. Since I repaired and regulated it a few months ago it's neither gained nor lost a second. :eek: Very High Precision indeed.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭rwbug

Q9DWPZe.jpg?1

Hamilton Khaki King that used to be my daily watch until it started running too fast, gaining up to a minute a day. I really liked the watch before that and it could take a few knocks. Eventually fixed the problem of it running too fast by buying a cheap demagnetiser like below.

HKeX2vZ.jpg?1

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

http://archive.wired.com/wired/archive/7.01/ebay.html

Slightly off topic, from 1999, but I reckon it's worth a read. Wibbs if you think it needs to be moved / deleted, feel free.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,336 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'll leave it B, might be a good topic for a thread though. Ebay, the interwebs and how this changed collecting/buying in our world. Interestingly his line/viewpoint "And, as with the rest of the contents of the world's attic, most of the really good ones are already in someone's collection." is still being trotted out 16 years later. :)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭StereoSound

I haven't worn this in a few weeks, Not the most expensive piece out there but it has character and doesn't loose or gain anything. Super accurate keeper this. One of my favourites.
    [IMG][/img]IMG_20150423_132239_edit_1429794409003.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_20150423_134932.jpg

I haven't worn this in a few weeks, Not the most expensive piece out there but it has character and doesn't loose or gain anything. Super accurate keeper this. One of my favourites.

Very like one of the new Tudor pieces, I think. I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Threw the Ikarus on today with the brown vintage strap and grabbed some shots at different angles showing the different way the light hits the blue hands

IMG_7532.jpg

IMG_7526.jpg

IMG_7525.jpg

Here's one I took a while back of the close up of the dial...

IMG_4087.jpg

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    Threw the Ikarus on today with the brown vintage strap and grabbed some shots at different angles showing the different way the light hits the blue hands

That is a beautiful watch and the strap does it justice. Tan straps can be amazing, and you don't see them around too often either.

Nice.

FdP

decided to try on something else while I had the camera out

this one gets very little wrist time which is why I have it up for sale, but every time I try it on its making me think twice...!!!

IMG_7533.jpg

IMG_7540.jpg

IMG_7541.jpg

IMG_7543.jpg

IMG_7548.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,358 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I watch I have admired for a few years. Love the dial and think it would have been even nicer without the subdial. I was sale agreed with a seller last year before seller pulled out as he discovered the watch had become magnetised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Baby's got some new shoes

JMcMqga.jpg
    oVuwqYZ.jpg
    d5ZSxYa.jpg
    I was actually going to sell this. There was a little back and forth from the buyer but I haven't heard back for a while. So I'd assume they aren't interested anymore.

So my latest Oxygen watch in the others thread came with this leather nato. I didn't think it suited it that much. Luckily this Seiko has the same lug width and finish.

I swapped the bands around and bam! I ain't selling this watch no more :pac:

It's amazing what the right kind of strap/stainless steel band does.

its brown leather strap week...keep em coming..!!!

Feck All...

I need to buy something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭Homer

Ditto.. I may sort that tomorrow though ;)

Homer wrote: »
    Ditto.. I may sort that tomorrow though ;)

Jealous...

I am going to buy, but have to wait until my birthday :(

Some cracking Speedmaster Re-issues on TZ

Really love the Mark II and the racing dial..

A recent thread on the Mil Watch Forum inspired me to strap on this today.

344uqti.jpg

My Doxa "DH" as issued to the German army in WW2. A crapload(20+) of Swiss and German makers supplied these*. The specifications were for black dial with sub seconds and radium lume, "waterproof", screwback with a standard slot layout so one tool would open all, shockproof balance(rare at the time, none of the issued UK watches had it or it wasn't a requirement), 15 jewelled movement, 33-35mm(mine's 34mm, the Zenith and Helvetia are the largest IIRC), fixed strap bars.

2nb6eqs.jpg

I always remove full serials. Don't want fakers copying them.

They're stamped on the back D "Dienstuhr"(service watch?) serial number and mostly H for "heer"(army). Some have just the D and serial number and the theory is that this was for the Luftwaffe or other military organisations. Records are scant so it's anyone's guess. They were entered into the individual soldiers identity details and could be bought by the soldier for himself. 80 Marks IIRC.

Most of them were plated brass, which don't wear well or are horribly replated to sell them off. This is the rarer stainless steel case and you can see how well it lasted the years. The Zenith and Longines ones are also steel, but usually mad money. So if looking, look for Doxa, Mimo and Revue as they had the steel cases, but are much cheaper.

These are a common watch, even the "rarer" steel cases. Longines and Zeniths are rarer, but still come up regularly enough. Sadly so many are fecked with by dodgy sellers and not just the usual suspects in Ukraine and Poland. Indeed even in the Frankenwatch and fake epicentre of Ukraine genuine ones in various states of repair are about the only WW2 watches that aren't faked so much. They were common, don't go for big money(BIN prices of 300 plus go unsold), too small for the modern impulse buyer, so it's not worth as much effort and cash to fake them, not when you can get over a grand for a recased pocket watch with a Heinkel on the dial. :rolleyes: Common faults are non original crowns and hands, badly replated brass cases or over polished steel ones and bad relume jobs. Still with a bit of research and care you can pick one up easy enough. Price? I'd not pay more than 200 quid for a good one.

Speaking of reluming, one day I must relume the hands on mine. I got shot of the radium on it. *disclaimer* don't try this at home. Indeed be very careful with any such radium dialled watches. Trench watches can be very strong emitters, but even at this stage in the 40's they can be still quite "hot". Depends on the watch and lume application. The amount on the dial isn't that great an indicator. Some quite thin lume is hotter. I'd not worry a jot about wearing one, but I'd not sleep wearing it or have it a foot away from my head on my bedside table. Never open the back. The radium breaks down into various nasties like radon gas, which itself breaks down into various nasties which can solidify out on the movement surfaces. Other than the high energy gamma radiation, the alpha and beta is stopped by the crystal and case and even your skin will stop it. However if you breathe in a tiny dust particle… You really don't want to do that. How much of a risk is all of this? Well squiliions of watchmakers have worked on countless radium dialled watches for generations and before the safety aspect was known your average person was exposed to this stuff on a daily basis. Still, better to take precautions...

*The Swiss had no issue with supplying both sides in the conflict. Omega being a notable exception. The story goes that after the war Girard Perregaux who owned Mimo, went around trying to gather all these "nazi watches" up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

Wibbs wrote: »
    The story goes that after the war Girard Perregaux who owned Mimo, went around trying to gather all these "nazi watches" up.

I dare you to ask that one on the G-P community forum :D.

:p yea, maybe not CB. :pac:. Then again it seems their forum is down. My enquiry about the GP Consul got four replies, but when I click on the link it gives me an internal database error, so I've no clue what was written. Haven't seen any replies to any threads in over a month now.